List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

That’s not really our problem.

If he wants to go to the crows. YOU need to find the currency.

If these players don’t want to come to us. They might want to go elsewhere. There isn’t however a reality that 2 x steak knives players and 2 picks between 15-18 get this done.

You crow fans have hid behind, “they won’t want to go to stkilda” for 12 months. Well you don’t get a player better than anyone at crow land - that includes Dawson, if you can’t make things happen.

Same issue with Port.
Dawson requested a trade home when out of contract and the Swans got a future first rounder. Unders absolutely, but an unfortunate reality of the situation.

Rankine was out of contract and Gold Coast got our pick 6. Reasonable at the time but probably still unders in retrospect.

The dogs lost a star in Smith to the Dogs for a late first rounder. Woefully inadequate, but what were they to do?

We lost prime Dangerfield for a first rounder, a second rounder and Dean Gore. It sucked then, it sucks now, but still we move on.

In contract? Demand the world for sure. But when they’re out of contract there’s not much you can do.

Hopefully he stays at the saints. Actually a big fan of your drafting - Travaglia was a personal favourite of mine last year and your haul since 2021 has been as good as anyone.

On their forum they're saying "yes we want him but no way they're trading a top 15 player on their list for him". You won't trade a top 15 player on your TEAM for a top 3 player in the COMP? I ain't picking up the phone again lol
They’re just not rational. There is nothing to be gained by going over there.

They’re passionate footy supporters, just like we are. We all get it. And god love them.

But reading their opinions is as useful as throwing cream puffs at the Town Hall.

Take note of the few posters who are rational, logical and balanced. They are the ones we learn most from.

Would also like to think there is still some red white and black in this man’s veins. Crippa just needs to say, we are not willing to trade our best players to facilitate the trade for NAS.
Job done Jason…us saints people need to be in this together

IMG_3246.jpeg

Dawson requested a trade home when out of contract and the Swans got a future first rounder. Unders absolutely, but an unfortunate reality of the situation.

Rankine was out of contract and Gold Coast got our pick 6. Reasonable at the time but probably still unders in retrospect.

The dogs lost a star in Smith to the Dogs for a late first rounder. Woefully inadequate, but what were they to do?

We lost prime Dangerfield for a first rounder, a second rounder and Dean Gore. It sucked then, it sucks now, but still we move on.

In contract? Demand the world for sure. But when they’re out of contract there’s not much you can do.

Hopefully he stays at the saints. Actually a big fan of your drafting - Travaglia was a personal favourite of mine last year and your haul since 2021 has been as good as anyone.
Dawson & Rankine were nowhere near proven to the level Nas is right now.

Smith had significant issues off field and coming off a knee reco whilst simultaneously having a broke relationship with the dogs.

Dangerfield was a free agent who you agreed to trade for slightly more.

None are comparable to the level of talent that is proven as Nas is right now and not a free agent

Reality is, it’s the saints or Adelaide. He doesn’t get to a SA club without a trade and he isn’t managed by Paul Connors.

The last player managed by Williams to **** off was JHF. The Roos effectively got pick 8 + a future first.

Nas is more than that.

Plus picks for course. Hope you rob em blind - though I’m still hopeful he stays at your club.
Not anymore hopeful than us. 🤣

Tbh, picks not really going to do it. Port hasnt got a first rounder, you’re will be way too low this year and Future picks in the next few Tassie drafts are going to be totally useless.

You guys have had an excellent season. Hope you go far - nice to see a different club up near the top.

Smith had significant issues off field and coming off a knee reco whilst simultaneously having a broke relationship with the dogs.

None are comparable to the level of talent that is proven as Nas is right now and not a free agent

Reality is, it’s the saints or Adelaide. He doesn’t get to a SA club without a trade and he isn’t managed by Paul Connors.

The last player manager by Williams to **** off was JHF. The Roos effectively got pick 8 + a future first.

Nas is more than that.
No, North got pick 3 + F1 for JHF and effectively swapped their pick 1 for 2. Port Power only gave pick 8 + F1 for him.

Taking unders is different to taking significant unders.

We couldn’t be adequately compensated for losing NWM. We all understand that. But I doubt our club would be railroaded into accepting anything that is poor.

The draft picks you currently have as currency just don’t cut the mustard. That’s fair and reasonable. So other assets must be used.

Remember, if a player nominates a club, the onus is on that club to get the job done. Pressure is on them as well not just the losing club. There are two sides to the coin.

And any trade for NWM will be highly scrutinised. Saints will have plenty of sympathy out there despite it being a business deal. The image of all involved is important.

The assumption that the losing club has to sit back and just take what is offered assumes plenty in an industry with proud and volatile characters. Especially if what is being offered is clearly unsatisfactory.

The losing club may be in a weakened position, but it is not powerless. A point largely ignored by any gaining club that thinks they are in the box seat.

Anyway, I think this is all irrelevant anyway. Nasiah will stay a Saint.

No, North got pick 3 + F1 for JHF and effectively swapped their pick 1 for 2. Port Power only gave pick 8 + F1 for him.
No, Port traded pick 8 and a future first for him.

North then trade pick 1 + pick 8 (plus smaller picks) for picks 2+3

So in short, they turned pick 1 and JHF into picks 2 + 3 + PA future first (ignoring the smaller pick stuff here)

The last player manager by Williams to **** off was JHF. The Roos effectively got pick 8 + a future first.

Nas is more than that.
End of the day, none of that really matters. It’ll mean more draft picks, but players? Not so much.

If the players you request are contracted and don’t want to move, there’s nothing you can do. We can’t trade them against their will nor would we want to, much like I’m sure you wouldn’t (and likely couldn’t) trade away Phillipou, Tauru or Travaglia.

Crows fans understand this all too well. It sucks, but it’s reality. I understand the passion and frustration, having been in that position numerous times.

Like I said, I hope he stays. It sucks losing gun players.

No, Port traded pick 8 and a future first for him.

North then trade pick 1 + pick 8 (plus smaller picks) for picks 2+3

So in short, they turned pick 1 and JHF into picks 2 + 3 + PA future first (ignoring the smaller pick stuff here)
Where is the pick 12 that GWS threw away?

The thing is, none of that stuff really matters.

Player power has never been stronger. Crows fans are more than aware. It is what it is.

You’ll never get what you want as compensation. Draft picks? Sure. But you can’t move players who don’t want to be moved. And I’m guessing any player you would want from either club are contracted.

We know how it works. I get you’re passionate, but reality sucks when it comes to trade week. Like I said, let’s hope we stays.

End of the day, none of that really matters. It’ll mean more draft picks, but players? Not so much.

If the players you request are contracted and don’t want to move, there’s nothing you can do. We can’t trade them against their will nor would we want to, much like I’m sure you wouldn’t (and likely couldn’t) trade away Phillipou, Tauru or Travaglia.

Crows fans understand this all too well. It sucks, but it’s reality. I understand the passion and frustration, having been in that position numerous times.

Like I said, I hope he stays. It sucks losing gun players.
Significantly missing the point. Adelaide and port fans like to tell us that all their gun players are staying. But here are future picks and steak knives.

It’s all junk.

We don’t have to have your good players come here.

We can turn around and tell you that we want 2 x top 10 picks and a later first rounder this year.

You work out how to get that with your 25/26/27 firsts and your steak knives.

Significantly missing the point. Adelaide and port fans like to tell us that all their gun players are staying. But here are future picks and steak knives.

It’s all junk.

We don’t have to have your good players come here.

We can turn around and tell you that we want 2 x top 10 picks and a later first rounder this year.

You work out how to get that with your 25/26/27 firsts and your steak knives.
That’s more realistic but on the final day of trade period, with Ben Williams breathing down your ear, what happens if your demands aren’t met?

History shows clubs eventually cave, even if it takes until the final five minutes. Because when a player is out of contract, your hands are tied.

Clubs will be amicable and generous enough to not ruin future relationships with other clubs as well as managers. But they won’t give the world up because they don’t have to, not when a player is out of contract.

Doubt Nas will be going anywhere , what I'm interested in is who we will get in this years draft - we should get a good player with our first round pick.
Also a lot of clubs will be offloading a lot of players - a lot of players on the outer / contracted and uncontracted.

That’s more realistic but on the final day of trade period, with Ben Williams breathing down your ear, what happens if your demands aren’t met?

History shows clubs eventually cave, even if it takes until the final five minutes. Because when a player is out of contract, your hands are tied.

Clubs will be amicable enough to not ruin future relationships with other clubs as well as managers. But they won’t give the world up because they don’t have to, not when a player is out of contract.
If the player has no visible path to SA he doesn’t get there without a trade.

He doesn’t get past west coast in either draft pick 1. He doesn’t want another club outside of the saints or the one in SA.

And Ben Williams. Bloke is an absolute loser who has treated us like crap. Do you think SOS & co are concerned about their relationship with him?

Paul Connors he is not.

So, again the OOC threat you use. Is baseless and useless. There hasn’t been a player outside of free agency as good as Nas leave in a very long time.

He doesn’t get past west coast in either draft pick 1. He doesn’t want another club outside of the saints or the one in SA.

And Ben Williams. Bloke is an absolute loser who has treated us like crap. Do you think SOS & co are concerned about their relationship with him?

Paul Connors he is not.

So, again the OOC threat you use. Is baseless and useless. There hasn’t been a player outside of free agency as good as Nas leave in a very long time.

All we have to say is Luke Ball to emphasise how serious we are--and we all remember who was coach then. And he won't be getting to a SA team in any draft--he will be playing for West Coast.

Paul Connors he is not.

Free agency doesn’t matter, the player is uncontracted regardless.

If we were to get adequate compensation for Dangerfield, we would have got Tom Hawkins and a pick. But obviously that was never going to happen.

No doubt we should have got more for Danger but at the end of the day it still would have been solely draft capital.

All I’m saying is that if Nas does request a trade to Port, be prepared that you’re not going to get adequate compensation. The system doesn’t allow you to.

West Coast and the like wouldn’t take him, because he doesn’t want to play for them. The Nick Stevens days are long gone.

Anyway, I’m not going to outstay my welcome. I understand the optics of an opposition supporter barging in like I have, just felt I should provide some perspective given what my club experienced between 2010-2020. You’re more than free to disagree.

Can we just pay ben williams out and get nas a new manager what sort of commission is he wanting anyway. At what point does someone close to Nas step in and say mate this big brother contestant is out of his depth time to go
What if he were to be unwilliamsed? 😎

PcAd6TH.gif

Fun fact that a few on here probably don't know. Nasiah's biological Dad kicked 5 on Adam Cooney in a SANFL grand final and played for Norf for 5 years. Nas was 10 months old when his Dad was recruited in 2003.

In 2011, Terry, his stepdad, was recruited to us from Ports SANFL side and Nas - now aged 8, spent a couple of years hanging out with Lenny, BJ and the likes at the Saints.

When his Mum, Gav's sister had repeat illnesses, they moved back to SA to be closer to family.

In the years following his return (as an 11 year old), he become very good friends with a (assumed by Nas) distant cousin from the same area. A kid named Isaac Keeler, who was a member of the Crows Academy, yeah, they dumped him though.

Do we know who else was a member of the Crows Academy but not picked up by them, albeit a few years earlier... Leek Alleer.

Sounds like a long winded piece of fiction but its all true.

Edit: I do love to make links. Terry came to us thanks to GWS's prelist list concessions. Leek obviously plays for GWS. Now imagine if Jack Steele, a former GWS Academy member is traded and used in the Aleer trade. 🤯 Ok, maybe it's too much of a long bow and I shouldn't have added in the edit bit 🤣