List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Yep - proven improving young player & potential captain with, subject to injury, 150 plus games to go. We lose him for what? Speculative pick?
If he goes for $850, Id be expecting a first round (speculative) pick.

But seriously people, sign him up!

I think Windy is relatively comparable to the Perryman/Cumming moves last year

Both best 23 players for GWS. But if you have young kids coming through who you think can fill their roles (Fonti/Angwin) then its fine to let him go if a rival club is willing to pay up

LOC is currently the one being moulded into that really versatile defensive half player. Hastie, Travaglia, Arie, Pou, first round pick, and maybe even Carroll are guys who could also get more opportunities

Unlike the two Giants he isnt a free agent, but if a club comes knocking with a late first rounder then it'd definitely be something to consider imo

For the record, I think his manager is just milking as much money as possible so I think both NWM and Windy stay
Windy is clearly the future captain, letting him go would be a horrible mistake. LOC is not an on baller, I see him ending up on the wing.

Never said he was

I don't see Windy as a long-term inside mid for us either when we have NWM, Garcia, Boxshall, Pou, Travaglia all coming through

I see him more as a back-half utility - can play anywhere from half back to wing to inside mid. LOC's progression has so far been starting at half back, then wing, then inside mid

My point was that if we lost Windy, I feel like his on-field stuff would be replaceable. But I agree - he might be too important to our culture to let go hence the high price tag

Friend of mine said he’s pretty sure he saw Terry Milera leaving the G after the game on Sat. He was with a bunch of kids who he assumed were Nas’s cousins or step-siblings. They were all fully decked out in saints gear. Can anyone else confirm? If so, surely has to be a good thing?

Did you think they would be wearing port stuff , i think its confirmed he is staying now

PS , I am taking the P155 LOL

It’s a tricky balancing act, isn’t it? We want to be part of the best saints ever but also want to gobble up heaps of cap space maybe preventing us becoming the best saints ever.

In the fullness of time

It was our club legends, Riewoldt, Goddard, DalSanto, etc that helped us max out our cap back in the day, and pretty much contributed to the team self destruction from 2011 on.

More goddamn second hand info

You want to pay crazy money for TDK and Aleer but would let our own better players walk out over a couple of hundred thousand. We have the dumbest fans in footy.

its unbelievable... worried about losing tarau because of this imaginary maxing out of the cap whilst wanting to load up on TDK and Aleer

happy to see players go because theyre worried about retaining other players later on. absolutely bonkers shit.

i'd be more worried about losing Tarau to another club if we dont get our shit together and start playing finals.

He would of been spotted in the rooms by the camera I reckon

Okay bipolar Lola. Funny how your favourite idiot Gags could still spend half our cap on Hanners, Hill, Howard and Ryder.

You tell me to ignore the stated figures in the media but take Stagro's figures as gospel. Giving an extra $200k each to Windy and Nas is a lot better investment than 20% of the salary cap for 7 years on a B grader in a position that we don't need and a C grade project key back that isn't that tall.

You keep going off like a chihuahua on a RedBull bender though.

Stav claimed 850k was too much at 4% of the cap.

I had claimed 850k now is not big money anymore as the cap has gone up so much and will continue to go up... its the old 450k... he went quiet.

450k on a salary cap of 11 million is very similar to 850k next year.

Hungover I see.
You will be the first to scream when the SC is maxed in 3 years and Tauru and Phillipou gets poached.
If nothing you are consistent in your misery 🤣🤣
Love you long time sweetheart.

in all honesty, if you think the salary will be maxed out in 3 years because we have given Windy 850k instead of 600k then you need to seek help.

our issue wont be windy hell i don't think it'll even be the salary cap.

it'll be our inability to play finals consistently. that's the biggest concern we have as a club. if we want to retain players we'll just put them on long term deals like TDK or King.

Where would you stop , thats the question but yeah 3rd 4th handed info is a bit of a stretch, some of the so called first hand info is bad enough
First hand knowledge of fourth hand info should be allowable.

100% this.

im amazed at the short memory.

it wasn't long ago how much Windy was getting pumped up by Stav himself talking about his professionalism and how much he is dragging people with him, leaving no stone unturned.

now he's seen as expendable for a side that's struggling to be consistent.

seems like a huge risk with how the group prepares and performs.

Never said he was

I don't see Windy as a long-term inside mid for us either when we have NWM, Garcia, Boxshall, Pou, Travaglia all coming through

I see him more as a back-half utility - can play anywhere from half back to wing to inside mid. LOC's progression has so far been starting at half back, then wing, then inside mid

My point was that if we lost Windy, I feel like his on-field stuff would be replaceable. But I agree - he might be too important to our culture to let go hence the high price tag

some of the names you mentioned look miles off it. its questionable if they make it.

its too speculative. you should know in another 12-36 months if they will, which would probably be windys contract length (3 years).

The legue avg salary is circa $650k over the next number of years..... Windy is above average and thus $850 is fair

I think some people forget the salary cap goes up every year
If we put Lance Collard and Naz in a room together the average salary is nearly $1,000,000.

I wonder what the median salary is across the competition.

Terry was in the rooms post-game I saw but didn’t see anyone else

Stanley is still running around and doing 2 minute OMO adds too at quarter time... what an Adonis. He's 34, Roma will be two years younger than him in 2027/28.
And Stanley has always had a good leep and has more pace that Marshall who cannot leap. Marshall more effective around the ground though. However, it is pretty pointless think that just because her or Pendleberry play on late , that all other players will though.

While you can focus on the draft, you cannot build a very good team through the draft alone. Plus we have a huge age gap in our mid-age players due to so much past bad drafting.

I think we are all very envious of the Cats and how the have positioned themselves as a Club that good players join each year. No doubt that have have someone good line up this draft period. They have combined picking players who used to be local, along with regional lifestyle for those that prefer that over City Living. Plus other rumoured benefits.

We are not viewed by players as a destination Club. So we have to 1/ pay overs for players and 2/ restrict ourselves to a much smaller pool of players than we would like.

I'd honestly rather spend the money on keeping our talent, rather than have it walk out the door like it did last year.
You say that like it is a fact that more money alone will retain a player.

TDK is a rare beast in seemingly money being able to sway him to St Kilda. But who knows maybe he just does not like playing under Voss, and could also see that Carlton was about to fall apart. With TDK too, as a restricted agent the money had to be large enough that the Blues would not match.

I wish that there was a Gun Mid version of TDK that we could have grabbed with a like deal. but we offered it and were not back over man years.

Aleer will most likely be most attracted by playing more senior football if he swaps to us. More money is just the icing on that cake.

According to rumor, apart from possibly Windy (and it may also be just his manager being out for what he can get which is normal), players are not leaving us just due to money. Neither Battle nor Nas staying or going has been just about the money.

Battle left for less than our offer. Nas is being pulled home by his mother in particular, and Nas will be deciding over Family vs Football, and if he stays it will most likely be due a mix of his current relationships with team mates and coaches and how he has been developed over the pull of family and friends back in SA. He will have a massive contract wherever he plays next year and money will not be the No. 1 factor in where he plays.

One edge that Crows may have is that the of the 3 Clubs in the Nas Race are the most likely to be in a Grand Final soon.
It is one reason why winning a batch of games late like we are is important in keeping Nas.