List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

The club (SOS) have created their own issues in that respect, when they openly sprouted they had plenty of salary cap, then offering TDK and others ridiculous amounts. I get you have to pay extra to move players, but in all fairness you have to pay reasonable $$$ to hold onto players.

Windhager is worth whatever the market dictates and hopefully the club are fair with him. Im sure the 'low balling' stuff come from his manager and as you would expect with negotiations the asking $$$ and the club would be some what different. Having said that if people are happy to pay Nas anything to get his signature, the club cant then try to squeeze the likes of Windhager.

If we lose Nas it will be because he wants to live in Adelaide that will be really tough but understandable, but if we lose Windhager over $$$ I'll be really pi**ed.

I think Nas is definitely about cash. Sounds like he wants us to match the 2 year front loaded contract offered in SA or come close. To me he's got us in a headlock. We just can't afford to lose him no matter what. Get AFL ambassador money or something. Just get it done. He's going to gets us better fixtures, primetime games and attendances etc.

So on that metric, Phillipou, Garcia, Boxshall are all delisting material. Clark and Dow are still on good money and long contracts off very little output. You'd be better to cut them to be honest.
In a much shorter timeframe, each of the first 3 you’d mentioned have shown more than Windhager as a ball winning mid and none of those mentioned are asking for the apparent $850k.

FMD maybe all these blokes wanting the big coin should check our ladder position and win loss record of the last fifteen years. We just aren’t very ****en good.
We’re inconsistent, we fade out, we are slow starters. We are long bomb and turnover kings, we have poor skills and can’t tackle.
Yeah mate no worries I’ll pay you $850k a year to be shiteful.

We set the precedent by throwing big contracts at underperforming players. Naturally players who actually perform would expect to get at least equal, they know how the system works but it’s not their job to manage that it is the clubs. Only ourselves to blame.

TDK wasn’t underperforming, his form from mid-last year up until round 13 this year was borderline AA. Very few players can play through contract queries like Nas has.

So if Wlkie doesn't get massive clearance numbers we delist him? Maybe that's not his role or his strength. Guys like Macrae can't do a lot outside of contesting the clearances. Plenty of mids are given the role of stopping the better clearance players from touching the ball.

I'd say Windhager has improved more than most this season and probably overtaken Owens as the better and more consistent of the two players now.

He's our fourth highest for average disposals per game this year. Puts him around the same as Will Day, Josh Kelly, Soligo, Steele etc. Above guys like Freija and Ned Long on Supercoach points etc.

He's one of those guys we haven't noticed improving because he's done it quietly and steadily rather than bursting out.

And not only that but his averages across the board have gone up whilst being utilised as a run with player. Which has actually hurt his numbers.

The player managers are out to smash us. We have 2 problems, a lot of cap space and what we are paying/offering other players.

Windy's manager would be looking around with reports of Aleer and the supposed $800 odd thousand and compare him to that (and he is a better player). He wouldnt care whether we need to pay the small club tax or not to attract players. They know how much $$ we have in the salary cap with 800k thrown at Aleer, 1.4 mill at TDK and Near 2 mill for Nas and wants the biggest piece of the pie for his player and his own back pocket. Plus im sure he would be aware of what Owens signed for and if im a guessing man it would have been higher than what they would have offered Windhager.

TDK wasn’t underperforming, his form from mid-last year up until round 13 this year was borderline AA. Very few players can play through contract queries like Nas has.
There is certainly a lot of being played off the ball as a deep forward in his supposed performance drop. Not sure it’s limited to that though. If we get him and NAS we will be flying!

I’m a fan of Windy and hope he stays.

But Max Hall in 3 weeks of footy has shown more than Windhager in his career.

I still don’t know where he ends up full time. He definitely is a best 22 player but is more of a utility than anything else, he needs to cement a position and take hold of it to prove his worth.

If it’s 850k or I’m out, bye bye.

I think Nas is definitely about cash. Sounds like he wants us to match the 2 year front loaded contract offered in SA or come close. To me he's got us in a headlock. We just can't afford to lose him no matter what. Get AFL ambassador money or something. Just get it done. He's going to gets us better fixtures, primetime games and attendances etc.
Fine, give him the 2 million front loading attached to an 8 year contract. But 2 million on a 2 year contract is a hard GTFO. It's not all one way, they can't get close to satisfying the trade so the club has leverage.

Great read this morning guys, very funny

Windhager 850k per year, 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Yeah we overpaid spuds like Dunstan, Billings, Newnes etc in the past.

If he can get 850k a year good luck. That club can explain why they are giving multimillion contracts to a tagger 🤣🤣

Remember when Aleer was was getting 900k a season suddenly went down to 750k
Now this rumour. Neither Aleer or Windhager are worth more than 600k.
Throwing darts fair dinkum 🙄🙄
Darts GIF by MyDartCoach

The rumour is that Windy/Agent are asking for north of $850k a year.

We want to keep him but the difference could be 150-200k in offers.
IF that’s true, it’s bloody ludicrous.

There is nothing wrong with paying players but the output has to match the wage. You can't have it both ways though. Paying on potential then short changing your bedrock creates resentment.
You think Windy is worth $850+ a year?

Yes, we’ve all noticed him improving. I doubt even Wilkie is on that kind of coin.

I really don't get why the club is going after Aleer, particularly on the money that's being reported.

TDK I do get, because he allows us to trade Marshall, and he's the right age for our list build. Getting him is similar to getting a younger Ro, who will be at his prime while we are competing, and a top 20 pick for a bit of cap space. If we are paying him say 2.5 for the next 2 years while we have 110% cap to spend, then he becomes a well paid, but not insanely well paid player for the other 5 years of his contract.

But Aleer is not, in my opinion, a list need. Even at his ceiling, he's more a third tall type, and we have Barrat, Caminiti, Keeler and Tauru who can all play that same role, and all except maybe Barrat have not that much less exposed form than Aleer, who is also older than all mentioned. If Aleer was more of a defensive KPF in the Howard mould, then I'd get the appeal, but he's not great one on one, and relies very much on being the second or third guys up.

Personally, I'd much, much rather see Keeler given the time to play to role Aleer would play. He's got a great leap, great hands, and is a smart, natural footballer, unlike Aleer who is more of an athlete first. Keeler is also a lovely kick, which Aleer definitely isn't.

Wilkie, Caminiti/Howard, and Keeler/Tauru, in my opinion, is a great tall back mix, and I think that maybe we're splashing cash for cash splashing sake, rather than backing in the players we currently have. I can understand how that would be frustrating for a player like Windhager, who sees someone who has significantly less exposed form and I would say less potential to be an A grade player getting offered the same or more money than he is getting.

All in all, I'm pro-TDK, and anti-Aleer, and if pursuing the former costs us a good player that we currently have, I'll be very disappointed in the club.

I really don't get why the club is going after Aleer, particularly on the money that's being reported.

TDK I do get, because he allows us to trade Marshall, and he's the right age for our list build. Getting him is similar to getting a younger Ro, who will be at his prime while we are competing, and a top 20 pick for a bit of cap space. If we are paying him say 2.5 for the next 2 years while we have 110% cap to spend, then he becomes a well paid, but not insanely well paid player for the other 5 years of his contract.

But Aleer is not, in my opinion, a list need. Even at his ceiling, he's more a third tall type, and we have Barrat, Caminiti, Keeler and Tauru who can all play that same role, and all except maybe Barrat have not that much less exposed form than Aleer, who is also older than all mentioned. If Aleer was more of a defensive KPF in the Howard mould, then I'd get the appeal, but he's not great one on one, and relies very much on being the second or third guys up.

Personally, I'd much, much rather see Keeler given the time to play to role Aleer would play. He's got a great leap, great hands, and is a smart, natural footballer, unlike Aleer who is more of an athlete first. Keeler is also a lovely kick, which Aleer definitely isn't.

Wilkie, Caminiti/Howard, and Keeler/Tauru, in my opinion, is a great tall back mix, and I think that maybe we're splashing cash for cash splashing sake, rather than backing in the players we currently have. I can understand how that would be frustrating for a player like Windhager, who sees someone who has significantly less exposed form and I would say less potential to be an A grade player getting offered the same or more money than he is getting.

All in all, I'm pro-TDK, and anti-Aleer, and if pursuing the former costs us a good player that we currently have, I'll be very disappointed in the club.
Aleer is playing on the #1 banana every week isn’t he?