25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Their mids can win their own ball so while not ideal they could probably still do it. Salem is their rebound.
We thought that about Steele, Crouch and our boys but they really struggled when we had Hunter/Mckernan even sometimes with Marshall solo. So many times our guys wouldn’t shark the opposition ruckman’s taps, they’d just setup assuming we’d win

How close are Clarko and Ratts?
I doubt Clarko would Backdoor him and probably would not respect us for suggesting it.
I think we’re f’ed when it comes to Clarko.
Clarko’s pretty much said he won’t backstab Dew, they’re good mates. I’m pretty sure him and Ratts are also very close.

People think he's like some reincarnation of Fiora or something.
Jack is nowhere near as soft as people suggest.

Surely he did a pretty good contribution to the team getting across the line against west coast ( round 4 ) when he got 13 contested possessions.

Not sure if his role has changed, he won more contested ball and clearances in 2019, and tackled more as well.
Agree I’ve seen him take some good hits.

Crazy to think how crap our list has been. No one jumping to take Ross, Billings or Dunstan off our hands. Thank goodness we've gone hard at the trade table bringing in solid players. Far out 2013-2019 were some lean years. Remember how we somehow managed to finish 9th and 11th in '16 and '17 and thought we were ready to push into finals?

I am now confident we are on track to be a long-term well-managed club. Whatever we do at this year's trade period, the club has my confidence.

I think they would have been desirable if they were paid at their level. Those guys have been paid like superstars at the Saints. Our lack of success and superstars also doesn't have people drooling over our talent either. Until we find super stars or high level players we are no better or worse. Our main issue has been an inability to find top players in the last 20 years. Steele and King look like 2 and now we probably need another 2 to 3 and a level below them to step up. Billings, Dunny and Seb were the Hunter Clark, Coffield and Paton of their era.

How close are Clarko and Ratts?
I doubt Clarko would Backdoor him and probably would not respect us for suggesting it.
I think we’re f’ed when it comes to Clarko.

Ratts and Richo were supposed to be mates.

We thought that about Steele, Crouch and our boys but they really struggled when we had Hunter/Mckernan even sometimes with Marshall solo. So many times our guys wouldn’t shark the opposition ruckman’s taps, they’d just setup assuming we’d win

I didn't. Steele is good and the others okay but we still look pretty pedestrian in the midfield. That's why I was keen to keep Dunny. I think Hunter copped it for playing when the whole side played an absolutely disinterested and gutless style of footy as well. I think there was a bit of finger pointing at the one different player but it wasn't just him. They looked lazy and flat for the first half a year.

I want a flag

Me too. Not sure I'll ever see one but Ratts wouldn't make it to his next contract if they underperform no matter how many kids he plays. The board would probably spill if we fall over again.

People think he's like some reincarnation of Fiora or something.
Jack is nowhere near as soft as people suggest.

Surely he did a pretty good contribution to the team getting across the line against west coast ( round 4 ) when he got 13 contested possessions.

Not sure if his role has changed, he won more contested ball and clearances in 2019, and tackled more as well.
Played half forward a lot more this year after his foot injury than in 2019 when he was a full time wing.

I didn't. Steele is good and the others okay but we still look pretty pedestrian in the midfield. That's why I was keen to keep Dunny. I think Hunter copped it for playing when the whole side played an absolutely disinterested and gutless style of footy as well. I think there was a bit of finger pointing at the one different player but it wasn't just him. They looked lazy and flat for the first half a year.
I do think our midfield improves with a year at the Saints under Crouch's belt. I think he struggled to understand his role earlier in the season. Jones has shown he is very handy. Hopefully Gresh gets a good run at it. I don't think there's any excuses now for a less than competitive midfield week in, week out.

All thre are best 22 if good enough and great depth if not.
I have no probs keeping.
I think they would have been desirable if they were paid at their level. Those guys have been paid like superstars at the Saints. Our lack of success and superstars also doesn't have people drooling over our talent either. Until we find super stars or high level players we are no better or worse. Our main issue has been an inability to find top players in the last 20 years. Steele and King look like 2 and now we probably need another 2 to 3 and a level below them to step up. Billings, Dunny and Seb were the Hunter Clark, Coffield and Paton of their era.
Yep, totally agree. Part of my point is that other teams are not rating players who have been very important to us. If any of those guys had been playing at Richmond the last few years I think they get a lot more interest. We also know they're not good enough to be our best players and push us into finals.

I still believe that H&C can be something beyond , he certainly has something that sets him apart......He is someone I would dearly love to take on the kind of work ethic STEELE has.......just a tad more muV8scle and elite level fitness ....he could surprise us, hell, surprise himself even!!!............ and...... just maybe, even his MUM ...but then again its damn hard to surprise them...they always believe..Thank God for MUMS hey!!!!!!

I lost all interest in Buckanarra the year he said our trade/draft was a fail because we gave up pick 6 for Carlisle and 18 because we could have drafted Kieran Collins.

Said Collins was the 3rd best player in the draft.

Collins was drafted at pick 26 by the Western Bulldogs. He was the 11th KPP taken in the draft. He played 1 game in 3 years before being delisted.

#expert
i like that

Me too. Not sure I'll ever see one but Ratts wouldn't make it to his next contract if they underperform no matter how many kids he plays. The board would probably spill if we fall over again.

Don't necessarily agree. I think it would depend on player development and how we're looking.

Think the board spill is a bit over the top mate.

Regardless, that's why I mentioned Ratts' selection motivation. If it's all about his contract, that's less than ideal.

Clear plan for a flag... that's what i'm hoping is in place.

Clarko’s pretty much said he won’t backstab Dew, they’re good mates. I’m pretty sure him and Ratts are also very close.

So let me get it straight.
They will all sit down to a zoom call over beers, and Ratten will say, " Clarko, you want an easy year out of the limelight, but its a crap year for travelling, why not just come and do a nice cushy assistant roll at the Saints, Roughy is here, itll be fun. Clarko thinks about it and says yeah.
Then Dew will say, " i can see where my gig here is going, and it always looks cooler to be the one to dump the other, so mind if i join the party"?

Billings is a good player, not a star. He is like a quite a few of our list who have a few good games, maybe one stand-out game a season, then have a string of ordinary games with little impact. If we're going to get into finals again, we need to do something about our inconsistency as a team and need to trade to get more strength and speed generally. Easy peasy!

Can go any mate
mate can go any club

egI8nH5.gif

Ratts and Richo were supposed to be mates.

Clarkson also has a lot of other mates at the Saints now. If he doesn’t leave Victoria (which is very possible) then we would have to be a serious option for him.

Also Moorabbin is close to his home and he could make a historical impact at a foundation club with a good young list.