List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Looking like we've all but lost him. Ouch.

That interview post game was not good IMO. Neither was Ross' presser.

Feel like our only hope is to convince him that Port don't have the capital for trade, and we convince him to sign for 12-24 months, giving Port some time to gather picks (And hope that something magically changes in that time)

What is wrong with these grown men all being 'homesick' while getting paid millions of dollars to kick a football?

I find it incredible, they aren't being sent to the other side of the planet. You never hear soccer players demanding to be sent home from Europe or Asia because they are 'homesick'. Jesus Christ how much different is Perth to Brisbane or Melbourne to Adelaide?
What a load of baloney this homesickness rubbish is. Might have washed when they were getting 200k a year as a top contract, not when everything is a mill plus nowadays.
Funny how you never see rookies getting homesick if they are picked up and make it. Or MSD pick from.interstate.

As for Butters being homesick, have you ever been to Darley. Adelaide must be some almighty hellhole if thats the case.

Most cloistered, spoiled selfish footballers that there has ever been. Homesick 🙄. Tell that to FIFO worker with families who they see for a week a month or others struggling to make ends meet.
These current day footballers are really mumma's boys by the sounds.

But they are not. It is an excuse to get rich and play where they want under the constraints of the draftvand trading rules.
Agree, also for nas the amount of effort the club has put into him has been insane. Letting him go back to Adelaide to see him family every year, his huge role in the indigenous program including his design of the jersey and more. The we love NAS signs, going after his cousin, the meetings and more. Although maybe all of these things haven’t landed well with him, he’s never going to find a club that loves him more than us. Port are a rabble and I think that he will find going home not as glamorous as it seems.

What is wrong with these grown men all being 'homesick' while getting paid millions of dollars to kick a football?

I find it incredible, they aren't being sent to the other side of the planet. You never hear soccer players demanding to be sent home from Europe or Asia because they are 'homesick'. Jesus Christ how much different is Perth to Brisbane or Melbourne to Adelaide?
What a load of baloney this homesickness rubbish is. Might have washed when they were getting 200k a year as a top contract, not when everything is a mill plus nowadays.
Funny how you never see rookies getting homesick if they are picked up and make it. Or MSD pick from.interstate.

As for Butters being homesick, have you ever been to Darley. Adelaide must be some almighty hellhole if thats the case.

Most cloistered, spoiled selfish footballers that there has ever been. Homesick 🙄. Tell that to FIFO worker with families who they see for a week a month or others struggling to make ends meet.

But they are not. It is an excuse to get rich and play where they want under the constraints of the draft and trading rules.
I was a bit homesick for family or friends when working interstate or overseas as a guy in his 20s, but jeez it's not the end of the world, and really in the case of AFL players, it's all about money.

But they are not. It is an excuse to get rich and play where they want under the constraints of the draft and trading rules.
The problem is also that contracts aren’t worth anything. Unless the club with the player is going to receive significant overs in a trade then clubs should hold players to their contracts.

This isn’t the case in Nas’ situation but in general the whole trading contracted players due to homesickness is a rort especially when they are in the top 1% of earners in the country.

Friday also had the bonus for me of meeting and then chatting with Eamonn's parents and brother for half an hour at training.

I go often. It is only 20 minutes from home, and if I go to see my elderly Dad, it is only small detour on the route and I was going to see him last Friday anyway. I watched two training sessions last week.

In my twenties I used to go on Thursdays, watch training, play squash (yes they had squash courts back then which Social Club Members could use - cheapest squash in Melbourne then as the only cost was 20 Cents in the light meter) and then have a meal and beer in the bistro with my mate, where they would announce the team to members there first before making the teams available to the media. It made for a great Thursday!
Don’t forget the meat raffle as well.

Guess we’ll hear more about it tonight.
Hopefully a totally uncompromised first round at the draft is next.
Hopefully a totally uncompromised draft.

Starting this year.

If Father-Son is abolished so should all the unfettered access to the Northern Academies and the NGAs.

The AFL can’t just abolish Father-Son without reforming the other anomalies in the draft.

Agree, also for nas the amount of effort the club has put into him has been insane. Letting him go back to Adelaide to see him family every year, his huge role in the indigenous program including his design of the jersey and more. The we love NAS signs, going after his cousin, the meetings and more. Although maybe all of these things haven’t landed well with him, he’s never going to find a club that loves him more than us. Port are a rabble and I think that he will find going home not as glamorous as it seems.
Look I have been critical of the club for their ham fisted way they broadcast the huge war chest they have and the offer to TDK.
But in terms of accommodation to his needs the club has bent over backwards for him. All the support in the world. Don't know what else they could do.

The problem is also that contracts aren’t worth anything. Unless the club with the player is going to receive significant overs in a trade then clubs should hold players to their contracts.

This isn’t the case in Nas’ situation but in general the whole trading contracted players due to homesickness is a rort especially when they are in the top 1% of earners in the country.
Even bigger rort, when the player is homesick, yet refuses to deal with any other club in that city. It's a joke.

I was a bit homesick for family or friends when working interstate or overseas as a guy in his 20s, but jeez it's not the end of the world, and really in the case of AFL players, it's all about money.

As an aside, I was popping pills and seeing three different types of specialists in my 20's, so if there was a guru in Broome that could have made me an AFL footballer, I'd have friggen run there and ditched everything instead of getting poked by cold metal things around old people.

All depends on your own values, money is a variable thing and no one really has any idea about community when it's taken from you. It's also why farming is separated from metro, as you just dunno what 5am work is when there is no gym, no fresh water, and your exercise is moving livestock.

Just preparing myself for next year 🥲

Attachments

• 1104F4A4-4DB8-40AB-A8B2-C172BDA0B57D.png
    1104F4A4-4DB8-40AB-A8B2-C172BDA0B57D.png
    2.9 MB · Views: 47
What's it sitting at now?
$85 for my very brave initial $10.

Im sure there is someone else that has him going for $50K - makes my $5K look insignificant.

Will be exciting on the night for sure.

to be fair, the game yesterday was exactly the same as the last few games we have played against North. We seem to just make it a slog against the,. But apart from last week, the previous 5 weeks i felt were excellent against top tier teams
We have a long way to go and playing Nas exhibition games isn’t the way to go imo.

If Nas leaves and we do alright out of the trade we need to continue building. I wonder what impact the Nas decision will have on our trade/draft strategy. Maybe it’s just me but crowing about TDK before locking away Nas always looked stupid.

He'd wanna be very confident in Port's future with an untried coach. Have lost by 98, 91 pts, 90 and 88 points this year.

If he goes there, he's almost certainly there for his career, doubt he'd move to Adelaide and have 2 fan bases booing him and no way he's moving interstate again.

this

I was thinking about this when watching the scenes in the rooms after the game. Seeing players gathering with friends and family and I saw Boxshall standing up the the back on his own. Little things like this can make you terribly homesick.

He'd wanna be very confident in Port's future with an untried coach. Have lost by 98, 91 pts, 90 and 88 points this year.

If he goes there, he's almost certainly there for his career, doubt he'd move to Adelaide and have 2 fan bases booing him and no way he's moving interstate again.
Think he just wants to get home

Look I have been critical of the club for their ham fisted way they broadcast the huge war chest they have and the offer to TDK.
But in terms of accommodation to his needs the club has bent over backwards for him. All the support in the world. Don't know what else they could do.
Its a weird point to get to where i feel like if he leaves its almost certain the club will have done everything within their power to retain him and it will just have been the lure of home (which we cant compete with).

Perhaps IN THE FULLNESS OF TIME well find out that we should have offered him more money earlier or whatever but right now i cant imagine the club is ****ing about with this, it very much appears as though NAS doesnt even know what he wants to do.

Que sara sara (i think?)

Don’t know if anyone else noticed this yesterday but as good as a game nas had he wasn’t running two ways and pressuring blokes as much as he usually does. Doesnt look like someone who cares about winning and the club and more looked like someone only caring about his own stat line yesterday with a lot of cheap touches too. Dont get me wrong he still played amazing but his lack of defensive effort worried me as although it isnt one of his strengths he is usually better than that.

You’d think the AFL would be keen to have the lower clubs, a smaller club all have a top line player. A marquee player who attracts fans to games especially traditionally lower attended games.

If I was managing the AFL I would be keen to ensure north, bulldogs, Gold Coast etc all have someone who will be a highlight during the game. It just makes sense - I’m going to the footy this week, I know we will probably loose to the magpies but I want to see Naz go head to head with Daicos.

Now I know it is not a decision for the AFL where any player plays but it does seem that every once in a while a certain club gets a hand out or help, encouragement for the player to stay.

So why not us in this circumstance, for Naz to move to port or Adelaide might be great for that club and perhaps Naz himself but does zero for the competition. Let us offer him something outside the salary cap, do something for the family.

Don’t know if anyone else noticed this yesterday but as good as a game nas had he wasn’t running two ways and pressuring blokes as much as he usually does. Doesnt look like someone who cares about winning and the club and more looked like someone only caring about his own stat line yesterday with a lot of cheap touches too. Dont get me wrong he still played amazing but his lack of defensive effort worried me as although it isnt one of his strengths he is usually better than that.
Id vehemently disagree with every aspect of this.

He ran plenty hard defensively (he had two or three instances of breaking up North ball movement).

I also dont think reading into how hes playing means anything at all, hes a professional athlete who loves the game he plays, continuing to play well means nothing either way IMO.