25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Gags has close association with a fair few coaches and ex-players that give him a heads up on anyone good in Sth Aust.
Having being a being a 38 game player with Crows and playing 200 games with Norwood and captaining the team.
I hope we still continue the fruitful pickings of South Australia.

Get vengeance for 97

This year should be a reality check for the coach, list manager & footy department. Does the club give a few blokes an extra chance to prove themselves or does the club move on some favourite sons? I hope we are ruthless & there’s a few shocks during the trade period. We need to accept we are nowhere near top 4/premiership contender & move on a few blokes to try & find some gold in the draft. I would have no problem if the club moved on Coffield, Battle, Long (a fav of mine), Ross, Dunstan (already gone) & Lonie. Accumulate a few 20-50 picks & let the Banker get to work. Need to cut deep. No use having a list of 40 C graders. Time to take some risks.
Gamble much?

I want Sam Skinner!
I think I am with you. As I am sure you are aware, Skinner trained with the 'Roos last summer in an attempt to get a spot and they passed. So I have a modicum of reservation, but hope perhaps they just got out wrong. I feel pretty confident in our recruiters these days to get it right whichever way the chips land

Sent from my CPH2021 using Tapatalk

Have Higgins and Billings swapping between the wing

"THE STAR PLAYER WHO JACK HIGGINS WANTS TO EMULATE
BY LAURENCE ROSEN A YEAR AGO

View attachment 1250089
Jack Higgins says he’s keen to develop his game to eventually mirror Port Adelaide star Robbie Gray’s role across the midfield and forward line.

The 21-year-old has played every game for Richmond since the season restart, working his way back from brain surgery which restricted him to 13 games in 2019.

While Higgins says he sees himself more as a midfielder rather than a forward, he said he is enjoying the new role coach Damien Hardwick has him playing this year.

“I see myself as a better midfielder than a forward,” Higgins said on SEN’s Tiger Time.

“Just for my running ability and I think I can sneak forward. If I could be half as good as Robbie Gray … I’d like to (emulate him) in the future.

“I’m playing a more high half forward role at the moment so I’m sort of getting used to that, I haven’t really played it in the last two years.

“It’s more getting up in to the midfield, not so much a midfielder but getting around the midfielder and doing heaps of stoppages so that’s pretty new for me.

“Getting the ball forward is my role, it’s really interesting as I’ve never really played it before but I’m enjoying it so far.”
Odd he didn’t look to his team mate Dusty for a description of a mid-forward.

Bit of a reality check for players to put themselves on the market only to receive little or no interest, you’d think.
a reality check on the club as well. if noone else wants them ,why should we?

Boy oh Boy is this article grim. Apparently our ideal trade period would be to pay big for Tom Clurey and trade Ben Long for a nothing pick, and the absolute worst thing that could happen would be for Seb Ross and the Saints to part ways.

Long may mediocrity reign, hey?

Boy oh Boy is this article grim. Apparently our ideal trade period would be to pay big for Tom Clurey and trade Ben Long for a nothing pick, and the absolute worst thing that could happen would be for Seb Ross and the Saints to part ways.

Long may mediocrity reign, hey?

I’m sure the journo put at least 3 minutes into writing it, but do we really need to pay big bucks to replace a guy who played 2 games this year (Frawley)?

That’s ridiculous.
You named players which, bar Bruce and currently Ross, aren’t regularly best 22. Savage was delisted at a time when list sizes were being reduced which was probably a reason for him not being picked up.

We’re not trying to trade our best players, who would all have interest from other clubs. Plenty of clubs would “covet” King, Steele, Roma, Gresh, Higgins, Clark, Doogs, Wilkie….Jesus, Brad Johnson was even going after Sharman.

Your focus is way too narrow. Every other club would have “boring” players on the periphery that no other clubs would be interested in. What exactly did we pay for other clubs “castoffs” in Wood and McKernan?

We have one AA quality player and it's the first one we've had in about a decade. Dunstan off 11 games came a run away second in coaches votes and Brownlow votes....and 99% of people would rather him not in the side. Our most decorated player as far as best and fairest places go is looking to get a FA move......only he's got no interest and fans demanding that they delist him before he gets a spot next year.

We have a few kids that might be good like King, Hunter Clark, some good mature talent that aren't quite top shelf like Howard, Jones, Crouch, Wilkie etc and then some filler.

To me our list doesn't look exciting outside of King and Steele. It's a strength as well because we don't have many passenger types but we don't have much other clubs would line up to get hold of. Until we get a few jump up into that same group as Steele we will not be in challenge mode.

Same could be said for most Melb players at the end of 2019

That's true they have had a few go from very good to absolute stars. Clayton Oliver, Gawn, May and Lever would all have been pretty highly rated and then having Petracca go from good to superstar had elevated them. We need to do the same. Potential has to become bankable.

I can say we could be allowed to say we had reasons - our midfield was decimated by injury - no Jones , Ryder , Marshall , Crouch in round one and then in the 3rd game Gresham's gone for the year or though Crouch was back.

The main thing though we went through so many players due to injury and a lot of players you could say were not fit , even when Jones and Marshall came back they would of be under done , but add on Hunter Clark only playing 13 games along with Ryders 12 , Marshalls 13 , Greshams 3 , Paton 0 , Carlisle was cooked , Frawley was burnt.

We did have excuses and game plan was based on winning the clearances in the middle or at least break even and the blow outs against Dogs , Tigers and the Bombers just showed we were way off the mark.
What destroyed the confidence of the club if it was not already gone by the thrashings we copped was the defeat by the Crows - but in all reality we should of seen it coming - having Marshall , Jones , Membery , Ross , Geary and Oscar coming out of the team that played the Swans you can more or less see why the team just could not settle , add on Clark breaking his jaw in that game as well.

No doubt we will have injuries next year but we have to at least cut it with midfield's not just having the one standout in Steele.
Jones must play more than half a season and play like he did in one game were he was brilliant with 35 touches.
Gresham has to get over his injury and get back playing good football even if he is only sparingly used through the middle.
Same goes with Hunter Clark , it is not his fault he copped a broken jaw but he needs to be getting midfield minutes and make that his spot.
Bytel I fully expect to transition to the player we need - he has played little but his body transformation is just about complete.

Steele has carried the midfield and Crouch has done pretty well knowing he is playing a lot more defensively than what he did at the Crows.
People say how Dunstan improved our midfield , he certainly did - Bytel was just not ready with a handful of games under his belt , Gresham out for the year and Jones in and out of the team with Hunter Clarks broken jaw we had no other options - Ross is no great inside midfielder - but Dunstan had a huge hand in us winning many games - the Richmond games a standout , however he gets found out with speed and gut running and then Steele's work load with Crouches lift considerable because of it - Dunstan's last game he had 20 touches against Carlton and for a inside mid - it is woeful , but made it worse was he had 8 clangers ans 6 turnovers and from that you fully understand why he is gone.
He played 12 games and we won 5 , so you can see he was no game changer - even Bytel had a better game winning ratio.

Getting away from the midfield , our backline was gelling with new combinations - with Webster / not playing for about 2 years , Highmore , Sinclair adjusting to their positions - Connolly , Oscar , Joyce , Hill all getting a run.
Our forward line was still developing with King thrust into the top dogs spot as Membery seemed to be roaming up and down the ground a lot more with Higgins playing like a small key forward.

In all a more settled team and having more players to select from we will be winning far more games - at one stage we only had Alabakis and Allison left that were fit.

Having Frawley , McKernan , Geary , Gresham , Paton , Hannerbery basically out for the year and having Jones , Marshall , Ryder , Hunter Clark only play half a season stripped our side of players and add to that we had injuries to Wood , Joyce , Bytel , Higgins , Billings , Coffield , Battle and others.

We are heading in the right direction and with any luck there is no reason we can't compete - only have a look at when we played the Demons we were missing key pieces - for instance Paul Hunter was our #1 ruck against Gawn and we lost by 18 points.

That Melbourne game flattered us though. We were outplayed completely and the Dees really tried their best to lose it. It really should have been a 10 goal loss but they seemed hell bent on trying to be shit. That was a real alarm bell game to me. We looked a looooong way off.

That Melbourne game flattered us though. We were outplayed completely and the Dees really tried their best to lose it. It really should have been a 10 goal loss but they seemed hell bent on trying to be sh*t. That was a real alarm bell game to me. We looked a looooong way off.
Interesting take. Half way through the second quarter we were destroying them. I remember thinking we could win the game by 100 points. Then they got on top of us. Not sure what happened but it was a major turning point for our season.

a reality check on the club as well. if noone else wants them ,why should we?

because you can't replace them off the rookie list all at once. I think the issue is that they are over paid for what they are which makes them very unattractive.

Interesting take. Half way through the second quarter we were destroying them. I remember thinking we could win the game by 100 points. Then they got on top of us. Not sure what happened but it was a major turning point for our season.

I was at that game, it was a really weird vibe after the Frawley sombre bit at the start. I can't even remember ever feeling like we'd win at any point. We looked as flat as a tack from the start and Melbourne seemed to be trying to lose it. They made our kicking on goal look good. It looked like they had a mental hang over from their years of shitness.

We have one AA quality player and it's the first one we've had in about a decade. Dunstan off 11 games came a run away second in coaches votes and Brownlow votes....and 99% of people would rather him not in the side. Our most decorated player as far as best and fairest places go is looking to get a FA move......only he's got no interest and fans demanding that they delist him before he gets a spot next year.

We have a few kids that might be good like King, Hunter Clark, some good mature talent that aren't quite top shelf like Howard, Jones, Crouch, Wilkie etc and then some filler.

To me our list doesn't look exciting outside of King and Steele. It's a strength as well because we don't have many passenger types but we don't have much other clubs would line up to get hold of. Until we get a few jump up into that same group as Steele we will not be in challenge mode.

I could definitely see Howard and Wilkie being AA if we had a top 4 season, May and Lever style.

I was at that game, it was a really weird vibe after the Frawley sombre bit at the start. I can't even remember ever feeling like we'd win at any point. We looked as flat as a tack from the start and Melbourne seemed to be trying to lose it. They made our kicking on goal look good. It looked like they had a mental hang over from their years of shitness.
Yeah I was at the game too. Felt we were well on top early parts of the game. But the Spud stuff did create a weird vibe. Hope we are better prepared for the game next year.

I suspect it was the first time we realised we couldn't run as hard for as long as some other sides.

I could definitely see Howard and Wilkie being AA if we had a top 4 season, May and Lever style.

We have a lot of guys that might come good, we need them to step up to move forward. Hopefully Ratts kicks them into gear this off season.

Yeah I was at the game too. Felt we were well on top early parts of the game. But the Spud stuff did create a weird vibe. Hope we are better prepared for the game next year.

I suspect it was the first time we realised we couldn't run as hard for as long as some other sides.

They seemed to move the ball really well and looked fluid while we stuttered and bumbled around but stayed with in reach without ever looking like we had any energy to jump over them. My memory is pretty shit these days though.

Dream Scenario:

1. Turns out spook is still on our list and every journo is just saying 'delisted'. GCS offer him 3 years on $400k triggering a 3rd round pick (47).
2. Ross also gets a great offer (from god knows where lol) maybe Essendon haha, 4 years on 500k triggering end of 2nd round (39)
3. Ben Long wants to head to Richmond, who are willing to hand over (28).
4. Trade Josh Battle to GCS for a future 2nd (which we'll promptly send back next year :cool:)

Sydney game is a furphy.

Swans kicked 13.14 to our 12.11

That game just gets noticed because one player kicked 1.6 out of our 12.11

Swans should have won by 4-5 goals
Don’t agree, I’m going purely what was in front of me. Higgins had 3/4 chances to win the game but didn’t because he couldn’t kick straight.

We were also coming off a massive slog in the mud against GWS and off a shortish break from memory