List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Will wait for it to all be confirmed but it can’t be overstated how much of a disaster losing NAS and Windy in one off season would be, both culturally and on field. Sets the rebuild back exponentially. The Windy, NAS and Mitch draft is the turning point in starting to build properly. Losing them just as they start to enter their early peak years is a nightmare. Wonder how Mitch is feeling about his extension now. Let’s see what actually happens but if this goes the way it is looking right now oh boy do we keep finding ways to **** ourselves. Just amazing.
if Windy is wanting 850k plus a year, hes only screwing the team....we paid Billings Dunstan and co that amount, how'd that work out??

No he should play his role. Hone his craft on the track and take his chances when given to him. Of which he is yet to do.
His all round numbers are solid. But his clearance work is not there. Yet.

So if Wlkie doesn't get massive clearance numbers we delist him? Maybe that's not his role or his strength. Guys like Macrae can't do a lot outside of contesting the clearances. Plenty of mids are given the role of stopping the better clearance players from touching the ball.

I'd say Windhager has improved more than most this season and probably overtaken Owens as the better and more consistent of the two players now.

He's our fourth highest for average disposals per game this year. Puts him around the same as Will Day, Josh Kelly, Soligo, Steele etc. Above guys like Freija and Ned Long on Supercoach points etc.

He's one of those guys we haven't noticed improving because he's done it quietly and steadily rather than bursting out.

if Windy is wanting 850k plus a year, hes only screwing the team....we paid Billings Dunstan and co that amount, how'd that work out??

There is nothing wrong with paying players but the output has to match the wage. You can't have it both ways though. Paying on potential then short changing your bedrock creates resentment.

I just can’t make sense of the money reportedly being offered to him. I agree that he will be a good pickup and an important piece of the puzzle, but if we lose Nas and Windy in the process, it’ll be very bittersweet. Poor TDK would be resented before he even plays a game for us 😂
We have to pay the small club tax to get FAs

Gringo knows it’s not enough and he’s worth more though, and it’s sos’ fault

And you know he's not worth whatever we offer him Flaps? What I do know is that it's nearly the end of the season and SOS is off lusting after Carlton's rejects instead of signing up players that should be locked away already.

so, according to the same supporters on here....saints have gone backwards. so therefore players haven't been very good, now we want to over pay them because they are upset about getting "unders" for doing bugger all?

okay then....

all I've heard is how bad saints list and development is, but everyone gets the bed if one is "reported" to be insulted??

we have to overpay to bring in players and no elite player wants to come....

make your bloody minds up, are the players any good or not? because the consensus so far is that the only one who is any good is NAS, and he hasn't been proper elite until since the bye....

the bloody hell should the saints over pay for their own players when no other club does?

We went backward because we went young and if we lose guys about to come into their peak we get younger again. Even you can understand that.

And you know he's not worth whatever we offer him Flaps? What I do know is that it's nearly the end of the season and SOS is off lusting after Carlton's rejects instead of signing up players that should be locked away already.
well maybe if players didn't want twice what they are worth then they would be locked up already....

It would kill BF but geez I wish they published player payments. Stop this back-door whispering from managers and clubs and get actual amounts. As fans we put a shite load of money into the game we deserve to know facts. The players are hypocrites here. They love the US sports but cherry pick what parts they are willing for themselves. Time for the AFL to grow up.

We have to pay the small club tax to get FAs

No, you pay more when you aren't an attractive environment with no obvious momentum. Hawks got players in cheap because they looked exciting and on an upward trajectory. Essendon paid heaps for spuds because like us they aren't a reliable environment yet.

So frustrating other teams players take unders to stay but our want top dollar to stay. We arnt ever gonna get anywhere
In fairness to the current list... If you see constant media reports about our war chest and us offering huge somes of money to guys who aren't currently at the club and putting in the work, you'd want more cash as well.

well maybe if players didn't want twice what they are worth then they would be locked up already....

Maybe they should have locked our current players down before openly throwing huge offers at players from other clubs

FWIW I don't think Windy is worthy crazy money, but if there's truth in that we're offering Aleer 750, it's not hard to see how that affects our current player's thinking.

Maybe they should have locked our current players down before openly throwing huge offers at players from other clubs

FWIW I don't think Windy is worthy crazy money, but if there's truth in that we're offering Aleer 750, it's not hard to see how that affects our current player's thinking.

Exactly. Especially when players are being paid on potential. Why wouldnt a player like Windy go, where's my share?

FMD maybe all these blokes wanting the big coin should check our ladder position and win loss record of the last fifteen years. We just aren’t very ****en good.
We’re inconsistent, we fade out, we are slow starters. We are long bomb and turnover kings, we have poor skills and can’t tackle.
Yeah mate no worries I’ll pay you $850k a year to be shiteful.

Considering attracting players is sometimes a 12+ month body of work. How do you propose they have everyone tied down?

And the list as is isn’t good enough to win a flag/make top 4. So if the players aren’t willing to take a more accurate reflection of their performance or what’s required to build a successful side then I suppose you’ll continue to go to games and sign up for your membership because all yours boys got paid and we haven’t moved any closer to the 8 because we aren’t allowed to attract talent - because they might be paid more.

So if Wlkie doesn't get massive clearance numbers we delist him? Maybe that's not his role or his strength. Guys like Macrae can't do a lot outside of contesting the clearances. Plenty of mids are given the role of stopping the better clearance players from touching the ball.

I'd say Windhager has improved more than most this season and probably overtaken Owens as the better and more consistent of the two players now.

He's our fourth highest for average disposals per game this year. Puts him around the same as Will Day, Josh Kelly, Soligo, Steele etc. Above guys like Freija and Ned Long on Supercoach points etc.

He's one of those guys we haven't noticed improving because he's done it quietly and steadily rather than bursting out.
Also I’ve spoken about his and owens standard setting off the field and from all reports on the track.

These kids are local, Beaumaris are a massive local junior club everyone in southern and a lot of ammo clubs knows them. If you burn them not because they can’t play or haven’t put in but over $100k or less everyone will know. The club better be going places because believe me when I say it will cost you memberships.

All we’ve had at times is loyalty, Barks, Frawley, Riewoldt, Harvey, Bourke, Lowe, Lenny etc and the supporters have stuck because players like that have stuck. They all stayed for less which you’d think Windhager would have if he had been offered a decent contract first up.