Player Watch #30: Reece Conca

You may not have the time or inclination but go and have a look at this game again. It sums up what Reece has done all his career and his skill set.
Look at what happens when he touches the ball and just how ineffective he is most of the time with or without it.

There are reasons why this bloke cops the criticism's he cops.He has no upside what so ever and at best is a foot soldier but unfortunately he cant play at his best all the time .

We won a flag last yr because hacks like Reece were not getting a game.In all honesty id rather see Corey Ellis get a game he at least has an upside.

I don’t agree with everything you’ve said but get why people see him this way.

Does a lot of the stuff that can’t be taught well but struggles with kicking on occasion. Is it technique or decision making? I’d go with the latter which will hopefully improve with some continuity in his game.

Is he ever going to be a top 10 player for us? Doubtful but can certainly find a role in our 22

I don’t agree with everything you’ve said but get why people see him this way.

Does a lot of the stuff that can’t be taught well but struggles with kicking on occasion. Is it technique or decision making? I’d go with the latter which will hopefully improve with some continuity in his game.

Is he ever going to be a top 10 player for us? Doubtful but can certainly find a role in our 22
With all respect he is nothing but a list clogger and at best is nothing more than a foot soldier. As premiers there should not be a role for a player like him.
There are clearly better options to be used and in fact you could argue by playing him we are wasting an opportunity to play a junior.

Im trying my hardest here not to be too severe on this bloke but fair dinkum if hes in the best 22 then we can kiss any chance of a premiership good bye this yr. When is enough enough.

You may not have the time or inclination but go and have a look at this game again. It sums up what Reece has done all his career and his skill set.
Look at what happens when he touches the ball and just how ineffective he is most of the time with or without it.

There are reasons why this bloke cops the criticism's he cops.He has no upside what so ever and at best is a foot soldier but unfortunately he cant play at his best all the time .

We won a flag last yr because hacks like Reece were not getting a game.In all honesty id rather see Corey Ellis get a game he at least has an upside.
You lost me at Corey Ellis. Reece plays before him every day of the week , but I would rather none. Hopefully both will be delisted in four months time.

Fair point. I reckon we aim for a player such as the likes of a Sloane or possibly a Gaff as an apt replacement. More classy; more skilled type of players. Conca is potentially holding us back from being at our upmost formidable against any oppo in the comp.

If he was injury free and fit to go, then I wouldn't be surprised if he was not part of the selected best 22 in last year's final series. I don't see room for him. And it kills me to see other teams such as Sydney, Geelong or Hawthorne, who mind you are consistently bringing up rising talent. We might as well just wallow in our own crapulance while conca is still around. Heart of gold, but he downright sucks.

Ive watched the game twice now and fair dinkum you have nfi if you think what he dished up was anywhere near passable.
He was nowhere near our best and despite getting a bit of ball was generally deplorable.
One of our best on Friday doesn’t mean much considering we played terribly. Wasn’t our worst but again that’s not saying much

If your gunna crucify him get your facts right
I took the time to go back, pause rewind sections of the Port game & I was surprised how involved Conca was: the passage in particular was where he missed the kick on goal first qtr, about 7 minutes in:
The passage play starts with us winning it out of the centre, Conca drifts into the 50 & is involved in a 4 on 4 contest where Higgins lays a great tackle, Castagna works a Port player out of the way Conca picks up the spilt ball, is tackled immeadiately, ball spills free, Higgins is involved again & ball ends up with Nank he bombs it fwd and Moore contests with 2 defenders ball ends up in Polecs hands but he's surrounded by Caddy, Menadue. Conca has moved down to this contest & his frontal pressure forces Polec to miss a team mate with handball, ball spills to Moore, who gives it off to Conca who stuffs the kick from 20m. He tried to dribble it I think & in fairness there was a Port player b/n him and the goal.
And after the stuffed up kick Higgins & Conca & JR are pressuring Port again.

And unless I went and watched replays of the game twice, I would've missed Castagna's work, & Higgins being involved as much as he was.

Back that up with Nim's pressure Conca had 30, next best player had 21. & DE stats are better than 5 of the 2017 Premiership team.

Conca is a dynamo, can play in or out...of course some of his brain fades and hack kicks are cringworthy but he is an animal when chasing, smothering, tackling and pressuring and his work in close in conjunction with Prestia, Martin, Edwards and Cotch is what we need to be a force again. He is always in the thick of it, So much more effective than Graham, Miles, Lloyd... what i have noticed is when Reece hunts someone, he nails them and drives them into the turf... Lloyd, Miles, Higgins, Butler, Short, Houli types cant or rarely do this and as for Jack Graham well he's getting there but seems to get there a split second too late to do anything too drastic except maybe put the ball carrier off or rush him a bit.

Would have liked to put Reece in the best based on ball winning ability. If he can find a way to improve on his decision making/composure he will be worthy of pick 6. I'm still bullish about him if he stays injury free.

Never going to be a star but still a decent cog in the midfield

Spot on ! Just going about his business , has the odd brain fade or poor turnover but been pretty consistent this year ! Wouldn't mind seeing more of him in the centre bounces

Overall the good outweighed the bad, watched him closely today, he offers us plenty of options with selfless running and often it was the corridor side, very handy.

Damn if he finally learns how to play within himself and stop going for too much he’ll be a real player.

[QUOTE="strong![/QUOTE]
Think this will hold him in good stead with Dimma for a while. Is a prolific ball winner and very hard. Hunt was the same but I think Reece has a class edge and will iron out the rough edges hopefully.

[QUOTE="strong!
Think this will hold him in good stead with Dimma for a while. Is a prolific ball winner and very hard. Hunt was the same but I think Reece has a class edge and will iron out the rough edges hopefully.[/QUOTE]
Good point. He kinda is like a better Hunt.

Think this will hold him in good stead with Dimma for a while. Is a prolific ball winner and very hard. Hunt was the same but I think Reece has a class edge and will iron out the rough edges hopefully.
Good point. He kinda is like a better Hunt.[/QUOTE]
No way! Hunt was a crappier version of Conca....

Good point. He kinda is like a better Hunt.[/QUOTE]
I think so. Hunt's turnovers overshadowed his other attributes. Reece same category but he's not yo-yoing between VFL and AFL like Hunt so think he has more credit with Dimma than Hunt did.

Overall the good outweighed the bad, watched him closely today, he offers us plenty of options with selfless running and often it was the corridor side, very handy.

Damn if he finally learns how to play within himself and stop going for too much he’ll be a real player.
Plays as long as he keeps CEllis out. Prestia and Houli should come in for him and Kmac/Higgins.