witsend

Sep 22, 2008
Lakers
I usually like to start from a base of who’s a lock to be Best 22 and start from there.
The last few seasons, there are usually 18-19 “locks”.
This year I count 16:

Atkins
Blicavs
Cameron
Close
Dangerfield
De Koning
Duncan
C Guthrie
Z Guthrie
Hawkins
J Henry
O Henry
Holmes
Miers
Stengle
Stewart

That leaves 7 spots from:
Bews
Bowes
Bruhn
Clark
Conway
Knevitt
Kolo
Mannagh
Mullin
O’Connor
O’Sullivan
Parfitt
Rohan
Stanley
Tuohy

Smokeys/Would not be shocked:
Dempsey
Neale
Stevens

Very tough selection battle because the mood from the club seems to be more experimental eg Holmes to HB, O’Sullivan to the wing/Stewart to MF etc.
those kind of moves change everything.

I usually like to start from a base of who’s a lock to be Best 22 and start from there.
The last few seasons, there are usually 18-19 “locks”.
This year I count 16:

Atkins
Blicavs
Cameron
Close
Dangerfield
De Koning
Duncan
C Guthrie
Z Guthrie
Hawkins
J Henry
O Henry
Holmes
Miers
Stengle
Stewart

That leaves 7 spots from:
Bews
Bowes
Bruhn
Clark
Conway
Knevitt
Kolo
Mannagh
Mullin
O’Connor
O’Sullivan
Parfitt
Rohan
Stanley
Tuohy

Smokeys/Would not be shocked:
Dempsey
Neale
Stevens

Very tough selection battle because the mood from the club seems to be more experimental eg Holmes to HB, O’Sullivan to the wing/Stewart to MF etc.
those kind of moves change everything.

Come on Witsend.

Pick a side.

No good just writing down the clubs' list.

Make a call mate.

:)

My guess.

4 miss with injury or not rushed back too soon. I'll say Blicavs, Rohan, Kolo and Tuohy.

Stanley over Conway without the insurance of Blicavs. SDK to give ruck chop out and O'Sullivan in as a 3rd tall defender.

I reckon we give Clark some consistent game time in the VFL.

So I'll say:

Mullin - SDK - Zuthrie
Stewart - J Henry - O'Sullivan
Holmes - Guthrie - Close
Miers - Cameron - O Henry
Stengle - Hawkins - Dempsey

Stanley - Danger - Atkins

Bruhn - MOC - Duncan - Bowes - Mannagh (sub)

My guess.

4 miss with injury or not rushed back too soon. I'll say Blicavs, Rohan, Kolo and Tuohy.

Stanley over Conway without the insurance of Blicavs. SDK to give ruck chop out and O'Sullivan in as a 3rd tall defender.

I reckon we give Clark some consistent game time in the VFL.

So I'll say:

Mullin - SDK - Zuthrie
Stewart - J Henry - O'Sullivan
Holmes - Guthrie - Close
Miers - Cameron - O Henry
Stengle - Hawkins - Dempsey

Stanley - Danger - Atkins

Bruhn - MOC - Duncan - Bowes - Mannagh (sub)

I think blitz will play but if he doesnt cos or neale would play you think.

Id have knevitt over dempsey (just) and clark over bowes.

My least controversial attempt:

Bowes SDK Kolo
Tuohy JHenry Stewart
Blitz Guthrie Holmes
Close Hawkins OHenry
Miers Cameron Stengle
Stanley Danger Duncan
Bruhn Atkins Zuthrie Dempsey
Sub MOC

Changes from 22 premiership are
Smith > Holmes
Selwood > Bruhn
Bews > Bowes
Rohan (inj) > OHenry

I think some might go Mannagh over Bruhn or Dempsey. I'm not ready for that. I think MOC s sub provides flexibility. This is my best guess.

Bowes SDK Zuthrie
O’Sullivan JHenry Stewart
Knevitt Guthrie Holmes
Close Hawkins OHenry
Miers Cameron Stengle

Stanley Danger Atkins

Bruhn Duncan Mullins MOC
Sub: Mannagh

Come on Witsend.

Pick a side.

No good just writing down the clubs' list.

Make a call mate.

:)

Fair enough!!!

This is what I think it will be.
Not what I would choose.

FB: Bews. De Koning Z. Guthrie
HB: J. Henry O’Sullivan Stewart
C: Holmes Atkins Knevitt
HF: Miers Cameron O. Henry
FF: Stengle Hawkins Mannagh
FOL: Conway Danger Bruhn

I/C: Stanley , Close, Parfitt, Rohan
Sub: Clark

B. Mullin SDK Stewart
HB. Henry O'Sullivan Zuthrie
C. Holmes Cuthrie Knevitt
HF. Miers Cameron Mannagh
F. Close Hawkins Stengle
F. Stanley, Danger Bruhn

Bowes Duncan O'Connor Atkins Neale

Fair enough!!!

This is what I think it will be.
Not what I would choose.

FB: Bews. De Koning Z. Guthrie
HB: J. Henry O’Sullivan Stewart
C: Holmes Atkins Knevitt
HF: Miers Cameron O. Henry
FF: Stengle Hawkins Mannagh
FOL: Conway Danger Bruhn

I/C: Stanley , Close, Parfitt, Rohan
Sub: Clark

Pretty sure Duncan and Guthrie will get a run

Maybe but the bench needs a forward rotation more than a mid rotation
I mean you missed adding Parfitt > Dempsey to the changes from the 22 Flag team section.

Parfitt played… Dempsey didn’t.

Believe me when I say I don’t want Parf anywhere near our starting R1 team unless he shows sublime form in these upcoming practice matches.

I mean you missed adding Parfitt > Dempsey to the changes from the 22 Flag team section.

Parfitt played… Dempsey didn’t.

Believe me when I say I don’t want Parf anywhere near our starting R1 team unless he shows sublime form in these upcoming practice matches.
Yeah I did miss it. I just can't trust his form line

The way i see it, Geelong will need to start playing several newbies in the first few rounds with Conway, Mullin, Mannagh, Clark, O'Sullivan, Knevitt, Dempsey, Stevens all in the mix along with a couple more surprises? I expect to see good seasons from Bruhn and Bowes in their 2nd year. Geelong will have a very different looking team by the end of April! The changing of the guard won't be as devastating as some people think if they keep them fit and healthy, the game has changed and the rough n' tumble style of footy is a thing of the past, they are going for speed for a reason and skills by hand and foot is more important than ever before. Crashing through packs and crunching your opponent to the ground is out!

Posted my team elsewhere last week in a “lock” and “likely” format…but will pick a team now.

On the bench I have a forward rotation and defensive rotations and 2 MF/Utility.

This assumes no injuries so have full team to pick from (other than Rohan who IMO won’t be ready)

FB: Henry SDK Kolo
HB: Duncan Stewart Zuthrie
C: Blitz Atkins Holmes
HF: Miers Jezza Close
FF: O Henry Hawk Stengle
R: Stanley Danger Guthrie

Inter: Bowes, MOC, Bruhn, Dempsey, 2E (sub)

I wanted to find a spot for Mullin (and would prefer to give sub to him rather than 2E) but couldn’t.

Same with Knevitte but not sure who comes out in that centre/MF group

Dempsey is fighting with Mannagh (and Rohan if fit) for that 7th forward rotation - so depends on practice matches?

Toby not quite there yet - but might be soon. Clark needs more VFL to beat out those MFs? COS just needs some games before I annoit him, Parf is a struggle to get in

I am struggling (even though I picked it!) with the balance of the backline without Bews (who I think is behind some) so maybe I would put MOC in back and Kolo on bench? (Although I have MOC as wing rotation). Or possibly Bowes/2E

The other concern with this team is the ”sameness” of MF? All crash and bash in there although Guthrie has a little more finesse.

I am worried I have missed someone?

Note that this is not my best 23, it's just the team I think will run out for round 1. I personally think some guys in this side should be playing VFL, but I can't recall the last time the club made tough calls like that.

1707951041440.png

Is Kolo in full training?
Sort of. he has participated in all match sims but I understand still with the “yellow hat” so players are cautious in terms of contact. That might have change recently. If not he may be in doubt for round 1 but I haven’t hesrd