List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Just got reception for the first time in 3 days, being in remote cape york

And I can tell you, I am absolutely rock hard. I might faint due to the amount of blood flow going from my brain to my now gigantic (normally minuscule) dong
I’m going to need more proof.

So where does that leave Windhager?

It’s understood the midfield and the Saints are a fair way apart on a new deal beyond 2025 as rival clubs including Essendon and North Melbourne circle.

It’s believed one rival offer to the 22-year old midfielder is worth as much as $700,000 per season, while St Kilda’s offer is closer to $500,0000.

Windy to Xander Mcguire talking about Nas

“It’s great to have him stay, I’m moreso just happy for him, and hopefully all my stuff gets sorted out soon,” he said.

Not stressing about Windy at all
I’d be surprised if anyone at the club wanted to discuss their contract before Nas made his mind up.

"Big" and "small" is simplistic

Footy, like other sports, has become more position-less in recent years and it's more about skillsets and having complimentary players who cover various bases cumulatively.

Someone posted about Ryan's marking ability, and I pointed out that Phillipou, although he unfortunately couldn't get his body right this year, is an exciting young half-forward with the ability to mark overhead.

Where does Ryan fit? Who's our starting 6 forwards in your eyes, round 1 2026?

Higgins and King pick themselves if fit...then who?
If everyone linked comes across & everyone is fit and in form.

Wilkie Caminiti Windy
Sinclair Aleer Tauru
Wilson. Macrae Hill
Ryan. King. Owens.
Sharman. Marshall. Higgins.
TDK. NWM. Garcia.

Pou Stocker Wood Hastie Hall.

Travaglia Dodson Henry Boxshall O’Connell Clark collard outside of the 23.

I can’t fit in Steele. Has to be getting moved on.

Howard? Dow? Webster? Ari? Heath?

Probably missed some.

Pou will be a mid, not a half forward long term
Right now, I'd be guessing Phillipou will spend more time at half-forward next year than midfield.

Henry is the real X-factor for mine. Showed flashes in 2024 without consistency. Long injury lay-off, didn't have much impact in 2025.

2026 huge year for him.

Right now, I'd be guessing Phillipou will spend more time at half-forward next year than midfield.

Henry is the real X-factor for mine. Showed flashes in 2024 without consistency. Long injury lay-off, didn't have much impact in 2025.

2026 huge year for him.
I see Henry in the half forward rather than Pou. His finish to last season shows what he’s capable of in the midfield. We will see.

Yep, I've been thinking this feels like another 2020 sugar hit incoming in 2026. The Ryan signing has that vibe.

We need to be making moves that build a foundation for sustained success over 5-10 years.
Sugar hit? 🤣🤣

Have you seen our list turnover from 2023?

We have attacked 3-4 drafts ?

Jones / Webster / Cordy all looking likely to retire or be delisted at years end - all over 30?!

Cmon mate, we have drafted well.

have a great young core.

We have been making moves for sustained success…

Trading for Ryan isn’t derailing our move for sustained success 🤣

"Big" and "small" is simplistic

Footy, like other sports, has become more position-less in recent years and it's more about skillsets and having complimentary players who cover various bases cumulatively.

Someone posted about Ryan's marking ability, and I pointed out that Phillipou, although he unfortunately couldn't get his body right this year, is an exciting young half-forward with the ability to mark overhead.

Where does Ryan fit? Who's our starting 6 forwards in your eyes, round 1 2026?

Higgins and King pick themselves if fit...then who?
Phillipou definitely not a half forward btw. Will train as a midfielder all preseason I'd assume. He did last preseason. If he didn't get injured he would have started in the guts round 1.

I maintain the story was and is complete ****ing bullshit.

Its an easy (and lazy) narrative to paint (poor indigenous boy from the bush is grossed out by the rich white mans opulence) but i dont reckon anything even close to it ever happened.

The media cycle has to chew through a ton of words and none of them is ever held to account for any story regardless of how specifically it may be called out as bullshit (see the Nas/Tex story) so why wouldnt they just start making shit up.

The skerick of truth (lunch as Bassats house) gets turned into a story
You are spot on. It is the casual racism that gets me about Morris' story. As you say the poor ignorant indigenous family taken out of their comfort zone by the Masters opulence, Jesus christ it was cringeworthy.
Bassatt is a heavy hitter, has money had a big house, but is a very down to earth bloke. Will chat to anyone at training, he is usually in tee shirt and sandals and is not in anyway a snob or up himself.
When courting Lyon was caught seeing him off in bare feet.
It was a typical thoughtless privileged private schoolboy mindset that he did not see or could not fathom the underlying racism of his bs hit piece.

Gettable
- Windhager. North has a 5 year deal infront of him. 2 year offer from the Saints, Nas staying helps

- TDK. Now an 8 year offer. Coming to the saints will likely let Carlton know the is time next week. Wanted to know Nas’s decisions

- Aleer & Ryan. Twomey thinks we are getting both.
Just have to keep Windhager.

Huge upside and seems to be important to the culture within a tight group of lads.

He also seems to be the player who is involved in chains of play that result in NWM flicking the switch to Hollywood.

Those hard edged grunt players are invaluable.

Phillipou definitely not a half forward btw. Will train as a midfielder all preseason I'd assume. He did last preseason. If he didn't get injured he would have started in the guts round 1.
If he fulfils that potential and successfully makes a transition like Nas has, those two could be the nucleus of a great future midfield. Along with Garcia and maybe Boxshall.

I tend to think he's at least a year or two away from being a full-time mid, and that's more a long term project, given how much footy he's missed. Hope you're right though.

I hadn't realised he'd exclusively been training there, exciting if the coaches think he's ready

2 year offer from us is just strange. Surely we'd be looking at locking one of our best young prospects up long term.

I'd be surprised if he goes, I'm sure we will work it out, but it just makes sense to be offering him a longer term deal.
Assuming Windhager wants a longer term deal.

Gettable said the salary cap and the amount of money on offer will explode from 2027 when Tasmania hits the trade and draft period.

All uncontracted players will be free agents for the Devils. They will be throwing money around like confetti.

He may prefer just a 2 year deal.

What does Liam Ryan bring that we don't already have from Higgins, Hall, healthy and more consistent Henry, healthy Butler?

And our mid-sized forwards Owens, healthy and hopefully improving Phillipou?

I'm waiting for someone to actually explain this.

And if the answer is "X, Y, and Z'", my follow up question will be- is it worth committing 4 years to obtain these things? Is it worth gambling on sustained performance from a 29, 30, 31, 32 year old when we have other guys in the early stages of their careers?
He has finals experience. We are competing for top 8 next season.

I think having competition is healthy. Ross did mention he would like to run Higgins through the middle at some point. Pou is a midfielder long term. Owens will be mid/fwd. Butler isn’t consistent, and Henry is borderline injury prone at the moment. Hall will be playing more midfield minutes next season. Collard is still very young.

I look at the inclusion of Ryan to be somewhat exciting, and he can be a match winner. Definitely has the x factor.

I’m definitely seeing a trend with our approach to these new players. All of them very strong athletically. I would not be surprised if Ryan plays wing as well.

I don’t he will be on 500, maybe 650-7 x4. He will be a good role player, and you need good players who are stars in their respective roles. He will be an good addition, and creates more competition meaning someone is going to be playing in our brand new VFL team next year.

2 year offer from us is just strange. Surely we'd be looking at locking one of our best young prospects up long term.

I'd be surprised if he goes, I'm sure we will work it out, but it just makes sense to be offering him a longer term deal.
Port offered NAZ 10 years first two a mill over ours he stayed.
Who would go to North. No figures discussed, we may offer more over the two years.

I think we are set for midfielders now that Nas is going to be that superstar mid we have been crying out for. I would like to see us draft another tall forward. Our forward line was the Achilles heel for us all year.

A fit + inform Max King would be our most important player. I’m very confident he will have 60+ goals season next year. Our forward line has struggled the past 2 years without his presence. Even if he was out of form or kicking issues, he would make it so much easier for our smalls.

Max will be worth his contract. When he hits form, it’s going to look like the cheapest contract in the game.

Nas to Max will be iconic like Winmar to Plugger.
King back will help the other forwards no doubt, but I don't see how you could be confident he kicks 60 next year. He has kicked over 50 once. He will be coming off 3 years of very little footy. I will be ecstatic if we can get 40 out of him.

If I was a betting man, I would back Sharman to kick more than King next year. Coops is ready to explode.

I think we are set for midfielders now that Nas is going to be that superstar mid we have been crying out for. I would like to see us draft another tall forward. Our forward line was the Achilles heel for us all year.
I’d be happy to stick with Heath/Keels combo. We must at least play one of them at all times.