List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

IF he accepts the deal then we'll wonder - did we lowball him in tenure

But the feeling is that he rejects the deal and stays with us for 2
Issue isn’t tenure. It’s money.

The 2 year deal is our offering that if he becomes the player deserving that money he gets paid at the end of 2027

I asked a mate who barracks for North and he said they need a defensive midfielder badly. Get murdered on transition and from stoppage if they lose it.
I would have thought that's coaching but there you go.
They thought Will Phillips was going to be that guy

They've ended up with a midfield full of attacking mids and no accountable ones. For a club that only drafts mids, that's a bloody impressive effort

You know the Kangas list better than I do.

But giving up close to a first rounder for Windy and offering him a decent sized pay packet, not sure that's the way forward for your club.

Let's not forget they gave up their first round pick this year (currently pick 3!) for Plugger Whitlock the Second (being pick 27). Let that sink in.

I think he’ll be great.
I don’t think you put all your eggs in a 19 year old ruck basket.

You don't need to. Grab a cheap back up ruck in case Marshall goes down. Develop Keeler and Dodson or even hang on to Heath as the emergency back up. I don't rate rucks very highly. I reckon guys like Knobel would be nearly free and develop into something adequate otherwise.

Really sad to hear about Jimmy.
Have loved Jimmy and the absolutely manic way he played and defended over the years.
You just never died wondering when he was playing - knew he would always give his all.
Favourite memory still when he skittled those 2 Carlton players in one tackle.

Well done on a great career Jimmy, and going out on your terms.
Best of luck for a happy future, no doubt including a lot of fishing!
Sainter for life.

The money issue has been explained ad nauseum.

If it actually is $1.7m then you cannot ignore that we'll be using a fair chunk of the $3m we have banked to front end TDK's deal.

I won't guess what that figure will actually be but it will undoubtedly bring the final 5 years of his contract back to a very manageable level.

Not only that but Roma's current $800k deal will have expired by then.

We also have the $300-400k of marketing clams to throw into the mix (although I assume some of that will be headed Nas' way).

Put all those sums together & the horror of a $1.7m, 7 year is very overstated.

In reality, to get a player who is already on $800-900k a year to move clubs would take at least $1.2m pa. We won't be far off that after the 1st few years of spending the bounty of our disciplined TPP strategy.

If Roma goes down & we have to rely on the kids then it's not stretch to say the progress we have to start making to keep Nas long term will be in jeopardy.

The more I look at it, the recruitment of TDK is absolutely essential.

It's still sucking out $1.2 to $1.3 million or something in year 7 though. That's still a massive wage. It won't matter as much if he's become a star but those kind of deals really hamstrung Carlton just as they needed to add a few missing pieces. Mostly because McGovern, Zac Williams and Jack Martin types spudded.

I don’t really understand why we won’t give Windhager a longer deal. I don’t mind Ryan Byrnes as much as others, he’s been on the list for ages. Windhager for 4 years seems a no brainer, to me.

I can’t see a world where he gets 18 months in the seniors and is too shit to play senior footy after that
Especially since we are all in with players and the salary cap trying to keep NAS letting his mate go would be disastrous
Or, maybe Brad hardie was right

You don't need to. Grab a cheap back up ruck in case Marshall goes down. Develop Keeler and Dodson or even hang on to Heath as the emergency back up. I don't rate rucks very highly. I reckon guys like Knobel would be nearly free and develop into something adequate otherwise.
Okay GT. We see you.

As fun as it was the first 37,495 times I don’t have it in me to go one more

Which stats does O'Sullivan have that are better than SDK that are relevant when comparing full-backs?

I'm keen on Aleer but if we can get SDK, we should obviously be ruthless and find a way to get out of the Aleer scenario.

I think SDK is a higher chance to be a gun than Aleer, who will need work.

We are in a pretty good situation right now. Looks like plenty of options.

Actually going off watching them and didn't look -they are nearly even but O'Sullivan seems to take a lot more marks these days which is perhaps why I imagined it. He seems more involved. He's 4 years younger so you imagine that he's going to be the better player longer term.

It certainly gives more credence to the trade having someone that can immediately replace him.

The money issue has been explained ad nauseum.

If it actually is $1.7m then you cannot ignore that we'll be using a fair chunk of the $3m we have banked to front end TDK's deal.

I won't guess what that figure will actually be but it will undoubtedly bring the final 5 years of his contract back to a very manageable level.

Not only that but Roma's current $800k deal will have expired by then.

We also have the $300-400k of marketing clams to throw into the mix (although I assume some of that will be headed Nas' way).

Put all those sums together & the horror of a $1.7m, 7 year is very overstated.

In reality, to get a player who is already on $800-900k a year to move clubs would take at least $1.2m pa. We won't be far off that after the 1st few years of spending the bounty of our disciplined TPP strategy.

If Roma goes down & we have to rely on the kids then it's not stretch to say the progress we have to start making to keep Nas long term will be in jeopardy.

The more I look at it, the recruitment of TDK is absolutely essential.
I thought it was reported that Carlton were prepared to offer TDK up to $1.3 mill. We had to go over $1.5 mill to be in the conversation.

It's still sucking out $1.2 to $1.3 million or something in year 7 though. That's still a massive wage. It won't matter as much if he's become a star but those kind of deals really hamstrung Carlton just as they needed to add a few missing pieces. Mostly because McGovern, Zac Williams and Jack Martin types spudded.

Years 3-7 will be circa 2028-2034 with a TPP that you would expect will make $1.2-1.3m very manageable.

Nothing to stop us smoothing out the final few years past 2034 either (although he might be on a walking stick by then).

McGovern, Williams & Martin were borderline spuds when the Blues threw A grade cash at them (in combination with their actual A graders also being on massive coin.)

I thought it was reported that Carlton were prepared to offer TDK up to $1.3 mill. We had to go over $1.5 mill to be in the conversation.
I didn't see that but you'd think they'd be able to go well past $1.3m with a few departures.

Reckon it's been a massive help that Carlton's window has slammed shut, they've 'reappointed' Vossy & TDK has gotten excited about a fresh start.

Years 3-7 will be circa 2028-2034 with a TPP that you would expect will make $1.2-1.3m very manageable.

Nothing to stop us smoothing out the final few years past 2034 either (although he might be on a walking stick by then).

McGovern, Williams & Martin were borderline spuds when the Blues threw A grade cash at them (in combination with their actual A graders also being on massive coin.)
Stop talking sense.

People hate that type of behaviour.

Not to be negative but I'd be shocked if Windy was with us next year.

Watching him today, and he just seemed withdrawn from the group.
With all due respect, as I think you are one of the better posters here, but haven't we gone down the path of body language interpretation a bit too much here of late?

This 100%
We have Dodson and Marshall already
Dodzilla has played 1 game.

He's promising but lets not get carried away.

We also had the best state league ruckman from 2024 on our list this year... and he sadly just wasn't' up to it.

Dodzilla has played 1 game.

He's promising but lets not get carried away.

We also had the best state league ruckman from 2024 on our list this year... and he sadly just wasn't' up to it.
He was meant to be a first round pick
Don't let the pick bias effect the judgement
He can seriously football
Other clubs will look for his signature next year
We need to sign him