25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
If Riley Beveridge’s article is accurate, Long will be traded if we get “a suitable offer”.

I’m wondering whether that offer will be a pick in the 20s. If so, it would fit in with the suggestion that we are looking for an extra early round draft pick.

Pick 9 and the Ben Long pick in exchange for Brisbane’s picks 14 & 18. Not sure if Brisbane would do that but that is one possibility. The other is another player is packaged with pick 9.

It’s possible we are worried that Owens or Windhager could be pinched with a late teens draft pick. It’s also possible that we genuinely believe that this draft is wide open and taking the downgrade is worth it.
Yep - if the article has any truth to it, the only way it can happen is if we use Pick 9 and player(s) to get two picks in the mid teens.

Points wise Pick 9 and a Pick 28 equivalent player(s) gets you 14 & 18 from Brisbane.

The only reason they'd be doing that is because they believe the draft is wide open. No sense in doing it just to get an NGA, no benefit for us at all.

In fact it would actually cost us because we'd have to pull the trigger earlier.

How about this as a speculative trade if the club wants a 2nd round draft pick.

Wilkie to Port. They have just got rid of Clurey as well and we have excess of the 3rd tall type of player. Highmore, Battle or Coff could play his role.

He is a very solid player. A couple of seasons of the 100 game milestone as well. But if you want to get you need to give and he is a type we have plenty of.
🤮

I like the pressure that Long brings to the forward line. He does a lot right in that space. But I feel like he just isn’t a natural goal kicker. He lacks creativity and when he does hit the scoreboard it feels laboured and clumsy, in a way that can cause the whole forward line to stutter.

I can’t even think of another player in the AFL we could ask him to model his game on. He’s definitely more Geary than Heeney.

If he’s still on our list next year and I was his coach I would recommend he try to find a way to execute his role and imprint his own love of the game on it, whatever that is. I would hope it involved a whole heap of high jinking, high marking, run down tackling, goal kicking and fist pumping.
just a terrible set shot on goal

Lloyd talking about Bing on trade radio. Says the Kings worked well together in a forward line and out of each other’s way in high school, when they weren’t at either end of the ground - but should be careful with our midfield. Overall feel was excitement at the prospect though of having two Kings.

Tbh, I reckon since our campaign for Bing has been a long time in the running, I trust the club to have a plan for developing our mids as well for the reign of their terror (if it ever happens).

“St Kilda think they’ve got him, that’s the talk. The talk in Melbourne is that St Kilda have him and they will get Ben King.”

https://www.afl.com.au/news/682355

With our run of injuries, changes in personnel and general shitness, the reality is that the kids we've brought in have been asked to do too much and not allowed to play with the freedom offered to those in competent teams. I think this is in no small part one of the reasons for the lack of a breakout season.

We have less kids and have given up 1st and 2nd round picks to bring in the older players over the last 10 years. We replaced the Trout generation by buying up from other teams. A lot of our kids are highly speculative late pics. Byrnes pick 52, Connolly 64, Bytel 41, Sharman and Heath mid season draft. Our 2 players under 21 that were high picks are King and Allison. Coffield is our only other player under 22.

That's our entire under 21 brigade. It's not that they don't break out, they just aren't there. When we used our high pick on King we found an absolute gun funny enough.

Long is an interesting one. Had a great season last year but this year really struggled. I'd be sad to see him go because I see him as a guy with potential, but if someone was offering a second you'd have to take it.

Jarrod Lienert (Port Adelaide)

Jarrod Lienert is a 195cm defender who has struggled to solidify a spot in the Port Adelaide team. The Power are quite deep in the position with Aliir Aliir, Trent McKenzie, Tom Jonas, and Tom Clurey all playing the same position.
He was able to string together five consecutive games between Rounds 14 and 18, but was unable to keep his spot as the Power moved towards the finals.

JARROD LIENERT
Defender

Port Adelaide
2021 SEASON AVG
Disposals
Marks
Rebound50s

Throughout those games, Lienert averaged 16.8 disposals, 4.6 rebounds from 50, 4.6 intercepts and 373 metres gained.

Due to his absences in the AFL squad, he played 12 games of SANFL in 2021. He was a standout for Port Adelaide in that competition averaging 23.3 disposals, nine rebound 50s, 5.6 marks and 97% disposal efficiency.

Throughout the 26-year-old's career, he has been above average to elite in rebound 50s, disposal efficiency, intercept possessions and metres gained for his position.

Tall defenders are valuable players and can often be difficult for clubs to find. Lienert is now coming into his prime but is unlikely to play significant minutes for the Power.

A move could be valuable for both player and club, as he could be worth a third to fourth-round pick to the right side. Lienert could be a valuable pickup like Dougal Howard was for the Saints in 2019, who also left the Power to seek further opportunities.

Lienert would provide great height and defensive instincts for any club, with the ability to drift off his man and intercept the ball. He is an elite ball user, helping rebound the ball from out of defence. He will be only 27 by the start of next season and would be ready to have a big impact on a new club in round one of 2022.

5. Andrew Phillips (Essendon)

Andrew Phillips has become a journeyman over his career, spending time at GWS, Carlton and Essendon. Over this time, he has predominately been a backup ruckman, except during his first season at Carlton in 2016.
He has consistently played close to half-a-dozen games for the past four seasons, including six in 2021.
While not a remarkable player, he is a solid option in the ruck in providing a contest in every game he played.
For the season he averaged 20.5 hit-outs, 10.3 disposals, and nearly four tackles per game. He was above average across the league for hit-outs to advantage and score involvements for a ruckman.
The Bombers were able to win four of the six games that he played in, all against elite ruck competition. Those four wins came against the assignments of Brodie Grundy, Sean Darcy, Todd Goldstein and Nic Natanui.

Embed from Get

Those wins showed how Phillips can impact games and mitigate the damage of the opposition ruckman.
Since his last game in Round 12 against Richmond however, Sam Draper has solidified his spot as the number one ruckman for the Bombers. With the club looking to continue to invest in their young ruckman, Phillips might need to look elsewhere for opportunity.
Phillips could be an interesting pickup for rival clubs, likely costing a late draft pick or another out-of-favour player. He is going to be 30-years old in 2022, but Shane Mumford has shown that ruckmen can still be valuable well into their 30s

No, we still had a contract there but it was smaller than Essendons and the arrival of Crouch made it unlikely he'd slot straight into the midfield.

This from Cal Twomey

While the Giants lifted their offer to four years to keep Caldwell, the Bombers also had competition for him in Melbourne, with St Kilda also interested. The Saints won the commitment of free agent Brad Crouch, but also presented Caldwell with an offer.

"It was a hard decision actually. I made the right decision I feel like, but at the time, I grew up a Saints supporter and people thought that would be the case of choosing St Kilda," Caldwell said.

"But choosing Essendon, like I said, when I spoke to Truck and Adrian they had a real clear future and a clear plan which I liked and in the end that was what got me over the line in coming to the club."

A friends nephew is close mates with him. He said Caldy was really pissed off with us. As soon as we had Crouch we stopped communicating with his camp, he had told everyone he was coming to the Saints but the Bombers upped the offer late, they went back to the Saints and they just ignored them. Might be saving face after going after the cash but sounds like he thought we were amateurs.

6. Will Brodie (Gold Coast)

Will Brodie has struggled to maintain a spot for the Suns, finding himself on the fringes of selection. The midfielder finds himself on a team with Touk Miller, Noah Anderson, Matt Rowell, Hugh Greenwood, Brandon Ellis, David Swallow, and Brayden Fiorini all being ahead of him in selection.
Due to this, he has only managed to play 25 games since his debut in 2017 (with one game being the medical sub).
For Brodie, opportunities have been his biggest issue, playing solid football when playing. He averaged 16 disposals, two tackles, three clearances and nearly eight contested possession per game this season.
Since his rookie year, he has averaged 19.19 disposals, 4.14 tackles, and 4.05 clearances.
Despite being starved for AFL opportunities, Brodie showed excellent character by making the most of his coaching and lower level matches.
He was awarded the Suns VFL player of the year in 2021 for his consistent play throughout the season. His 31.7 disposals per game were eighth-best in the entire league, while also averaging six tackles too.

He also demonstrated other skills that he hadn't been able to show in his limited AFL experience. There was an ability to hit the scoreboard and he was praised for his exceptional leadership on and off the field. He became a valuable member of the team being a mentor to many of the younger players.
Brodie will continue to find himself on the outside looking in due to the depth of the Sun's midfielders. There have already been reports of Brodie looking for more opportunities elsewhere in the upcoming off-season.
Similar to Gold Coast trading away Peter Wright in 2020, the Suns could facilitate a win-win trade for both parties. Brodie wouldn't cost much for a rival club but is still developing as a prospect.
At only 23-years of age at the beginning of next season, he could provide some inside midfield depth straight away. His age and work ethic would see him continue to improve and prove to be more valuable than what the Suns would expect in return.

Jarrod Lienert (Port Adelaide)

Jarrod Lienert is a 195cm defender who has struggled to solidify a spot in the Port Adelaide team. The Power are quite deep in the position with Aliir Aliir, Trent McKenzie, Tom Jonas, and Tom Clurey all playing the same position.
He was able to string together five consecutive games between Rounds 14 and 18, but was unable to keep his spot as the Power moved towards the finals.
JARROD LIENERT
Defender

Port Adelaide
2021 SEASON AVG
Disposals
Marks
Rebound50s

Throughout those games, Lienert averaged 16.8 disposals, 4.6 rebounds from 50, 4.6 intercepts and 373 metres gained.

Due to his absences in the AFL squad, he played 12 games of SANFL in 2021. He was a standout for Port Adelaide in that competition averaging 23.3 disposals, nine rebound 50s, 5.6 marks and 97% disposal efficiency.

Throughout the 26-year-old's career, he has been above average to elite in rebound 50s, disposal efficiency, intercept possessions and metres gained for his position.

Tall defenders are valuable players and can often be difficult for clubs to find. Lienert is now coming into his prime but is unlikely to play significant minutes for the Power.

A move could be valuable for both player and club, as he could be worth a third to fourth-round pick to the right side. Lienert could be a valuable pickup like Dougal Howard was for the Saints in 2019, who also left the Power to seek further opportunities.

Lienert would provide great height and defensive instincts for any club, with the ability to drift off his man and intercept the ball. He is an elite ball user, helping rebound the ball from out of defence. He will be only 27 by the start of next season and would be ready to have a big impact on a new club in round one of 2022.

As a cheaper option coming in as backup with potential to cement a spot I dont mind it.
Step up on Clav and probably Joyce as well.
Wouldnt want to pay too much

A friends nephew is close mates with him. He said Caldy was really pissed off with us. As soon as we had Crouch we stopped communicating with his camp, he had told everyone he was coming to the Saints but the Bombers upped the offer late, they went back to the Saints and they just ignored them. Might be saving face after going after the cash but sounds like he thought we were amateurs.

Essendon sold him a future alright, in property development. That's what st kilda couldn't match. Apparently he came back and asked and was told we won't do that.

Bit concerning if Coffs manager is actually shopping him around.

Makes me think Coff might be getting messages from the coaching staff that he doesn't like hearing.
I wouldn't give it a second thought , someone makes up a rumour and people grab it and go with it , pretty common on here

Essendon sold him a future alright, in property development. That's what st kilda couldn't match. Apparently he came back and asked and was told we won't do that.
100%
Every year they wheel out Welsh and say look at what this guy did/does! This can be you! Then hand over a small portfolio and the rest is history.
They do it for all their players. Shiel and Caldwell just the latest.

Yeah there's a lot of ambiguity there.

Reading that it sounds like the club were more ruthless than amateur though.

Even for our board I’m shocked at how people are rating long... his original draft position of a 2nd rounder is looking massive overs for a bloke who after 5 years is closer to VFL than AFL.
His hardness is awesome and he some tantalising qualities but doesn’t seem to be able to put it all together unfortunately... would love him to come good but looking unlikely right now.

About the only player on the list that doesn't put you to sleep. He's pulled thread in the beige blanket.

I like the pressure that Long brings to the forward line. He does a lot right in that space. But I feel like he just isn’t a natural goal kicker. He lacks creativity and when he does hit the scoreboard it feels laboured and clumsy, in a way that can cause the whole forward line to stutter.

I can’t even think of another player in the AFL we could ask him to model his game on. He’s definitely more Geary than Heeney.

If he’s still on our list next year and I was his coach I would recommend he try to find a way to execute his role and imprint his own love of the game on it, whatever that is. I would hope it involved a whole heap of high jinking, high marking, run down tackling, goal kicking and fist pumping.

To me he looks like he's being pushed to play a role when he looks best playing with freedom. A guy we know is a financial sponsor at the Dogs through his family business. He gets to the club a lot and reckons Bevo is a gun coach because he tries to get players to find their flair. He encourages the players to do things that make the footy they play free and fun. Long looks like the type that needs that kind of environment. He looks bored and restrained. When he used to go for screamers and tackle like a maniac or snap impossible shots he was glorious. He looks straight jacketed.

Not what his mate said. He reckons we wouldn't pick up the phone. He'd told everyone he was a Saint already.

I just don't buy that we'd trade Coffield. Bloke was a number 8 pick and finished fifth in our best and fairest. Trade him out for a speculative draft pick that will take years to develop? Just don't see it.

They don't mind moving on players.