List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

Are Taranto and Hopper also a missed opportunity?

Probably a bit but would cost heaps which might be best used at the draft. Hopper particularly as a pure mid who is young enough to play for another 10 years would have been nice. I would have liked a go at either.

Hey it was your ITK mate that set me off and got me banned.
He doesn't like me either because I also said he made up shit. We have a common enemy, we can be true friends now

I guess the difference is you could live somewhere like Rye for a lot less than anywhere city side of Moorabin. You could sell the sleepy cheaper lifestyle where you get no-one hassling you most of the time. Part of the charm of Geelong is that you can live on the surf coast or somewhere closer to Geelong for a lot less than it costs inner city.

Not many fans get to training anyway. You could have kept Moorabin as a second training ground and women's footy hub with a shop. Anyway it's done now but it was probably a good idea badly executed.
The difference is Geelong select a lot of kids from the area, plus some mature players from the area (Stewart, Atkins etc) plus get numerous talented Geelong raised players requesting a trade to the Cats once they have completed their minimum duty at their original club plus blokes from other Victorian regions who prefer the surf/rural lifestyle plus some blokes from places like SA (cos that's just like a big sleepy town) plus Irishmen (because they can live in a laid back region with lots of pubs & paddocks)

You may get the odd Bayside player wanting to come to our club but there really is no comparison. We are simply another Melbourne club and it's not lifestyle factors that are going to influence any recruits.

I like the North, it's much cooler than the south east but I like to get the * out once I'm done.
My office is about a 15min walk from Sydney Road. It's like a different world as soon as you get there. Everyone has an imaginary friend walking alongside them and if you make one bad look at any of them you're dead. I only go if I've got a purpose. In and out, no mucking around.

Gags on trade radio on Thursday. We should all call up [emoji23]

Oh yes. I’m off work, in all seriousness if anyone has any questions and they open the line up give us a PM? I’ll post the answers in here.

Ben King would probably pick Moorabbin.

King (and most of his salary) & 7 for Long and it's all done.

Don’t think that’s how it works. Reckon it will be more:

Long + 9 + 27+ future 2nd = King, (salary full) + 25 + 31 + 34

LIONS JOIN BOWES CHASE

BRISBANE is among the clubs interested in Gold Coast's Jack Bowes and the Suns' pick No.7 as the Lions plot a busy trade period.

Bowes is due to return from overseas this week and will meet with clubs as he decides on his future.

AFL.com.au revealed last week the Suns were prepared to put up their prized pick No.7 for the club that also takes on Bowes and his heavily backended deal.

TNZGu29A.jpg

Jack Bowes in action during Gold Coast's clash with Port Melbourne in VFL round 19, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos
Geelong has long been interested in Bowes and could also use the top draft selection to target local prospect Jhye Clark, while Hawthorn and Essendon are also interested. The Saints, too, have been interested, with the Lions expected to meet with Bowes later this week as he comes to a decision.

The decision will be in Bowes’ hands as to where he is keen to play. He is contracted until the end of 2024, but the Suns are looking at ways to move out his salary as part of a plan to realign their cap. Bowes has played in the midfield and across half-back and had an injury-hit season this year after pre-season shoulder surgery.

The top draft choice would also open up plans for the Lions in their trade period, given they will need to satisfy the Western Bulldogs on a trade for Josh Dunkley whilst also having enough draft picks to match bids on father-son pair Will Ashcroft and Jaspa Fletcher.

The Dogs are eyeing two first-round picks for Dunkley, who is a favourite to win their best and fairest this week. – Callum Twomey

If Saints think Collingwood will match our offer for De Goey, especially since they won’t get FA compensation because of Daniel McStay, then we should booby trap our offer.

Remove all behavioural clauses that were agreed to, up the offer to 6 years (salary cap will be increasing in 2 years), and add $100,000 per year to the offer.

Collingwood may very well match and think they are playing us as suckers with all their grandstanding about general behavioural clauses, but make them wince as they match.

Put the acid on them and also make it clear we don’t trade with them. De Goey only comes as a free agent.

Or they trade for McStay and take the compo.

Gee, just thinking about the contracts of traded players, what chance does the encumbant have if they're a smaller or interstate side?

If they front end a deal, another club walks along and offers more money, gone.

If they back end a deal, like GC did with Bowes, Geelong can come along add another two years whilst smoothing the contract value out and slipping it into the list and as an added bonus get access to top10 talent for the manuverure.

If a club takes on a contracted player they either need to maintain the status quo and negotiate a contract comes into effect at the end of the existing deal or improve it.

People are worried about how we run, I'm worried that it doesn't matter if the entire game is rigged.

My office is about a 15min walk from Sydney Road. It's like a different world as soon as you get there. Everyone has an imaginary friend walking alongside them and if you make one bad look at any of them you're dead. I only go if I've got a purpose. In and out, no mucking around.

St Kilda isn't any better. Ice makes people nuts.

So so far the clubs who the media has potentially attracting the big deals in the trade periods are…

Geelong - Premiers
Brisbane - 6th
Richmond - 7th
Collingwood - 4th
Melbourne - 2nd
Dogs - 8th

Good to see “equalisation” doing it’s thang again…

If Saints think Collingwood will match our offer for De Goey, especially since they won’t get FA compensation because of Daniel McStay, then we should booby trap our offer.

Remove all behavioural clauses that were agreed to, up the offer to 6 years (salary cap will be increasing in 2 years), and add $100,000 per year to the offer.

Collingwood may very well match and think they are playing us as suckers with all their grandstanding about general behavioural clauses, but make them wince as they match.

Put the acid on them and also make it clear we don’t trade with them. De Goey only comes as a free agent.
100%

Make it $950, 6 years and no behavioral clauses.

Ben King would probably pick Moorabbin.

King (and most of his salary) & 7 for Long and it's all done.

Don’t think that’s how it works. Reckon it will be more:

Long + 9 + 27+ future 2nd = King, (salary full) + 25 + 31 + 34

I’ll let you worry about the negotiations and I’ll just concentrate about where we’ll play him 👍🏻

nXuRGwW.gif