List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

His numbers are comparable to some past greats in their first seasons and those guys were probably seeing more midfield time. Phillipou shouldering the half forward role with Mitchito most of the season. Incredible effort for an 18 year old.

Pendles avg 13 disposals
Bont avg 15 disposals
Fyfe avg 16 disposals
Phillipou avg 13 disposals
Each one did some special things during games. They were only moments but they were “wow” moments.

We have clearly had a number of those this year with Pou. Only need to look at his third quarter goal on the weekend.

Was involved in the middle of the ground and gut runs to get into the ball 35 out and spins out of trouble and snaps a ripper.

Roof was blown off Marvel

I’d take Parish everyday of the week over the likes of Ross and Clark.

Anyone thinking he isn’t a very good midfielder has rocks in their head
I’d say good to very good (at a stretch). He has such little impact on games. Gimme Steele’s heart and strength inside any day (even if this year has frankly been a massive let down).

So sign me up for the rock party.

Each one did some special things during games. They were only moments but they were “wow” moments.

We have clearly had a number of those this year with Pou. Only need to look at his third quarter goal on the weekend.

Was involved in the middle of the ground and gut runs to get into the ball 35 out and spins out of trouble and snaps a ripper.

One of the moments of the year.

Bailey Smith v Jack Sinclair in a two man competitive 2km in preseason.

Loser shaves the mullet off.

PleasantFriendlyFurseal-max-1mb.gif

I’d say good to very good (at a stretch). He has such little impact on games. Gimme Steele’s heart and strength inside any day (even if this year has frankly been a massive let down).

Parish is literally the #1 clearance player in the comp.
I was never a fan but there comes a point where you’re just ignoring what’s right in front of you.

What we've been looking for in our midfield is some size, but more importantly, another genuine contested footy pig, and speeeeed.

Parish is a bush pig but small.

Smith is bigger, and pretty rapid.

IMO, we need the pace more than the contested footy right at this point.

Parish loves his stats, that’s for sure.

Go and chat to an Essendon supporter.
Parish is also a player who has played under absolute dud coaches for most of his career.

Playing & thriving under Ross may be something that he likes the sound of (NTM the sound of lots of cash).

What we've been looking for in our midfield is some size, but more importantly, another genuine contested footy pig, and speeeeed.

I wonder about this. We are going to get Pou, Owens and Windy in there over the next few years. Steele will still be around.
Parish could actually suit us better.

What do you think Smith would cost us? I like it.

He is a gun inside mid.

Statistically he dominates Steele and crouch with those key stats.

If Essendon have an issue with him. my suggestion would be that they need to go and develop their outside mids.

Imagine Parish getting the ball out to Sincs NWM Pou or even just allowing us to use Owens forward of the centre.

You need to support your side with complimentary pieces.

Parish is also a player who has played under absolute dud coaches for most of his career.

Playing & thriving under Ross may be something that he likes the sound of (NTM the sound of lots of cash).
Yep, lots of people love him, so I’ll leave it at that. And probably I’m emphasising weaknesses for the point of the debate. Anyway, he’s free, so not deadset against it. Would love to use the cap on somehow getting another good pick in. But we’re not Geelong.

In a perfect world where both Parish & Smith are free agents then you'd choose Smith most days of the week.

The choice between having to pay top dollar draft pick & salary wise for one and only salary wise for the other, makes it a pretty straight forward decision IMO.

This is it exactly, has played every game, has an 18 y.o's body, so bigger bodies move him off the ball, with preseason he will get stronger. He competes and competes has trailed off slightly since the beginning of the year however as you say he does something special that is vital for that stage of the game.

As I said all going well with injuries and form, he could have 50 AFL games under his belt before he is 20. Couple this experience with an AFL body and his undoubted talent and his potential knows no bounds.

I am very bullish on Mathaes.

Yep, lots of people love him, so I’ll leave it at that. And probably I’m emphasising weaknesses for the point of the debate. Anyway, he’s free, so not deadset against it. Would love to use the cap on somehow getting another good pick in. But we’re not Geelong.
Speaking of which, doesn't Geelong's much repeated 'we think Bowes will be a star' line look like the BS it smelt like at the time.

For a bloke with the number of games under his belt that he has, he looks like a 1st year player. Panicked kicks & a general lack of awareness.

It's yet another example of how blatantly corrupt the AFL can be... allowing a bloke with knowledge of every AFL club's TPP & what certain players are on, go straight back to clubland & use that IP to the club's advantage over all others.

This exactly, but the same could be said for Smith. Not that Bevo is a dud, but there is a whiff over the kennel that spells a disconnect.

I am an undoubted RTB fanboi, but reckons he can get the best out of almost any player. The players love him (or the players from Ross 1.0 did) and seem to want to play for him as they see where he can take them.

Reckon he could get the best out of both of them.
Glasses Why Dont We Have Both GIF by nounish ⌐◨-◨

I’d take Parish everyday of the week over the likes of Ross and Clark.

Anyone thinking he isn’t a very good midfielder has rocks in their head

He's different to anything else we have. He's probably more pushing Crouch or Steele out. He's an inside extractor, Ross has been that transition inside/outsider. He looks cooked but I think Windhager is the one to push him out long term.

We haven't had a really excellent coalface extractor since maybe Lenny unless you count guys like Koby Stevens, Dunny or Armo. We seem to have targeted guys who could run and spread over extractors in Richo's time. Parish can still run and isn't an absolute plodder at least.

He's different to anything else we have. He's probably more pushing Crouch or Steele out. He's an inside extractor, Ross has been that transition inside/outsider. He looks cooked but I think Windhager is the one to push him out long term.

We haven't had a really excellent coalface extractor since maybe Lenny unless you count guys like Koby Stevens, Dunny or Armo. We seem to have targeted guys who could run and spread over extractors in Richo's time. Parish can still run and isn't an absolute plodder at least.
The way I see it.

Parish Crouch and Steele/Owens splitting time forward and onball gives us a great Centre bounce mix and keeps us with a mobile forward target

That's a completely false economy though, because the probable cost of his contract means we likely lose out on other targets.

That's why I'm heading back to someone like Matt Crouch. He's an extractor but probably on $450k and zero cost at the trade table. Should be finishing up just as the youth are ready to take over. I'm not sure that those inside mids are worth as much as they were 5 years ago.

I remember 3 or 4 years of complaints about BJ Goddard, he turned out ok in the end.

Goddard was absolutely terrible early in his career. Much worse than Phillipou. Phillipou is showing much more at the same stage. It doesn't guarantee anything but his attitude is brilliant and he has a similar psychology of wanting to be the best and a healthy ego. Psychology has more to do with a player making it to me than natural talent. He's got all the right traits to go a long way.

I think there will be some calls needing to be made on his best position at some point. He could end up as the BJ style utility, a Fyfe or Bont mid/forward or pure mid. Really keen to see his career progress.