List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

North are dangerous... getting all benefit from AFL because they are bottom for some time, loaded up with talented midfielders. Now they will start trading (already started) in Talls including ruck which would have taken time to develop otherwise. The talls they are trading in are around 22-25 years of age... They can contend very soon and they will be a threat to us while we are contending like Clarko's Hawks?
They'd need to bring a lot in by trade. They have about 6-8 gun youngsters that might potentially be A-graders, sure, but the rest of their list is absolute ****. No quality players in the 25+ age bracket either other than Larkey.

I could see them being a genuine finals threat in say 3 years, but it without smashing trade/FA I reckon flag tilts are 5-8 years off when the majority of the high picks are in the peak ages.

With the amount they’re being gifted I’d be astounded if they weren’t competing in the next few years. It’s completely ridiculous and massive overs. The fact that every other club has to sit back and pretend it’s ok is corrupt.
I do not believe your line of reasoning follows. 18-20yo players rarely significantly alter their teams form. So it will likely do nothing to stop them getting belted for the next couple of years, but when they all come on, they'll be much better than they otherwise would have.

They'd be better in the next 3 years if given 5 AFL standard roleplayers (like Switta, Hughes etc) rather than 5 top 20 picks.

I do not believe your line of reasoning follows. 18-20yo players rarely significantly alter their teams form. So it will likely do nothing to stop them getting belted for the next couple of years, but when they all come on, they'll be much better than they otherwise would have.

They'd be better in the next 3 years if given 5 AFL standard roleplayers (like Switta, Hughes etc) rather than 5 top 20 picks.
That’s if they use them on the draft. With that many picks you can trade for pretty much any player in the league while still maintaining a strong draft hand. Add to that the AFL paying for them to secure some mature guys in Tucker and Logue last year.

Just look at them now. Gifted pick 3 for an average player which they can trade for Bulldogs 10,17 and then use those picks to secure a good player or a couple good players. Then head to the draft with 2,14,19,21. And that’s not even including the picks for next year.

They literally have the power to bring in whoever they want while still maintaining a massive draft hand, getting the best of both worlds. It’s massive overkill. There’s no way we’d ever get anything close to that.

That’s if they use them on the draft. With that many picks you can trade for pretty much any player in the league while still maintaining a strong draft hand. Add to that the AFL paying for them to secure some mature guys in Tucker and Logue last year.

Just look at them now. Gifted pick 3 for an average player which they can trade for Bulldogs 10,17 and then use those picks to secure a good player or a couple good players. Then head to the draft with 2,14,19,21. And that’s not even including the picks for next year.

They literally have the power to bring in whoever they want while still maintaining a massive draft hand, getting the best of both worlds. It’s massive overkill. There’s no way we’d ever get anything close to that.
I hope we never get anything close to that! Their last 4 years has been horrible for players and supporters alike

North are dangerous... getting all benefit from AFL because they are bottom for some time, loaded up with talented midfielders. Now they will start trading (already started) in Talls including ruck which would have taken time to develop otherwise. The talls they are trading in are around 22-25 years of age... They can contend very soon and they will be a threat to us while we are contending like Clarko's Hawks?
Have to agree. I thought they were well on the right track even before the "assistance package".

I don't get the Darcy appeal for North and Clarkson.

He won flags with run of the mill ruckmen - and I don't think he fits North's timeline.

And Darcy is not worth pick 2 but I cannot see Freo trading him for anything less.

I don't get the Darcy appeal for North and Clarkson.

He won flags with run of the mill ruckmen - and I don't think he fits North's timeline.

And Darcy is not worth pick 2 but I cannot see Freo trading him for anything less.
He’s 25, he fits everybody’s timeline except West Coast.

Hmmm I find it hard to believe a player of the level of Sean Darcy would not be taking into consideration the likelihood of winning a premiership into his decision on where to go?
Being a premiership player is everything in this sport. It makes your legacy completely different when your career is done and dusted.
Neale left for brisbane because they sold him a vision to win a flag and he didn’t believe in ours at the time.
So he didn't leave to get out of Fyfe's shadow and all the extra $'s thrown at him by the Lions?

They are also talking about getting a lot of very average players from other clubs though.

Regarding the idea that elite players leave to chase a flag I disagree. It may well happen but it doesn't always work out.
Look at Bucks leaving Brisbane. Or Geelongs old Captain I can't remember his name who went to North when they were winning everything and never got a flag while Geelong won a bunch.

Same with chasing big $. Look at Delidio after being heart and soul for Richmond he goes for the cash and has to sit back and watch Richmond win a bunch of flags.

Players with real heart and character (like Pav) don't look around and go well I'm not winning here, I'll go somewhere I'll win. They say what can I do to make this club good enough to win? And he got so close and in doing so set the standard for every player after him at Freo. Retired without a flag but more integrity and respect than most players manage in the game.

Fyfe's the same. Could have gone anywhere for anything but made it his mission to try and get Freo to the ultimate. Poor bugger hasn't been able to take a trick for a few years now but if he makes it back to full fitness who knows.

Logue I can understand, wasn't guaranteed best 22 where he wanted to play, same with Meek, Tucker, Lobb we know is a sook and mercenary. Henry has proved himself as being entirely self interested.

Neale I don't know enough around what was going down at the Club at the time but its hard to argue he didn't make the right decision but had he stayed along with Langdon, Brad Hill and others who's to say we wouldn't have gotten close by now.

I'm pretty sure those like Serong, Brayshaw, Young, Cox, Amiss etc if they manage to climb the mountain and going to be venerated for the rest of their lives and it will be because they built something themselves.

I just don't buy the idea that Darcy is going to leave chasing a premiership when he knows he's part of that group that are building towards something.

Heh. This thread will meltdown if Darcy is traded. Almost membership card microwaveable.
Club does that and winning flags are just forever a dream
It's not like we have a choice. If he wants out the club will be forced to trade him.

Regarding the idea that elite players leave to chase a flag I disagree. It may well happen but it doesn't always work out.
Look at Bucks leaving Brisbane. Or Geelongs old Captain I can't remember his name who went to North when they were winning everything and never got a flag while Geelong won a bunch.

Same with chasing big $. Look at Delidio after being heart and soul for Richmond he goes for the cash and has to sit back and watch Richmond win a bunch of flags.

Players with real heart and character (like Pav) don't look around and go well I'm not winning here, I'll go somewhere I'll win. They say what can I do to make this club good enough to win? And he got so close and in doing so set the standard for every player after him at Freo. Retired without a flag but more integrity and respect than most players manage in the game.

Fyfe's the same. Could have gone anywhere for anything but made it his mission to try and get Freo to the ultimate. Poor bugger hasn't been able to take a trick for a few years now but if he makes it back to full fitness who knows.

Logue I can understand, wasn't guaranteed best 22 where he wanted to play, same with Meek, Tucker, Lobb we know is a sook and mercenary. Henry has proved himself as being entirely self interested.

Neale I don't know enough around what was going down at the Club at the time but its hard to argue he didn't make the right decision but had he stayed along with Langdon, Brad Hill and others who's to say we wouldn't have gotten close by now.

I'm pretty sure those like Serong, Brayshaw, Young, Cox, Amiss etc if they manage to climb the mountain and going to be venerated for the rest of their lives and it will be because they built something themselves.

I just don't buy the idea that Darcy is going to leave chasing a premiership when he knows he's part of that group that are building towards something.
The Geelong captain that went to North was Leigh Colbert.

Tucker isn't taking them anywhere, he's a 23-30 type. Logue would help but dude is injured.

If you're talking about improving in the next 3 years, losing McKay for pick 3 most likely doesn't help either. He might not be that good but he's a mature AFL standard KPP. Now they have to find that somewhere else and the draft isn't a place you get AFL standard KPPs in the short term.

And they categorically don't have the power to bring in whoever they want because nobody wants to go there. The only appeal of that place is $ and possibly Clarkson if you're tone deaf. There are 9 better Victorian teams. The biggest name they've attracted in the last 7 years with the perennial "war chest" is Polec who they still pay despite getting delisted. Logue is probably 2nd.

This idea that if you have cap space and draft capital = trade in A-grader is just wrong for most clubs.

It makes sense to be annoyed at it, but you should be annoyed about what might (remember they could easily butcher this) happen in 3-8 years time, not what happens in the next 3.

I’d take Larkey off their hands.
In fact, that should be the starting request, Larkey and 19
Larkey is worth more than Darcy and their is no way they'd give him up.

Tucker isn't taking them anywhere, he's a 23-30 type. Logue would help but dude is injured.

If you're talking about improving in the next 3 years, losing McKay for pick 3 most likely doesn't help either. He might not be that good but he's a mature AFL standard KPP. Now they have to find that somewhere else and the draft isn't a place you get AFL standard KPPs in the short term.

And they categorically don't have the power to bring in whoever they want because nobody wants to go there. The only appeal of that place is $ and possibly Clarkson if you're tone deaf. There are 9 better Victorian teams. The biggest name they've attracted in the last 7 years with the perennial "war chest" is Polec who they still pay despite getting delisted. Logue is probably 2nd.

This idea that if you have cap space and draft capital = trade in A-grader is just wrong for most clubs.

It makes sense to be annoyed at it, but you should be annoyed about what might (remember they could easily butcher this) happen in 3-8 years time, not what happens in the next 3.

Larkey is worth more than Darcy and their is no way they'd give him up.
You’d be surprised by the amount of players that genuinely think Clarko is a selling point though. It’s pretty gross.

🤮

You're probably right although I'd be staggered if there weren't a good proportion that don't see it that way now. Especially given how ordinary his last 5 years at the Hawks were.

Even peak Clarko is up against the "lure" of playing for North though.

The lure of players to Hawthorn immediately trasfered to Sam Mitchell when he took over from what I can see. North just have $14m to spend and that's a fair reason to join a club.

If Sean Darcy gets offered a massive deal, he should consider it.

Still don’t think it will happen until we
fix the coaching issues.
We need a hard taskmaster somewhere in the system to crack the
whips and make it so.
It’s not okay to say we are young and will improve.
We all thought after the first GF we would get another chance.
Footy is in the now, and the way this team starts games, the only teams we will beat are the other flaky sides
ie the Bulldogs.
No mental fortitude. We have the talent.
Great clubs don’t lose so many players, something isn’t right.

The lure of players to Hawthorn immediately trasfered to Sam Mitchell when he took over from what I can see. North just have $14m to spend and that's a fair reason to join a club.

If Sean Darcy gets offered a massive deal, he should consider it.
I'd never begrudge a player taking the big coin. Got to look after no1.