List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

Port out:
-2022 second round pick to saints
-2022 8 to North
-2023 First to North
-2023 Second to WC

Port in:
-Rioli
-JHF

North out:
-JHF
-2022 pick 55

North in:
PA Pick 8
PA 2023 Pick1
Clark

Saints out:
Clark

Saints in:
PA 2022 second round
North pick 55

WCE out:
Rioli

WCE in:
2023 PA second rounder

I have nfi about what trade capital each team has this and next year or really what each player would be worth. I really just tried to rig it up so Port look like they lose out. It’s really just an exercise in mental gymnastics.

"Hunter Clark still has an interest in getting to North Melbourne"

Think this one will get done in 12 months time. Way I read it, Saints shopped him and he got a little bit of interest. North went the hardest, Hunter has probably spoken in depth with Clarko, asked LDU a lot of questions and would be interested in the opportunity. Saints not willing to deal as no one is willing to meet their valuation which is fair enough, so it’s then on Hunter and his management to try and force it through or it will be revisited next year. Unless he re-signs but he may see himself out the door already if he’s not happy being shopped around and won’t sign on.

Enough of the posts where clubs trade future first and future second round pick please. Just because trade radio makes these ridiculous suggestions doesn’t mean it can be done. Clubs must have a future second coming back in these situations.

I'm not expecting the Dunkley part, but its not impossible that we could add...
  • Dunkley
  • Logue
  • Clark
  • Tucker
  • Cadman
  • Sheezel/Wardlaw
  • Harvey

... and the only key outgoing player from last year's side would be Horne-Francis.

That's an all-time upgrade.

Reckon we’ll trade pick 1 to GWS now. Get 3 and something else to give to the Saints for Clark.

So leave us with pick 2 & 3 and Clark
Or Port give us something else for Clark. Either way I like it .

Ins of Logue, Tucker amd Clark amd a strong draft hand.

Outs; Just Farkknuckle

Do we then value Hunter Clark as more a “generational talent” than Cadman because this is what we would be giving up!!!

maybe we don't rate Cadman as highly as we rate whoever we'd take at 3 and Clark

maybe Cadman is 3rd on our board and this still allows us to get our two highest ranked players while also getting additional assets

King and Bartel saying we should keep him to his contract

I agree

IF we don’t get fair value then sure.
The Judarse wants out, he his manager and Port went about it in the most underhanded way possible.
They dropped a bombshell on us the night before trades, they held off on announcing it deliberately, it was a done deal probably before Crows committed to Rankine to take them out of the bidding thus tying our hands.

The manager and Port probably already have Judarse booked into a shrink ready to take the year off next year and some slimy deal cooked up where he can chill at home for a year and still end up at an Adelaide club just to screw us over!!

maybe we don't rate Cadman as highly as we rate whoever we'd take at 3 and Clark

maybe Cadman is 3rd on our board and this still allows us to get our two highest ranked players while also getting additional assets

Maybe, I heard Kingy say we might as well turn the lights out if we traded 1 to get GWS to then lose Cadman, but hey that’s just media!
Maybe you are right that our “non existent” recruitment team (well Clarko and Viney) have a plan for a game style that doesn’t warrant him and are more wanting Cheezels and Coldslaw for mid and relying on Comb and co for come up next year.

Maybe, I heard Kingy say we might as well turn the lights out if we traded 1 to get GWS to then lose Cadman, but hey that’s just media!
Maybe you are right that our “non existent” recruitment team (well Clarko and Viney) have a plan for a game style that doesn’t warrant him and are more wanting Cheezels and Coldslaw for mid and relying on Comb and co for come up next year.
honestly, who knows. i dont follow underage footy at all so cant comment on their ability or team fit.

but evaluating talent isn't an exact science and there's heaps of room for differing opinions and analysis. there's also the consideration of relative value, like i said in the other post; is cadman alone worth more than the player we'd pick at 3 and hunter clark, for example? i don't know the answer to that, but maybe we don't think he is.

So if somehow we just took pick 2 for JHF because that is the only way we are getting pick 2 from Port via WC

We then have 1,2 and 55 this year.
We offload 1 to GWS for 3 and 15, so have

2,3 15 and 55

Take Cheezels and Coldslaw at 2 and 3 hand over 15 for Clark and pick up baby Boomer with chump change.

So in

Cheezels
Coldslaw
Clark
Baby Boomer
Logie
Trucker

Out
* (player formerly known as Jason Horne-Francis)

I guess it wouldn’t be a bad outcome, still salty * wants to go “home”!!

Draft boards have Cadman at pick 4 or 5.

Sheezel kicked about the same number of goals per match this year and he's a fwd/mid.

I like Cadman, but for some reason, in the last day, he is suddenly being talked about like he is far and away the best player in the draft.