41,000 and counting

If his $$$ are in the bank, then whether we like it or not... he's a paid up member and his fat arse counts in the membership tally. :D

Kaitsey - here's a question you might be able to answer. If there are 43,000+ WCE members, how come crowd totals are usually around 39 - 40K (apart from derbies and big games like Friday nights or v Collingwood)? :confused:

If his $$$ are in the bank, then whether we like it or not... he's a paid up member and his fat arse counts in the membership tally. :D

Kaitsey - here's a question you might be able to answer. If there are 43,000+ WCE members, how come crowd totals are usually around 39 - 40K (apart from derbies and big games like Friday nights or v Collingwood)? :confused:

nah they're usually at about 41000. its damn hard to get tix. if its 39-40k its because of those 'supporters'. you know the chardonay ones, they have other important functions, you know the ones that if we lost the game they wouldnt mind. i hate those guys. diehard supporters miss out of seats because of these losers.

also, they're the ones that leave early when we are going to lose. "gotta beat the traffic", **** YOU, WATCH OUR TEAM LOSE YOU PART TIME SUPPORTERS!!!!.

nah they're usually at about 41000. its damn hard to get tix. if its 39-40k its because of those 'supporters'. you know the chardonay ones, they have other important functions, you know the ones that if we lost the game they wouldnt mind. i hate those guys. diehard supporters miss out of seats because of these losers.

also, they're the ones that leave early when we are going to lose. "gotta beat the traffic", **** YOU, WATCH OUR TEAM LOSE YOU PART TIME SUPPORTERS!!!!.

Yeah fair enough. I expect we might see a bit more of that now that we're at that number for membership. Barra will be the first one out the gates if Freo are losing... :thumbsd:

Still 41,000 - that's probably close to 2000 that don't bother turning up - even when you take into account the opposition supporters.

Part-time supporters who hang onto their seats for the half dozen games per year that they decide to attend should have their memberships revoked.

Yeah fair enough. I expect we might see a bit more of that now that we're at that number for membership. Barra will be the first one out the gates if Freo are losing... :thumbsd:

Still 41,000 - that's probably close to 2000 that don't bother turning up - even when you take into account the opposition supporters.

Part-time supporters who hang onto their seats for the half dozen games per year that they decide to attend should have their memberships revoked.

exactly.

That's not a bad no-show rate compared to just about every other club. Some of these Victorian clubs regularly draw well below their purported membership. I remember the days when Hawthorn were pulling less than 15,000 against some interstate teams when they claimed to have over 30,000 members.

****, there's always going to be times when someone can't show up to a match. Your car breaks down, you get sick, some girl chucks the ****s at you because they organise something on the night of a footy match......

You still get there man, you still get there!

There are a number of country members for both clubs, who can't always make the games, but know they have their seats there for when or if they can. Farming committments. We had two next to us for several years, good for us we had room to spread out a bit when they weren't there.

country changed this year, instead of dedicated blocks they will be fitting them in where there are spare seats
(not quite sure how that going to work yet)

country changed this year, instead of dedicated blocks they will be fitting them in where there are spare seats
(not quite sure how that going to work yet)

I didn't know that and I'm a country member. They better not stick me in the 3 tier stand.

thats what i've been told dominguez whereas it used to be block 146/147 for standard country - because of the burgeoning numbers it's going to be 'fit in here' & presumabaly if numbesr keep going up, country will be phased out like the eagles

Well done on the membership numbers.

With the no-shows, we "crows" have had this for quite a while. We have approx 50K members yet the average may be low 40k's. I am not sure but I think the official member numbers also include 'Junior' memberships? Still on average atleast 5K supporters dont rock up.

I am on a waiting list to get a membership and the continual no-shows is frustrating. The main "reasons" I find are:

- Some games people are just busy - Sh** happens?
- Country members struggle on certain time slots (Sunday night will be a killer for the country mob)
- Many also play sport (Sat day games esp)
- People pay for the priviledge and some "feeble" supporters pick and choose games - this annoys me the most. In fact if it were possible it would be better if we weeded them out. Give em to the Power - they will take anybody ;)

thats what i've been told dominguez whereas it used to be block 146/147 for standard country - because of the burgeoning numbers it's going to be 'fit in here' & presumabaly if numbesr keep going up, country will be phased out like the eagles

I won't be too bothered about having to shell out more $$$ for a full membership if they cancel country memberships. The problem will be that even though we are long term members we will end up with really crappy seats because of the surge in members over the last few years.

Fair enough - but I guess I was more referring to all the times that the eagles have "sold out" games, but the crowd figure has only been 40,000. Plus they have that scheme where members can "rent" their seats back to the club if they can't go for whatever reason, and then the club on-sells them to the public who otherwise couldn't get tickets to the game. They have the processes in place to "sell out" every game, but even a sell-out does not guarantee a full-house for their games. Those part-time members - for either club - who keep others out who would go if they could, but they cant because it's "sold out" should get a kick up the backside. :rolleyes:

to be honest i disagree - theres a good chance that these 'part-time' members had their tickets in the eagles lean time of 2001/2002 when memberships went begging & similar to our club in a couple of years if people start complaining cos they can't get a seat too bad
most eagles members i know if they can;t go do their damndest to give the tickets to a mate or whatever
same as i would but sometimes it's just a bit too last minute & seats go vacant

don't forget as well the half time auskick's & family get seats & the first half they'd always show as empty cos the littlies have to go down & get ready

Yeah - of course there are exceptions. And last minute stuff crops up. But with 2000-3000 no-shows every week some of them have just done the "not in the mood", "they might lose that one"... or whatever. They have the processes in place to fill the seats with people who really want to go.... I just reckon it's a bit rough on the part of the "part-timers" (of course I am speaking generally). And I do, also, recognise that as the seat holders, it's their prerogative to do as they want... but you know - sharing is caring... and caring is love... and there's just not enough love in the world!! ;)

I won't be too bothered about having to shell out more $$$ for a full membership if they cancel country memberships. The problem will be that even though we are long term members we will end up with really crappy seats because of the surge in members over the last few years.

With all due respect Dom, why didn't you switch over to full membership earlier ?

The writing was on the wall last year, and there have been a few threads on these boards detailing membership numbers.

Get in now, before you blow it. :thumbsu:

ps. a crappy seat is better than no seat, and is transferable.

With all due respect Dom, why didn't you switch over to full membership earlier ?

The writing was on the wall last year, and there have been a few threads on these boards detailing membership numbers.

Get in now, before you blow it. :thumbsu:

ps. a crappy seat is better than no seat, and is transferable.

Because I'm a wally. :)

I thought about calling the club last week and paying the difference, but now I think I'll be better waiting until the end of the year and trying to get a good seat when others are trying to change their seats. I might call the club tomorrow and find out what is available, but from what I've heard it is mostly crappy seats left so might be better off taking my chances next year. When I say crappy seats it's not that the view is bad, but everyone is packed in like sardines in the 3 tier stand/Subiaco end.

That's not a bad no-show rate compared to just about every other club. Some of these Victorian clubs regularly draw well below their purported membership. I remember the days when Hawthorn were pulling less than 15,000 against some interstate teams when they claimed to have over 30,000 members.

QUOTE]

30 emebers included pets, very youg children etc