List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Guys like Billing and Membrey are the type of player you want sitting in reserve for a mid season draft. If a club comes knocking you can charge extra. Having quality depth will be a huge advantage
Not sure you get a premium for them mate in those scenarios.

i think the blokes who will land premiums will be senior blokes who are playing really well for bottom feeder clubs - and those clubs cash in as their values will be at the highest point as clubs think they can put them over for a flag.

I haven't written him off.

I see a 1+1 type a deal a perfect representation of risk management and reward for the player.

what you can't dispute is that 2020 was his best year, 5th in the BnF and rewarded very well on his contract extension.

2021 was very poor - resulting in Coff getting dropped.

Put in all the hard work and did his knee in 2022

and 2023 was ruined for the majority of it due to soft tissue injuries.

that is the argument.

Everyone is banging on about his potential and his talent, But he is 24 next month and we actually haven't seen alot of that. To say that he is deserving of a multi year guaranteed deal because he is going to become this player we THINK he will be isnt a great reason too. Alot of players after missing 2 years of injuries just don't turn out to fulfil their potential.

Now, Maybe Coffield will. Great

But i don't see an issue in the club covering itself by offering a 1+1 deal to the player. I think at this point in his career it's up to Coffield to deliver for the club.

and in terms of potential pick we get if he goes? Irrelevant isn't it? That pick hopefully gets on the park and that's more value then where Coffield has unfortunately been the last 2 years.

Yes, that is direct and a tough thing to say. but i want the best for the St Kilda FC - that might not be the best thing for Nick Coffield.
To me if he wants 2 and we dig in on 1+1 and lose him i think that is riting him off personally. He gets 5th in the BnF as a 20 year old then has a down season (which may have been Covid affected) as a 21 year old. So we know the potential ceiling is really high.

The potential pick to me is the most relevant bit because well wind up having a direct comparison. a 24 year old Coff who we know is capable of being our 5th best player (and potentially even more) versus a kid who is probably being picked in the 40s. Which of them has the higher ceiling? Given both would be 2 or 3 year deals anyway.

I want whats best for the club to and im not suggesting we offer him 4 or 5 years. Im saying if 2 or even 3 (if its reduced) keeps him at the club then that would be my personal choice. I think were both playing with the same facts (albeit i completely disagree with the assertation any of his injuries currently makes him a chronic injury risk) but have different opinions on whats best for the club.

We GTFO to Moorabbin, Hawks GTFO and are moving to Dingley, Dogs have literally 3 suburbs to play in sicne Footscray can't figure itself out and decided on schitzo, North just CBF doing the work so no love for them on that.

Taken a drive down tootal rd in Dingley lately?

Hawks signs all torn and faded, doesn't look like much is progressing there.

They night need to move to Launceston.

if the 4th rounder gets on the park more than coffield.

It's a win.

Doesnt matter how talented coffield is.
4th rounder is a better chance to never debut and be out of the system altogether in 3 years than Coff would be.

I see a 1+1 type a deal a perfect representation of risk management and reward for the player.

what you can't dispute is that 2020 was his best year, 5th in the BnF and rewarded very well on his contract extension.

that is the argument.

Everyone is banging on about his potential and his talent, But he is 24 next month and we actually haven't seen alot of that. To say that he is deserving of a multi year guaranteed deal because he is going to become this player we THINK he will be isnt a great reason too. Alot of players after missing 2 years of injuries just don't turn out to fulfil their potential.

But i don't see an issue in the club covering itself by offering a 1+1 deal to the player. I think at this point in his career it's up to Coffield to deliver for the club.

and in terms of potential pick we get if he goes? Irrelevant isn't it? That pick hopefully gets on the park and that's more value then where Coffield has unfortunately been the last 2 years.

Yes, that is direct and a tough thing to say. but i want the best for the St Kilda FC - that might not be the best thing for Nick Coffield.
I think Coff will make that decision for us, same with Billings. We can talk about years and dollars but what those guys want more than anything is to play.
If there's another club that is giving them more hope of getting a game than us then they will leave.

if the 4th rounder gets on the park more than coffield.

It's a win.

Doesnt matter how talented coffield is.
would prefer he stays,but if we have no choice in the matter wouldnt we better off with a 3rd rounder(if 4th we might as well give it away)next year where the draft is supposedly going to be deeper,havent read every post but i havent seen a future pick suggested,if hes gone that would make more sense to me

To me if he wants 2 and we dig in on 1+1 and lose him i think that is riting him off personally. He gets 5th in the BnF as a 20 year old then has a down season (which may have been Covid affected) as a 21 year old. So we know the potential ceiling is really high.

The potential pick to me is the most relevant bit because well wind up having a direct comparison. a 24 year old Coff who we know is capable of being our 5th best player (and potentially even more) versus a kid who is probably being picked in the 40s. Which of them has the higher ceiling? Given both would be 2 or 3 year deals anyway.

I want whats best for the club to and im not suggesting we offer him 4 or 5 years. Im saying if 2 or even 3 (if its reduced) keeps him at the club then that would be my personal choice. I think were both playing with the same facts (albeit i completely disagree with the assertation any of his injuries currently makes him a chronic injury risk) but have different opinions on whats best for the club.
4th rounder is a better chance to never debut and be out of the system altogether in 3 years than Coff would be.
look, ultimately i just don't agree with group of you who think its the right thing to give him 2 upfront.

that's fine.

For me, i'd rather have a lesser talented player who is on the park consistently. If Coffield can get a better offer - he should take it.

But if we had been offered a former pick 8 who has missed 2 years of AFL footy and his best season was 4 years ago, I'm not sure we would be all that thrilled on here and referring to how good he COULD BE. People aren't thrilled with Paddy Dow. He atleast gets on the park

would prefer he stays,but if we have no choice in the matter wouldnt we better off with a 3rd rounder(if 4th we might as well give it away)next year where the draft is supposedly going to be deeper,havent read every post but i havent seen a future pick suggested,if hes gone that would make more sense to me
Mate everyone is just speculating.

He might stay

He might go

We might get a pick and turn it into a player or another pick.

that is the argument.

If they take a 4th round draft pick they'll need to give him 2 years.
Allison got 3.
Connolly must have been a huge risk to the club.

Mate everyone is just speculating.

He might stay

He might go

We might get a pick and turn it into a player or another pick.
ah i know that,im speculating that a future 3rd might be better than a 2023 3rd"IF"he goes

unless we want to deal with the suns re pick 4 of course,but outside of that it seems every comment about this years draft is its very shallow

You'd take McKercher before him at 4.

Sure would, but North will likely end up with picks 2, 3 and 4 in the draft.

If they don't trade up for Reid then McKercher, Curtain and Sanders would be an acceptable outcome. Might be a touch high on Sanders but he's their guy.

Not sure you get a premium for them mate in those scenarios.

i think the blokes who will land premiums will be senior blokes who are playing really well for bottom feeder clubs - and those clubs cash in as their values will be at the highest point as clubs think they can put them over for a flag.

They have to be available. The fringe players who are too good for VFL will be the ones picked off. You have a side ready for finals who lose a forward and see value in a fit Membrey or any of our other senior depth.

Selling them for nothing doesn't do much. At the moment we are turning Gresham into Henry, our standing second round pick into Dow and then using a first rounder at the draft.

Losing guys like Coff and Billings for picks in the 30s and 40s and probably unlikely to use those picks. Unless we bundle a whole lot of shit picks up for a club like GC, we look downgraded and lost all depth for a couple of GOPs and some late picks.

I understand their latest dream is to clear space to buy up other clubs versions of Billings and pay them a million bucks year to get a draft pick but not sure it's a winner.

Sure would, but North will likely end up with picks 2, 3 and 4 in the draft.

If they don't trade up for Reid then McKercher, Curtain and Sanders would be an acceptable outcome. Might be a touch high on Sanders but he's their guy.

I reckon he's only their guy when they wanted another free hit. Makes no sense to chase too many mids. They are already stacked.