List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Mason Wood is only 29. For some reason I thought he was 31.
I am very happy to hear that. Possibly my favourite player on our list from another club.
I love these stories. Delisted at 26, picked up as depth, found his spot on the wing and has played some fantastic games, reminds me of the Blake with a huge tank, but a bit more skill.
Every team needs a Mason Wood.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

He's settled back to a bit more of a solid citizen after a bright start to the year but his real strength is in his cultural contribution. He's a real guide and father figure to the young guys and women's side. He's worked out what he needed to do to continue his career and worked his arse off to achieve it and not left it there. He's contributing more to the club environment than many of our leaders and long time players. Impressive person even more than impressive player.

My biggest concern with culling the list hard this year is the quality of this years draft crop. I would go as far a suggesting there were players taken in last years in the 20-30 range that would be top 15 this year. So unless we are able to work our way into the top 10 at the draft I dont see the benefit? I get the impression for the club to be so ready to move on so many mid tier players, they have a deal in the brewing like trading in GCS pick # 4 or similiar.

We definitely need quality/elite midfielders so if we can trade up to pick #4 and grab a targetted player eg McKercher or Sanders then take another player at pick #13 it would be a win.
I reckon we also need a quality F.B/C.H.B, a small nuggety & pacy back-pocket with good skills & a decent back-up Ruckman.

That’s pretty much my attitude. I’ve barracked for the Saints for over 50 years. Players come and go but the club will always be there. The last player I was disappointed at losing was David Grant, and that was 30 years ago.

I'm the opposite, the players are all we've ever had to fall back on in my time. Guys like G-Train, Lockett, Leowe, Bangers, even Stuv are my memories. The club is just a vessel to hold the characters in. Until we have success we will be a personality cult.

Not to mention mentors the youth, probably a big reason for Nas resigning.
Won best clubman for a reason.

You know used to really like him at North, always seemed to go well against us, played a bit out of position as a forward. As a winger plays it so well, drops back in defence can play the second receiver midfield on the wing and goes forward to kick goals.
A really fine acquisition

Have you not played in sucessful teams? Playing in sides that are competitive and winning finals lifts you to another level and gets you playing at a much higher level than if the team is getting flogged every second week. Football is a team game and that internal competitiveness is where the best development occurs - not as individuals.
Oh, I know where you are coming from.
I believe the Club has a philosophy that places greater emphasis on personal development rather than team performance.
For example: I understand that Carroll reviews the performance of each player with Batchelor every week.
Batchelor’s public reports focus on player performance, not so much team.
Undoubtedly Batchelor has kpi’s that are team related, but equally he has them with player development too.
That’s a tension between the two that needs management, because there’s often a trade off.
See the Van Es example.
However they are not mutually exclusive.
It is entirely possible to maximise personal development and have a competitive team.
And as I indicated, this is not something that is unique to us.
Collingwood and Hawthorn manage their feeder teams with the same philosophy.
But their feeder teams are more competitive.
To get back to your OP, that’s the question: why aren’t we as competitive?
I am sure we would like to be, as I am sure that the Club would agree with you about operating in a successful environment too.
I just don’t think throwing money will necessarily solve the problem.

I reckon we also need a quality F.B/C.H.B, a small nuggety & pacy back-pocket with good skills & a decent back-up Ruckman.

I want more mids that are capable of holding down the fort if we get decimated by injury and some developing for when the old guys fall over. Nearly all our issues stem form having a below average midfield and no depth.

He's settled back to a bit more of a solid citizen after a bright start to the year but his real strength is in his cultural contribution. He's a real guide and father figure to the young guys and women's side. He's worked out what he needed to do to continue his career and worked his arse off to achieve it and not left it there. He's contributing more to the club environment than many of our leaders and long time players. Impressive person even more than impressive player.
Yes, he was in AA form early, but like the team dropped off mid year. Seems to have regained his form lately somewhat.

Its only speculation isn't it?

Maybe a lot of players available from our list, but that might mean if one is taken, the others are off the table.

True but Cal Twomey has gone with the same names twice now on AFL Gettable. If anyone has knowledge of possible trades and player movements its him.

For the club to work a trade with GCS or GWS we will need more draft capital than one player being released. I dont want to see Membrey or Coffield go, but if there are buyers out there the club should consider the offers.

Most agree Gresham, Clak and Billings need to go regardless.

That’s pretty much my attitude. I’ve barracked for the Saints for over 50 years. Players come and go but the club will always be there. The last player I was disappointed at losing was David Grant, and that was 30 years ago.
Yeah I couldn't care less anymore. Whatever it takes to win us a flag.

I want more mids that are capable of holding down the fort if we get decimated by injury and some developing for when the old guys fall over. Nearly all our issues stem form having a below average midfield and no depth.
We got extremely lucky this year with Marshall not going down injured & finding King Cordy to replace 'slipperty doodah' Howard. And as much as i admire Paton & Webster we could of done with a smaller B.P on oppo. sml.forwards.

Won best clubman for a reason.

You know used to really like him at North, always seemed to go well against us, played a bit out of position as a forward. As a winger plays it so well, drops back in defence can play the second receiver midfield on the wing and goes forward to kick goals.
A really fine acquisition

I was the opposite. Had seen enough to think he'd leave footy as an almost type. A mates nephew played with him and thought he had flog vibes and a bit of a bad attitude when he was playing in the VFL. He's obviously one of those players that looked his footy mortality in the face and worked on everything he needed to. That's incredibly impressive.

It's easier to walk away telling everybody that it was someone else's fault than knuckle down and work your arse off. He was a real Jack Billings. Nearly a great player, the odd great games before injury or form would push him backwards. I thought he'd never realise his potential. Probably has to thank Ratts for putting him on a wing where his strengths really shone. He's great interview too, talks very candidly and honestly with proper insights.

We got extremely lucky this year with Marshall not going down injured & finding King Cordy to replace 'slipperty doodah' Howard. And as much as i admire Paton & Webster we could of done with a smaller B.P on oppo. sml.forwards.

Don't mind the backline to be honest but we are a bit thin for depth across most areas. I think we could have fast tracked Moose or played Campbell in an emergency but with an iffy midfield that could have been a bad recipe. Webster is getting on so we are going to have to hope Angus McLennan can step up.

I think our new recruitment team will be looking at all avenues to bring in midfield talent.

Coffield just seems to be surplus to our needs at the moment. Even when he gets fit again, he will have to fight his way back into the team.
And so? That’s how we get good depth. Besides, Coff playing means Sincs can go forward more of the time. Webster is great, but he’s also getting on a bit. You don’t just give away a #7 pick who has shown he’s got it.

Yes, he was in AA form early, but like the team dropped off mid year. Seems to have regained his form lately somewhat.
Because he has played on it's easy to forget how bad his shoulder was injured in the 150 game v the Bombers.

Many, including myself, expected him to miss a big chunk of the season.

His form drop from potential AA to just a very good player commenced at precisely that moment.

A coincidence? I think not.

I was a big fan in 2020 but in reality "gun" is way OTT. He's never had more than 23 touches in a game (averages 14 across his career). He's only had 20 or over 5 times in his 50 games. In his fifth last game he had 5 possessions in 86% game time. His marking was his strength and averages 5.7 a game though. He was a promising player who has been out for 2 years injured and hasn't shown what he's capable of yet but gun is more like what Nas is doing.

Well that’s it - 50 games.
That’s when it seems to click for many players. He was around 21when he
last played. We are so impatient with the development of these young players.

Cant wait to see what Ross and co will do for him.
101% certain he’s at the club next year, or else you have to wonder about a list management team prepared to dump him ahead of numerous others.

You'd think Coff would have an offer in front of him from the club.

Probably 1 yr at reasonable money V 2 yr's at a reduced rate.

Also don't doubt that his Manager and the club also know that since he's uncontracted the club can't stop him looking for a better offer.

Same applies to a few others.

I would be shocked if a club offered Coffield an outright 2 year deal - especially if he doesn’t string together some good AFL games this season - which looks highly unlikely right now.

It’s a cut throat industry. You can’t keep holding players because of perceived talent. They need to get on the park and show it.

Which unfortunately Coffield hasn’t been able to and I’m huge fan of him. But a 1 year deal would seem more then fair
Would it not be a good idea to give him a 2 year contract .get some games into him and if he goes ok all good and well if u still wanted to trade him after next season for example at least you get something better for him trade wise?

The wry amusement i feel when i read remarks like this.

Was only 12 months ago they were absolute keepers, with star potential, blah blah blah

Not by me - all 3 have always had serious flaws to their games in my view.

Was that the first round of the year? He's had a great season. My Blues family members all love him and laugh at how cheap they got him. He seemed to get them on side very early and they are still fans. Makes me want to spew hearing them call him "Blakey" and "Bakers" and s*t. ****** cringe.

Just looked at his stats, looks like his best form started in our first game in round 6 with 36 and backed it up the next with 34 and a goal. He looks to have had a very even season but he's had some match winning moments in the last month and half.

The 36 he had that day (and the amount their other mids racked up) is a great example of how stats can be extremely misleading. Empty possessions that had zero effect on the game.

My Carlton mates were calling him Newnes the Sequel when they were struggling.