bird_man

Hall of Famer
Jan 14, 2012
The River Murray
Where did that come from , never heard that before
His game style has been compared to Jack Gunston by numerous draft watchers.

Unfortunately he's just not near as good.

Matt Allison
Calder Cannons, NAB League / Strathmore FC
Height: 192cm
Weight: 80 kg
29/01/02
Bio: Rangy tall forward who had some eye-catching performances as a bottom ager with the Calder Cannons in the 2019 NAB League playing 10 matches with his ability to read the ball in flight and present as a marking target a feature. Quite prominent in two trials this year averaging 13.5 disposals and 7 marks giving a glimpse of his development and drawing comparison to Hawthorn’s Jack Gunston. His father Brian Allison was an outstanding player in the VFA for Coburg playing 174 games, being selected in its Team of the Century and was a two-time Premiership Player.

bird_man

Hall of Famer
Jan 14, 2012
The River Murray
Looking likely now the top 7 will be...

Cadlow, Ashcroft, Sheezel, Wardlow, Tsatas, Humphrey, Phillipou, Clarke

Unknown whether Bombers take Tsatas or Phillipou but it seems likely Hawthorn take whichever one is left.

That will just have us crossing our fingers West Coast take a local at 9

Unfortunately I read today that interstate clubs should have no issue with taking Mackenzie as there doesn't seem to be the go home factor others may have

CaptainRisky

Premium Gold
Oct 16, 2016
Melbourne CBD
His game style has been compared to Jack Gunston by numerous draft watchers.

Unfortunately he's just not near as good.

Matt Allison
Calder Cannons, NAB League / Strathmore FC
Height: 192cm
Weight: 80 kg
29/01/02
Bio: Rangy tall forward who had some eye-catching performances as a bottom ager with the Calder Cannons in the 2019 NAB League playing 10 matches with his ability to read the ball in flight and present as a marking target a feature. Quite prominent in two trials this year averaging 13.5 disposals and 7 marks giving a glimpse of his development and drawing comparison to Hawthorn’s Jack Gunston. His father Brian Allison was an outstanding player in the VFA for Coburg playing 174 games, being selected in its Team of the Century and was a two-time Premiership Player.
Lets hope , has a long long way to go though

longlivelenny

Oct 21, 2016
Who would want Seb? He's only going to a club in challenge mode. A Brownlow medalist went for pick 27 this year and Matt Crouch didn't get looked at. I'd say he'd get us a token pick if he wasn't best 22. If Gresham stays fit he probably gets us 2 firsts with a second back and then we could try to replace him which would probably cost the same amount.

Clubs don't want the GOPs, they want top talent unless it's free or cheap.
Gresham 2 firsts? No chance.
One pick in the teens if we were lucky.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

longlivelenny

Oct 21, 2016
They both showed the can play, I was surprised that nobody bid on them, always a bit of subterfuge with the AFL though, maybe a word to other clubs.
Maybe they hadn't shown enough to be straight out top twenty, Windy certainly was told to rest his 'bad back', so was a bit out of sight for the latter part of 2021.
Whatever the case, we had the advantage over other clubs, however they certainly didn't fall into our laps.
I don't think that the club holds that much sway over the nga products. Otherwise why wouldn't they have tried to get McKenzie to 'do an injury' to slow his rise up the ranks

bird_man

Hall of Famer
Jan 14, 2012
The River Murray
I don't think that the club holds that much sway over the nga products. Otherwise why wouldn't they have tried to get McKenzie to 'do an injury' to slow his rise up the ranks

Yeah or at least give out a hint that he would be home sick if he had to go interstate.

Sounds as though clubs don't see him as a flight risk at all.

It would be great if he came out and said he's love to get to St Kilda, but it seems as though he's not too fussed

longlivelenny

Oct 21, 2016
He's a free agent isn't he?

Probably gets us a first round pick
Potentially a first rounder compensation. He would need to be getting north of 650k to get a first rounder.
Saying that, if we got a pick after our first I would take that.
Think he's a bit overrated on here. He's a butcher of the highest order.

bird_man

Hall of Famer
Jan 14, 2012
The River Murray
Potentially a first rounder compensation. He would need to be getting north of 650k to get a first rounder.
Saying that, if we got a pick after our first I would take that.
Think he's a bit overrated on here. He's a butcher of the highest order.

Id prefer to keep him.

His field kicking is extremely frustrating and I don't think he will ever become an elite mid, but he's a weapon up forward.

If we can build a midfield strong enough that we can allow him to spend at least 50% time forward then we are a much better side.

AirWinmar

Jun 18, 2018
McCartin & Goddard (when Goddard slid to us) the bookends for the next decade

Billings, Dunstan and Acres was going to set us up and be our core as well.
Our coaching and development hasn't helped. We've got the best coaching group we've likely ever had - that will help with the strike rate. We'd probably be rapt if we could get back 2017 Billings and Acres has turned out OK

AirWinmar

Jun 18, 2018
Melbourne couldn't develop players until they started to draft better either. There is a bit of both but you can't polish a turd. The bulk of development is basic training like skills which are improved through skills drills and individual programs, fitness and games access. There is playing them in the VFL in position and working on flaws but over all most clubs do similar programs. Some development is sped up in a club higher up in the cycle too, because kids can come in and play without a direct opponent or a defined role because older guys will cover them.

The best clubs have more support staff which can help. Geelong before the soft cap, used to run 4 coaches per player, it means that no-one is left behind. The high picks rarely get left to self develop, it's guys taken late in the draft sent off to the VFL and left to themselves that really struggle to move forward in an unprofessional environment.
Interestingly Melbourne players seemed to draft better once they had a better coaching team..

Geelong turn all sorts of players into "stars" they've got great development. Ditto Sydney. Hopefully the footy department we have now will get similar results

gringo2011

Premium Platinum
Nov 12, 2011
They both showed the can play, I was surprised that nobody bid on them, always a bit of subterfuge with the AFL though, maybe a word to other clubs.
Maybe they hadn't shown enough to be straight out top twenty, Windy certainly was told to rest his 'bad back', so was a bit out of sight for the latter part of 2021.
Whatever the case, we had the advantage over other clubs, however they certainly didn't fall into our laps.

Owens showed his best form late and Windhager went down. Perhaps saved by fate in the end. Owens left his charge late and Windhager was out of sight as you say.

gringo2011

Premium Platinum
Nov 12, 2011
Matching bids by Sydney @ 33 and Geelong @ 47 fell into our laps? You people are clueless.

Being PF Brisbane and getting Ashcroft as a F/S is falling into your lap, being Finalist and getting Ugle-Hagen as Acedamy and Darcy F/S @ who were both touted as No.1 picks is falling into your lap.

Getting a player mid second round, and another third round while not being able to bid on them until after 20 (although other clubs have been able to) is anything but 'falling into our laps'.
Anything to hang s.hit on the clubs with some of you lot.

A bit of luck rather than falling in our laps then. We would have been crazy to pass on them and they've turned out better than most recent draftees so finally something fell our way. We are so used to suffering that when s**t goes right it's celebration time.

gringo2011

Premium Platinum
Nov 12, 2011
Interestingly Melbourne players seemed to draft better once they had a better coaching team..

Geelong turn all sorts of players into "stars" they've got great development. Ditto Sydney. Hopefully the footy department we have now will get similar results

I would say that Geelong have stars in Tom Hawkins, Cameron, Danger, Selwood, Stewart etc but most of what makes them good is professionalism and systems. They are good at getting guys outside the pathways. Blicsavs, recycled types like Stengle, trades, state leagues, country footy etc.

I reckon Melbourne's current coach is average at best but they have a good team with Richo and Choco. Choco sounds like he's big on skill improvement but they got brave and traded up to get hold of very good players. They have a really good recruiters these days. Even their depth of youth is good.

gringo2011

Premium Platinum
Nov 12, 2011
Gresham 2 firsts? No chance.
One pick in the teens if we were lucky.

If he says fit I reckon his value climbs. Lead us in a lot of our stats and he's one of the few with star potential. Almost identical stats to DeGoey before he went down. Turned 25 in August so heaps of footy left. I hope we don't trade him regardless.

Joffaboy

Hall of Famer
Dec 4, 2000
The Bay
NO Saints LUFC

They told Windy to slow up mid way through last year, then he suddenly did his back and it miraculously fixed itself for the first training day on 2022 pre season.

Joffaboy

Hall of Famer
Dec 4, 2000
The Bay
NO Saints LUFC
Would be comfortable if this was the case
Screenshot_20221122-184354_Facebook.jpg

stavro#4

Mar 14, 2011
Leeds united, Chicago Bulls
Would be comfortable if this was the caseView attachment 1558587
We won’t go wrong with the “left over” at our pick.

I just wish there was a way to land Tsatas/Phillipou AND Mackenzie

But looks like we would need Gibney to the suns and Eagles to take Busslinger/Allan + Carlton or the dogs to do a swapsies with us.

heynow85

Aug 26, 2019
Looking likely now the top 7 will be...

Cadlow, Ashcroft, Sheezel, Wardlow, Tsatas, Humphrey, Phillipou, Clarke

Unknown whether Bombers take Tsatas or Phillipou but it seems likely Hawthorn take whichever one is left.

That will just have us crossing our fingers West Coast take a local at 9

Unfortunately I read today that interstate clubs should have no issue with taking Mackenzie as there doesn't seem to be the go home factor others may have
I read hawks will take Gibney or Humphrey if Tsatas gone