List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

Angus Hastie coming up on SEN shortly

He was coming up after the break, and i'd just arrived at work, so i headed towards my office to turn SEN on, got bailed up by 2 people and had to waste time doing the stuff i get paid to do.

I think we deserve a better rating than B+

ST KILDA

Picks (at start of the draft):
13, 21, 40

Selections: Darcy Wilson (18), Lance Collard (28), Angus Hastie (33), Hugo Garcia (50), Arie Schoenmaker (62)

The word that comes to mind here is ‘value’. Darcy Wilson could’ve easily gone earlier as he was a fringe top 10 contender and having the sort of running ability Ross Lyon will love. And then Lance Collard — an exciting forward who can hit the scoreboard — would’ve been in the top 20 on a lot of club draft boards. Then they used their suite of future third-round picks – they came into night two with three, including Carlton’s and Melbourne’s – to trade back into the draft, first for defensive help with Angus Hastie, then for promising midfielder Hugo Garcia. But perhaps their best pick came last, with Tasmanian Arie Schoenmaker joining the club. On paper he was a genuine first-round prospect — a tall defender with a booming kick — but perhaps off-field concerns saw him nearly miss out on being selected entirely. The hope will be Lyon and his coaching staff can help Schoenmaker live up to his excellent potential. If he does, he could be the pick of the night.

Grade: B+

I think it's just the Aussie way. Try to laugh your way out of uncomfortable situations rather than deal with them.

Anyway. He deserves a chance at redemption and even if he doesn't he only has to play well and meet his contract terms, not turn himself into a moral crusader as part of his reparations. What ever he's done he probably needs to make up to the people involved, not the rest of us.

One of my kids was bulled enough at school to move. No-one at the school could fix it and the whole cohort seemed to be out of control. The school reckoned it was one bad year and they lost about 30 students to other schools. It's interesting that the culture that you are in can make certain things acceptable and others don't. Hopefully our internal culture helps guide all of our young guys.

Back when I went to school, you got bullied early on and then by the end of school you'd become the bullies. It wan't good and there were things that I wish I'd done different. I used "humour" to put people down and it's a real cowards way of bullying. I think I'm a moral person now and do my bit to help others but I acknowledge that I was a bit of a campaigner at one point.

Schools can be a pretty shitty place to learn "acceptable behaviour".
Especially some of the sexual harassment that was accepted as normal would have had people fired from most workplaces.

Suddenly the fat nerd gets a job in accounts, and finds that everyone has to act with respect towards them, and they are earning a decent amount of money, so they can afford a Harley and a Jet Ski, while the former cool guy bully working on the factory floor is just a loser.

That little campaigner Arthur tried to fight me and started to hit me over the head with a pool cue because I was too much of a stud and smashed him in a pool comp back in the day. He was a very unpleasant and aggressive little man. Anyone brave enough to set the little prick on fire deserves a medal.

He was like some old lady's aggressive little dog that shreds the cuffs of your jeans and you can't boot it across the room because of society's oppressive moral code. Pretty sure back in the old testament there is probably some rule that lets you fight aggressive little people. Perhaps Clint got biblical on him.
Two m*dgets fighting would've been a real sight to behold indeed 😎

Yep, it was similar for me. I was thinking that we should start posting Stories of us bullying people at school on Arie's welcome thread, owning our past errors as a form of solidarity with victims and guys like Arie who * up as teens.

Then I thought no one would be brave enough to do it and call me a bleeding heart blah blah blah. But I'm game if anyone else is.
Not bullying but I'll fess up on the "I Stand with Arie" thread to putting the National Party 2nd and the Liberal party 3rd on the ballot paper the first time I voted.

Didn't take long for me to realise how wrong and immature that was!!

Who’s left? O’Leary one that we have been linked with.

Cam Nyko had some interest on this thread a while back, but I don't know about any. Hope we pick one though and let DMac move on to post footy career.

After all we have our club's rich tradition to think of.

Milne
Geary
Sinclair
Marshall
Wilkie

others?

Back when I went to school, you got bullied early on and then by the end of school you'd become the bullies. It wan't good and there were things that I wish I'd done different. I used "humour" to put people down and it's a real cowards way of bullying. I think I'm a moral person now and do my bit to help others but I acknowledge that I was a bit of a campaigner at one point
You're forgetting that a lot has changed since the 15th century though mate

That little campaigner Arthur tried to fight me and started to hit me over the head with a pool cue because I was too much of a stud and smashed him in a pool comp back in the day. He was a very unpleasant and aggressive little man. Anyone brave enough to set the little prick on fire deserves a medal.

He was like some old lady's aggressive little dog that shreds the cuffs of your jeans and you can't boot it across the room because of society's oppressive moral code. Pretty sure back in the old testament there is probably some rule that lets you fight aggressive little people. Perhaps Clint got biblical on him.
Gringo Powers.

I think it's just the Aussie way. Try to laugh your way out of uncomfortable situations rather than deal with them.

Anyway. He deserves a chance at redemption and even if he doesn't he only has to play well and meet his contract terms, not turn himself into a moral crusader as part of his reparations. What ever he's done he probably needs to make up to the people involved, not the rest of us.

One of my kids was bulled enough at school to move. No-one at the school could fix it and the whole cohort seemed to be out of control. The school reckoned it was one bad year and they lost about 30 students to other schools. It's interesting that the culture that you are in can make certain things acceptable and others don't. Hopefully our internal culture helps guide all of our young guys.

Back when I went to school, you got bullied early on and then by the end of school you'd become the bullies. It wan't good and there were things that I wish I'd done different. I used "humour" to put people down and it's a real cowards way of bullying. I think I'm a moral person now and do my bit to help others but I acknowledge that I was a bit of a campaigner at one point.
Can’t believe the school allowed such sustained bullying for three entire years. Sure, 12-15 year old needs to take accountability. But where’s his parents, where’s the school, where’s the bullied kids father in all this?! 12-15 year olds need correcting or they get out of control. Not victim blaming BTW.

Pre-draft picks: 13, 21, 40, 77, 82, 86

Players drafted: Darcy Wilson (17), Lance Collard (28), Angus Hastie (33), Hugo Garcia (50), Arie Schoenmaker (62)

It's a group of players taken with upside in mind, and the Saints will be thrilled to have pulled off selections for sliders in this year's pool. St Kilda traded back one selection and banked a future second-rounder on night one before taking hard-running wingman Darcy Wilson. The Bushranger loves a chase down tackle and kicks a lot of goals, suiting Ross Lyon's run-and-gun system to a tee. The Saints then brought in small forward Lance Collard who offers one of the highest ceilings in the class. He's a smooth-mover who kicked 10 goals in his final two games in the WAFL Colts, bringing elite goal nous to go with dynamism with ball in hand. Collard blitzed the combine's speed and agility tests, and on the field offers shades of Shai Bolton, but some clubs had doubts on his willingness to move interstate. Speedy Falcons halfback Angus Hastie was the choice in the second round, while the athletic profile and clean hands of Hugo Garcia appealed as a point of difference on-baller to develop. Finally, Arie Schoenmaker could prove the steal of the draft at pick 62. The Tasmanian has one of the best kicks to come through the draft in recent years and ended the season on fire for the Devils. The Saints could look back on this bold haul of high-upside prospects as the catalyst for something special.

Grade: A+

Players drafted: Darcy Wilson (17), Lance Collard (28), Angus Hastie (33), Hugo Garcia (50), Arie Schoenmaker (62)

It's a group of players taken with upside in mind, and the Saints will be thrilled to have pulled off selections for sliders in this year's pool. St Kilda traded back one selection and banked a future second-rounder on night one before taking hard-running wingman Darcy Wilson. The Bushranger loves a chase down tackle and kicks a lot of goals, suiting Ross Lyon's run-and-gun system to a tee. The Saints then brought in small forward Lance Collard who offers one of the highest ceilings in the class. He's a smooth-mover who kicked 10 goals in his final two games in the WAFL Colts, bringing elite goal nous to go with dynamism with ball in hand. Collard blitzed the combine's speed and agility tests, and on the field offers shades of Shai Bolton, but some clubs had doubts on his willingness to move interstate. Speedy Falcons halfback Angus Hastie was the choice in the second round, while the athletic profile and clean hands of Hugo Garcia appealed as a point of difference on-baller to develop. Finally, Arie Schoenmaker could prove the steal of the draft at pick 62. The Tasmanian has one of the best kicks to come through the draft in recent years and ended the season on fire for the Devils. The Saints could look back on this bold haul of high-upside prospects as the catalyst for something special.

Love that we have a full suite of picks again next year, as well as piling in 5 new recruits, an Irishman and a batch of kids last year.

Schools can be a pretty shitty place to learn "acceptable behaviour".
Especially some of the sexual harassment that was accepted as normal would have had people fired from most workplaces.

Suddenly the fat nerd gets a job in accounts, and finds that everyone has to act with respect towards them, and they are earning a decent amount of money, so they can afford a Harley and a Jet Ski, while the former cool guy bully working on the factory floor is just a loser.
A jet ski makes someone "cool"?

ESPN essentially saying we won the draft.

The only other club to score an A+ was Gold Coast, and they had a lot of leg up with academies and the likes.

We’ve done very well on paper.

… on the other hand it’s laughable that Fox Footy rated Essendon’s draft efforts higher than ours. But apart from that only North, Gold Coast & Adelaide were rated higher and again all of them had stacked draft hands. We have continued to nail these drafts (again, on paper) relative to the picks we have. And good drafting is almost always an indicator of success.

How nice is it to wake up after the draft/s nights and be content with knowing our club have made 5 x measured great selections. Prior to Toce' taking over recuitment there was always doubts, but in the past 3 years we have absolutely nailed our drafts. What a difference having quality players will make to our future prospects on field.

Exciting times Sainters!❤️🤍🖤

I agree wholeheartedly with him.

We have an NGA called Cole I think who is a real goer, but if current rules persist we will miss out on.

Definitely agree the system needs looking at but there's something on the nose about 3 clubs that have all won premierships in the last 5 years having a sook about it
I find it very hard to sympathise with any other club when last year we missed out on Cmac to the hawks who went pick 7!!

We weren’t allowed to keep him. We weren’t offered the opportunity to trade out and gain a plethora of picks and still nab him.

So, no WCE can suck a d1ck - crying over the fact they lost out on Collard

I find it very hard to sympathise with any other club when last year we missed out on Cmac to the hawks who went pick 7!!

We weren’t allowed to keep him. We weren’t offered the opportunity to trade out and gain a plethora of picks and still nab him.

So, no WCE can suck a d1ck - crying over the fact they lost out on Collard

West Coast should have tried to trade pick 1 to North for 2 and one of the late round 1 draft picks.
I can't believe that the difference in Reid to McKercher is so significant that it would make up for them also getting a player like Collard.
They picked up a couple of decent recruits but its going to be a long slow rebuild for them at this rate.

List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

Write your reply...