Unofficial Preview 2025 Hawk's Hypothetical Trade Discussion...now with added DFA spitballing!

• Thread starter Thread starter eldorado

This thread is becoming increasingly popular, and to keep some sort of order, we will have some….

Rules of engagement:

1. Bring valid news or links to Twitter posts from notable sources. Don’t post screenshots or “some bloke just said on SEN” or what some “trade whisperer” has posted on a Facebook page.

2. Ignore what other team boards are putting up as trade offers. Don’t quote or bring them here either.

3. Don’t post “buckle up” for the lols.

4. If you can’t say anything nice about Worpel or CJ, don’t say anything at all. The continued slaps and backhanders are just going to be deleted.

So a third round pick instead of a fourth? Overestimation of the worth of fringe players on these threads borders on bizarre sometimes.
Except when its fringe players from other teams, then its 1st rounder, few pages pack someone said we should offer late 1st rounder for Alex Davies of Suns( maybe the Wops compo pick). What is Sam Flanders worth, he is fringe at Suns now - 3rd or 4rth rounder. Same with Neil Erasmus - fringe at Freo.

ZDurrsma is not getting a game at North - what is his worth?

PS : Missed one

Max Gruzewski of Giants - what is his worth.. on fringe but we asked the Question last yr.

Except when its fringe players from other teams, then its 1st rounder, few pages pack someone said we should offer late 1st rounder for Alex Davies of Suns( maybe the Wops compo pick). What is Sam Flanders worth, he is fringe at Suns now - 3rd or 4rth rounder. Same with Neil Erasmus - fringe at Freo.

Yes, that was me. It's all subjective, but Davies was a highly touted draft pick, is only a fringe due to the Suns brilliant midfield and is strongly developing with 8+ years ahead of him. Not a MSD back up tall defender playing every game in the twos.

One is on the up and the other is what you get. I hope Blanc gets a good contract, either with us or elsewhere, but he is not comparable IMO.

Hey I am with you on both fronts.

Hardest of hard NOs to Zane Duursma. Not a great kick soft as butter decent but not great mark what position does he play? He’s not a defender even intercepting and that’s not a need, not an inside mid and not quick or skilful enough to be an outside mid, so he can only be a mid sized forward. Again doesn’t have the traits to be elite at that either. He won’t be on Norths list in 2 years likely delisted or traded to the scum for a second rounder. Leave him to find his way to the Duursma superannuation fund out at Tullamarine and let’s get on with bringing in good players.
PS: 🤞crossed the scum draft Willem too.

So Day is 191 and elusive, Newk is 187 and a bull and elite kick, Nash is 198 inside mid defensive stopper, Ward is 183 endurance and precise short kicker,
Mackenzie is 186 elusive mid. Doesn’t seem like they are all the same to me and we have 4 of 5 at 186 or higher with 2 in the 190s.
The players I suggested suit us and are a point of difference. We don’t need what you say we lack a player who breaks the lines out the front of stoppage. Grlj could be that player given we don’t have access to Patterson. Lindsay is an elite left footer who can play inside mid and half back so complements well and Greaves is more a well rounded mid who again is flexible which Sam will like.
Duursma if you mean Willem is a comparable option to Greaves but projecting slightly better and won’t be available at our pick. Zane is a lucky miss.
Mackenzie is 188.

It was part of the D+ rating, passing on 190cm Phillipou and 191cm Ginbey, when we apparently needed a big bodied mid. We failed because Mackenzie is a whole 2cm shorter.

Mackenzie is 188.

It was part of the D+ rating, passing on 190cm Phillipou and 191cm Ginbey, when we apparently needed a big bodied mid. We failed because Mackenzie is a whole 2cm shorter.

The pinhead who wrote that spent half of the blurb attacking us for going after Weddle so hard also. I love that article so much.

Just dug it up. It's even funnier now than it was at the time!

Industry sources were left puzzled by a few Hawks moves. After losing Jaeger O’Meara and Tom Mitchell during the trade period, an inside midfield chasm at the Hawks emerged. List boss Mark McKenzie even flagged last week they’d be looking for a “big-bodied midfielder”. Gun tall on-ballers Mattaes Phillipou and Reuben Ginbey were both still on the board when it was time for the Hawks to select, but they instead went for Mackenzie. The Dragons prospect will be a star and has a strong inside class, but isn’t as big as Ginbey and Phillipou and is renowned for his class on the outside, to the point where some analysts can see him starting his AFL career at half-back. And when the Hawks traded back into the first round, most recruiters initially thought they’d pounce on slider Ed Allan. Instead they took a defender in Weddle — even though the Hawks drafted Will Day and Denver Grainger-Barras with first-round picks in past years. In order to gain Pick 18 in the first place, the Hawks had to give up Pick 27 plus their future second and third round picks. That could be a very high price, since most expect them to be a wooden spoon contender in 2023. For example if they finish 17th next year, they‘d be giving up 20, 27 and 38 and only getting 18 back – that’s like giving Sydney a late first-round pick for free, using draft points. Coincidentally, Sydney used Pick 27 it got from Hawthorn to take Hawks NGA graduate Cooper Vickery, meaning the Hawks didn’t have bidding rights as Vickery’s name was called before Pick 40. Hustwaite, though, was a steal at Pick 37, while Macdonald will provide ample dash from the back-half. Some risks that, of course, could pay off big time down the track.
Grade: D+

Yes, that was me. It's all subjective, but Davies was a highly touted draft pick, is only a fringe due to the Suns brilliant midfield and is strongly developing with 8+ years ahead of him. Not a MSD back up tall defender playing every game in the twos.

One is on the up and the other is what you get. I hope Blanc gets a good contract, either with us or elsewhere, but he is not comparable IMO.
Davies is averaging 23 disposals at VFL level. Including a couple of weeks were he’s barely touched the ball.

He’d be behind Huss and Butler for us. He got smashed by them when they went up against each other.

I know he had a big game on the weekend but the season is a lot longer than one game. Based on his form he’d be a very cheap pick up.

Industry sources were left puzzled by a few Hawks moves. After losing Jaeger O’Meara and Tom Mitchell during the trade period, an inside midfield chasm at the Hawks emerged. List boss Mark McKenzie even flagged last week they’d be looking for a “big-bodied midfielder”. Gun tall on-ballers Mattaes Phillipou and Reuben Ginbey were both still on the board when it was time for the Hawks to select, but they instead went for Mackenzie. The Dragons prospect will be a star and has a strong inside class, but isn’t as big as Ginbey and Phillipou and is renowned for his class on the outside, to the point where some analysts can see him starting his AFL career at half-back. And when the Hawks traded back into the first round, most recruiters initially thought they’d pounce on slider Ed Allan. Instead they took a defender in Weddle — even though the Hawks drafted Will Day and Denver Grainger-Barras with first-round picks in past years. In order to gain Pick 18 in the first place, the Hawks had to give up Pick 27 plus their future second and third round picks. That could be a very high price, since most expect them to be a wooden spoon contender in 2023. For example if they finish 17th next year, they‘d be giving up 20, 27 and 38 and only getting 18 back – that’s like giving Sydney a late first-round pick for free, using draft points. Coincidentally, Sydney used Pick 27 it got from Hawthorn to take Hawks NGA graduate Cooper Vickery, meaning the Hawks didn’t have bidding rights as Vickery’s name was called before Pick 40. Hustwaite, though, was a steal at Pick 37, while Macdonald will provide ample dash from the back-half. Some risks that, of course, could pay off big time down the track.
"They didn't select who I thought they would, therefore they failed!"

****ing idiot.

"They didn't select who I thought they would, therefore they failed!"

****ing idiot.

The more you read the better it gets.

Ginbey hasn’t left the defensive goal square all year and Phillipou is 15kg.

And you’d be stoked if you’d used any pick in the top 10 for Weddle on draft night.

Cooper Vickery being delisted after 2 seasons without playing a game was icing on the cake.

I actually don't mind Flanders.

He would be an upgrade on Worpel. He hits the scoreboard every other game when he plays in the middle, and is a powerful unit.

Also shown good versatility, capable of playing on a flank on either end or as a mid. Also would be used to playing as the third/4th mid given he had Touk, Rowell and Anderson ahead of him.

I reckon we could get him for relatively cheap if we can't get Butters or Reid.

I know someone who could transform our midfield. He is tall, runs like the wind, can run all day, can bang a goal from long range. Good luck with your scan tomorrow Weds!! No Butters or Reid then keep our picks. Ward is becoming a ripper and Mackenzie will be a ripper. No need for quick fixes, build for long term sustained success.
One of the most fascinating watches in the pre-season will be to see which group Weddle trains with. I'm hoping it'll be the mids.

Curtin has been excellent as a winger for the Crows this year. Weddle could be better for us.

Davies is averaging 23 disposals at VFL level. Including a couple of weeks were he’s barely touched the ball.

He’d be behind Huss and Butler for us. He got smashed by them when they went up against each other.

I know he had a big game on the weekend but the season is a lot longer than one game. Based on his form he’d be a very cheap pick up.
thats fine and its your opinion. I differ and think he will become a Bonafide AFL midfielder. Has only played around 35 games and improving.

AND....I'm not his dad either :)

BTW, not being a smart arse, but what would you pay for Huss or Butler in comparison. I suspect one of them will leave at year end.

I actually don't mind Flanders.

He would be an upgrade on Worpel. He hits the scoreboard every other game when he plays in the middle, and is a powerful unit.

Also shown good versatility, capable of playing on a flank on either end or as a mid. Also would be used to playing as the third/4th mid given he had Touk, Rowell and Anderson ahead of him.

I reckon we could get him for relatively cheap if we can't get Butters or Reid.
We don't need these fringe players. We need A grade talent.

It's legitimately amazing that every single point made in that piece is objectively wrong.

We don't need these fringe players. We need A grade talent.
Flanders isn't a fringe player. He is a very good midfielder. Would be a good fit if we can't nab some of the A+ players.

He did however sign a pretty decent contract just last year, so doubt he will be on the move. GC wouldn't really have any interest in moving him

I'm picturing Nonno D'Ambrosio reading this and saying to himself 'What a stupido testa di minchia' 🤌

Do King and Montagna moonlight as Fox Footy reporters?

That sounds eerily like something they would spout.

Edit: Or perhaps Kingy and Joey were the "industry sources" referred to in the artcle.

No to any fringe players been traded in.
İts either a Butters, Reid or Merrett or take that juicy pick 7 to the draft and get a ready made young high end talent like Lindsay.
If we cannot get Reid or Butters , I would use our 1st pick hopefully on Josh Lindsay.

thats fine and its your opinion. I differ and think he will become a Bonafide AFL midfielder. Has only played around 35 games and improving.

AND....I'm not his dad either :)

BTW, not being a smart arse, but what would you pay for Huss or Butler in comparison. I suspect one of them will leave at year end.
I’m not saying he can’t develop into a good AFL midfielder. Moving to us he’d be currently playing VFL. Certainly not worth close to a first rounder.

For Huss and Butler it’s not like I’d be chasing them to add them to our team. If we did try and get them across I’d be looking at spending a 3rd rounder at most.

The best part of this article is what they gave the Bombers…

Selections: Elijah Tsatas (5), Lewis Hayes (25), Alwyn Davey (45), Jayden Davey (54)

Close to an ideal draft campaign.
B+

Why would we clog up the midfield with the likes of Flanders, Erasmus or Davies etc... When we still have top end picks like Mackenzie, Ward , Day and even Butler still developing and need as much time as possible to play senior footy?
Again, not gonna waste our juicy draft hand on any ' what if?' type players. We're way past that . İt's either A grade trade or draft.