List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III

I’d be shocked if we are not working hard to get another top 20 pick ..

We are focusing on the draft this year .. we might want to trade someone In next year so let’s maximise the draft hand while we know it’s what we are focusing on this year

Haynes would make a bit of sense if it was achievable in the cap because he makes us better next year and can come with a reasonable pick

This use to be common knowledge, but seems to be forgotten when talking about 21/22 year old kpp, even on this board.
This board is particularly bad for it. Footballers playing their best football before the age of 25 is the rarity but because the couple of dozen superstars across the competition of 700 players do it people get the idea this is the minimum level. It just absolutely isnt by any measure and players like Jack Sinclair are prime examples of it, just night and day compared to where he was 2 years ago.

Cordey looks to me to be a decent guy who will easily fit into a playing group both physically and as a team mate. Put him into a proper backline setup under Corey Enright and I think he will actually surprise a bunch as to his ability.

Membrey is a key part of the forward line and a leader in the dressing room. Replacing him will be difficult unless you move Battle forward. I’d say it’ll be easier trying to shift Clark, Gresham etc who are not pure mids which we desperately need but have some potential other clubs would be interested in.. Billings has no value currently unfortunately..
Trying to shift a contracted player who doesn't want to move is not that easy - Membery would have currency but whoever wants him would have to make a very good offer for him to move.

Yeah me and mate had an argument over this last night, assuming you can only take one, which is the case for most clubs. He reckons Whitfield over Haynes even with the contract, I reckon Whitfield has more of his prime left, but I’m going with Haynes at 2 more years for less money.

Trade 1:
Brisbane trade: P21 + P34 + P55 + F3, (Bris) + F4, (Geel)
Brisbane receive: P28 + P32 + P45 + P57 + F4, (PA)

Port trade: P57 + P60 + F4, (PA)
Port receive: P55 + F3, (Bris)

St Kilda trade: P28 + P32 + P45
St Kilda receive: P21 + P34 + P60 + F4, (Geel)

Trade 2:
St Kilda trade: P21 + P60 + F3, (STK)
Richmond trade: Graham + P31

Trade 3:
Saints lose = P31 + P34 + F2, (STK) + F4, (Geel)
GWS lose = Haynes + 15 + F2, (Coll) + F4, (GWS)

Leaves Saints with 9 + 15 + 77, (AFL will make sure each club has three picks)

Futures are F1, (STK), F2, (Coll), F4, (GWS), F5, (STK)

Lose Long, but gain Haynes and Cordy, a strong position in this years draft and an uncompromised hand next year.

Take Hotton at 9 and Hayes at 15.

I don’t fully understand it but I applaud the work you put into it. That’s the sort of post I like to see.

Pfffft. I didn't say trade Clark, in fact I was responding to Bird Man's comment about finding another way to get a top 15 pick other than trading out Clark.

Graham Wright the other day said that in order to improve the list we need to inject more top end talent via the draft over the next couple of years. Those comments seem to be a little bit different to your "sit tight, she'll be right approach".
Did I say groater? I have no problem trading for picks but deals need to make sense. Clarke doesn’t make sense, membrey doesn’t make sense Imo. If we’re desperate for another first then talk to gws about a salary dump or trade next years first. We lack talent, hunter Clark is high end talent, membrey is talented and a leader, imo trading either makes us worse.

Bowes was showing plenty promise before going down with a shoulder and Dew favoured him over Brodie over the years. Bowes is almost identical in every way to Hunter Clark, high pick, promising at times, playing HBF instead of mid where his looks a more natural fit. Some question marks due to injury but not really injury prone.

I think I'd rather take the gamble on Bowes than a 30 year old Haynes who was at his best a running rebound defender, kind of a cross between Dylan Roberton and Mason Wood. He's more athletic than most blokes his size but that stuff goes first as a tall power athlete and his last couple of seasons have been below average. Haynes is on close to $1 million pa too I think.

Whitfield is more and a longer contract but makes more sense to team balance at the Saints. If you could get them to pay $250k a year for him it would be an acceptable gamble IMO.

We are focusing on the draft this year .. we might want to trade someone In next year so let’s maximise the draft hand while we know it’s what we are focusing on this year

Haynes would make a bit of sense if it was achievable in the cap because he makes us better next year and can come with a reasonable pick
Why would we want to chase a bloke who is 31 next year and who's numbers are dropping off , he wont be there when we are ready to challenge and further more is contracted until the end of 2024 , same as Whitfield its a no

The reason we might chase him is if they're throwing in a pick. Take his salary for them, he gives us a few years of good service and we get pick 15.

If any of the GWS salary dumps are going to happen it will be late doors. They have to work out the super deal first. Still think it's probably unlikely but it will be interesting to see if we're keeping tabs.

It will go something like this I reckon .....

This board is particularly bad for it. Footballers playing their best football before the age of 25 is the rarity but because the couple of dozen superstars across the competition of 700 players do it people get the idea this is the minimum level. It just absolutely isnt by any measure and players like Jack Sinclair are prime examples of it, just night and day compared to where he was 2 years ago.

Cordey looks to me to be a decent guy who will easily fit into a playing group both physically and as a team mate. Put him into a proper backline setup under Corey Enright and I think he will actually surprise a bunch as to his ability.

I have no problem with Cordy, just doesn't make sense as an appointment when we are stacked with third tall defenders and good ones are playing at Sandy. Hopefully he's good to justify the appointment but he means Battle, Wilkie and Highmore types have to step out of the side and we were training Sharman there this year as well. You can probably only play three of Howard, Wilkie, Battle, Highmore and Cordy. If Sharman gos back to the forwards and Battle also Hayes misses out on a spot.

Perhaps Cordy goes forward as a ruck/forward?

I have no problem with Cordy, just doesn't make sense as an appointment when we are stacked with third tall defenders and good ones are playing at Sandy. Hopefully he's good to justify the appointment but he means Battle, Wilkie and Highmore types have to step out of the side and we were training Sharman there this year as well. You can probably only play three of Howard, Wilkie, Battle, Highmore and Cordy. If Sharman gos back to the forwards and Battle also Hayes misses out on a spot.

On the wing.

Clark trade won't happen North are not going to have a pick between 10 and 20, they will have 2&3 this year and their Future 1st and Ports Future 1st next year. Only one that makes sense is Ports Future 1st anyone prepared to take a punt on Port having another shocker?

If they were planning to grab Clark they would be trying to set up a pick to do that and they are not. They would also have committed to Clark that they would make it happen and they have not. My read is he is low on their list of priorities was a nice idea if they could get him cheap but he is not worth a high draft pick to them.

Haynes was one of my favourite players in his prime, I am a bit shocked that he is 30 already. I really haven't watched GWS at all recently they are not a good watch unless Toby is having a day out. So not sure if Haynes is shot or not. However I suspect GWS are unlikely to be offering Haynes and 15 anyway as we have seen with Bowes these deals take time. The player has to agree and come to terms with his new club, if this was a genuine option it would already be underway.

Whitfield is just too much money for way too long would limit us for years

Still good grist for the mill to keep the thread alive but I suspect there is not much more action to come

Cordy is a key position defender, he is a different player to Battle Wilkie Sharman and Highmore. He is backup to Howard and is better than Adams and an upgrade over Joyce.

Walsh was on the radio the other day talking about the inclusion of Cordy also serves the purpose of Wilkie and Battle being "let free" into other roles, so I'm assuming Howard and Cordy take the key forwards and Wilkie plays more of a loose man intercepting role whilst Battle perhaps is the one that moves into the forward line.

Personally think we are far better with a forward line of King-Membrey-Battle and smalls, provided we can make up for Battle's omission from the backline.

I think this is accurate. I think we are actively looking for a way to move up the draft order or to bring in another first round pick. It's still a massive step to get either done though, because every other club has it's own agenda on improving it's list.

Importantly though we aren't looking to use our first pick to leverage a player out of another club. Not even in the pursuit of De Goey.

Is Hayes a good appointment because he is a modern great?

Haven’t heard a thing about other clubs feeling like he is a big miss and he didn’t come with the outside recognition Walsh did.

Worth considering.

If you consider one of the big criticisms of the club lately is a lack of winning culture then I believe he is an excellent get. He was the absolute heart and soul of a footy team that at its best, could arguably be considered as one of the best teams of all time. Much like Enright has helped to shape the backline, I believe that he will instil a sense of passion in the club for many players there, which will help greatly and hopefully make us seen as less of a team of mercenaries and more of a heart and soul type of club where every player gives there all.

Ah its not the flamers burner it is nexus nicks burner.
Has been banned for life on bf, everyone enjoy this interlude, he will be banned once the mods get here.
Hi nexus, how are things? So Haynes and 15 for a future 3rd round hey? That's really exciting
Who is nexus?

BetterDiligentHartebeest-size_restricted.gif

Bye bye now

Ah its not the flamers burner it is nexus nicks burner.
Has been banned for life on bf, everyone enjoy this interlude, he will be banned once the mods get here.
Hi nexus, how are things? So Haynes and 15 for a future 3rd round hey? That's really exciting
33FC62FB-275D-40B8-A756-55E7CF7AF094.gif

Been a while… wasn’t missed.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III