List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Like most I too rate Dodson. Looks to be our best young drafted ruck since Everitt or MacEvoy.

However, I do not think he is a direct comparison to Jackson who is quicker and more athletic. Not that Dodson is not good athletically, as he is, and he is quite agile too.

Dodson certainly can gather and use the ball both , so he has the follower capability that Marshall has.

But he is not super quick, and I am not sure his leading speed is quick enough to play as a permanent forward.

He has not been a ruck forward prior to this year. He played forward often at Sandy as we had Heath and Harry....and Keeler too. Heath often played FF too when we has Campbell.

It is great for Dodson's development as all ruckman really need these days to be threats when they play forward, or push forward.

I am hoping that Dodson becomes a big Marshall, but who can actually ruck ;)
Hear hear.

I'm not saying you're wrong about Ben and what we saw as an issue and an opportunity just adding to a more complete narrative.

My memory of the time was that Ben really wanted to be a defender, we really wanted him to be a forward we really, really saw him as a forward. We offered 2 years GCS offered 3 and committed to him playing in defense. Given our small and medium defenders at the time Ben was always struggling to get a game down back. Ben as a defender ended up out of the GCS AFL team and his way back in is playing as a forward. Even when he was drafted by us it was off the back of Ben's VFL prelim performance where he kicked 6. Ben insisted he was a defender. From the NT originally and I'd think going to GCS was also getting closer to family. His problems at the Saints are the same as his problems at GCS.

I think he just wanted a spot to be honest and saw that we had a preferred from set up and with Snags and Butler arriving it pushed him down a rung.

They'd ask for FRDP and settle for a future second IMO. Probably $800k to $900k x 4 gets him excited enough to move. More on last years form but he'll want opportunity and GC don't seem to have a spot for him and are going to have to shed players to fit their academy kids in.
How do you see the value of that going forward as a 24 year old versus the value of Windhager at 22?

My recollection is that the first mention of TDK’s was the total dollar value, $11.9 mill over seven years

Yeah, my point is who said it was the $11.9 mill?

As I said in my previous post, surely we wouldn’t put that figure out there, maybe Carlton did, maybe the media guessing or even his agent, but how do we know for sure it’s that much?

I hope like others that Dodson will be good, but comparing him to Luke Jackson seems a bit far fetched?
For a “potential” first rounder why did he fall to us after Geelong drafted the second ruck on his team?
I will go out on a limb and say Dodson will be a better ruck than Jackson - in time.
I also agree with gringo that the guy is a unicorn, his footballing iq and ability was on display from his first preseason training session I saw him in.
We don't need to fast track him, we do need to extent him sooner rather than later.
With injuries and player management, reckon he gets 6 plus games next year and hopefully locked away.
We are finally getting nice problems, NAZ explodes, Windy is on the up and we are looking to find off other clubs, Dodson, a late pick and absolute steal will be sought after.
List management will be vital. A blow if we don't retain Windy, and need to extend Dodson while developing him. SoS had a win of sorts in NAZ, now needs to really show he can manage a list where players will have offers and some poached.

I hope like others that Dodson will be good, but comparing him to Luke Jackson seems a bit far fetched?
For a “potential” first rounder why did he fall to us after Geelong drafted the second ruck on his team?
I will go out on a limb and say Dodson will be a better ruck than Jackson - in time.
I also agree with gringo that the guy is a unicorn, his footballing iq and ability was on display from his first preseason training session I saw him in.
We don't need to fast track him, we do need to extent him sooner rather than later.
With injuries and player management, reckon he gets 6 plus games next year and hopefully locked away.
We are finally getting nice problems, NAZ explodes, Windy is on the up and we are looking to find off other clubs, Dodson, a late pick and absolute steal will be sought after.
List management will be vital. A blow if we don't retain Windy, and need to extend Dodson while developing him. SoS had a win of sorts in NAZ, now needs to really show he can manage a list where players will have offers and some poached.

Has never said he’s shit hahaha

Calsher deary me
I also think old gringo2011 thought i was referring to him when I posted about negative Dodson chat.

Gringo's positivity about Dodson warms my heart. Love it.

It's the people that are already talking doom and gloom about Dodson's contract. That's who I was referring to.

Yeah, my point is who said it was the $11.9 mill?

As I said in my previous post, surely we wouldn’t put that figure out there, maybe Carlton did, maybe the media guessing or even his agent, but how do we know for sure it’s that much?
We don't. And after what the pres said I'd be pretty sure it's not.
It won't be long before the media start running with 'if NAS is getting $2 mill then player X must be on $2.5 mill' and before you know it it's accepted as fact.

Calsher deary me

Okay fair, The Fiddler says discount his VFL form because it's no different to a few senior GOPs in their racking up high stats.

Good to see another Dodson doubter outing themselves.

I also think old gringo2011 thought i was referring to him when I posted about negative Dodson chat.

Gringo's positivity about Dodson warms my heart. Love it.

It's the people that are already talking doom and gloom about Dodson's contract. That's who I was referring to.

I thought that you were an idiot because you were discounting his form then claiming that you couldn't understand the negativity....when you were the only one being negative about him.

Okay fair, The Fiddler says discount his VFL form because it's no different to a few senior GOPs in their racking up high stats.

Good to see another Dodson doubter outing themselves.
I like that nickname. It's pretty apt.

I fiddle with your dribble most days on here 😂

But I wouldn't have it any other way ❤️

I thought that you were an idiot because you were discounting his form then claiming that you couldn't understand the negativity....when you were the only one being negative about him.
Negs, chief. But it's a nice story. You can be Mr Peddler 😉

I'm not negative about Dodson.

There has been plenty of bleating about his contract though when it's not even an issue yet.

I'm all in on the Dodzilla.

Calsher deary me
Gringo just makes shit up all the time. Apparently SoS 'strong arms' every contract, even though we had 5 announced in one day, and he strongarmed Williams into accepting 2 mill over 2 for NAZ instead of the 1.6 he wanted to offer.
Think it is because some contracts don't fall under the imaginary correct time frame demanded by nuffies on a footy forum 😗

We seemed to get impatient with him. He was going pretty well but we saw chasing him in as a way to get back into drafts. Good list managers are looking at where they project a few years down the track in a better side not current form.

He was never settled and never given consistent runs. I think that's the same as Windhager potentially. We lose him over $100k and then have to find something better at the draft or trade and still be in front without losing ground.

You are better to cut dead wood than cash in promising developing talent. Battle and Long were both in the age bracket we were severely short ion too. It makes holes down the road and in the short term. Windhager about to bump into that pool too. We can't afford one in one out, we need to have enough to challenge in the next few years.
He’s come on in leaps and bounds this year, 7 above 25 with a high of 36 whilst also being our main tagger.

Seriously this kid at 22 with 70+ games up look like our next 300 game player. Yet for 50 to 100k some are prepared to let him walk.

When you combine that with the players coming in and what they’re getting it’s so st Kilda, you can’t make this stuff up. It was important to keep Nas but I think people outside the club would have understood if he’d left and given the saints full marks for trying. Loosing Windhager will be brutal, he will embarrass us and the media won’t let us forget it.

First and foremost is that we’ll be loosing exactly the type of player we’d be trying to land and popping champagne corks if we did.

Just been listening to Gerard W, Kane (yeah don't know why) banging on about the amount the Saints have paid NWM, including commentary that if he gets that much imagine what a good player would get!!!

FFS I reckon NWM is our x factor and damn happy that we have him still even with the $s we are forking out.

Seriously we can not win, develop a great player and still cop shit.

They then went on to say - goods clubs (citing Geelong) do not do what we have done.

We do not have the luxury of our own home ground that brings in millions, ability to grant cotton on franchises and farms outside of the club....but we should aspire to being a good club like Geelong.

Get fd...we are having a crack now, the list is getting legit and I for one am damn happy about it.
The same guys that said we just need to do a way to keep him .

He’s come on in leaps and bounds this year, 7 above 25 with a high of 36 whilst also being our main tagger.

Seriously this kid at 22 with 70+ games up look like our next 300 game player. Yet for 50 to 100k some are prepared to let him walk.

When you combine that with the players coming in and what they’re getting it’s so st Kilda, you can’t make this stuff up. It was important to keep Nas but I think people outside the club would have understood if he’d left and given the saints full marks for trying. Loosing Windhager will be brutal, he will embarrass us and the media won’t let us forget it.

First and foremost is that we’ll be loosing exactly the type of player we’d be trying to land and popping champagne corks if we did.
I'm not really sure this is accurate?

Haggling over 50k-100k, would be stupid in my view. I haven't seen one poster present that view.

Maybe you can prove me wrong and show me one?

What's been reported (and we know it might not be accurate) is that Windhager has been offered 800k over 5 by North and 600k over 2 by the Saints. Correct?

If this is the case, then it's a fair bit more than you are suggesting.

For what it's worth, I want Windy to stay. I think there is a fair chance there could be some upside. But there is no guarantee on that. If the gap is 800k to 600k, I could understand why the Saints are haggling.