C. Holmes Atkins Blicavs
Foll. Stanley Bruhn Dangerfield
HF. Miers Cameron Close
F. O.Henry Hawkins Stengle
Int. Neale Bowes Mannagh O’Connor
Sub. Tuohy

Em from : Conway, Clark, Dempsey, Knevitt, Bews, Mullin, O’Sullivan

Unavailable Rohan & Cuthrie.

Unless someone tears it up in the VFL practice matches, that’s a pool of 30 players to choose from for rd 1. Can see all playing plenty of AFL footy this year.
Outside of Bews as one of the potential emergencies, the rest are promising youngsters. A change from having fading players like Ceglar, Higgins, Dahlhaus, Menegola etc , as depth.

Neale I reckon they will give a look at early doors.
Our midfield still looks thin, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Clark is selected.
pace in the back half is a problem and having a 70m per possession player could see Holmes there or play as that sweeping defensive winger.
Would like to get Mullin in the team but can’t quite squeeze him in. If he can continue to develop at the speed he’s shown, he could have a big say in how we play coming out of the backline and through the middle. I’m a fan of what he bring to the team.

Veterans getting managed, as well as "horses for courses" selection concerns, will make sure people will get their opportunity. I'm especially eager to see Mullin get an extended period in the seniors because we seem to be missing a Wojo type zooming off the HBF, and I'm not sure I want Holmes shoehorned into that role.

B. Zuthrie DeKoning Kolo
HB. Stewart J.Henry Duncan
C. Holmes Atkins Blicavs
Foll. Stanley Bruhn Dangerfield
HF. Miers Cameron Close
F. O.Henry Hawkins Stengle
Int. Neale Bowes Mannagh O’Connor
Sub. Tuohy

Em from : Conway, Clark, Dempsey, Knevitt, Bews, Mullin, O’Sullivan

Unavailable Rohan & Cuthrie.

Basically agree with this. I think the 20 apart from Neale, Mannagh and Tuohy are certain starters barring injury.

I reckon Tuohy plays. Probably in the 22 but maybe as sub.

The last 2 you can throw a blanket over all those names. I'd go Mannagh and Dempsey with one or other as sub.

I think the aim will be to get ahead of the ledger in the first month then aggressively manage the squad to give younger players their chance and keep us cherry ripe for later in the year. Much easier said than done though. Lose a couple early and that plan is out the window.

Mannagh looked ready to go in that practice game. COS 100% ready to go. Clark won some of the better possessions in the midfield - although disposal is a WIP.

All should play first round. Give them a taste. With the vets to support, they will develop quickly.
I agree Mannagh and Clark, less so COS.

It's a good looking team, plenty of tricks and pizazz by having both Dempsey and Mannagh in.

I don't mind Miers and someone like Close or Dempsey splitting wing duties at all. It seems all will play high up the ground anyway and we need that.

If Blicavs can keep his inside stoppage minutes up the need for Clark probably subsides, especially if Bowes can keep doing his thing there.

Whoever gels best in the Essendon game from these couple of fringe players could easily get the nod, just based on that game.
How long until it's 'Too old, too fast, too good' for us this year?

Feels like we're going above and beyond even 2022 in terms of speed of ball movement, and throwing even more pacey types into the side.

The likes of Stengle, Close, Holmes, Mullin, Mannagh, Rohan, Guthrie, Stewart, & Dangerfield are genuinely quick. Even Jezza on the lead and up the ground would be considered elite for a man of his size.

Miers, Touhy (per age), O Henry, Bruhn, Clark, Knevitt, Dempsey, Bews, aren't lightning...but they're not slow types either.

The better question for us really is not who's fast, but who's slow.

Probably Duncan, Parfitt, and maybe Bowes, although he looks to have rectified that with a pre-season to drop some weight and get over the injuries.

I'll add in Stevens too, as he seems likely to at least get a couple games this year with how he's impressed, but the point stands that there isn't many running around with cement feet.

Mannagh looked ready to go in that practice game. COS 100% ready to go. Clark won some of the better possessions in the midfield - although disposal is a WIP.

All should play first round. Give them a taste. With the vets to support, they will develop quickly.
Think Jhye is suffering from the same thing Holmes did early on. It's got nothing to do with their technique, it's just game awareness, and that's an experience thing.

Unbelievably hot and windy day too. He didn't really stand out too much with his lack of efficiency, as I'd say that was the norm for both sides rather than the outlier.

How long until it's 'Too old, too fast, too good' for us this year?

Feels like we're going above and beyond even 2022 in terms of speed of ball movement, and throwing even more pacey types into the side.

The likes of Stengle, Close, Holmes, Mullin, Mannagh, Rohan, Guthrie, Stewart, & Dangerfield are genuinely quick. Even Jezza on the lead and up the ground would be considered elite for a man of his size.

Miers, Touhy (per age), O Henry, Bruhn, Clark, Knevitt, Dempsey, Bews, aren't lightning...but they're not slow types either.

The better question for us really is not who's fast, but who's slow.

Probably Duncan, Parfitt, and maybe Bowes, although he looks to have rectified that with a pre-season to drop some weight and get over the injuries.

I'll add in Stevens too, as he seems likely to at least get a couple games this year with how he's impressed, but the point stands that there isn't many running around with cement feet.
Very good points.

I'd also add that so much of "speed" simply has to do with how fluently and smoothly a team moves the ball. Cohesion, reflex times, how we set up on transition and (big one) fitness keep those moves going. You need a bunch of quick blokes too but last year tired legs and outgunned mids (leading to stressed/overwhelmed defenders...often missing a couple of players) created a situation where our ball movement was stagnant. The injury avalanche and lack of capacity to manage the veterans meant our "catch up on the rest of the comp" plan couldn't quite be executed. And I truly believe we weren't making the runs and patterns that were so effective in 2022. I have no doubt it's priority number 1 to fix that with preparation, personnel and game plan this year.

A hot start with some new exciting players in the team and I'm confident we will have what we lacked in 2023...momentum.

Yes and no.
As he's been doing for some years, he'll prove a lot of people wrong, but they won't admit it.
Yep, for the start of each year for maybe the last 3 I've thought "I'm not sure how much longer Touhys got" and then he has a pretty good year.

I'm starting in the same position again this year. One year I'll be right.

Veterans getting managed, as well as "horses for courses" selection concerns, will make sure people will get their opportunity. I'm especially eager to see Mullin get an extended period in the seniors because we seem to be missing a Wojo type zooming off the HBF, and I'm not sure I want Holmes shoehorned into that role.
I haven't seen anything resembling Wojo pace from him to date or niggle another great Wojo attribute.

Maybe Neale for Dempsey but it’s splitting hairs.
Just think they may have a look at Hawkins, Neale & Cameron together early doors. Hawkins and Neale deep and Cameron as a high CHF working back towards goal. Saw a lot of that in the match sim.

I know for a lot of the old campaigners the match sim is about blowing off the cobwebs, but Tuohy looked so reactionary and a yard off the pace. Of all the old heads, he looked the most vulnerable to losing his spot in the team. He deserves to stay in team, but there are number of kittens breathing down his neck.
Yeah I did like the look of Cameron behind the ball getting the entry started for Neale/Hawkins, just not as much as I liked Cameron/Hawkins

An outstanding problem to have

Are you kidding? Mullin is very, very quick.

News - New Irish Recruit - Oisin Mullin...2022 edition

Not sure about the niggle. I think we can definitely do without all the frees Wojo used to concede (although in fairness, he did cop some absolute howlers).

Mullin would be a powerful athlete on the running track. On a football field we haven't seen it. We have probably had a dozen guys that could beat Wojo in a 100m race but ball in hand on a football field is completely different.

He's shown his pace without the ball a lot. Even yesterday he got to contests others wouldn't have. As fans we get obsessed with what players do with the ball. But realistically a small defender getting under 20 touches a game spends 99% of the time but having the ball so that part of the game sort of matters!

I'd be interested to know from those who know more about our young players, what is Clark's disposal skill like in general? This was him playing what was a scrappy match sim, at a higher level than he's used to, and the weather was shocking, so he'll improve heaps from that showing. Interested to know how he's generally regarded on that front.

Doubt that very much.
Wojo had rare speed; pity we never saw him in a GFL sprint- should have run the 08 one when he was annoyingly left ouf of the team.

Finished watching the game. Few observations -
  • Holmes and Bruhn both look fit and in good form. Ready to take the next step.
  • Neale presented well and looks to have further developed over the pre season. Whilst he will never be a replacement for Hawkins (no one would), he’s ready to play senior footy if either H or Cameron need a rest.
  • Mannagh looks ready to go. Think he’ll play round 1.
  • Conway is ready too. I see this year as an opportunity for him to share the load with Stanley - possibly play 15 games - assume it outright in 2025.
  • Dempsey is a player and should be played. With O.Henry they’d be a nightmare matchup for most teams.
  • Knevitt worries me. Struggles to find the footy at this level. Still a way away.
  • Thought Clark was ok. Disposal was iffy but his endeavour was terrific. Some very good interceptions where he read the play well. He’ll play.
  • O’Sullivan will be a player but will take time. Think SDK in his first year.
  • Mullin needs to stop hand balling to the closest teammate and look for one in space. think Bews is still ahead.
  • Biggest highlight was Bowes game.

My round one team -

B: Bews, SDK, J.Henry
HB: Stewart, Kolo, Z.Guthrie
C: Holmes, Bruhn, Mannagh
HF: Close, Cameron, Miers
F: Stengle, Hawkins, O.Henry

Foll: Conway, Dangerfield, Bowes

Int: Duncan, Blicavs, Clark, Atkins

Sub: Dempsey

Ps: tempted to play Dempsey over Close but Close has the runs on the board. Was poor last season though.

Don’t put him in your SuperCoach team bud.

Thanks for that, but it is de-list time in a long term (12 years) keeper league. Drafted Brandan in 2017 and initially was happy, but seems to have gone backward the last few years. Unsure if it is only injuries.

The fact that we had virtually our entire first and second string midfield out and he could barely get a look in last year says that club clearly weren't happy with him.

Credit where it's due though, he's dropped a huge amount of weight and looks to be very aware that it's his last chance.

Might surprise if we get some injuries and he gets a consistent shot, but I wouldn't be keeping him in your side. There's a genuine possiblity that he plays less than 5 games this year if we've got a healthy group.

The fact that we had virtually our entire first and second string midfield out and he could barely get a look in last year says that club clearly weren't happy with him.

Credit where it's due though, he's dropped a huge amount of weight and looks to be very aware that it's his last chance.

Might surprise if we get some injuries and he gets a consistent shot, but I wouldn't be keeping him in your side. There's a genuine possiblity that he plays less than 5 games this year if we've got a healthy group.

Thank you for taking the time to reply. Very much appreciated.

Finished watching the game. Few observations -
  • Holmes and Bruhn both look fit and in good form. Ready to take the next step.
  • Neale presented well and looks to have further developed over the pre season. Whilst he will never be a replacement for Hawkins (no one would), he’s ready to play senior footy if either H or Cameron need a rest.
  • Mannagh looks ready to go. Think he’ll play round 1.
  • Conway is ready too. I see this year as an opportunity for him to share the load with Stanley - possibly play 15 games - assume it outright in 2025.
  • Dempsey is a player and should be played. With O.Henry they’d be a nightmare matchup for most teams.
  • Knevitt worries me. Struggles to find the footy at this level. Still a way away.
  • Thought Clark was ok. Disposal was iffy but his endeavour was terrific. Some very good interceptions where he read the play well. He’ll play.
  • O’Sullivan will be a player but will take time. Think SDK in his first year.
  • Mullin needs to stop hand balling to the closest teammate and look for one in space. think Bews is still ahead.
  • Biggest highlight was Bowes game.

My round one team -

B: Bews, SDK, J.Henry
HB: Stewart, Kolo, Z.Guthrie
C: Holmes, Bruhn, Mannagh
HF: Close, Cameron, Miers
F: Stengle, Hawkins, O.Henry

Foll: Conway, Dangerfield, Bowes

Int: Duncan, Blicavs, Clark, Atkins

Sub: Dempsey

Ps: tempted to play Dempsey over Close but Close has the runs on the board. Was poor last season though.
I think you have put together a really strong assessment. I am not going to argue with it but maybe in a couple of areas I reckon you have underestimated the “pecking order”. carrying forward your point about Close.

i reckon Dempsey ahead of mannagh so will get first crack. And the practise game did him no harm despite Mannagh looking really good. The only way Dempsey doesn’t play round 1 IMO is if they go Tall with Neale for match up reasons.

‘I am in your camp Conway vs Stanley but don’t reckon the match comiitee are -yet. So stanly will play round 1

I also think they have gone past Bews. Holmes definitely starting back and Blitz on the wing

having said allof that we are guessing. Next week against Dons will be very interesting. If they don’t rest anybody (maybe they will one or two) we will see who the best 24 are for round 1