List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

Id call it an A! Got rid of Judas, we got 2 of the top 3 draft picks, got Griff and Darcy who actually want to play in the blue and white, plus got an extra future 1st in a super draft!
And I reckon we didn’t agree to the deal until we were given the word on who GWS take with pick one. This left us knowing we would be able to pick our top two choices.
As someone who has worked with a toxic person, getting rid of *** I can tell you is a massive win.

If he was my teammate? Yes, absolutely. One million percent. There's 20 other teammates, to have our backs. Surely there's players that liked Jase, on our list.

Just stumbled across this fantastic Spotify playlist

NORTH MELBOURNE

Who left:
Jason Horne-Francis (Port Adelaide, trade)

Who arrived: Griffin Logue (Fremantle, trade), Darcy Tucker (Fremantle, trade)

Draft picks owned: 2, 3, 40, 43, 59, 70

David King says: “They’ve made the best of a really bad situation. You saw Brady Rawlings before, he’s rung out. The whole football club has been challenged at every port along the way. The AFL assistance of Logue and Tucker will help with Picks 2, 3 and 40. But it’s still at the bottom-end of a rebuild. I think they’ll be putting their hand up again next year for some assistance because I don’t think it was good enough this year – and I’ll go to the grave on that.”

Foxfooty.com.au trade grade: D+
No idea how fox footy gave our trade period a D+. Considering the situation, I feel immense relief and thought we had a B+.

The AFL has a real problem on its hands, if they're worried about tv broadcast and smashings, its going to be more than just us next year vs top 8 sides. Finalists in Cats, Dees, Pies, Lions, Tigers all got better. Arguably Dockers did too with Jackson & O'Meara albeit losing some depth.
Power got two good ins but losing Amon hurts them, hard to read right now but they're chips in but what's the chemistry like next year. They could rise or it could go pear-shaped. We'd obviously prefer it goes badly but wait and see.
Crows got stronger with Rankine and their fitness might push them towards finals. Swans and Blues kinda held ground and will have organic improvement.
But basically North, West Coast, GWS, Bombers, Hawks, Gold Coast and Saints either got worse, held ground or only really small improvement in talent.

I’ll give my info on JHF - what is fact -

1.He was the one that sooked after Noble blasted them in Brisbane.
2. Flew to Adelaide without the clubs knowledge.
3. Fact - most of the players hated him - thought he was a tosser.
4. Refused an ice bath and verbally challenged Patch on where he should have played - got him dropped.
5. Clearly looked to have checked out after about 6 games which we now know is when Port started talking to him.

All of the above is fairly well known.

Another thing that just crossed my mind though was this - I spoke to Boomer Harvey a few times this year about a lot of stuff as I know him from local footy. I remember speaking to him in March at a VFL practice match and I asked would JHF play round 1. He said possibly but not a lock. Now isn’t that strange for a number 1 pick who is supposedly a gun. Makes me wonder if there weren’t issues then.

Thinking about it now the Boomer comments make some sense - maybe they thought he would come good but obviously he didn’t.

But Boomer did give me Paul Curtis as his smoky for the year.
Club should strip best first player from the tossbucket and retrospectively award to Curtis as the rightful recipient. How he didn't win it to begin with is astonishing.

No idea how fox footy gave our trade period a D+. Considering the situation, I feel immense relief and thought we had a B+.

Who gives a shit what the media give, some of our worst trade/drafts were rated A+.

We just need to nail the picks and Clarkson and co need to develop well. Two of Wardlaw/Sheezel/Cadman is going to be a whole lot better than 1 and a dysfunctional brat.

Screen Shot 2022-10-12 at 10.33.02 pm.jpg

'Fox Footy with a question for Jason: G'day Jason, now that North Melbourne have been made to look like fools with last year's No.1 pick running out on them, tell us, from your perspective as a young, Port Adelaide generational talent with some inside knowledge of Norf, why we're all right to agree that no self-respecting, family-loving lad with immense character and will to win should ever have to go through the horror of a year trapped under the smoking ruins of such a broken club?'

Would you help a campaigner you don’t like?
Mate I played a lot of footy was involved in many scuffles in my time. Did I like every player I played with of course not but when the argy bargy started you just saw the jumper involved and you went in to help no questions asked.

NORTH MELBOURNE

Who left:
Jason Horne-Francis (Port Adelaide, trade)

Who arrived: Griffin Logue (Fremantle, trade), Darcy Tucker (Fremantle, trade)

Draft picks owned: 2, 3, 40, 43, 59, 70

David King says: “They’ve made the best of a really bad situation. You saw Brady Rawlings before, he’s rung out. The whole football club has been challenged at every port along the way. The AFL assistance of Logue and Tucker will help with Picks 2, 3 and 40. But it’s still at the bottom-end of a rebuild. I think they’ll be putting their hand up again next year for some assistance because I don’t think it was good enough this year – and I’ll go to the grave on that.”

Foxfooty.com.au trade grade: D+
I suspect we could have done better if we didn't have the Clarko allegations hanging over the club.

We weren't in the conversation with Bowes, perhaps we would have been if Clarko was able to do his thing. Could we have leveraged a player if Clarko was able to approach players from Port himself?

north-melbourne.jpg

Who arrived: Griffin Logue, Darcy Tucker

Who left: Jason Horne-Francis

2022 NAB AFL Draft picks: 2, 3, 40, 43, 59, 70

Future picks: North Melbourne received a future first-rounder from Port Adelaide as part of the Horne-Francis mega-deal, which will be tied to the Power's finishing position next year. As part of the special assistance package from the AFL, the Roos had to trade the additional future second- and third-round selections it was granted. The two picks, along with a future fourth, were sent to Fremantle as part of the Logue and Tucker deals.

We say: All hell broke loose at Arden Street on trade period eve when No.1 pick Horne-Francis requested a move to Port Adelaide. The protracted dealings eventually resulted in the much-hyped mega-trade, also involving West Coast and GWS. On paper, losing both a player taken at No.1 and this year's No.1 selection looks grim, but the Roos have arguably made the best of a bad situation, splitting this year's pick to receive picks two and three and moving on a player who clearly did not want to be at the club. Logue will provide much-needed support to the backline, while Tucker is a strong runner who can slot in anywhere. The Roos also spent most of the last day trying to prise the contracted Hunter Clark from St Kilda, but were unsuccessful. – Sarah Black

north-melbourne.jpg

Who arrived: Griffin Logue, Darcy Tucker

Who left: Jason Horne-Francis

2022 NAB AFL Draft picks: 2, 3, 40, 43, 59, 70

Future picks: North Melbourne received a future first-rounder from Port Adelaide as part of the Horne-Francis mega-deal, which will be tied to the Power's finishing position next year. As part of the special assistance package from the AFL, the Roos had to trade the additional future second- and third-round selections it was granted. The two picks, along with a future fourth, were sent to Fremantle as part of the Logue and Tucker deals.

We say: All hell broke loose at Arden Street on trade period eve when No.1 pick Horne-Francis requested a move to Port Adelaide. The protracted dealings eventually resulted in the much-hyped mega-trade, also involving West Coast and GWS. On paper, losing both a player taken at No.1 and this year's No.1 selection looks grim, but the Roos have arguably made the best of a bad situation, splitting this year's pick to receive picks two and three and moving on a player who clearly did not want to be at the club. Logue will provide much-needed support to the backline, while Tucker is a strong runner who can slot in anywhere. The Roos also spent most of the last day trying to prise the contracted Hunter Clark from St Kilda, but were unsuccessful. – Sarah Black

Thanks giant roo I know you put it up I can’t find it can you put up the draft picks chart for next year just going of this year ladder position please

It's in the pinned post above under the spoiler tags.

1665606874630.png

Agree, anyone who watched us play this year would think that Logue improves us structurally down back in a domino effect and we are a several goal better team.

Whilst I don't expect our# 2 and #3 to have immediate impact, * got a C+ based on hacks like Setterfield and Weideman who might actually get a game by bonding with their coach over property portfolios.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III