Preview 2026 National Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

201cm key defender Ladbrook has good hands and competes really well. I think he will be in our draft range.
I think I’d prefer a 188cm transition running mid/wing/hbf like melody, Harrison Chapman or Ethan drever, but if we do add Devine and Harris and/or Wilson, then that’s probably enough depth added for now.

Perhaps going a tall like houndsome, ladbrook or snell as longer term depth would be wise, but depends on McCartney decision as well and what they do with Matlock role.

The only thing with ladbrook would be the frame, toughness and 1v1 defending. Bit of andrews or worrell potential there though with skills.

Very curious to see how many draftees we add with list spots left.
I guess we can’t get too attached to our nga players, as we may rate someone higher.

I think I’d prefer a 188cm transition running mid/wing/hbf like melody, Harrison Chapman or Ethan drever, but if we do add Devine and Harris and/or Wilson, then that’s probably enough depth added for now.

Perhaps going a tall like houndsome, ladbrook or snell as longer term depth would be wise, but depends on McCartney decision as well and what they do with Matlock role.

The only thing with ladbrook would be the frame, toughness and 1v1 defending. Bit of andrews or worrell potential there though with skills.

Very curious to see how many draftees we add with list spots left.
I guess we can’t get too attached to our nga players, as we may rate someone higher.
Looking at it the exact same as you mate. Mellody, Drever, Chapman.

As for talls, I can just tell Clarko would love Koby Lecras. Perfect Clarko type of tall with mobility and skills - albeit undersized.

We have the space to so hopefully we can get Bula and Devine as Cat B rookies.

As for talls, I can just tell Clarko would love Koby Lecras. Perfect Clarko type of tall with mobility and skills - albeit undersized.

How many cat B players can you have

We don't quite have enough running power or speed compared to the best sides like Swans off half back and through the middle and it was an area we clearly wanted last year with Philipou, Allen and Thomas interest.
Adding Blamires and Hugo helps, but wouldn't hurt to keep adding to it. Devine will add a bit if we decide to match.
I think that and strengthening the backline would have the biggest impact on us improving faster vs talls.
But we're likely to add Demetriou in 2027 as a taller strong running wing as well and if you add Wilson via trade, then maybe there's a case that you go a defender like Hodgson or Ladbrook/Snell.
Adding developing talls would be good either end, but you could always add a Hugh Byrne type as a rookie too.

KEVIN SHEEHAN'S EARLY TOP 15​

(in no particular order)

Arki Butler (Vic Metro/Sandringham Dragons)
Tate Hodgson (Vic Metro/Northern Knights)
Harry Van Hattum (Vic Metro/Northern Knights)
Xavier Ladbrook (Vic Country/Gippsland Power)
Cody Walker (Vic Country/Bendigo Pioneers)
Noah Williams (Vic Country/Geelong Falcons)
Douglas Cochrane (South Australia/Central District)
Kodah Edwards (South Australia/South Adelaide)
Ethan Herbert (South Australia/North Adelaide)
Koby LeCras (Western Australia/West Perth)
Heath Mellody (Western Australia/Claremont)
Lucas Robinson (Western Australia/South Fremantle)
Benji Van Rooyen (Western Australia/Claremont)
Hugh McCallum (Tasmanian Devils/Clarence)
Caylen Murray (Queensland/Brisbane Lions Academy)

Here is AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan’s top 70 draft prospects for 2026 – in no particular order.

Tyson Bradley
Arki Butler
Harrison Chapman
Khaled El Souki
Sam Gayfer
Sam Harris
Lachie Hicks
Tate Hodgson
Lewis Houndsome
Blake Justice
Jordan Knapp
Angus Tippett
Harry Van Hattum
Flynn Woolhouse
Tanner Armstrong
Ned Badrock
Ethan Drever
Charlie Hanegraaf
Gus Kennedy
Xavier Ladbrook
Marlon Neocleous
Wil Malady
Jack Pickett
Clancy Snell
Darcy Szerszyn
Cody Templeton
Cody Walker
Noah Williams
Douglas Cochrane
Harvey Croker
Kodah Edwards
Cain Florance
Jack Gordon
Mitchell Harris
Ethan Herbert
Anthony Long
Kale Matthews-Hampton
Jacob McNicol
Gabriel Patterson
Archie Van Dyk
Angus White
Zackariah Young
Ben Barnard
Jake Callinan
Ewan Dillon
Archie Hill
Cooper Hodge
William Jenkin
Guy Jenkin
Ethan Matthews
Aidan McCartney
Hugh McCallum
Mason McGroder
Caylen Murray
Matthew Owen
Sonny Smiler
Harper Banfield
Jayden Clarke
Elijah Dennis
Byron Foster
George Gale
Garrison Kenh
Koby Lecras
Heath Mellody
Cooper Ramsay
Lucas Robinson
Harvey Spawton-Guy
Leo Steed
Mitch Stirling
Benji Van Rooyen

KEVIN SHEEHAN'S EARLY TOP 15​

(in no particular order)

Arki Butler (Vic Metro/Sandringham Dragons)
Tate Hodgson (Vic Metro/Northern Knights)
Harry Van Hattum (Vic Metro/Northern Knights)
Xavier Ladbrook (Vic Country/Gippsland Power)
Cody Walker (Vic Country/Bendigo Pioneers)
Noah Williams (Vic Country/Geelong Falcons)
Douglas Cochrane (South Australia/Central District)
Kodah Edwards (South Australia/South Adelaide)
Ethan Herbert (South Australia/North Adelaide)
Koby LeCras (Western Australia/West Perth)
Heath Mellody (Western Australia/Claremont)
Lucas Robinson (Western Australia/South Fremantle)
Benji Van Rooyen (Western Australia/Claremont)
Hugh McCallum (Tasmanian Devils/Clarence)
Caylen Murray (Queensland/Brisbane Lions Academy)

Here is AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan’s top 70 draft prospects for 2026 – in no particular order.

Tyson Bradley
Arki Butler
Harrison Chapman
Khaled El Souki
Sam Gayfer
Sam Harris
Lachie Hicks
Tate Hodgson
Lewis Houndsome
Blake Justice
Jordan Knapp
Angus Tippett
Harry Van Hattum
Flynn Woolhouse
Tanner Armstrong
Ned Badrock
Ethan Drever
Charlie Hanegraaf
Gus Kennedy
Xavier Ladbrook
Marlon Neocleous
Wil Malady
Jack Pickett
Clancy Snell
Darcy Szerszyn
Cody Templeton
Cody Walker
Noah Williams
Douglas Cochrane
Harvey Croker
Kodah Edwards
Cain Florance
Jack Gordon
Mitchell Harris
Ethan Herbert
Anthony Long
Kale Matthews-Hampton
Jacob McNicol
Gabriel Patterson
Archie Van Dyk
Angus White
Zackariah Young
Ben Barnard
Jake Callinan
Ewan Dillon
Archie Hill
Cooper Hodge
William Jenkin
Guy Jenkin
Ethan Matthews
Aidan McCartney
Hugh McCallum
Mason McGroder
Caylen Murray
Matthew Owen
Sonny Smiler
Harper Banfield
Jayden Clarke
Elijah Dennis
Byron Foster
George Gale
Garrison Kenh
Koby Lecras
Heath Mellody
Cooper Ramsay
Lucas Robinson
Harvey Spawton-Guy
Leo Steed
Mitch Stirling
Benji Van Rooyen
I’m guessing he has just put all the pre-season hub players because Gus Teixeira should absolutely be here.

It's not like Kevin drives around the nation looking at endless junior competitions or listening to Cal & the other bloke every week.
He wouldn't be scrolling through endless RMC, CotD, Code or Dylan posts or you tube video's either.

He'd be getting most of his intel directly out of the AFL Clubs and for most part he's reasonably accurate each year give or take a handful of prospects.

Early days for sure and there will be some that drop in/out (Teixeira as you nominated, Webb out of SA probably another) as the season progresses and National Champs will provide a much clearer picture, but for now I'd suggest that it's a reasonably accurate listing.

About time.

Among other rule changes, previously reported by AFL.com.au, clubs will only be able to match bids using a maximum of two picks, with a points deficit allowed. Clubs will also no longer be able to open more picks than they have list spots available once the draft begins, closing a loophole that clubs have used in recent years.

About time.

Among other rule changes, previously reported by AFL.com.au, clubs will only be able to match bids using a maximum of two picks, with a points deficit allowed. Clubs will also no longer be able to open more picks than they have list spots available once the draft begins, closing a loophole that clubs have used in recent years.
This is why I don’t mind the compo for having a bid matched in the top 5.

Take this year for example.
Carlton only have the capital to get Walker due to trading out Curnow last year.
Port will only have the capital to get Cochrane because they will lose Butters. Those are midtable to bottom teams.

Contenders won’t be able to match in the top 5 without seriously giving something up.

It’s really the best of both worlds for the leagues conflicting interests.

These changes are close to pointless now that GC and Brisbane have had years to stack their side with elite talent on major discounts. They seem to be attempting to retroactively make right what a rort the draft has been for the past ten or so years, but unless sides that missed out in that side are compensated or advantaged clubs lose privileges for a time period then we'll still be another decade or so away from leveling the playing field.

I would propose allowing other clubs the same advantages in the first round for NGAs and F/S for the equivalent of what GC has had, eg if Gold Coast have had 8 first round picks under the old rules and Brisbane 7, North Melbourne 0; then Gold Coast now must pick using the new rules, Brisbane gets one more first rounder using the old rules and North get eight more. And if that doesn't work then set a time aside for Gold Coast and Brisbane to be excluded from accessing round one talent, a blanket of three years would go a long way.

An outcome will be that the number 1 pick will be anticlimactic almost every year because it will be a bid

About time.

That might impact us this year with potentially all of McCartney, Harris, Devine and Bula being available to us. May end up losing one or two if we get bids earlier than expected.

Nice that clubs can no longer hoard 5 late second rounders to get a top 5 pick though!

These changes are close to pointless now that GC and Brisbane have had years to stack their side with elite talent on major discounts. They seem to be attempting to retroactively make right what a rort the draft has been for the past ten or so years, but unless sides that missed out in that side are compensated or advantaged clubs lose privileges for a time period then we'll still be another decade or so away from leveling the playing field.

I would propose allowing other clubs the same advantages in the first round for NGAs and F/S for the equivalent of what GC has had, eg if Gold Coast have had 8 first round picks under the old rules and Brisbane 7, North Melbourne 0; then Gold Coast now must pick using the new rules, Brisbane gets one more first rounder using the old rules and North get eight more. And if that doesn't work then set a time aside for Gold Coast and Brisbane to be excluded from accessing round one talent, a blanket of three years would go a long way.

That’d be fair and equitable. Fair and equitable never comes into the AFL’s thinking especially when it involves the northern teams and Geelong.

If we don't make wildcard or higher, let's get 9-10 wins and finish 5th last and bag an extra second rounder.
Currently we don't have a 2nd rounder. Traded it to move up last year to get Dov.
There's definitely little incentive to finish 11th-13th other than getting more wins to sell that we're close to finals to players from opposition clubs.

Just give up our first pick and get Weitering and his salary.
Future first for Darcy Wilson.
Only problem with that is having enough points to match bids on F/S and NGA kids in 2026 & 2027, especially if McCartney picks us and Harris pushes up higher than we think.
Likely means we've got to slide in the order to get another selection in R1/R2 or trade out some decent players.

Only problem with that is having enough points to match bids on F/S and NGA kids in 2026 & 2027, especially if McCartney picks us and Harris pushes up higher than we think.
Likely means we've got to slide in the order to get another selection in R1/R2 or trade out some decent players.
Im guessing comp picks for being shit over an extended period of time will disappear with this bottom 5 rules. Bottom 5 teams will get a free second rounder more often than not.

We might benifit this year, maybe. But shit that wouldve been handy the last 5 years!

We could've had 5 of these bonus compo picks, spread out of 5 different years.

Plus theres no way we trade future firsts for whitlock knowing we had the compo pick, couldve ended up with the grlj pick, or split it to slide back for Dova and still kept future 2nd.

In typical north fashion, the club got shafted hard.

Snell was quiet early but increasingly grew into the game to become a dominant aerial force across the Gippsland defensive line, especially impactful in the fourth quarter when the Rebels were trying to mount a comeback and kicking with a strong wind advantage. He took plenty of intercept marks and was disruptive when he couldnt mark it himself with a big spoiling fist. He found plenty of the footy on the rebound out of D50, showcasing his strong and penetrating kicking skills.