List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Would it be crackpot of us to make a push for zach merrett? I mean if he wants out for a finals push, we did just sign a bunch of free agents, have our key forward (hopefully), coming back and looking to push for deep finals runs in 2 years. Maybe the dons don't want to do business with the hawks after their bad faith tactics?
Gets to play with Nas in the midfield, a superstar who would cop most of the tag threat as well, taking that burden off him

Probably not great for the cap but he'll be a free agent soon anyway
Would be more palatable for their fanbase as well

Steele + pick 7 + something else.

For the sake of the game it isn’t a good look when contenders are peeling off the best players from any club languishing near the bottom of the ladder.

Essendon are genuinely at a tipping point now. They could easily spiral down from here.

I love it when Essendon supporters ring into talkback " Scott is doing what he did at North, we need to bring Hirdy back ".

Merrett - 30 in early October, injury history, contracted, captain = 2 x FR picks

Steele - 30 in early December, less injury prone (played "sore"), contracted, captain = Late 2nd/Early 3rd.

Make it make sense
I get what you are saying - the gap is probably too large.

But Merrett has played 250 games at 29 years of age lol. He is pretty damn durable.

Steele is worth a first IMO. Late one is okay.

EDIT: Just saw I was beaten to the punch.

It's why if we can:

1. Get through pre-season fit
2. Get that Opening Round game at the MCG

We have a huge opportunity for one of those future-shifting moments.

BTW, did you still feel like the Hawks game was a wake when Tauru took that mark? That bit felt fun to me.
The mark was the only bit of excitement for me haha.

I went with a hawks supporter and at some point in the third quarter I realised I could hear the players on the ground from the 3rd level and I could hear some blokes about 10 rows back talking about their multis and I asked my mate why it was so quiet and he was saying he was just thinking how weird it was, unlike anything either of us had experienced at the footy.

At the Tauru mark I actually said, ok, I'm glad I came just for that.

What if TDK goes down in a prelim next year a bit like spider Everitt did, we make it through to grand final just and have to play Geelong with Marshall as their ruckman vs Dodson and Keeler.
Then I suppose Dodson will just have to rag-doll him for 4 quarters.

We should be able to do all of that and hang on to next year's first.
Currently Marshall, Steele are the likely outs, each should get a late first round pick (Remember Steele was an AA midfielder albeit a little older now and had his injury issues in the last 2-3 years). These 2 picks can be used for Flanders and Mackenzie, maybe with a little on top.

So Jamarra's next instagram story directly after training with Brad Hill is him sitting in the CSM (Paul Connors agency) office, who represent him. This is getting worrying 😂

View attachment 2422851
If the club does their due dilligence, and RTB signs off on it, I could live with it. Would need some provisions in his contract to make it easy to sack him, stuff like that.

But they raised a good point, we've been improving the club off field in all areas, if we can't handle a complex case like JUH, we're wasting our time. Provided JUH is serious about getting his life back on track.

Mentioned a few times a couple of weeks ago but since then I think its just us manifesting it. Realistically, I dont think he moves, Hawks supporter and Sam apparently is a big fan.

Personally, I think he'd be foolish to stay considering the 4 midfielders they are chasing. As soon as Zach says yes, I'd be clearing out my locker if I was him.
Sam’s such a big fan that he didn’t play him in the final .

Agree with you if they get an A grade mid in he should pack up his locker .

Eh, I’m a little less romantic about the Merrett potential move business. The times are very much changing (by the AFL’s own hand) and “the game” is quickly becoming “the business”. Winning is fun and being paid well is fun too.

It’s cool if he stays (same with P.Cripps for example) but would not criticise in any way if he chased the dream even if it is at fwarking Hawthorn
Same. I reckon St Kilda have picked the very last opportunity to get good.
Going to be very difficult from this point on.
Hopefully we get it right and can leave a couple of the VFL powerhouses in our wake. And take their god-given big club benefits.

If we were to bring in JUH on a rookie minimum salary with a one strike, you're out policy, I could love with it.

I think the young blokes we have seem to have good heads on their shoulders and I don't imagine Hill and Wood would let him get away with much. If he stuffs up, he stuffs up, don't think it would be a negative reflection of our culture.

I say this as somebody who doesn't actually know what's gone on with him this year though. Maybe there's some really bad shit that I just haven't heard.

Why do we need both Flanders and Mackenzie?

Because our midfield is still the worst line in the team and need urgent surgery. There’s no guarantee Garcia, Boxshall, Pou, Windhager will be stars although the signs are good.

Players like Jones, Clark and Byrnes will be pushed out, Quality, age and depth all improving.

I would be open to trade Clark to North if they want a mature body.

If the club does their due dilligence, and RTB signs off on it, I could live with it. Would need some provisions in his contract to make it easy to sack him, stuff like that.

But they raised a good point, we've been improving the club off field in all areas, if we can't handle a complex case like JUH, we're wasting our time. Provided JUH is serious about getting his life back on track.
Can we get our lawyers to put Jamarra on the Noah Balta curfew plan in his contract? 😂

It would be interesting regarding JUH. It would be a fine edge with disrupting our culture..BUT two main factors I recon,

He must want to change his ways and drop the dead beats he currently hangs around with and our playing group has to be on board with it.

Maybe a third - our support and culture has to be able to actually be strong enough to support him ie: Geelong and a few of their players.

But essentially comes down to the individual
themselves if it works or not.

If we were to bring in JUH on a rookie minimum salary with a one strike, you're out policy, I could love with it.

I think the young blokes we have seem to have good heads on their shoulders and I don't imagine Hill and Wood would let him get away with much. If he stuffs up, he stuffs up, don't think it would be a negative reflection of our culture.

I say this as somebody who doesn't actually know what's gone on with him this year though. Maybe there's some really bad shit that I just haven't heard.

1757557437901.png
He's clearly been hanging around with some ****ing dangerous and dumb people. It would have to be a "cut-all-ties" situation with this lot, they're cooked. It might actually be too serious to take a gamble on, this isn't just some bloke who likes to party, he's involved with an underworld element.

It seems like he's adjacent to the trouble, rather than being directly involved in the trouble.
Do doggies have the same indigenous program as we do?

Is it Karl Amons mum or something like that? If there are unique personal challenges that require a tailored solution, maybe between the welfare manager and Hill we can do a little bit more.

Also, the dogs seem to have had more issues than most clubs with drugs over the last 10 years. It goes on at every club obviously but does more issues going public mean it's more serious, or is it just bad luck.

So Jamarra's next instagram story directly after training with Brad Hill is him sitting in the CSM (Paul Connors agency) office, who represent him. This is getting worrying 😂

View attachment 2422851
If Brad Hill could convince JUH to come to the Saints and keep on the straight and narrow, and we got him for free, I'd do it. If he came and we won a premiership with him, I think we'd also have to build Hilly a statue out the front of Morabbin

i'm not sure i'd want him around the younger crew like collard

that said, it worries me about the trade cost

i think he needs to get out of the state tbh i feel he's one bad day away from some serious shit involving organised crime

If Brad Hill could convince JUH to come to the Saints and keep on the straight and narrow, and we got him for free, I'd do it. If he came and we won a premiership with him, I think we'd also have to build Hilly a statue out the front of Morabbin

geeze you're not wrong. if he did that he'd reach god tier. the bloke would have a job for life.

Same. I reckon St Kilda have picked the very last opportunity to get good.
Going to be very difficult from this point on.
Hopefully we get it right and can leave a couple of the VFL powerhouses in our wake. And take their god-given big club benefits.
I think you’re right. I have felt that with Tassie coming in, this draft been average and the most compromised in history, our youth kicking on and a heap of salary cap we have decided to pull the trigger before we get stuck in no man’s land for the foreseeable future.

View attachment 2422861
He's clearly been hanging around with some ****ing dangerous and dumb people. It would have to be a "cut-all-ties" situation with this lot, they're cooked. It might actually be too serious to take a gamble on, this isn't just some bloke who likes to party, he's involved with an underworld element.
Yeah last thing we'd want is dangerous people turning up and threatening the safety of club staff. If he has deep ties and is involved in their operations, its not chance for me.

If some of his mates are on the fringe of some questional operations he might be able to cut ties without issue.

I think it would be in his best interest to go play for Port or Tassie in the VFL until they're back in the AFL. Seems like a bloke that might do better out of the big cities.