List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

IF this deal has legs (I.e. a bona fide St Kilda interest in Sheil) then yes 13 ends up with Essendon somehow, but stuff back to us will be thrashed out (such as the pick required for Henry). Think like Doro and you have your answer. It's like p5 all over again, I guarantee it.

The only way 13 ends up with them is if they give us a first-round back somehow.

Yep, I can see it being Henry and Shiel for Gresham in the end.

Band 2 compo will probably end up a pick in the mid 20s after all the academy and F/S selections are matched. It’s not really a good deal if you look at it.

My gut feel is Saints match band 2. I could be wrong but the coach seems keen to keep him. He’s a class player.

If Bombers want Gresham then they will need to pay up. All the stuff about calling out Saints bluff etc will probably lead to Saints doing that very thing.

That argument is gets used often but it really has no legs in my view.
All those father sons and academy selections weren’t available to you guys anyway so it’s still pick 19 or 19th best available player selected. You can’t actually think Gresham is worth a first round pick.. just like Shiel isn’t worth a first round pick, Gresham is worth a early second at best - which is exactly what you would using for him. It’s completely fair
Every supporter base biasly values their players more than what they are.

Every single news station on it says you guys don’t want to keep him.. so I’m absolutely calling your bluff haha. You only say that because Ross plays his poker face well in the media that all of a sudden use are keen to keep him.
Time will tell

So the facts are:
  • Shiel approached us
  • Ross “doesn’t know” where the leak come from (The Dildo)
  • We want to get back into the top end of the draft
  • We have the cap space to absorb a contract or two
  • We don’t really want to keep Gresham
  • Essendon want Gresham
  • Shiel is 31 years old
  • Essendon have used some of their “war chest” on Ben McKay & will use more on Jade Gresham after signing
Redman to a big deal.
  • Shiel is on $750k for one more year
  • Essendon want to prioritise Hobbs and Tsatas in the middle
  • Shiel has a foot issue

I guess it does makes sense to give them the first round compensation pick after all of that then…

All those father sons and academy selections weren’t available to you guys anyway so it’s still pick 19 or 19th best available player selected. You can’t actually think Gresham is worth a first round pick.. just like Shiel isn’t worth a first round pick, Gresham is worth a early second at best - which is exactly what you would using for him. It’s completely fair

Every single news station on it says you guys don’t want to keep him.. so I’m absolutely calling your bluff haha. You only say that because Ross plays his poker face well in the media that all of a sudden use are keen to keep him.
Time will tell
Gresham at his best is absolutely worth a first round selection, the issue for him, and us is that he was well below his best this year which means that on output alone he won’t get the contract that is required for band 1 compo…
Enter the Shiel deal

Time will tell

Cool sorry champ, could have used a dragon or two though.

Gresham is worth what we tell you he is worth, until then, keep walking champ...

On SM-G988B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Time will tell
Sheil is a piece of s.hit and would be untradeable except for the mooted deal.

Offer Gresham what you like, we will take the compo. Doubt we match, but couldn't care less.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Time will tell
Appalling grammar ✅
Watches the news ✅
Offers ignorant, unsolicited mumblings ✅
Says “use” (detestable word ffs - and it would be “youse” in the bogan dictionary) ✅

Checks out. Calling bluffs and all!

1695722064097.gif

Yep, and it's still ridiculous

If we did that we'd be out front of moorrabin with pitch forks in hand
I don't disagree at all, I was really just making the point that it was really taking advantage of Essendon. Like may, I'm not a big fan of bringing Shiel in - I was when he ended up going to Essendon, but have been grateful ever since.

I've been happy to Gresham to go, but if his deal with Essendon doesn't reach band 1 on its own, then at band 2 or 3, I think I'd prefer to keep him and see how he goes next year - at that stage both parties can reassess and go from there.

The only caveat would be if we were able to package up the compo pick with another pick to get inside the top 5, then that's something I'd be onboard for.

Yep, and it's still ridiculous

If we did that we'd be out front of moorrabin with pitch forks in hand

Supporters are going to have to get acclimatised to these type of salary relief trades as there’s going to be more of them as time goes by.

Do the Collingwood supporters who had the pitchforks out at the time now look back on the Treloar, Stephenson, Phillips and then Grundy trades the same way?

There still paying out money on some of those trades! But it allowed them to move forward with their overall strategy more aggressively and efficiently.

I think we need to stop judging trades in isolation and look at the sum of all parts at the end of trade and draft periods. Our newly assembled list team will have a 3-5 year strategy that they are working to and some trades may not look like wins immediately but may allow wins in the future.

I know we have been burnt previously but none of those people are even there making those calls.

Gresham at his best is absolutely worth a first round selection, the issue for him, and us is that he was well below his best this year which means that on output alone he won’t get the contract that is required for band 1 compo… Enter the Shiel deal

Cool sorry champ, could have used a dragon or two though.

Gresham is worth what we tell you he is worth, until then, keep walking champ...

On SM-G988B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Gresham's compensation is not vaguely related to "what he's worth", its all to do with how much he gets paid, and getting paid more is why he's exploring free agency.

Appalling grammar ✅
Watches the news ✅
Offers ignorant, unsolicited mumblings ✅
Says “use” (detestable word ffs - and it would be “youse” in the bogan dictionary) ✅

Checks out. Calling bluffs and all!

View attachment 1814789
I think this just goes to show you, it's not the quantity of members that counts, it's all about the quality, and they've got **** all over there.

Relax. Deep breath everyone. It makes absolutely no sense at all.
Even WE are not that stupid.
I love this club but over my many years I've learnt if something stupid was to happen we are usually involved.
2709e9cf23a2497aa93c77f69d14167ea2b7b829.gif

We are not going to trade pick 13 for Shiel unless it moves us up the order. There wouldn’t be a person in the AFL who would make that trade.

Even when we traded for Hannebery, we gave up pick 28 and got 39 back. While it was a shocking trade. Hannebery was a premiership player and once one of the best players in the AFL.

While Shiel was a good player. But He is injury prone, hasn’t been in Essendon best 22, has some big flaws as a football and most importantly played at Essendon for a number of years.

If we do trade for him, I hope being under our coaches can revive his game. In saying that, SOS and Gubby are not going to give a first round pick for Shiel.

Dodoro will not be able too take SOS and Gubby for a ride. You think we would be pissed off.

Imagine the boys telling Ross, look we know you wanted to get up the draft order to add to your exciting young crop of talent. But Dylan Shiel] was available and we traded him in for pick 13.

We hope too get two more years out of him at about maybe ten games a season. The player we could of got too at pick 5 isn’t going to be that good of a player.

There is also one more thing you should know. He isn’t that much better of a kick than Gresh.

It is like asking for a coke but getting a Pepsi that was opened a couple of days ago and it’s starting to go flat instead.

Time will tell
just love the butchered bogan word here, absolute meth-head stuff, congrats
:clapping::clapping::clapping::clapping:

Time will tell

Oh, man 🤦🏼‍♂️
Mate, I get what you're saying.
It's just that you say it so badly.

who is that GIF

Time will tell

I don't think we want to keep him. I reckon we have a whole lot of deals that need trade capital so he's the sacrificial player. I think he is worth a first rounder though. He's had 2 injury interrupted years and hasn't been at his best this year particularly. Lyon stifled all his flair and creativity which is just not his thing.

He struggled to fit into the system but by the end of the year he'd improved out of sight and he was one of our few players that held up under finals pressure.

His potential is so much more than what you see right now. Get him playing his best and you've got a match winner dynamic forward mid who'll entertain you.

Time will tell
Jesus. Do you guys seriously think Dylan Sheil has trade value? If you were to pay part of his wage he is worth a swap of a 3rd and 4th type trade. To take his entire wage you guys will have to cough something up.

This is where you are getting this all wrong. The guy is worth less than nothing on his current contract and it is time to except this so we don’t have to continue reading your stupidity.

Supporters are going to have to get acclimatised to these type of salary relief trades as there’s going to be more of them as time goes by.

Do the Collingwood supporters who had the pitchforks out at the time now look back on the Treloar, Stephenson, Phillips and then Grundy trades the same way?

There still paying out money on some of those trades! But it allowed them to move forward with their overall strategy more aggressively and efficiently.

I think we need to stop judging trades in isolation and look at the sum of all parts at the end of trade and draft periods. Our newly assembled list team will have a 3-5 year strategy that they are working to and some trades may not look like wins immediately but may allow wins in the future.

I know we have been burnt previously but none of those people are even there making those calls.

I'm sorry but you'll have to leave now.
We can't have that kind of talk at this time..

What about a go-fund-me campaign, where we raise 1 mil+ to keep Shiel away from Moorabbin?

We're only a small club, so 60,000-odd members, we throw in $15 each, Lindsay and Gerry throw in a hungy each.

Dylan can collect the funds just after the free agency period ends and he refuses to be traded…