Player Watch #5 Jack Ross

Sadly he will be pushed to a high half forward role to accommodate Prestia staying onball. A mistake in my opinion
Lambert role?
To accommodate Lalor and Hotton to impact in the middle and then drift forward to inflict damage.
Has worked for us before…

Lambert role?
To accommodate Lalor and Hotton to impact in the middle and then drift forward to inflict damage.
Has worked for us before…
Ross is not quite the runner JGTI, Lambert were.

I like Ross but he's lower in the pecking order than Prestia, JH TT for CBAs. Dow, KMac are gone but KMac2, Lalor, ~ injured a bit. ~ competition.

Hotton, Campbell did play middle, A fit Smilie, & MRJ maytbe more.

Ross, Sonsie can play wing too. I prefer Ross over Hugo. Speed alone ain't enough. Markov was quick. 3 club player Hollands quick delisted under contract. I'd be pissing Hugo off first.

Ross is not quite the runner JGTI, Lambert were.

I like Ross but he's lower in the pecking order than Prestia, JH TT for CBAs. Dow, KMac are gone but KMac2, Lalor, ~ injured a bit. ~ competition.

Hotton, Campbell did play middle, A fit Smilie, & MRJ maytbe more.

Ross, Sonsie can play wing too. I prefer Ross over Hugo.
Ross got better the longer the season went because he was back in the middle. He has a good all-round game, far more creative than any of our other established mids. Better handballer, kick, mark, tackler, cleaner all round. Doesn't get first hands on it as much as the others, so a bit more inside out which is what we are desperate for. Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Cumming etc might take over eventually, but not this season.

Prestia, Hopper and Taranto are poor users off the ball, so unless we want the same this year, Ross better be preferred over or at least with them this season.

Ross got better the longer the season went because he was back in the middle. He has a good all-round game, far more creative than any of our other established mids. Better handballer, kick, mark, tackler, cleaner all round. Doesn't get first hands on it as much as the others, so a bit more inside out which is what we are desperate for. Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Cumming etc might take over eventually, but not this season.

Prestia, Hopper and Taranto are poor users off the ball, so unless we want the same this year, Ross better be preferred over or at least with them this season.

CBA's was Hopper, Taranto, Prestia when he played. Lalor, Hotton when they played.

Uncle Dion 34 2026, might sign on for one more years / mentor 3 years worth of kids. 14 so far?

Ross >> Hugo

CBA's was Hopper, Taranto, Prestia when he played. Lalor, Hotton when they played.

Uncle Dion 34 2026, might sign on for one more years / mentor 3 years worth of kids. 14 so far?

Ross >> Hugo
Our weakest line is our centre mids. Lalor, Hotton etc will help but if we go with the same this year it will be rinse and repeat.

I don't subscribe to the idea that we are treading water until our young players come on in a few years. Our forward line with Lynch and the youth will be strong or at least exciting. Our defence is better than most. Our midfield is pedestrian at best.

Ross will improve it, a 33 year old Prestia will not, (would be great if he pulled a rabbit out of a hat and had a great year but unlikely). Hopper will go the way of Caddy sooner than most on here think i think. Both good footballers but to slow for the modern game. Ross deserves a shot inside where it he has shown he can play.

Our weakest line is our centre mids. Lalor, Hotton etc will help but if we go with the same this year it will be rinse and repeat.

I don't subscribe to the idea that we are treading water until our young players come on in a few years. Our forward line with Lynch and the youth will be strong or at least exciting. Our defence is better than most. Our midfield is pedestrian at best.

Ross will improve it, a 33 year old Prestia will not, (would be great if he pulled a rabbit out of a hat and had a great year but unlikely). Hopper will go the way of Caddy sooner than most on here think i think. Both good footballers but to slow for the modern game. Ross deserves a shot inside where it he has shown he can play.

kinda bizzare so many 186/7 mids. Ross TT, JH, KMac2, Lalor. best available turned from skinny ass Ryan, RCD, Dow to brick shithouses Kmac2, Lalor, Fawcett etc.
Ross has to get past 7years@ $750 boys TT & JH.
Taranto 2 x JDM runs a fair bit too. poor DE

we have the worst fwd line/attack. less score than WCE. 15 games from Lynch & Campbell our best goal kicker.

kinda bizzare so many 186/7 mids. Ross TT, JH, KMac2, Lalor. best available turned from skinny ass Ryan, RCD, Dow to brick shithouses Kmac2, Lalor, Fawcett etc.
Ross has to get past 7years@ $750 boys TT & JH.
Taranto 2 x JDM runs a fair bit too. poor DE

we have the worst fwd line/attack. less score than WCE. 15 games from Lynch & Campbell our best goal kicker.
Worst forward line last year. Lynch coming off two injury wasted years was below par. But full preseason and injury free still one of the best targets in football. Lalor, Hotton, Campbell, Faull, Armstrong and others will add a tonne of class and grunt. Totally different to last year. We could be very exciting up front next season.

needs to stop being about 20th in line at the selection table, if he was going head-to-head with Hopper or Taranto in a dinkum practice game, they would make minced meat out of him. brittle foot bones also probably would rule him out of ever getting super fit where he could play a peak lambert/ JGTI role when they were imperative to our success and demanding game style.

He should be getting the midfield minutes that Prestia is getting. I’d back him head to head against current day Prestia.

I think Hopper is pretty over-rated. Can get it at the coal face and that's about it. Okay handballer, kicking is poor to average. Good sidestep. So slow off the mark his opponents get away from him in a step.

What is this brittle foot bone thing. Ross played 23 games last season, many off the wing where you need good fitness. Covers a lot more ground than Hopper.

I think Hopper is pretty over-rated. Can get it at the coal face and that's about it. Okay handballer, kicking is poor to average. Good sidestep. So slow off the mark his opponents get away from him in a step.

What is this brittle foot bone thing. Ross played 23 games last season, many off the wing where you need good fitness. Covers a lot more ground than Hopper.
Not many people rate him that highly on here anyway, so not sure how he can be over rated
That being said, he did still finish in 3rd in the B&F, so he must be doing a lot of what the coaches ask him to do

Not many people rate him that highly on here anyway, so not sure how he can be over rated
That being said, he did still finish in 3rd in the B&F, so he must be doing a lot of what the coaches ask him to do
He had am good season for what he does. He gets the ball which is half our problem. But with the need for speed and a bit of class, Ross and McAuliffe are up his clacker, not to mention Lalor, Hotton, Cumming coming fast.

Can't see Hopper, Prestia and Taranto together in the middle like last year, so all three will hopefully be less important to us.

Can't you? I have a horrible feeling that's exactly what we will see most of the time.

Gotta ensure we don't rise too high up the ladder I guess. We need that early pick in next year's draft before Tassie come in.

Can't you? I have a horrible feeling that's exactly what we will see most of the time.

Gotta ensure we don't rise too high up the ladder I guess. We need that early pick in next year's draft before Tassie come in.
Cynic. I on the other hand am still with Christmas cheer and wearing my new rose coloured glasses.

Where are you getting that from? Didn't he play every game last season?
Risk of Recurrence source.
  • High Probability: Individuals with a history of one or more stress fractures are at a significantly higher risk of developing new stress fractures, sometimes increasing the likelihood by 5 to 8 times.

yes only guessing but never looked super fit to me with his training loads and game time managed, my hunch is unlike a brando ellis type, who could run all day and often play 90% match time and run insane kms in preseason. ross will never be that running machine aerobic beast due to his body shape, injury prevention strategies implamented due to previous issues with stress related issues.

pity if my hunch is correct as a jack ross with the brandon ellis/mackintosh tank would elevate him to one of our most important and versatile players.

big year for jack needs to go from a C+ into a B+ for us to win more games.

I will forever be grateful to Jack for sparking one of the most satisfying lucid dreams I've ever had. Stay with me fellas...

Believe it or not, Nebular is not my birth name.
I happen to share the moniker J. Ross with our boy Jack. So a few years back, I think around 2022, I was discussing footy with a few workmates on a Friday, and when one of them pulled up the team sheet and saw J. Ross named in our team. Workmates then commenced the crappy jokes about me playing for Richmond on the weekend, debuting as a 45 year old, etc, etc....

Well that night my brain did the right thing for once and started dreaming of the game. I happened to become aware it was a dream and if you know anything about lucid dreaming you know at this point you can control what happens.

So even though I know it wasn't real, I still have a vivid memory of playing for Richmond against the Hawks at the MCG as a 45 year old, a feat never achieved before or since.

So thanks Jack, for sharing your name with me. Forever grateful.

I will forever be grateful to Jack for sparking one of the most satisfying lucid dreams I've ever had. Stay with me fellas...

Believe it or not, Nebular is not my birth name.
I happen to share the moniker J. Ross with our boy Jack. So a few years back, I think around 2022, I was discussing footy with a few workmates on a Friday, and when one of them pulled up the team sheet and saw J. Ross named in our team. Workmates then commenced the crappy jokes about me playing for Richmond on the weekend, debuting as a 45 year old, etc, etc....

Well that night my brain did the right thing for once and started dreaming of the game. I happened to become aware it was a dream and if you know anything about lucid dreaming you know at this point you can control what happens.

So even though I know it wasn't real, I still have a vivid memory of playing for Richmond against the Hawks at the MCG as a 45 year old, a feat never achieved before or since.

So thanks Jack, for sharing your name with me. Forever grateful.
Deceiving campaigner
Thought your real name was Nebular
How will I recover?

Should still be in the 23 in 2026, but really needs to make a position his own this year.

Not sure where that is exactly, because he'll be on the fringe in 2027 if he doesn't.

Regardless, he doesn't deserve anywhere near the level of hate he gets from some.

Player Watch #5 Jack Ross