Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am thinking the Wiz will be there at our pick.

It's looking more and more like Duursma will be gone.
I agree I think NM will take him and possibly both Tassie boys depending on how much the AFL rort it.
I would be very ok with the Wiz because he fills a need and could be an excitement machine.

I agree I think NM will take him and possibly both Tassie boys depending on how much the AFL rort it.
I would be very ok with the Wiz because he fills a need and could be an excitement machine.
I’ve wanted the Wiz ever since Harley became out of reach so I’ll be ecstatic if that’s how it plays out. Having said that I’d also be happy if Duursma falls our way too.

Some people may think this is a ridiculous suggestion and fair enough if so, but is it possible that Duursma is following in his brothers footsteps by peaking early in his career? This is something that’s worried me a bit.

X burst on to the scene a few years ago and looked on an A-Grader trajectory - he was arguably worst on ground last night and has gone downhill since his first year.

Some people may think this is a ridiculous suggestion and fair enough if so, but is it possible that Duursma is following in his brothers footsteps by peaking early in his career? This is something that’s worried me a bit.

X burst on to the scene a few years ago and looked on an A-Grader trajectory - he was arguably worst on ground last night and has gone downhill since his first year.
If he ends up at North then I’d say it’s 99.999% likely 😂

Change Zane's last name & do you have the same concern?

That would be a very specific & unfortunate genetic trait.

Bring the wizard home... He's our boy

On Nokia 6.1 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Love the look of the Wizard, the height doesn’t bother me, the kid has the best skills in the draft I think. He is basically the same height as Brent Daniels from GWS, and he is a gun. The Wizard will bring people to the footy.

I think what the club needs first and foremost is another Schoenmakers.

If North don’t take Curtin do we pick him considering our key position stocks? No doubt the Wiz be good pick as well but Curtin and McCabe might help out KD stocks and then try and draft a KF

Change Zane's last name & do you have the same concern?

That would be a very specific & unfortunate genetic trait.
Of course not.

But I know for a fact there are some younger brothers that have been overlooked purely on the basis that their older brother is injury prone.

Yeah I'd love for us to draft 2J too.

I just don't see any evidence to support your claim at all.
there is no evidence to what he says it's just opinion. fairly baseless opinion at that

also the claim that CJ has been given years to develop, that's a croc. he's been given the same amount of time as similar players who've shown a bit and had injuries.

The seams got Blakey. How on earth can they claim to have encouraged him to the sport? Was always going to play afl.
not necessarily.

I know the nga have a cultural attachment to them but with Blakey the AFL gave the swans a special dispensation for having a different species play the game. And personally I think it's awesome that the Swans have a Lizard 🦎 playing for them

My preference on the top 6 for us;

1. Reid
2. Walter
3. McKercher
4. Watson
5. Curtin
6. Duursma

I know very little, but have got a bad feeling about Duursma. Can't stop thinking of Jaidyn Stephenson when I watch his highlights.

McKercher is outrageously exciting. Isaac Smith mixed with Ben Cousins.

Watson the one I'd be most excited by. Built for the big stage.

My preference on the top 6 for us;

1. Reid
2. Walter
3. McKercher
4. Watson
5. Curtin
6. Duursma

I know very little, but have got a bad feeling about Duursma. Can't stop thinking of Jaidyn Stephenson when I watch his highlights.

McKercher is outrageously exciting. Isaac Smith mixed with Ben Cousins.

Watson the one I'd be most excited by. Built for the big stage.

How can you compare Duursma to Stephenson?

Duursma takes strong contested marks, works hard defensively and tackles. Stephenson is an outside player that uses his pace.

The only similarities are they are both forwards.

there is no evidence to what he says it's just opinion. fairly baseless opinion at that

also the claim that CJ has been given years to develop, that's a croc. he's been given the same amount of time as similar players who've shown a bit and had injuries.

Oh really ….. do you really know what you’re talking about. CJ started working with the HFC when he was in year 10.

In year 11, he was in year 10, and you saw this small kid that was starting to build a lot of confidence. At the time he'd just been picked to be in the AIS and you just started to see that he was going to be a gun, the swagger, the speed with the ball. To have been able to play with him was pretty cool," he said.

It was at this time that Hawthorn first became involved in Jiath's ascension to the AFL. The league had just introduced a pilot program for the Next Generation Academy and was in the early stages of ironing out the wrinkles in the process. The Hawks had access to Jiath via their Gippsland Power alignment and invited him to join the academy in his teenage years.

Former Richmond gun midfielder Nathan Foley was the head of Hawthorn's academy at the time before joining the Hawks' recruiting team – he is now working in the commercial department at the AFL – and worked closely with Jiath. They spent countless hours together doing one on one sessions at Xavier, focusing on driving his legs out of stoppages and kicking on the run, analysing tape and sitting down over many coffees in Hawthorn.

An again you was saying baseless? Yeah right…

Jiath joined the Hawks via the 2017 Rookie Draft after developing through the club’s Next Generation Academy.

Attachments

• IMG_1215.jpeg
    IMG_1215.jpeg
    54.3 KB · Views: 66

Interesting thought but the problem I see with Xavier is his fumbling. Compare that to Willie Rioli who puts out a hand below his knees and the ball just sticks there… allowing him to run away… while X is stuck trying to pick up the ball.

Willie is great at many small things (quality touch and vision of the field) that translates to brilliant play. It may be that he has soft hands (which means to cushion the ball into his hands and so gains control of the ball quickly) or he may use a legal substance on his hands (e.g. grippo) to have the ball stick to his hand. (Note: the problem with grippo is that it affects your ball-drop and so could make a player a bad kick. But if that can be overcome with the right technique, why not use it.).

Whatever is happening with X, his talent is still there.

As for Zane Duusma, IMO his potential is A grade, best 50 players in the AFL.

I’d be happy if we take him at pick 3 …. And happy if we choose 3 other players.

He's so good.
This draft has an incredible top 6-7 or so.
We just can't lose whoever falls our way.
While I like Curtin I’d prefer 5 others before him. The Chad and I , I am happy to have a difference of preference.

My opinion is that we already have a Daniel Curtin equivalent in our team. Weddle is Curtin on steroids!!… meaning he is much faster and does everything that Curtin can do.

But what is better than 1 Weddle… = 2 Weddles. 😃

I’d be very happy to have Curtin as our pick.

but I’d choose the Wiz or Zane or Mckertcher… Or who cares… we will get a good player that we need.

This post season trade and draft period is going to be one of the most enjoyable that I have seen (behind the Lake and Hale trade periods). We (almost) cannot get it wrong.

The Development of CJ started as a Cat B rookie. By the nature of that classification he has been given special status to be at the club when no other club wanted to select him in the National draft. CJ was a fwd in his draft year. He was developed as a back while he was a Cat B rookie.

CaptainWorpedo and Judd2Sewell are correct.

killerspud please be better in your facts. CJ got a leg up via the Cat B system. This is undeniable.

You know what they say the difference between a conspiracy theory and the truth is about 12 months…
I love these quotes… FB19 … this quote is improbable tending towards the unfathomable. I’ll even say it is wrong.
I can come up with 10 conspiracy theories right now, none true, and in 12 months they will also not be true. Give it 50 years and they will still be untrue. I might even say, some conspiracy theories can never be true.

But to work with your intent: It is a scientifically proven idea that All facts have a half-life. As an example, “what goes up must come down” was true until we sent voyager into space… and it will never come down… this is a current and likely long term fact.

What you should be quoting is, (with my paraphrasing), “nothing is certain, until it is, and even then it is not certain”. Mark Manson… who is really just paraphrasing the real philosophers.

If CJ cleans up his disposal he could be the most effective player in the AFL. With Weddle beside him they could be a scary duo running from half back. Put in Seamus, Impey and Bailey and we have a backline that will almost certainly be the fasted in AFL history.

This idea is more than fun to think about, it is close to reality. And it will be fun to watch.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread