List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

I finally understand how Joffaboy feels.
Liam Ryan is younger than me and he’s being called old :(

Weren’t you adamant that this was about money and that Nas wanted to get paid?

You definitely weren’t on my side of this argument.
All the reports coming out now seem to indicate our offer was the most financially lucrative per year. He got paid.

Id also say who cares, hes stayed and hes worth every penny. Perhaps its an issue in two years, im happy to kick the can down the road and deal with the issue then.

We should all move on from it, who cares who was wrong or right.

Now that Nas has resigned, the main thing I’m looking forward to next year is seeing us have some genuine aerial presence when we move the ball out of defence.

How often in the last month have we seen our undersized talls get absolutely monstered when we’ve tried to clear our D50 with a long ball down the line?! And that’s nothing against Cooper and Mitchito, but geez it’s gonna be nice to have some bigger bodies down the line, whoever they belong to.

Using my bubble of optimism wisely here.

RD 1 Seniors

Hastie. Caminiti. Tauru.
Sinclair. Wilkie (C). Clark.
Hill. Windhager. Steele.
Ryan. Sharman. Hall.
Owens. King. Higgins.
De Koning. NWM. Phillipou.

INT: Marshall. Garcia. Macrae. Wilson. Aleer.

EM: Boxshall. Dodson. Howard. Butler.

• Expect some 2nd Year blues from Boxshall, Travaglia Tauru etc so expect them to play at San.. wait "in the ressies" a fair bit.
  • Steele to the wing to extend his career a bit, clever footballer for the thinking man's spot but also great competitively in air and on ground. He's still got a strong tank so think it suits him and us nicely.
  • Backing Hill to bounce a bit next year, love Clark settled at hbf
  • Can't find a spot for Wood right away but i'd have him over Hill most likely
  • Bit worried about Aleer - even Zlugger might have him covered 1v1
  • Hammer > Howard now
  • Ryan an worthwhile upgrade on Butler when both fit.
  • No sub hopefully would give us enormous flexibility with a duel ruck setup.

IN
De Koning. Ryan. Aleer. 1R. 3R

OUT (5x Delist / Retire 3 + 2 new draftees)
Jones. Webster. McLennan. Boyd. Cordy.

RD 1 Reserves

Stocker. Howard. Armstrong.
Henry. Barratt. Webster.
Byrnes. O'Connell. Schoenmaker.
Said. Keeler. Butler.
Collard. Campigli. Heath.
Dodson. Boxshall. Travaglia.
Dow. Jones. McLennan. Cordy. 1R (J. Phillipou) 3R (Fincher)

- Hopefully a few delisted players can play at Sandy but almost never works like that

Spots won't be a given hopefully. Tauru looks a fair way off at the moment. Trav, Fincher, our new FRDP, Ari, Collard, Keeler and plenty of others are going to need to demand spots to get a run. Interesting season coming up.

Weren’t you adamant that this was about money and that Nas wanted to get paid?

You definitely weren’t on my side of this argument.

Dude

Don’t start

Seriously

Didn’t you say over and over we shouldn’t pay him 2 mil a season if the contract was 2 years. He needed to commit for longer.

Etc. etc

The delay was because his team were holding out for more money

But how about we just be grown ups and just be happy he signed. Which I said I would be all along, even at the figures he signed on at.

Brings a tear to the eye ....

When you see highlights of Nas so many of the deft touches that set him up are from Windhager like that one two pass. If Nas is a lead guitarist he's the bass player holding it together.

Dude

Don’t start

Seriously

Didn’t you say over and over we shouldn’t pay him 2 mil a season if the contract was 2 years. He needed to commit for longer.

Etc. etc

The delay was because his team were holding out for more money

But how about we just be grown ups and just be happy he signed. Which I said I would be all along, even at the figures he signed on at.
No chance I’ll act like a grown-up, that’s boring as hell…

Here’s something to think about:

I know you are, I said you are, so what am I?

All the reports coming out now seem to indicate our offer was the most financially lucrative per year. He got paid.

Id also say who cares, hes stayed and hes worth every penny. Perhaps its an issue in two years, im happy to kick the can down the road and deal with the issue then.

We should all move on from it, who cares who was wrong or right.

Acting like a a goth at children's party loudly voicing his existential dread and his love of dissecting rats. Not sure why we are trying to find drama.

When you see highlights of Nas so many of the deft touches that set him up are from Windhager like that one two pass. If Nas is a lead guitarist he's the bass player holding it together.
He’s a bit more than just the lead guitarist 😉

It was tweeted by Tom Morris after he read this board, so it's probably another bullshit tweet. Are has zero credibility.
I believe Tom is right here. Since the transfer deadline when Tex couldn’t get to Sandy, he’s forgone playing VFL and decided to play VAFA Premier. A recently delisted AFL player wouldn’t do that unless they were confident of returning to a VFL/AFL system at another club the following year.

Anyone think RoMA stays even if TDK lands.

With 5 on bench and new ruck rules it might be advantageous to have them patrolling both ends of the ground.

Lyon has already said he doesn't intend to trade contracted players, i think it gives a better chance. There is also the uncertainty with King and the player he is, but any bloke that can kick near 60 goals with Seb , Crouch and Jones kicking to him has to be special if he can get fit

Hope not.
Rather keep Collard.

Me too- but if ryan is coming in- he's likely to get disgruntled and want a trade in 12 or 24 months I think.

Lance has only played 12 AFL games this year- and a good % of those haven't been earned via standout vfl performance.
He's got them due to us having no other option.

If ryan comes in; i think it's likely lance will be facing another year of playing at best another 10 AFL games max.

I can see collard getting impatient and wanting to seek a trade back home.

Not sure why you need to pot my club, think the discussion here has been pretty respectful both ways?

It’s really simple, he’s contracted, no cap issues and is a valuable player on and off the field. If an offer is not commensurate to that value then we’ll hang onto him or engage with other clubs. I’m sure you’d expect the same of your contracted players.

I think your club has built a strong indigenous culture and would be a good landing spot for him should he request a trade.

Ryan plus another half decent player or pick for collard (who still has 2 years to run on his current deal)?

...Caro may have spoken bur i can't recall. After her "Saints have botched it" effort on Saturday on 3AW about the same time Nas was giving Steeley and Wilkes the good news would have been...well let's say a little embarrassing. Ross gave her the raised eyebrow stare on her first attempt so she skedaddled back to safety of not saying anything lest she "appear" to be f'ing stupid. Got to give her that for her long experience...
Better to remain silent and be thought a moron than to speak and to remove all doubt.

Anyone think RoMA stays even if TDK lands.

With 5 on bench and new ruck rules it might be advantageous to have them patrolling both ends of the ground.

Lyon has already said he doesn't intend to trade contracted players, i think it gives a better chance. There is also the uncertainty with King and the player he is, but any bloke that can kick near 60 goals with Seb , Crouch and Jones kicking to him has to be special if he can get fit

I think he'll stay if we don't get a really great offer.
But we'll trade him if the cats or whoever stump up something objectively great.

Me too- but if ryan is coming in- he's likely to get disgruntled and want a trade in 12 or 24 months I think.

Lance has only played 12 AFL games this year- and a good % of those haven't been earned via standout vfl performance.
He's got them due to us having no other option.

If ryan comes in; i think it's likely lance will be facing another year of playing at best another 10 AFL games max.

I can see collard getting impatient and wanting to seek a trade back home.
This is possible but it's a pretty negative way of looking at the situation.

Competition for places is never really a bad thing, in my opinion.

In my view, if Ryan comes in, hopefully he can help mentor Collard and Collard can rise to earn selection despite competition for places.

Let's be honest, if he can't end up rising to the occasion and eventually get selected ahead of Ryan and Butler, then he isn't worth having on the list.

It's up to Lance really.

Sour ole GT cause even Rooney and that don’t mention him
The guy stayed too long in the too job said he was caretaker then wouldn’t relinquish
Lyon flogs him as a coach just a shane we didn’t give Lyon that list …
Rubbish we played some great football under GT.

His comments were also fair and balanced. The hype around Nas has been something else, $2 million is a lot and when you add in TDK it’s a massive risk.

What no one is talking about is that once again we’ve thrown the script out and decided now is the time to go for broke. I’m not against it in principle but we still have some massive holes in our list and so far they haven’t been addressed.

Aleer sure as hell won’t fix our backline, Ryan if he comes won’t fix our forward line. Smells of north, throw money at everyone and take anyone who says yes.

I’ll hold off until after the trade and draft, then we’ll see exactly what we have to work with in 2026. So far we’ve barely moved the needle, a fit ming, poo and Howard will make far more difference than anything else we’ve done so far.

Reckon GT would be awesome as a head of footy somewhere. Great ability to develop young men as people, not just footballers
Played the most exciting football seen in 50 years at st Kilda.

Can’t have been easy towards the end given just how dysfunctional the President and board were.

Reckon GT would be awesome as a head of footy somewhere. Great ability to develop young men as people, not just footballers
GT 10 years ago probably.

GT now has strong old man yelling at clouds vibes on twitter.