2026 player moves - ins and outs, signings and departures

Picking up Nth Ringwood reserve players isn’t the way I would have thought is going to help them climb the ladder to much, basically just recruiting ok senior players. Nth Ringwood are only 1 division above Ringwood.

Calder from Vermont should be a handy player for them.

Has anyone been reading the write ups for Ringwood recruits and resignings , you’d think all these guys had played AFL footy 😂. Talk about blowing the trumpet.
My favorite is guys 5+ years out of the junior system being referred to as "former coates league or tac cup" players

Yes, they might've been, but thats got sweet FA to do with senior football, just a tire pumping up exercise and pretty embarrassing if you ask me

I know pride and history are on the line with all committees but surely a merge is better for everyone to keep doors open? I mean any footy club is better than no footy club right?
Nuna and forest hill should be. Play at the nicer ground and cut your losses on the other. Together they could have a healthy senior/ressies squad, a u19's and a womens.

The ruckman should be handy as well (although it seems like they have a bit of capital invested in 2 ruckman which I’m not sure is the best move).
The young kid from Traralgon only played one game for Gippsland Power and wasn’t setting the world on fire at Traralgon so wouldn’t be surprised if he’s just a fringe player.

The ringwood social media have him down as the next jackson sketcher or kyle martin

One for the crew here.

Could we see any of the following scenarios in the next couple of years in an effort to keep clubs running:

(a) reserves football becoming non-compulsory

(b) a Thirds style division for clubs without reserves separate from the current system (e.g. Club A in Division 2 cannot field reserves and drops to "Thirds" then returns via Division 4.

I know pride and history are on the line with all committees but surely a merge is better for everyone to keep doors open? I mean any footy club is better than no footy club right?

merge the nuna 19s with what FH already have and it’s better than having two clubs fold
the forest hill lions

One for the crew here.

Could we see any of the following scenarios in the next couple of years in an effort to keep clubs running:

(b) a Thirds style division for clubs without reserves separate from the current system (e.g. Club A in Division 2 cannot field reserves and drops to "Thirds" then returns via Division 4.

i really like b mate

merge the nuna 19s with what FH already have and it’s better than having two clubs fold
the forest hill lions

Nuna have signed some players by the looks dunno how many they have committed, all in all a merge with FH looks to be a logical decision but proud committee/life members/players still need to agree.

In the vafa D2 (5th div out of 7 divisions at the time) : 8th Yarra Old Grammarians were barely hanging on in 2022, school relationship was being repaired but not enough to save them short term, old list with more retirements on the way, youth had been ignored in search of a flag had caught up to them

Sought out last placed manningham cobras who had no feeder or active way of recruiting, a young side but overall Frank samaltri had run them into the ground, older players had left and they FF'd half their reserves games that year. A merge happened to combine the two and Yarra's two girls sides to make Old Yarra Cobras

Combined to make a grand final in that same division they had come 8th and 10th in in 2022. Now just lost another grand final and look get a thirds up again as more school youth comes through.

Anything can happen, need everyone from both clubs on board and to realise the dire situation they're in.

Nuna have signed some players by the looks dunno how many they have committed, all in all a merge with FH looks to be a logical decision but proud committee/life members/players still need to agree.

In the vafa D2 (5th div out of 7 divisions at the time) : 8th Yarra Old Grammarians were barely hanging on in 2022, school relationship was being repaired but not enough to save them short term, old list with more retirements on the way, youth had been ignored in search of a flag had caught up to them

Sought out last placed manningham cobras who had no feeder or active way of recruiting, a young side but overall Frank samaltri had run them into the ground, older players had left and they FF'd half their reserves games that year. A merge happened to combine the two and Yarra's two girls sides to make Old Yarra Cobras

Combined to make a grand final in that same division they had come 8th and 10th in in 2022. Now just lost another grand final and look get a thirds up again as more school youth comes through.

Anything can happen, need everyone from both clubs on board and to realise the dire situation they're in.

the name / the home ground / the jumper / the logo / who makes the decisions I get it’s a hard decision and to plan for

What’s the harder choice? Close the doors or merge? Some would say no brainer easy choice others would say I’d rather close the doors

its a matter of who blinks first I guess
id go clean slate new jumper new logo
Pick which ground is better to use (fh just re done seems obvious choice)
theres two snr coaches whats happens there?
its not easy to sort

The ruckman should be handy as well (although it seems like they have a bit of capital invested in 2 ruckman which I’m not sure is the best move).
The young kid from Traralgon only played one game for Gippsland Power and wasn’t setting the world on fire at Traralgon so wouldn’t be surprised if he’s just a fringe player.

The recruit from Traralgon played the majority of his footy in the reserves this season and played very few senior matches. You would think Ringwood had picked up a league best and fairest going by the post. I guess you need to generate some excitement.

Agree not an easy decision a merger.What happens if 1 club is financial but the other is in debt.What happens with the debt?

Fold the other club and do a unofficial merge.

its a matter of who blinks first I guess
id go clean slate new jumper new logo
Pick which ground is better to use (fh just re done seems obvious choice)
theres two snr coaches whats happens there?
its not easy to sort
Both postage stamps, but FH slightly bigger and better surface like you mentioned. I feel like both clubs have to give up a couple of things to make it work

But like we touched on early if both committees and life members/players aren't on board it won't happen, and both will die soon if not later

Did he even play this year?
Only exists up to 2024 on PlayHQ when he was playing U18.
(Should also point out I have no issue with him going to Ringwood - a lot of kids from East Gippsland move to Melbourne for work or uni after school).

Their carry on for him is embarrassing, I feel like with a lot of kids who grow tall early get picked in tac cup/coates for their size, I remember a 6'9" kid getting picked for northern knights/vic metro, had NFI what he was doing, ended up playing for warrandyte in third division after not getting drafted, eventually cracked first division but would be a two's player if a foot shorter.

If this kid was any good he would have been playing senior footy in his u18 year.

Gee wizz slow news day on here haha, does it matter what a club posts? They are selling some positivity to their club

“Hi all we like to announce the signing of John smith, honestly we reckon his pretty shit maybe a depth player at best for us but yeah welcome John and family” is that what you want to see?

A bit of info where he is from and what position he plays is enough I feel, no need to p*** down our backs and tell us its raining about once being on the AFL draft radar - thats just plain BS

its the senior coach and president telling the social media person to write the dribble though, Chat gpt writes most of them

Merging will often provide a sugar hit but the issues of how you got here need to be addressed to make sure you don’t end up back there.

One for the crew here.

I don’t think this is a great idea. End of the day you’re just delaying the inevitable. If blokes want a game of footy there is no shortage of places in Victoria.

Did he even play this year?
Only exists up to 2024 on PlayHQ when he was playing U18.
(Should also point out I have no issue with him going to Ringwood - a lot of kids from East Gippsland move to Melbourne for work or uni after school).
He didn’t play the whole year Glorfindel. Started the season but didn’t finish. Was gone half way through the year for reasons unknown. Played in a senior practice game but then a few games in the reserves. Ringwood’s post certainly makes him seem like a far better recruit than he realistically is based on the past few years. They pumped up his reputation by an earlier post saying he was a massive signing.

Very hard to get into the Traralgon senior side who are strong.

Time will tell if he is any good.

As we can see Nunawading are signing up players but these players like this season are they to play U19,s 2026?

Who knows. I seriously doubt them getting back on their feet without a merge.
I don’t think this is a great idea. End of the day you’re just delaying the inevitable. If blokes want a game of footy there is no shortage of places in Victoria.
the EFNL might just put it in the too hard basket. Thats finals grounds and more resources they have to find to get it up and running

2026 player moves - ins and outs, signings and departures