Player Watch #6 Logan McDonald

There's ZERO evidence of our interest in UGH, it’s a hypothetical put forward by Herald Sun.

what is it with anagrams of my initials?

Greatest running FF. Plugger does not play like McDonald. McDonald is not a stay at home like Plugger. Happy to make you laugh.
I actually met Plugger. He moved up to Moss Vale and bought a property down the road from my parents property on Hedlam Road. I think he is still there but my parents passed away last year. He ran some greyhounds and stuff. But he helped out a lot of local landowners who were old. I was helping a neighbor and he came down to help as well. Much skinnier than his playing days. Great bloke.
He certainly does not play like Plugger. Will never be 25 percent of the player Plugger was. You said the greatest Stkilda forward. That is Lockett not Reiwoldt.

All good Rusty. I knew what you meant. Bit of levity.

How much time does Papley spend on the ball ? He should be bringing it in spades when he is up there and medium forwards are not exempt from it in Hayward & Heeney. You don’t have to be 5 ft 4 to bring elite forward pressure. If we are thinking our premiership chances going forward are shot because we are lacking a Sam Wicks we may as well pack it in now.
Once again though I will reiterate I would prefer him to be there next year.
Agree. I don’t see why midfielders on rotation can’t bring the forward pressure when they are down there as well.

All I wish for is that if any player, be it McDonald or other, who was considering moving back would do the club a solid for their time and efforts by signing a one year contract so that the opposition are forced to trade and have us over a barrel.

I know player managers would probably not allow their client to do it but **** it would be handy.

How much time does Papley spend on the ball ? He should be bringing it in spades when he is up there and medium forwards are not exempt from it in Hayward & Heeney. You don’t have to be 5 ft 4 to bring elite forward pressure. If we are thinking our premiership chances going forward are shot because we are lacking a Sam Wicks we may as well pack it in now.
Once again though I will reiterate I would prefer him to be there next year.
That's fair WW, but we all watched the same team this year. Forward pressure is not exactly something oozing out of most of our players pores.

All I wish for is that if any player, be it McDonald or other, who was considering moving back would do the club a solid for their time and efforts by signing a one year contract so that the opposition are forced to trade and have us over a barrel.

I know player managers would probably not allow their client to do it but * it would be handy.
I was discussing this with a mate this week. Afl should adopt sign and trades similar to nba.

For example if logan wanted freo and they were paying 800k a year. The swans should sign him up for 3 years at 800k. Teams will still trade after they put that much effort into players.

Freo get their man
Logan gets his deal
Swans get fairer compensation.

In saying all that, I desperately don't want logan to leave the club and hope he's signed up long term

I know player managers would probably not allow their client to do it but * it would be handy.
Whilst I completely agree that it would be nice to have the upper hand in negotiations for once you also have to think about the fact that generally speaking we haven't lost many best 22 players who we actually wanted to keep.
Clearly Dawson is the exception that shafted us but I don't know who would be the last one we actually lost that we really wanted to keep before him.
I'd rather be in our position than be a club that really needs to extract maximum value out of outgoing players.

I'm leaning towards Logan staying, but if he wanted to go, I would'nt see him doing a Dawson, he seems like an actual good guy, and would want us looked after. He is a RFA so we could match whatever Freo throw at him.

Logan isn't an RFA, still years away.

Freo just lost Shultz and Henry as well. They'll have quite a bit of room in their cap to offer him something quite decent...

you been living under a rock?

No

He switched footy teams . Some of the vitriol people go on with about him is OTT. If he is considered evil then then we all are.

Mcdonald may well go and get us a shit trade too, so be it .

Freo just lost Shultz and Henry as well. They'll have quite a bit of room in their cap to offer him something quite decent...
Just want to put this one to bed.

The Logan to Freo is a match made in heaven for Freo. They get a FF who has been developed by the Sydney Swans with Buddy Franklin being around to influence his development.

What about Logan? Is he homesick? Signed a 2 year extension.
Prospects.
Freo are losing players. Shultz to Collingwood etc.
Sydney in 2022 were in a grand final. They took a step backwards yes. They had injuries to talls and a deficiency in the clearances in the midfield. Deficiencies in KPD. Defieciences in Ruck with the departure of Ruck Jesus.

This offseason they have done a magnificent job. They brought in the potentially 2nd best ruck in Grundy. He may also help with clearances. They brought in Collingwood's vice captain in Adams to help clearances. They scoured the AFL for KPD and asked virtually every KPD they thought could help Sydney in order of ability and capability finally netting Hamling. They also bolstered the midfield with experience in JJ.

Question?
Would you rather win premierships with a stronger club you are with or go to a club that is losing players and has never won a premiership?
Would you rather stay with you current club and coach that has ben to 4 grand finals in the last 11 years? The lastest 2 years ago in a team that has strong bonds between plays and is arguably getting better?
Fact.
Has players like Corey Warner, Chad Warner, Sheldrick, Hamling from WA. Does not strike me as a homesick mummy's boy. Likes Sydney.
With the departure of Buddy he can step into those big shoes and become a legend of his own making in the years to come.

Freo vs Sydney Swans. Not even a valid question in Logan's mind.

No

He switched footy teams . Some of the vitriol people go on with about him is OTT. If he is considered evil then then we all are.

Mcdonald may well go and get us a s**t trade too, so be it .
Reckon if Logan was to return to WA he would be better off with WCE as a major player in a rebuild. By then they might have their stuff together.
Smarter IMO to get a strong 4 years in with the Swans to get to RFA (or pre-RFA) with even bigger $ to come.
Hope he finishes a one club player.

Reckon if Logan was to return to WA he would be better off with WCE as a major player in a rebuild. By then they might have their stuff together.
Smarter IMO to get a strong 4 years in with the Swans to get to RFA (or pre-RFA) with even bigger $ to come.

I hope he stays, he could probably go to any of the other 17 clubs if he wanted too, worlds his oyster potentially.

probably spot on there, and I hope he stays a one club player too. has he got a Sydney missus yet? ;)

Often people talk about the "go home" factor. I grew up in a very small country town. Of my graduation class only two still live there. It's more a "get the heck away" factor. Surely most 18 year olds would prefer to live in Sydney or Melbourne? I know I did!