List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

A little part of me, thinks it would be pretty fun to watch this play out for 2 weeks.
Weve gone full villain mode, it would play into that.

9 days of negotations for SOS to say "actually nah... thanks though"

Inevitably someone will pay whatever it takes for top talent, so we'll have to get used to players continuing to ask for more.

I wonder if this will force clubs to convince the AFL to increase the salary cap again soon, and in this case where will the buck stop?

Will the average footy fan be priced out? What will happen if the AFL becomes an overpriced product?

Think it still happens if the cap goes up. Players will still look at what other players are getting and put their hand out for more.

People are very much backing their own. Look at Hird batting for Zach Merret! (Reminded me of Senator Geary in court in Godfather II. ‘I have to leave for an appointment, but before I do, let me say that Italian migrants are the lifeblood of this country… bla bla) Look At Patrick Dangerfield, ‘nah, we will never accept a different contract system like where contracts are carried over..bla bla’ (bolstering his capital for post-career ? - wearing his Players Association cap)

Yes their is you can’t approach a contracted player and encourage them to break a contract.

The afl, nfl and other have rules against exactly this type of behaviour. The afl are simply a weak conflicted organisation, but yeah let’s go with draft tampering as well just cut loose do as you please.
Does the AFL? I dont think there is a rule against oppo clubs talking to contracted players.

I was more thinking.

Day 1: we want Bont
Day 2: we want Richards
Day 3: we want Darcy
Day 4: we want 2 picks in the top 10
Day 5: we want Sanders + Freijah

Etc etc etc.

This Wilkie stuff is still pretty funny TBH.

All well and good for Bevo to call him and make an offer, youve still gotta satisfy a trade boys and im quite sure Ross and SOS would be going into that room ready to make a man bleed badly.
Yes, we are not a weak rabble like Essendon, even if Wilkie pulled a Merrett and made it untenable, I reckon Lyon and SoS would make him stay.
Can you imagine the meeting with the Bulldogs cucks, he has had his contract front ended, you are offering 1.2 mill over 5, but don't want to trade a list of players? Lol, amateur hour at the puppies 🤣🤣🤣

I was more thinking.

Day 1: we want Bont
Day 2: we want Richards
Day 3: we want Darcy
Day 4: we want 2 picks in the top 10
Day 5: we want Sanders + Freijah

Etc etc etc.
Id love to do the Homer Simpson thing.

Get them to day 9 with Bont, Richards, Darcy and their next 10 firsts all on the table, then say no and tell em Freijah, Sanders, junior Darcy and Bont procreating with our best AFLW talent for the next 5 years might re kindle our interest.

**** Sam Power, little bobbleheaded prick.

He’d be at Moorabbin for the next two years on not a penny more if I was negotiating with him.

The same with Merrett, did we have a gun to his head when he signed his current contract ?. I understand clubs are going to ask and usually no is enough.

Wilkie is contracted, there are rules and laws that deal with what the bulldogs and Beverage have supposedly done, we should use them.
Wouldn’t be at all surprised if the clubs got together at some stage to try and wrest some of the power back from players and managers. It has swung far too far in their direction. But it’s going to take every club being on the same page to undo it.

Yes, we are not a weak rabble like Essendon, even if Wilkie pulled a Merrett and made it untenable, I reckon Lyon and SoS would make him stay.
Can you imagine the meeting with the Bulldogs cucks, he has had his contract front ended, you are offering 1.2 mill over 5, but don't want to trade a list of players? Lol, amateur hour at the puppies 🤣🤣🤣
Its like the Port nuffs saying we better take a fart smelling rag and limp wristy from Josh Carr for NAS or theyll walk him to the PSD EXCEPT Wilkie is actually contracted.

Clubs making contract offers to players under contract is absolutely idiotic if theyve done no leg work to ascertain the clubs willingness to trade. Even the Merett thing, Essendon better make them cough up hard.

Wouldn’t be at all surprised if the clubs got together at some stage to try and wrest some of the power back from players and managers. It has swung far too far in their direction. But it’s going to take every club being on the same page to undo it.
Dangerfield was so smug the other night, the players need to be taken down a peg or two.

If they want virtual free agency then clubs trading players wherever and whenever they like comes with it.

Re Wilkie - it's straight fwd - if any club is only paying 83% of their cap then no other club is really going to have a genuine crack at one of their players especially contracted players.

But if that club is now paying close to 100% their cap, then it's game on.

Shake the tree, see if any thing falls out.

Take it to the last hour of the last day all in good faith, then not answer the frantic phone calls from the Western Cucks.
What happened to the story about week ago, that they will give Wilkie only a couple of days before moving on? A week later they are making desperate phone calls pleading with him 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Does the AFL? I dont think there is a rule against oppo clubs talking to contracted players.
I haven’t read their rules for years but tampering with contracted players was a no no.

It’s also against the law if my understanding is correct so unless the afl consider themselves above it they better get their act together.

Id love to do the Homer Simpson thing.

Get them to day 9 with Bont, Richards, Darcy and their next 10 firsts all on the table, then say no and tell em Freijah, Sanders, junior Darcy and Bont procreating with our best AFLW talent for the next 5 years might re kindle our interest.

**** Sam Power, little bobbleheaded prick.
Go read the bulldogs board list management thread.

People imagining Wilkie in their backline and all the wonderful things it would mean for their other players 😂

Dangerfield was so smug the other night, the players need to be taken down a peg or two.

If they want virtual free agency then clubs trading players wherever and whenever they like comes with it.
I’m watching a replay of it now.
Genuine delusion of he thinks players can sign long term deals and then halfway through stick their hand out for more without giving some power back to the clubs.
Absolute fantasy.

We (Tasmanians) are our worst enemy.

The cost benefit analysis is totally out of whack for this report. Does not take into account the investment and $s it would bring into the state.

Can understand those who do not want a Tassie team, as a passionate Tasmanian (who lives 500mtres from Cascade brewery) I do!
Also - not everything has to make money. The benefit of the stadium goes beyond what money it brings in

Go read the bulldogs board list management thread.

People imagining Wilkie in their backline and all the wonderful things it would mean for their other players 😂
3 of whom would be playing with the Saints plus whoever their frdp was 🤣🤣🤣🤣.
Poor deluded little darlings, were circle jerking about JSOS and then were placed firmly in the cuck chair watching the Saints cut their lunch, now think we will just let Wilkie walk to them for Karmis and Garcia 😂😂😂😂😂😂