Training 2026 Training Reports

O'Meara would be locked in.

He wouldn't even be close to being in competition with Sharp or O'Driscoll for a spot, let alone Murray.

And it isn't even about playing it safe. He is clearly the better player.
In what position ? The team is sacrificing run for defensive minded.
The club needs to be experimenting the wing spot. It cost the team in the finals and numerous games throughout the season.
NOD and JOM are inside defensive guys. Need runners. Look at Brisbane, GWS, Sydney. All have gun wingers. All got deep into finals.
Surely can’t just keep JOM in because he looks safe. Try Chapman. Try Murray. Need something to happen.

I thought JOM was terrible early last year as inside mid with his 1m handpasses to a bloke already under pressure.

But thought he was pretty good in the SOO playing a mature head in the corners getting a clean ball to a player in advantage. Expect he will be on the bench as Mr Fixit at HB, wing, or middle if required.

The club needs to be experimenting the wing spot. It cost the team in the finals and numerous games throughout the season.
NOD and JOM are inside defensive guys. Need runners. Look at Brisbane, GWS, Sydney. All have gun wingers. All got deep into finals.
Surely can’t just keep JOM in because he looks safe. Try Chapman. Try Murray. Need something to happen.
I agree that the game plan needs another layer to give us the option for attacking wing play.

Last year we were are our best when we could build quick possession chains through the corridor and get the ball in the hands of Switta or Murph to hit the i50 kick.

Other teams will come up with counter strategies to take that away from us.

Utilising a winger to push hard forward as a goal threat (as Dempsey does for Geelong) or using a creative player there to help attacking transition are both options. Tobyn or Freddy (in a slightly different role) might work out.

But it would come at the cost of the run and defensive stability that Sharp or JOM provide in that role. It would require changes to structures across the field (or a shift to a more offensive mindset overall).

I think it’s our biggest tactical challenge to help take the next steps.

I agree that the game plan needs another layer to give us the option for attacking wing play.

Last year we were are our best when we could build quick possession chains through the corridor and get the ball in the hands of Switta or Murph to hit the i50 kick.

Other teams will come up with counter strategies to take that away from us.

Utilising a winger to push hard forward as a goal threat (as Dempsey does for Geelong) or using a creative player there to help attacking transition are both options. Tobyn or Freddy (in a slightly different role) might work out.

But it would come at the cost of the run and defensive stability that Sharp or JOM provide in that role. It would require changes to structures across the field (or a shift to a more offensive mindset overall).

I think it’s our biggest tactical challenge to help take the next steps.
The team needs more runners with clean possession. It’s great that Wagner, Reid, Young take risks however in the wing spot there has to be that option too.
All for Chapman, Walker, Frederick, Murray. All of those players are defensive runners as well.
JOM’s 8 disposal game with NOD’s 12 in a final concerns me.

Sure did.

If opposition continue to tag Serong, as expected, then Reid with Brayshaw and Young will be laughing.

The more unpredictable this midfield gets- Bolton, Jackson, Erasmus, Johnson- it’ll only strengthen the team all over the ground.

Healthy Group

The Dockers team is extremely healthy as they prepare for Saturday’s practice game against West Coast. Sean Darcy, Aiden Riddle, Charlie Nicholls and Sam Sturt are all out of action due to injury, but Cooper Simpson and Bailey Banfield returned to the group after sitting out recent sessions.

Defender Luke Ryan sent a scare through the camp with just one minute remaining in training when he slammed his left shoulder into the turf.

Ryan had surgery on that shoulder at the end of the season and the impact left him in obvious discomfort. Teammates quickly checked on him, and Ryan left the field to be assessed but returned to complete the running training.

Jordan Clark was rested from training after rolling his ankle before the Origin game. But there were 39 players on the track which is a huge number. The competition for spots in the team is absolutely enormous.

Looking Sharp

Wingman Jeremy Sharp fell out of favour towards the end of last season but looked really good during Friday morning’s intraclub game in Bunbury.

Sharp won plenty of the ball, stepped into the centre square to show he can also play as an inside midfielder and pushed his claims for selection. His running ability was again obvious at training as he made up heaps of ground to lay a spoil on Alex Pearce

Set Shots

The Dockers had the iPad out as they went through goalkicking practice with Jackson and Bolton. Forwards coach Jaymie Graham worked through a dedicated session of set shot kicking, focusing on their technique while also logging their results.

Bolton was accurate from distance with the small forward kicking 5.1 when shooting from 50m out. Jackson also barely missed during his session

Origin Stars

Caleb Serong, Luke Jackson, Jaeger O’Meara, Shai Bolton and Clark were all looked after following their performances in Saturday’s AFL Origin match at Optus Stadium

Clark didn’t train at all after hurting his ankle in the build up to the game. The other Origin stars stepped in and out of training after taking part in a game that was played at a relentless pace all day.

The irony is that O'Meara actually has been an experiment on the wing hasn't he? He is not really a winger.

You've magicked up the idea that Murray will be a better winger. That would be great if he is, but he moved himself into the forward line because he wasn't getting considered for that position on an AFL list. For now it's evidence free thinking.

And unless you, or other watchers, have seen otherwise, Chapman clearly isn't being trialled in that role either. Something I would love to see.

Sure did.

If opposition continue to tag Serong, as expected, then Reid with Brayshaw and Young will be laughing.

The more unpredictable this midfield gets- Bolton, Jackson, Erasmus, Johnson- it’ll only strengthen the team all over the ground.

I've said exactly this to Sherriff a number of times I think he's sick of hearing it.

Looks like we can lock sharp in on one wing, good to see he's training as a mid to add a more inside/contested side to his game. One of the knocks on him last few years was how one dimensional he's been. If he can add winning more contested ball to his game, it'll do him a world of good.
I think Wagner should get the spot on the other wing, I feel like the wing opposite to sharps will be the chop and change wing where multiple players rotate through, (if Wagner is tagging in the middle one of brayshaw/half forward may take the role.

It's going to be interesting who makes up the 5 on the bench though, if Jaeger is as much of a round 1 lock as it seems, who misses out? Assuming we play multiple rucks+an extra defender (worner/walker) it doesnt leave many spots left. Erasmus was way too good at the end of last year to miss out, Johnson has apparently been training the house down, its a good problem to have that's for sure.

Looks like we can lock sharp in on one wing, good to see he's training as a mid to add a more inside/contested side to his game. One of the knocks on him last few years was how one dimensional he's been. If he can add winning more contested ball to his game, it'll do him a world of good.
I think Wagner should get the spot on the other wing, I feel like the wing opposite to sharps will be the chop and change wing where multiple players rotate through, (if Wagner is tagging in the middle one of brayshaw/half forward may take the role.

It's going to be interesting who makes up the 5 on the bench though, if Jaeger is as much of a round 1 lock as it seems, who misses out? Assuming we play multiple rucks+an extra defender (worner/walker) it doesnt leave many spots left. Erasmus was way too good at the end of last year to miss out, Johnson has apparently been training the house down, its a good problem to have that's for sure.

Sharp has been bog average during training

I'd be pissed if he gets a game over others. Don't know how he's a lock on the wing

Sharp has been bog average during training

I'd be pissed if he gets a game over others. Don't know how he's a lock on the wing
Because he's an actual wingman and he knows his role. Which others do you have in mind? Let me guess, an inside mid pretending to be a wingman? If your problem with Sharp is his disposal, then Drizzy/Johnson certainly aren't upgrades because their disposal is also bog average. Murray I'd be happy to see get a wing role, just on the opposite one to sharp. Omeara I can definitely see playing, but on a wing over sharp? I can't see it, but that's just my opinion.

I'd rather Omera and Wagner

Yes Sharps disposal is a major concern

Johnson and Erasmus disposal is improving not so much O'Driscoll

Based on last season's form and what people have said on his continued form at training I have Wagner as the current first choice (so 60%+ game time in this) fatside wing with maybe Frederick, O'Meara, Johnson, Clark, McVee and Amiss chopping out at times. Remembering that this role is to block/fill space on the fatside / away from the contest from a defensive perspective. I have no doubt Sharp is a close second as backup, simply because although he has kicking woes he is otherwise pretty good at doing what is required for this role. I reckon Banfield would also be around the place as a backup for the primary fatside role with his endurance and having played the second half of last year primarily as a high defender, but who knows what he will play this year? And from all reports I wonder if Toby Whan becomes the developing 4th primary option?

As for the thin side winger I'm expecting to be a major mix of O'Meara and Erasmus, maybe also Reid, Bolton, Johnson and Brayshaw at times. Remembering this role is to move towards the ball and tighten congestion. I think of the two wing roles ODriscoll is better suited to this role, but he needs to improve his disposal.

Johnson's name appears as a chop out option in both lists, and I think in a fully fit side he spends a bit of time gap filling both winger roles, as he is not getting much midfield time before Serong, Brayshaw, Young, Jackson, Reid, Erasmus and Bolton. Wing felt like his predominant role before getting injured last season. Murray could also come into the conversation as well.

Except he’s very inefficient. Has no left foot. Refuses to go down the wing on the left.
Easy to beat with strength and speed. Not convinced with his disposal either

Except he’s very inefficient. Has no left foot. Refuses to go down the wing on the left.
weve surely evolved past the need for jeremy sharp, our gameplan doesnt really rely on those fat side wingers like it has in the past anymore (thank god) he should be last resort sort of stuff

Sharp a lock because of one footy article? He had an inside game now because of that article?

Gee whiz. Sharp isn't just bog average, he is possibly the least inside player on our list since Henry. Spare me, no f****ing way shiuld he be considered unless he plays two absolutely outstanding pre season games and the others stink it up big time

I'd rather Omera and Wagner

Yes Sharps disposal is a major concern

Johnson and Erasmus disposal is improving not so much O'Driscoll
I don't disagree with what your both saying, all valid points. But we're talking about a guy we just resigned till end of 2027, I feel like we wouldn't have done that had we not had plans to play him. I think he will get first crack during the preseason games and maybe that will tell if he's upto it or not, I'm not a Sharp fan by any means, but he knows the role better then most, but if his deficiencies don't improve then he shouldn't get the role, but I think he will get a chance first up.

I know there wasn't a lot of defensive running in the state of origin game on the weekend (which is a different sort of running to Sharp's role anyway) but watching the Vics with their exquisite skills through the middle of the ground made me think pure endurance running is a whole lot less important when you can nail a fundamental skill every single time.