List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

To me the craziest part is this.

Guys who we’ve drafted and the academies they would have been had existed.
Lenny - swans
Kozi - giants
Roo North or GC
Armo - GC

Then you take into account how these guys played regardless of the ‘grow the game crap’
Riewoldt
Dunstall
Ackerman's all went alright, all would have been Brisbane NGA

I really hope the TDK thing works, I just think the overall risk is insane. With that being said we haven't won a flag in that long, starting to think f*ck it.

I get you have to pay more to get players in but when has it been 700k more

TDK is a lucky man in that he is the only standout free agent this year. I don't claim to fully understand the salary cap implications but I believe we are in a "use it or lose it" situation and there's noone else that comes close to him in the list.

Bad timing for us that we have so much money to spend and it's a very weak FA class. I still want to bring him in because it gives us extra insurance in our tall stocks, which were decimated with King and Howard going down. Having that extra flexibility is crucial, we can't win games with Sharman and Owens as our main targets. They should be feasting off the work of King/Marshall/TDK.

TDK is a lucky man in that he is the only standout free agent this year. I don't claim to fully understand the salary cap implications but I believe we are in a "use it or lose it" situation and there's noone else that comes close to him in the list.

We could "use it" by front loading the contracts of young guns we want to lock down long term, which would then mean that there's extra space in the cap in future years for a FA who actually suits our list needs.

I think this sort of sums up the TDK problem, be it real or purely perception (and a lot is media/player manager driven).

If you’re windy and you read the rags (or his manager) you see TDK $1.7m and nearly fall of your chair. It’s explained that it’s the cost of prizing our talent blah blah blah, use it or lose it. Then you see reports we’ve re upped his offer to $1.8m and in the same reports it’s saying Carlton didn’t budge and from all accounts there’s no other formal offers.

You go, alright we must have a shitload of this use it or lose it, hey guys, doing an extra $200k my way, I’ve been playing great and SoS goes “oh that monies not for you mate, take $600k and be ****ing happy we’re not cutting you”.

Now much of the above is likely bullshit but all of those figures have been reported somewhere so the whole narrative isn’t far fetched, we’ve even seen a bit of it in here with justification of the TDK contract from the same posters saying windy isn’t worth $800k a year.

There’s a stack of major differences in the contracts and offers for both those guys but at some point everyone wants to get paid and in this case one guy is getting a whole shitload of it and a few others are likely getting cents on the dollar raises.

We did that with Max and everyone here threw the toys out the cot

Not every player wants to sign long term - especially young players - with Tassie coming in and CBA set to increase. Guys like Max Hall will back themselves to get a bigger payday in 2 years when they have more exposed form

The only young players you’d sign on long enough deals to have any sort of front-loading are the generational types like Reid or NWM who you are absolutely sure will be superstars at the level. Guys like Phillipou and Wilson need exposed form to justify big money

...generational types like Reid...
See, I have my doubts about Reid.

His attitude doesn't appear to be good at all and what impact has he really had? Yes, WC is a bit of a basket case but you compare his impact to someone like Harvey in a similar team situation starting out.

Near enough 18.7 possessions a game and less than a goal a game. That is handy but not massively impactful. Yes, he gets tagged but it's so easy to get under his skin and he drifts in and out of games. The true greats beat a tag and drag their teams over the line. Reid could well be a very good player but I'll need convincing that he will be "generational". Talent alone doesn't guarantee anything.

I'm probably going to be proven wrong over time but at the moment he seems like a lazy and entitled brat.

True but you could also get in TDK (+$1.5M) and trade Marshall (-$900k) then you

use part of the cap savings on TDK,

use the balance to front load if required

get 5 more years of having a quality ruck

get a good pick for Marshall

use that pick to get a long term key defender plus some change

use that change to try for a late smokey in the draft.

See, I have my doubts about Reid.

His attitude doesn't appear to be good at all and what impact has he really had? Yes, WC is a bit of a basket case but you compare his impact to someone like.Harvey in a similar team situation starting out.

Near enough 18.7 possessions a game and less than a goal a game. That is handy but not massively impactful. Yes, he gets tagged but it's so easy to get under his skin and he drifts in and out of games. The true greats beat a tag and drag their teams over the line. Reid could well be a very good player but I'll need convincing that he will be "generational". Talent alone doesn't guarantee anything.

I'm probably going to be proven wrong over time but at the moment he seems like a lazy and entitled brat.

Best under 17 and 18 year ever but he’s got real attitude problems. Seems like the type that makes clubs hard to be around. Could be imagined but his public persona isn’t an attractive one. If he can put the talent down on field he looks like he is generational but at the moment he’s a sulky, intolerant vanity case.

I think even the harshest critic would admit the talent is there to be the best we’ve ever seen. How much of the attitude and work ethic is being at west coast under a rookie coach with **** all leadership and miles from his support networks, that’s the question.

I will admit to not following his under age years but being the "best ever"? How much of that could have been about physical development?

Could it have been a case that he already had an adult's body playing against genuine kids?

Real lack of TDK here
Real lack of ITK here

images

I was pretty unenthusiastic about TDK but in an attempt to make myself feel better, I watched some of his highlights on YouTube. Now I know, as someone used to always say, every spud in the league looks like a gun from their highlights package, but Carlton had an 18 minute highlight package just from season 2024. That’s a shit ton of highlights - it’s like a couple from every game he played. And they were very good. If that’s the player we’re getting then I’ll be pretty wrapt.

He’s not untalented obviously but his best and worst are further apart than Marshall. He definitely looks stylish doing stuff too. You are paying him finished product money for a half finished player.

He looks like a done deal and we are going to need to get him playing $2 million dollar footy very soon or it will sour.

You blokes have nothing better to do than argue for argument sake.

TDK is overpriced 100% but he makes us a better team. Same with Leek.

I couldn’t give a **** about their salary but I just want to see us win one.

Just not sure either do. If Marshall goes it’s a sideways move. Aleer would need a huge preseason to be an upgrade.

The chat about salary cap is grinding my gears.

1. the chat about 'why are we paying this for Player X when we could be giving it to player Y" - in most cases (i.e. except the Reid Rumour) these are not mutually exclusive things - paying one player does not mean we can't afford the other.

2. Any player with half a brain understands you need to pay a premium to entice them over. Any player with half a brain understands it is required to build a premiership list. I don't buy the chat about unrest because of salary offers being made