List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

He also mentioned the club is “doing everything we can to keep Oscar here long term” which we both know is bullshit.

That’s exactly what I’m asking from a Saints perspective.

Are you suggesting Liam Ryan and a 1R for Wilson?
Oscar's Mrs getting employed in Brisbane back in April was a giveaway

Don't want a 29 yr old Ryan

2 years ago he would've been a first round pick

Should of put Cordy on the longterm- injury/never to play again list.
And picked up Liam McMahon in the PSD, he's doing alright for Essendon fc.
only on a 6-month deal so there's a chance they cut him loose despite what he has shown. after the MSD they have way too many tall forwards on their list and will need to drop some. you'd think he will definitely be on an AFL list next year one way or another

hard to believe this time last year he had 25 and kicked 2.3 vs the top 4 bound Cats. at the time I considered him and Nas as our two untouchable players who I would not trade for anything

been a really tough year for him but it seems 95% between the ears. very pleasing to see him go back and crush it at VFL level and remember what he is capable of. still has heaps to work on but hopefully a good summer will get him back on track
He'll be fine. He's just learning how to win contested ball at the top level. Luckily, he's already demonstrated an ability to do this at the junior and VFL level. It's a perfectly normal thing for a second year player to not have that aspect of their game fully developed, and I'm sure by this time next year he'll be consistently impacting AFL games to a high level.

hard to believe this time last year he had 25 and kicked 2.3 vs the top 4 bound Cats. at the time I considered him and Nas as our two untouchable players who I would not trade for anything

been a really tough year for him but it seems 95% between the ears. very pleasing to see him go back and crush it at VFL level and remember what he is capable of. still has heaps to work on but hopefully a good summer will get him back on track
Wilson has the second year blues.

He had the ability to go down to VFL and play midfield and do well however it is just not translating for him this year.

Him and Pou having good pre seasons will add a lot to the middle.

How did Tony know?
AB a quiet hero in all of this, even if his dinner in the mansion “didn’t impress” - thanks Tom, you moron.

Surely has to be allowed to serve another term as Prez? Even if the need to alter the constitution to do it.

Congrats fellas and ladies, glad NWM stuck around. We know the go home factor better than most.

One of our tosspot journos is reporting Liam Ryan to the Saints is happening. I think he’s FOS but have two questions:

1. Any mail from the Saints end?
2. Darcy Wilson would be a player of interest and for whatever reason seems to have fallen foul of Ross. Any interest in a trade with him or anyone else sensible?
Hate to say it but Ross has Wilson playing as a midfielder in the future , atm just developing his game in his 2nd season.

And Liam Ryan is one player we don't really need having Higgins , Butler and Collard.
Ryan would just being stealing game time away from kids like Henery , Hall , Wilson , Phillpou , Boxsell , Garcia.
Of course if he came as a delisted free agent they would look at him.

We may have reached a dilemma in terms of salary, so would you rather..

A: Trade Marshall out and bring Aleer in. Therefore backing in TDK

B: Keep Marshall and not get Aleer. Therefore going with Caminiti

Obviously I don't know if that's the reality, but it may well be
Camaniti developing well back there. Not sure Aleer any better. Tauru will be better than both.

People calling for Wilson to be traded will look as silly as the people saying Nas was certain to leave because he said “the club” in an interview
Why on earth would people want to trade Wilson , the kid has the potential to be anything - 2nd year and just developing - has the running ability and skill to be a star of the future / hoping he develops into a topline midfielder.

Can we take a minute to really drum down how good this week is. Apart from nas. Finches got best of for sandy and looks every bit a first rounder. We are also interested in paddy voss as a father son. Windy would be crazy to leave. Bassat deserves some credit. Took the hard call to get Lyon and it’s paying off in spades. This never happens to us.
I pick up my son from kinder today and genuinely shed a tear I was that happy. What a day!!!
images (8).jpeg

We have saved 2.745 million over the last 3 years ( 3 x 95% of the cap).
NAZ is guaranteed 2 mill, TDK front ended for a couple but is nowhere near 1.8 mill.over 7 ( KRA's and incentive for hitting triggers, and Aleer is on about 750 over 4 plus triggers).
This is the only info we have, Hill took a haircut in his last contract, other older players like Wood and Howard will take one year contracts just to stay in the show.
Having some issues with Windhager, asking too much. Still awaiting an outcome.
Eventually luke everyone the cap will intervene for us but currently over the next couple of years, we will be fine.
We've saved more than that with front loading existing contracts whilst staying at 95%

Camaniti developing well back there. Not sure Aleer any better. Tauru will be better than both.
Losing Marshall will automatically make us weaker - his marking skills around the ground is one thing we need - Tauru will be a player but in a few years before he becomes what we want / Aleer would only strengthen our defense and it is needed - is uncontracted and wouldn't take to much to get him , turning 24 so is at the age to produce something.

Why on earth would people want to trade Wilson , the kid has the potential to be anything - 2nd year and just developing - has the running ability and skill to be a star of the future / hoping he develops into a topline midfielder.
Absolutely. Could be AA when he is 25-26.
Fitness already elite. On a steep learning curve. Will improve and be and inside/ outside mid with pace and endurance.

Losing Marshall will automatically make us weaker - his marking skills around the ground is one thing we need - Tauru will be a player but in a few years before he becomes what we want / Aleer would only strengthen our defense and it is needed - is uncontracted and wouldn't take to much to get him , turning 24 so is at the age to produce something.
But we will need him more forward with TDK coming in.
They both aren't in the Paddy Ryder league of Forward/ Ruck.

We are in Kenya at the moment and my wife texted our daughter ( a lapsed Saints supporter) to get two three game memberships for them both. Now this is a big thing. My wife's whole family are Bulldogs fans, my daughters partner is a Bulldog fan, and my wife doesn't even like football and has never even had a Bulldogs membership.
And while you may think I am wasting my time on a footy forum instead of my holiday, we are on an 8 hour drive to a national park and it has pissed down all day so nothing else to do. Who knew Kenya was so cold 13 degrees and foggy 😳😳😳
No judgement for being on this forum while on holiday.

My missus thinks I'm cheating on her because I've barely watched footy this year and suddenly haven't been able to get off this forum the last week.

Wife: "Who are you texting?"
Me: "I'm on BigFooty."
Wife: "Why do you do this to me!!!"

According to the Club shop, adult Candy Stripe guernseys are now only available in 4XL size. :-(

(starts eating)
Candy stripe has always been my favourite after our original jumper.
Nothing makes me happier than seeing our new icon wearing it after that sensational win.

watch the full agenda setters episode ross is dropping some absolute truth bombs:
  • our players contracts are not linked to the cap going up. so if the cap goes up it only creates more space we have (essendon are the same)
  • we are playing clubs at full cap when we aren't
  • we did this so we can retain players like NAS, Pou and WINDHAGER yeap he mentioned him specifically. i think this deal gets done now
  • our main priority was NAS. nothing major was to get done until NAS was done (see Windhager i reckon)
  • we gave out bonuses to senior group of players last year to look after them
  • wont be a club walked over
  • if you induce one of our players to breach their contract then its against the law (according to ross)
  • sounds like we would have walked NAS to the PSD
  • ross knew NAS would be ok as he was still engaged in club activities off field. if he was leaving he wouldn't have been taking part
  • were never low balling NAS we were prepared to pay
  • Terry and Rachel (NAS Parents) love st kilda, they wanted their boy back but they also love our club. would have been hard for them
  • Hill is an elder at the club, well respected, pivotal to keeping NAS. Hill LOVES st kilda
  • if NAS didnt sign would have been a massive list reset

by all accounts i think the players love the club and the environment. my read is the senior players at the end of their career just want to make sure NAS got done and there's hope they can play finals in the next season or too. i think the club will look after them to make sure they're rewarded for spending so many years out of finals.