2025 Attendances

1733915604933.png

Gather Round tickets snapped up in record time

The AFL is pleased to announce that more than 195,000 Gather Round…Festival of Footy tickets have sold… with five of the nine games sold out, 20,000 more than this time last year.

Member on sale on Tuesday saw a significant uplift in demand for tickets this year, selling more than 100,000 tickets in the first four hours, in comparison to the same amount in 24 hours last year.

This year there are an extra 47,000 tickets on offer for fans with the two Saturday matches being ticketed separately.

Tickets still remain for Collingwood vs Sydney Swans on Friday night, Carlton vs West Coast on Saturday afternoon, Melbourne vs Essendon on Saturday night and a very limited number of restricted view tickets and tickets for the Pepsi Collective for Port Adelaide vs Hawthorn on Sunday evening.

AFL CEO Andrew Dillon said it was clear Gather Round momentum was not slowly down.

“The demand for tickets this year was significantly higher than the first two Gather Rounds, with more than 195,000 tickets being purchased in the first two days,” said Mr Dillon.

“A ticket to the matches at the Barossa Park was always going to be one of the hottest tickets in town and the fans have certainly illustrated that by selling out both matches so quickly.”

South Australian Premier Peter Malinauskas said: “Gather Round continues to exceed all expectations.

“We are honoured that so many footy fans from around the country are making the commitment to travel to our beautiful state to experience this event like no other.

“They’ll be truly welcome.

“If you haven’t got a ticket already – get in quick!”

Tickets for the remaining matches can be found here.

It’s much more difficult for teams like the Dockers and Port to crack 1 million to 23 games (let alone 22).

Last year, the Dockers averaged 46,850 at their 11 home games (it’s 43,904 this year) but only drew 837,910 for their 23 games. The big issue isn't just the games at small venues (playing at York Park, Western Sydney, and Alice last year) but also that these teams draw much lower away attendances interstate.

That’s why I think West Coast’s 2019 season is probably the greatest year for attendance in history. To draw 985,780 for 22 games meant averaging 53,510 at 11 home games at Optus and 36,104 at 11 away games. However, they only achieved that with 6 games at the MCG and Docklands and only 1 away game at a low-drawing venue (Alice, which means no games in Tassie, Ballarat, the Gold Coast, Western Sydney/Canberra, or Darwin).Had they not played in Alice against the Dees, they would have reached that milestone easily.

With Tassie coming in 2027, I just can’t see a non-Vic club hitting 1 million plus, unless all the Vic clubs bring the interstate games back home (which I think is a good thing). And that would also mean getting rid of Thursday and Sunday night games which sap attendances by about 20%.
Freo have a 5k bigger home ground than Adelaide. Baring a huge drop off, in a year or two we’ll be averaging 50k home attendance.

Just need some big finals to add to the number to get 1m in a season. To do it in home and away will be tougher since there are far too many away games that the home fans don’t get anywhere near 40k. The AFL would have to give us a favourable draw with some big away games and less games in the sticks.

Again, 34K looks pretty good at the G with the top decks closed. 👏
It looked good and sounded a lot better. It’s actually a very good crowd. The last three against e dogs at the g have been season openers in better timeslots but today was about 4K over what we usually get against them in usual circusktances.

Our supporters wanted Pink Lady game to stay with us all those years ago.

We are great supporters of women's footy as you would know but also health (although focused on the west)
It does feel like the dogs have everything taken off them whenever you fight for a marquee game.

Pink lady will always move around though.

Pink Lady games (I can track down)

Rd 22 2025 Melbourne v W Bulldogs 34,733
Rd 16 2024 Melbourne v North Melbourne 28,773
Rd 23 2023 Melbourne v Hawthorn 50,534
Rd 17 2022 Melbourne v Brisbane 37,728
Rd 19 2021 Melbourne v W Bulldogs no crowd

I can't trace the game pre Covid. Is their anyway the AFL and MFC can build this up? Apart from the Dees v Hawks game in 2023 none of these games have drawn a decent crowd (given the occasion). The Dees can do it with ANZAC Day Eve and Kings Birthday, I can't see why with the right opponent and marketing they couldn't make this a 60,000 plus event too.

I know a club that can build this up.. Essendon!

It will also give our two clubs something to play for. For as long as I know, these fixtures have not been relevant at all. It’s a pity.. two clubs with the biggest MCC members (I believe) playing a big game at the ‘G could be huge.

It looked good and sounded a lot better. It’s actually a very good crowd. The last three against e dogs at the g have been season openers in better timeslots but today was about 4K over what we usually get against them in usual circusktances.
Still doesn't stop the comments about our crowd though. It will never end

I know a club that can build this up.. Essendon!

It will also give our two clubs something to play for. For as long as I know, these fixtures have not been relevant at all. It’s a pity.. two clubs with the biggest MCC members (I believe) playing a big game at the ‘G could be huge.
Red and blue and red and black would look great with a pink scarf and beanie…

Still doesn't stop the comments about our crowd though. It will never end

Melbourne crowds are fine. I think posters (and the media) hold the Dees to a higher standard given they play 9-10 games at the MCG (same thing happens with us). Well, that and 80% of their crowd sits on the broadcast wing. There are heaps of Saints, North, and to a much lesser extent (these days) Dogs attendances at Marvel that get hidden away.

I think it's pretty impressive that the Dees' Marvel attendance against the Eagles was only 8,000 less than the Blues' crowd against the Suns. Given both are in exactly the same position on the field, it's a Carlton home ground, and they have a much bigger membership.

The prolonged shiteness has just about broken WC fans it seems.

Quite surprised, still thought we would get just under 40k, but yes, seems like a few have had enough. The sentiment on our board was such leading into the game. 1st vs 18th, late Sunday etc.

The improved effort and Saturday night timeslot (and last game of the year) should see the high thirties for Round 24.

After Round 22 (excluding Gather Round).

HOME CROWDS
Club (# of home games played) = Total (Average)
  • Collingwood (10) = 696,990 (69,699)
  • Carlton (10) = 515,985 (51,599)
  • Fremantle (10) = 449,039 (44,904)
  • Richmond (10) = 442,266 (44,227)
  • Adelaide (10) = 442,034 (44,203)
  • West Coast (10) = 432,305 (43,231)
  • Essendon (9) = 368,120 (40,902)
  • Hawthorn (10) = 402,395 (40,240)
  • Western Bulldogs (9) = 339,125 (37,681)
  • Melbourne (11) = 404,945 (36,813)
  • Geelong (11) = 389,740 (35,431)
  • Port Adelaide (10) = 350,216 (35,022)
  • Sydney (10) = 339,433 (33,943)
  • St Kilda (11) = 348,079 (31,644)
  • Brisbane Lions (10) = 304,497 (30,450)
  • North Melbourne (9) = 249,547 (27,727)
  • Gold Coast (9) = 139,694 (15,522)
  • GWS (10) = 121,722 (12,172)

HOME AND AWAY CROWDS
Club (# of games played) = Total (Average)
  • Collingwood (20) = 1,221,714 (61,086)
  • Carlton (20) = 1,040,057 (52,003)
  • Essendon (19) = 875,755 (46,092)
  • Hawthorn (20) = 912,431 (45,622)
  • Richmond (20) = 868,965 (43,448)
  • Adelaide (20) = 826,427 (41,321)
  • Geelong (20) = 782,987 (39,149)
  • Fremantle (20) = 749,269 (37,463)
  • West Coast (20) = 718,955 (35,948)
  • Brisbane Lions (20) = 691,541 (34,577)
  • Melbourne (20) = 686,527 (34,326)
  • Sydney (20) = 670,600 (33,530)
  • St Kilda (20) = 666,376 (33,319)
  • Western Bulldogs (20) = 648,103 (32,405)
  • Port Adelaide (20) = 646,447 (32,322)
  • North Melbourne (20) = 635,974 (31,799)
  • Gold Coast (19) = 414,300 (21,805)
  • GWS (20) = 416,326 (20,816)

The prolonged shiteness has just about broken WC fans it seems.

Yeah, they were paying $20 to win earlier in the week. As rare as that is, its even rarer for the home team.
Still, credit where it's due, no other club would get close to that in the same situation.

On the other end of the spectrum in Perth, there's only single seats available for Friday night. Might get 55k if the weather holds up.

This crowd for the North match was our biggest home crowd ever against North (both at Manuka and Giants Stadium). It was about 1,500 higher than the previous record home crowd against North, which was also at Manuka.
North being North and GWS coming off an 88 point belting, I’d call 11,753 an absolutely fantastic crowd. Very impressed.

Yeah, they were paying $20 to win earlier in the week. As rare as that is, its even rarer for the home team.
Still, credit where it's due, no other club would get close to that in the same situation.

On the other end of the spectrum in Perth, there's only single seats available for Friday night. Might get 55k if the weather holds up.
I'm going over for that game, didn't realise it was close to selling out!

I bought a ticket off a mate so didn't see how many tickets were left on Ticketmaster.

I can't trace the game pre Covid. Is their anyway the AFL and MFC can build this up? Apart from the Dees v Hawks game in 2023 none of these games have drawn a decent crowd (given the occasion). The Dees can do it with ANZAC Day Eve and Kings
Birthday, I can't see why with the right opponent and marketing they couldn't make this a 60,000 plus event too.
1754868238257.png

I'm pretty sure this was the Pink Lady game in 2018.

The AFL passed 7 million attendees for the season with the last game of the round. It's the 3rd time ever and 3rd year in a row.

However the average has dropped below last season's record for the first time all season, and with few blockbusters left in the last 2 rounds there's no prospect of getting back above it.

I'm going over for that game, didn't realise it was close to selling out!

I bought a ticket off a mate do didn't see how many tickets were left on Ticketmaster.
Ditto. Bought my tickets back when they first released and got $30 seats on the lower bowl. Absolute steal. 3rd game at Optus for me, unreal stadium and QLD footy will be in a healthy state if Victoria Park is half as good.

Crowd wise, still a decent amount of seats left, should pick up especially with this game being Freos last home game. Not to mention the stakes which see the winner playing for a shot at top 4 next week and the loser needing to win a difficult fixtures to even secure finals. This should be a record between the two teams easily.

Fun fact: Channel 7 are broadcasting St Kilda v Essendon on national FTA instead. Talk about giving Fox a freebie