Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

You can't afford to fill a whole list with "best available", and nowhere did I say he's the "best possible backup".

"Best available" don't hang around if they can't get a game.

He doesn't have to be "AFL standard" as the expectation is he only gets a shot if injury dictates it.

Given Schache's position on the list, there's no reason we're not also looking to get a best 23 forward/ruck in.

People live in fantasy land this time of year and don't seem to get the reality of footy club lists.

The reality of footy club lists is that there’s a rookie draft, DFA period, pre-season supplemental period and mid-season draft that you can utilise to get in blokes on the cheap who can be the injury back up you’re describing and maybe even turn into a good player ie Jai Newcombe.

Schache on the list is a spot we’re not keeping open for those opportunities.

I’d keep Benny Brown. Still got some petrol tickets left I reckon. Or as Rocky Balboa would say, “still got some stuff in the basement”.

Breaks down every 4 weeks, can no longer run when he's available. Pointless. Just getting in the way of development.

The reality of footy club lists is that there’s a rookie draft, DFA period, pre-season supplemental period and mid-season draft that you can utilise to get in blokes on the cheap who can be the injury back up you’re describing and maybe even turn into a good player ie Jai Newcombe.

Schache on the list is a spot we’re not keeping open for those opportunities.

Keeping Schache as injury insurance in a much needed area of our list isn't going to prevent us winning a flag because we didn't throw a hail Mary on some unknown quantity.

Delisting Schache isn’t going to cost us a flag either.

And if you’re right that he’s a worthwhile 40th man on the list then sign him up in February next year when you’ve had a look at the other options.

I figure from all of this that TMac goes around again, but Grundy and Brown are gone. Melk may very well be done too.

I think that's reason enough to keep Schache around as backup. He's still young(ish) and not so injury prone. More versatile than the rest too, so makes for a good, cheap, flexible backup option if we cop a Gawn injury next year.

Happy to pay out Brown and be done with it so Jefferson can have a genuine chance at developing.

Breaks down every 4 weeks, can no longer run when he's available. Pointless. Just getting in the way of development.

At the very least then he should get a beautiful bronze statue at the entrance of Casey fields. Long praying mantis arms outstretched, crazy ranga hair flopping in the breeze. Do it for the kids.

04C71F9A-13DE-4884-B263-85964B39ADBA.jpeg

At the very least then he should get a beautiful bronze statue at the entrance of Casey fields. Long praying mantis arms outstretched, crazy ranga hair flopping in the breeze.

View attachment 1790933

Put a plaque on the exercise bike he's always riding for his rehab.

It’s so weird when people melt over these resignings, the guys would be on * all.

All this says to me is Grundy, Brown and Melksham are gone. I reckon TMac goes around again.

It’s weird to me that we spend a whole year universally acknowledging we’ve got no AFL standard tall forward depth and then people are happy to re-sign the worst of our tall forward depth for another year.

The suggestion that there’s no chance of getting a better back up than Schache at pick 60, in the rookie draft or any other avenue seems defeatist to me, that’s all. What’s the harm in trying when everyone is acknowledging Schache isn’t good and will only ever play if nobody else is fit anyway.

It’s weird to me that we spend a whole year universally acknowledging we’ve got no AFL standard tall forward depth and then people are happy to re-sign the worst of our tall forward depth for another year.

The suggestion that there’s no chance of getting a better back up than Schache at pick 60, in the rookie draft or any other avenue seems defeatist to me, that’s all. What’s the harm in trying when everyone is acknowledging Schache isn’t good and will only ever play if nobody else is fit anyway.

If we keep all the other spuds sure I’ll agree, but we won’t do that.

FWIW I'd play Schache as a key defender at Casey next year, especially if Tomlinson goes and Petty plays forward, which will likely happen.

I think I recall seeing people say that you're in the market for a key defender this draft. If you don't go for one of the two in the top 10 then Ollie Murphy is probably the next best option.

Murphy and Will Elliott were the marquee matchup in this game, and Elliott came out on top on balance. Murphy still showed the raw tools that make him such an exciting defensive prospect, and got better as the game went on taking some important marks in the fourth quarter.

Hope we are into Chol. Good ruck/forward depth, only 26 and also would give us an open line to package up pick 4 as part of any arrangement.

I hate how laconic he is but he's got talent and 44 goals as a forward/ruck last year is nothing to sneeze at.

FWIW I'd play Schache as a key defender at Casey next year, especially if Tomlinson goes and Petty plays forward, which will likely happen.

Petty forward, May slowing down, Tomo and Hibberd possibly gone. Plus Turner is more of an interceptor type.

Not the worst idea tbh.

Trained with the backs late in the season, so definitely could happen. Not sure it'd be for a whole season, but they do preach versatility with the players.

If we do keep our pick 15 don’t mind the look of this kid Ollie Murphy from the Dragons/VicMetro. 200cm key defender. Left footer, nice skills, good clunk, attacks the pill. Most assessments have him in that 10 - 18 range of the first round.

Going to need someone to mind the King Brothers, McKay, Thilthorpe, Marshall, Cadman, Logan McDonald - this new breed of 6ft7 key forward into the future.

If Conor O’Sullivan is off the board this lad could well come into our calculations.

It's like you think we can't get any other key talls now. We can mate relax.