List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread II - Goldy&Bucket➡️✅/'24 EoFR & #44➡️Stephens&#25✅/#21&#25➡️Fisher&#17✅/'24 EoFR➡️#18✅

Info we all could probably guess and/or knew, but confirmed to the AFL website:

ROOS PAIR FACE UNCERTAIN WAIT​

NORTH Melbourne pair Aiden Bonar and Jack Mahony remain in limbo during the Trade Period without contracts for next year.

The Kangaroos have made a number of list changes already, with Flynn Perez, Lachie Young, Phoenix Spicer and Jacob Edwards delisted. Ben Cunnington, Jack Ziebell, Aaron Hall and Daniel Howe have retired.

But no call has been made on Bonar and Mahony, with the pair, alongside veteran Kayne Turner, in a holding pattern as the Roos get through their Trade Period.

Bonar, the No.11 pick from the 2017 draft, was traded from Greater Western Sydney to the Kangaroos at the end of the 2019 season. He has played 34 games across his career.

Mahony was drafted by the Roos in 2019. As Inside Trading reported last week, Turner will have to bide his time before a decision is made on a list spot for him.

Battle for Swans' pick, Saint set to stay, North's draft call

North Melbourne assessing backline options: AFL trade news
“He’s someone we’re pretty keen to bring in and we think he deserves the opportunity.”
MITCH KEATING AND JACK JOVANOVSKI

North Melbourne list manager Brady Rawlings has discussed the Kangaroos' off-season list strategy, including comments on potentially available GWS utility Nick Haynes, as the club looks to add to its backline.

Haynes, who is out of favour at the Giants, could be available via trade, with recent reports suggesting GWS may package a draft pick with Haynes in exchange for absorbing his hefty remaining salary.

On Monday morning, Rawlings discussed the prospect of acquiring mature-aged players when asked if Haynes could be one player the club might target over the off-season.

"We're certainly open to some discussions around improving our draft order and bringing in some more mature players," Rawlings said.

"We haven't spoken about [Haynes] specifically, but if there's an ability to bring some players in with a bit of maturity while we still pick up high, we'd certainly entertain players that we think might be playing in our best 22 in the next year or two."

Rawlings revealed the Roos could potentially examine the delisted free agency market as an avenue to bolster their backline also.

While North Melbourne will first look internally to see if they have the capital to continue through their rebuild without needing to acquire a new defender, Rawlings said the club is open to all of the player movement mechanisms.

"We're in that space, there's a few mechanisms," he continued.

"At the draft this year we have got a few picks up pretty high, there's potential there to fill spots.

"We have been looking at the DFA space as well. We've also been looking internally at our list as to who could potentially play back, and we think we've got a few options there."

Rawlings surfaced Toby Pink's name as one who is on North Melbourne's radar following his strong 2023 season with SANFL premiers Glenelg.

Pink, who spent three years with Sydney across 2017-2019 and didn't make an appearance at AFL level, was named at full-back in the SANFL Team of the Year following his strong campaign with the Tigers.

The Kangaroos had Pink on their books ahead of the 2020 VFL season before the COVID pandemic hit, with the 25-year-old soon deciding to head back to South Australia.

"Toby is one of those players we've been looking at," Rawlings said.

"He's been in the SANFL for three years now after his opportunity with Sydney, we actually signed him up as a VFL player before COVID hit, and then he went back to Glenelg.

"We've kept a close eye on him. We think his second half of this year in the SANFL has been outstanding. We think he's a premier defender in the SANFL and now a premiership player at SANFL level.

"He's someone we're pretty keen to bring in and we think he deserves the opportunity."

The Kangaroos could consider the key defender as a rookie selection either via November's draft period or as a Supplemental Selection Period acquisition over the pre-season.

Delisted free agency will open on November 1, with a number of recently departed AFL names potentially in the Roos' sights as well.

Among those looking for news clubs is cut Essendon swingman James Stewart, who was not offered a list spot at Tullamarine for 2024 despite having a year to run on his contract.

The Bombers confirmed the former Giant is looking for a new club, and may have some suitors through delisted free agency.

"James will move on. We won't be offering him a list spot next year," Essendon list manager Adrian Dodoro said when questioned by Zero Hanger.

"We just think we're going to be really tight for list spots. He's contracted and will fulfil his contractual obligations, but there might be one or two other clubs that may give him an opportunity."

Stewart, who stands at 197cm and 99kg, was utilised at both ends of the field during his time with the Bombers, where he played 60 games over seven years.

To GC: 15, 21, 44 & 56 = 2546

In: 11, 31 & 37 = 2418

Trade 31 for Fisher
Trade 37 for Stephens
Like it, but would like to keep that 21… recon there will be a big player left around that mark. Perhaps 15 + F19 + 44 + 56 for 11 + 31 + 37?

That leaves us 2, 3, 11 & 21 this year, plus F20 to play with?

Right, so buckets is out and pick 3 is in.

That's trade eon done right? and the draft just in a few days obviously. Boy I sure am glad this won't drag out!
Aging Lethal Weapon GIF

Right, so buckets is out and pick 3 is in.

That's trade eon done right? and the draft just in a few days obviously. Boy I sure am glad this won't drag out!
Get Fisher & Stephens in and wait for deadline day

Like it, but would like to keep that 21… recon there will be a big player left around that mark. Perhaps 15 + F19 + 44 + 56 for 11 + 31 + 37?

That leaves us 2, 3, 11 & 21 this year, plus F20 to play with?
Only issue is it decreases their 'points value' for this year's draft. They need the points for their 3 NGA's.

They've all won 'best bakery' at some stage.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Both bakeries are 🤤 used to frequent both on my trips between benders and shep…Rushy was known for the lamingtons and Elmore had some pretty darn good pies and sausage roll… alas l miss them….still on the hunt for a good one down here is south west..

Eagles either draft Reid or we get the farm from north, there really is no bad scenario for us
Well. Not so sure on that.

You guys ain't exactly running on all cylinders last time I looked - and while we're clearly not either at least we'll have the good sense to add two elite players to our ranks rather than adding just one.

There is no farm.

Cooney just said if we don't win a GF in the next five years we should be moved to Tassie
Cooney should move to Tassie.

So I can shove him down the pier steps.

Yes, they are very different players and Collard has a lot of questions marks, but he has talent and he is a lot cheaper than pick 3 to acquire.

Darcy Wilson, someone else we could get with a later first round pick, quick, has endurance, can kick goals has good disposal has good athletic traits, also another around 185cm so should be able to play different roles.

Oooh l like Wilson especially his last Vic Country game against Metro, such a clever footballer that IMO, would make a great wingman or pitch hit HBF even though he is mid/fwd, he could run up and down all day but again, who does he displace on the wings if that's the spot only available because with have heaps if mid/fwds, he'll be down the pecking order in the middle?

This is my major concern, can count on one hand how many sub 180cm players make great AFL players in the current environment, they don't tag in the juniors, don't zone, don't press, don't really do a whole lot of defending, it is a showcase for what you can do offensively for the most part, this isn't the AFL environment, it is why Powell doesn't get 40+ possessions at this level.

I don't care who the club takes, but I have reservations about drafting someone that small with pick 3. I agree with you, we haven't made much of an effort in terms of recruiting talented small forwards, Papley was pick 14, that to me is a reasonable spot to take someone who is going to be pigeonholed into one role and if he can't get the ball at AFL level it isn't the end of the world. I don't think it is wise (imo) to use pick 3 on a risky type of player and a 170cm small forward imo is risky, like rucks and KPP that don't have versatility.

If we pick him and it turns out well then fantastic, if he doesn't... once we start going up that ladder it is going to be a very long time until we see a pick 3 again. Picks 14ish will be far easier to get.
I hear ya, and l am bias with Watto because l love smart, clever, cheeky footballers(not athletes) such as Boomer and l do think he would be worthy of such a high pick in a position we (imo) desperately need in the draft. Alas, using #3 on a 170cm specialist small would be a ballsy pick that the l can see the fanbase turn upon in a instance should he falter (a lot of pressure), ...I hope he drifts and grab him at #15 or #20 like Konstanty last year but l don't see that happening.

Well. Not so sure on that.

You guys ain't exactly running on all cylinders last time I looked - and while we're clearly not either at least we'll have the good sense to add two elite players to our ranks rather than adding just one.

There is no farm.
is that a jape against our s and c staff? Cos we’ve had the unluckiest run of injuries probably ever the last two seasons…

Rushworth bakery is pretty nice but Elmore is worth the detour.
Can vouch that both bakeries are top class!

Travel through Elmore every couple of months, to visit a mate in Echuca. And through Rushworth yearly, to visit family in Canberra.

Creswick and Pyrenees Pies in Avoca, are my top picks in the Goldfields.

If fans of the other clubs think that the AFL have gamed the system to get North pick 3, and are screaming about following the rules.

Then TECHNICALLY if North were to offer WC picks 2 and 3 for pick 1, the AFL should step in and veto it as theres a substantial excess going one way based on the Draft Point Index.

But no, they'd be perfectly happy to see us throw that at them.