List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

so list size wise with the 2 extra spots we can go 36 senior list and 8 rookies or 37-7 or 38 and 6

Right now we have 36 on senior list and 4 rookies

4 list spots open

Get rid of atu and jed gives us 6 spots
Maybe turner gives us a 7th or they rookie him

Reckon J Walker takes a rookie spot

Bring in pick 1, cooper, Logue, tucker, Hill and 1 more

Would still payout polecs last year also

Who is the 4th rookie? Polec Edwards dawson and?

We may, we have different people in charge now…it’s not the old skool recruitment team of old that gave up pick 20 for CCJ…It’s a good faith pick…Could be totally wrong but don’t think freo has much power here especially with the same manager managing lobb who they won’t trade…

I know I'm a broken record (and thereby showing my age), but we gave up the equivalent of roughly 730 points for CCJ, roughly equivalent to pick 38, so when we will flog ourselves about this trade, can we make sure we add the names Paul Curtis and Miller Bergman to the equation. The self-flagellation is easier to bear

The AFL gave us enough currency to satisfy the existing trade requirements with Freo for Logue and maybe Tucker. Nothing more and nothing less.

Obviously we have other interests like Clarke but I don’t see those getting done.

Trading pick 1 unless pick 3 or 4 come back is not smart. It’s Trent Croad trade levels of stupid.

I know I'm a broken record (and thereby showing my age), but we gave up the equivalent of roughly 730 points for CCJ, roughly equivalent to pick 38, so when we will flog ourselves about this trade, can we make sure we add the names Paul Curtis and Miller Bergman to the equation. The self-flagellation is easier to bear
CCJ is hardly a bust yet either. Needs some continuity of games.
Been plenty of big men written off way too prematurely

You can't expect ITK posters to be time travellers who get everything right. They are usually just mates or in a group chat with somebody at the club.

Things change. People at the club might have expected a high pick a week ago. They did ask for 6000 points.

I've been told things from people in the basketball world who are 100% ITK but every now and then the information either changes or is wrong. These are people getting the information first hand. Not randoms online.
yeah nah

i see it on soccer forums all the time. ITK types always like to virtually strut around, pretend their (made-up) information is completely unassailable, live off the clout and self-importance that they receive from people they don't know on the internet

and then as soon as their invented information turns out to be false it's all 'things changed' last minute and yadda yadda

it's pathetic and deeply weird behaviour when, at absolute best, they probably have something third or fourth hand that likely originated with the club's janitor's second cousin, but instead the ITK acts like they're safeguarding nuclear ****ing launch codes and their source is a spook deep in the millitary-industrial complex who's risking their life to pass on said information

I hear ya, I was just making the point we were softer on the trade then we needed to when he was I uncontracted…also wasnt making a comment on his ability or what it enabled us to recruit with returning pick…We need to be a little stronger like other clubs and im hope clarko and co help provide that…

First thing that we need to do it nominate Ashcroft so the Lions have to use their points.
Gotta assume Clarko will take a more “us vs them”, “some men just want to see the world burn…” approach to this trade/draft period, compared to the previous regime:

• Logue for a future 2nd or he goes to the PSD
  • Salary dump Hill (600k for a 2nd/3rd round pick coming back to us)
  • Get Tucker with the future third (probably overs but oh well)
  • Land Bedford with pick 55

Despite how crap the handouts are, the conspicuous specificity of them surely means that we have deals lined up in principle and these picks are simply to facilitate a trade.

Go into the draft with 1 and whatever else to get Cooper.

Trade 1 for 3 and whatever else half decent.

Pick up Cadman, another KPP, Cooper +Logue, Tucker, Hill.

It’s obviously less than we wanted but it will help facilitate the trades we are after.

I can see jed being traded to Brisbane. Hasn't he built a house in the NT?

Fills the robinson role from last year and gives them midfiled depth. Maybe their 2nd for this year and we don't bid on ashcroft sort of deal?

Robinson played more wing.... can't see jed out there and also with them interested in Dunkley can't see him needed inside

Adam Tomlinson salary dump?

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I wish the ITK posters would stop blowing threads up with information I could only find here because it means that I have to scroll past them all to get to trade hypotheticals written by soccer fans that totally ignore the history of AFL trades and drafting.
So are you telling me we cannot just trade for Erling Haarland for a 1st and 3rd?

Gotta assume Clarko will take a more “us vs them”, “some men just want to see the world burn…” approach to this trade/draft period, compared to the previous regime:

• Logue for a future 2nd or he goes to the PSD
  • Salary dump Hill (600k for a 2nd/3rd round pick coming back to us)
  • Get Tucker with the future third (probably overs but oh well)
  • Land Bedford with pick 55

Despite how crap the handouts are, the conspicuous specificity of them surely means that we have deals lined up in principle and these picks are simply to facilitate a trade.

Go into the draft with 1 and whatever else to get Cooper.

Trade 1 for 3 and whatever else half decent.

Pick up Cadman, another KPP, Cooper +Logue, Tucker, Hill.

It’s obviously less than we wanted but it will help facilitate the trades we are after.
Think it should be future second for both Logue and tucker

Hopefully clarko can land Gunston as a free agent also, he’s apparently considering Brisbane but I’m sure we could offer more money
Adam Tomlinson salary dump?

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Wouldn’t be against getting Tomlinson for free

Can play either end

I would entertain the following

Hill + STK 2023 1st for NM 2023 3rd (NM pays 100% of Hill salary)

Logue + Tucker for NM 2023 2nd

Gives us a hard running, utter cat wingman on large coin for the next three years, but one who can actually get on the park/someone for Bailey to practice beating up, and we get an extra 1st & death ride St Kilda in 2023 - they clear up space for de Goey, and we get rid of our albatross 2023 3rd

We also get our CHB for the next 8-9 years and a freebie half back for a pittance (Freo are over a barrel unfortunately, and I acknowledge Logue is probably worth more than this on his own, but the threat of the PSD & his uncontracted status hurts the Porple)

We draft at #1 this year (Wardlaw/Sheezel), we draft probably between #2-5 and #6-9 next season. Can't see the Saints getting any better, nor do I think we will improve markedly

I'd love Clark but I don't see how we make it happen. Don't think we have the currency