Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:
Dam straight! Mosi had some self respect and could not stomached that scum club one minute longer!*

*may be me projecting my own feelings onto the situation and not an actual fact.
I watched Mosi pretty closely and was really impressed from what I saw. Definitely had the tricks but lost his passion for the game after doing his ACL. Could have been a really good small forward

I liked last year a lot and some of the talent already playing well shows it was a stronger draft than most, I personally would pick these 10 players from both years

1. Will Ashcroft - he would go 1 this year, accumulator mid with skills under pressure
2. Harley Reid - didn't have as impressive draft year as I wanted to see
3. George Wardlaw - very strong midfielder, does all the unheralded tough stuff
4. Harry Sheezel - dominated as a forward and averaged 30 in the midfield prior to draft
5. Jed Walter - dominant kpf
6. Colby McKercher - inside and outside game, well balanced mid
7. Aaron Cadman - talented kpf
8. Cam Mackenzie - elite disposal and good spread from a contest
9. Reuben Ginbey - athletic mid with great endurance
10. Bailey Humphrey - skilful mid forw, some accuracy problems

Tsatas, Phillipou, Clark, Curtin, Sanders, Read, Duursma and Watson just miss out, as you can see last year dominates a bit.
no Curtin?

Can someone please explain how North may get access to Sanders as an NGA and projected to be selected in the top 10, while we won’t have access to Tew Jiath, also NGA, if a bid comes before 40?

I feel like I’m taking crazing pills
North are applying for a concession from the AFL to get Sanders because, you know, they're shit.

Can someone please explain how North may get access to Sanders as an NGA and projected to be selected in the top 10, while we won’t have access to Tew Jiath, also NGA, if a bid comes before 40?

Ever play backyard cricket at a family Christmas party and there was that one cousin who was so shit that the adults had to make a rule where they got to stay in until they manage to hit the ball?

That.

I say it a lot but the AFL are the least professional least strategic least intellectually consistent and most reactive sporting organisation in the world. The next gen academy was setup for players from non football backgrounds to be developed and taken by the developing clubs. CJ and TJ exactly that. Another joke. But swans can get Heeney mills etc

We are the third worst performed team over the last four seasons. I think we should ask for some assistance too.

bullshit lying GIF

I say it a lot but the AFL are the least professional least strategic least intellectually consistent and most reactive sporting organisation in the world. The next gen academy was setup for players from non football backgrounds to be developed and taken by the developing clubs. CJ and TJ exactly that. Another joke. But swans can get Heeney mills etc
The seams got Blakey. How on earth can they claim to have encouraged him to the sport? Was always going to play afl.

That’s a different academy.

Everyone used to have a NSW academy until swans lost Cola , then we all lost it to give them a leg up another way.

We were given the nga, then clubs rorted that and now we can’t match inside 40, unless you are a povo Vic club that loves a handout and if not given it then the AFL hates them.

It's a f&$king rort. The only reason the northern clubs manage their own academies is because the AFL couldn't be f&$ked doing it themselves.

That’s a different academy.

Everyone used to have a NSW academy until swans lost Cola , then we all lost it to give them a leg up another way.

We were given the nga, then clubs rorted that and now we can’t match inside 40, unless you are a povo Vic club that loves a handout and if not given it then the AFL hates them.
Understand that they are different but the stated purpose is below. Do you think blakey learned about the game of afl via the swans academy? 😂

1694826768181.png
For contrast, here is the purpose of the nga. Pretty much the same purpose except sub out nsw and queensland and sub in multicultural and Indigenous.

Broadly put, the academies are supposed to be there encourage participation and talent identification in segments of society that are underrepresented at afl level. This is despite Indigenous players already being overrepresented at afl level.

Blakey being in the academy potentially diverts resources away from from the supposed target market.

The northern academies are a rort to prop up norther clubs while the nga was a lollie from the afl to pacify the clubs only they did it too well and so it was scaled back.

I say it a lot but the AFL are the least professional least strategic least intellectually consistent and most reactive sporting organisation in the world.

Seems to be an admin body that’s maybe a peg or two above a group of chest thumping silverbacks flinging their poop around, while feeling tremendously satisfied with how clever their lives are.

Key word there is maybe.

Its to give them a competitive advantage. No other reason.

The rules around it yes. But the ownership of the program should belong to the AFL not the clubs. But they have no idea how to run a grass roots program. Plus they get to bank the $$$ saved and pay themselves more.

Understand that they are different but the stated purpose is below. Do you think blakey learned about the game of afl via the swans academy? 😂

View attachment 1804498
For contrast, here is the purpose of the nga. Pretty much the same purpose except sub out nsw and queensland and sub in multicultural and Indigenous.

Broadly put, the academies are supposed to be there encourage participation and talent identification in segments of society that are underrepresented at afl level. This is despite Indigenous players already being overrepresented at afl level.

Blakey being in the academy potentially diverts resources away from from the supposed target market.

The northern academies are a rort to prop up norther clubs while the nga was a lollie from the afl to pacify the clubs only they did it too well and so it was scaled back.
Yep. Northern clubs should not have priority access to player with any connection to senior footy via a family member.

And the father / son rule should supercede any academy right

Have a mate close with Gippsland power and he has said there’s a few that are talented and very good whom won’t probably get drafted purely because they don’t have that AFL link.

He said Tew is good but he could barely get a game earlier this year and has played well but he’s not sure where his ceiling is and simply said he doesn’t think he’s as good as everyone thinks.

Personally agree with that, he’s shown some good signs but not sure we have a need for it or whatever.

He’s got massive wraps of Zane however. Rates him ridiculously high.

View attachment 1804498

I never said it was right. It's bullshit to keep propping up a side that hasn't had a problem recruiting. Their academy doesn't make more kids participate or stay in the game. if you're good enough you find your way, regardless of which state you're in.

They wheeled out Heeney once to tell the world he would of chose another sport if not for the academy ffs!

As for Blakey, this article tells you all you need to know about the corrupt AFL and their $wans.

The no Matching inside 40 should be 20. For all Clubs.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread