60k next week?

Our biggest game for a good few years.

Win and we enter the top eight (Essendon won't beat Hawthorn), lose and it's probably all she wrote for 2011.

Jamar to come back in, Tapscott a chance too.

A nice day, with Richmond also up and about, and we'd have to go close to 60k.

Our biggest game for a good few years.

Win and we enter the top eight (Essendon won't beat Hawthorn), lose and it's probably all she wrote for 2011.

Jamar to come back in, Tapscott a chance too.

A nice day, with Richmond also up and about, and we'd have to go close to 60k.

I agree, glad it's our home game:D

Should get 60k plus easily I would have thought. Deserves that sort of crowd.

Wouldnt right off Essendon's chances on Friday just yet though. Franklin will be out with Roughead already gone, they could be a rough shot.

Yeah Essendon have a habit of beating Hawthorn, and their starting spine - Gilham, Stratton, Renouf, Franklin, Roughead will be missing. I'm not sure the crowd will be massive, the Saturday day game is not a massive crowd drawer anymore. A lot of people have local footy on.

Richmond at home after three games out of town coming off a win and a chance for the top 8 means a potentially huge Tiger turnout if the weather plays along.

I really hope you lot are up and about now that you seem to have a bit of form. Winner of this one should push on. So come on Demons get out and add to the buzz. Your guaranteed the best athmosphere you have played in this season because its against Richmond in some sort of form so come out and enjoy.

There will be 60,000+ for sure. Let's just make the most of the big crowd and continue to roll the Tigers!

edi: and if you're reading this Biff, please don't tip us!!!

I'll be there, we really need this game & by rights should win.

In saying that Richmond should be a year ahead of us & a year behind the Blues with their development, but things went backwards for them in the first half of 2010 & now they getting a level of consistency.

We cleaned out most of our list and started our first proper rebuild in years at the end of 2009 :confused:.

Regardless it should be a cracking game, great to see footy on a saturday arvo at the MCG once again.

We cleaned out most of our list and started our first proper rebuild in years at the end of 2009 :confused:.

Regardless it should be a cracking game, great to see footy on a saturday arvo at the MCG once again.

I understand where you're coming from but I do seem to remember the Wallace "5 year plan" which was a rebuild that was to earn you a premiership by the fifth year, but he was sacked before it was completed but you still gained a number of good players through the draft in that time if I remember correctly.

So I guess you had to do a rebuild within a rebuild.

I understand where you're coming from but I do seem to remember the Wallace "5 year plan" which was a rebuild that was to earn you a premiership by the fifth year, but he was sacked before it was completed but you still gained a number of good players through the draft in that time if I remember correctly.

So I guess you had to do a rebuild within a rebuild.

You're right that we have been rebuilding for a few years now but only partially. Wallace still traded for middle aged and older players far too often to really rebuild the list properly.

No doubt we got some good players from that period but in my view a lot of them weren't really acheving their potential under Wallace and co. Dimma and his team seem to have a much better hand on player development.

Can't wait for the game. Two clubs on the rise and will only get better in the years to come.
Our two clubs are going to flight some fierce battles in the years to come, and they will be for higher stakes that just a spot in the lower reaches of the eight.:thumbsu:

There will be 60,000+ for sure. Let's just make the most of the big crowd and continue to roll the Tigers!

And I think we should do everything possible to make these games - Melbourne vs Richmond - as mammoth as possible. If Melbourne vs Richmond is a 70K+ game every time then both clubs are assured of a big bucket of win and neither has to rely on matches against someone like Collingwood (especially) to ensure it's a marquee match. Our marketing and football departments should ensure that twice a year, Saturday afternoon at the G' is a battle of the real co-tenants.

Gonna be massive and I'm predicting an absolute cracker!

I agree about the potential for games between our two clubs becoming classics over the next few years. Could be some really good games with really big crowds, all supporters from both teams should be getting down!

And I think we should do everything possible to make these games - Melbourne vs Richmond - as mammoth as possible. If Melbourne vs Richmond is a 70K+ game every time then both clubs are assured of a big bucket of win and neither has to rely on matches against someone like Collingwood (especially) to ensure it's a marquee match. Our marketing and football departments should ensure that twice a year, Saturday afternoon at the G' is a battle of the real co-tenants.

couldn't agree more mate ..am hoping for a glorious sun shining day and I reckon we will give 60+ a real nudge

Big call, potentially accurate call.
I would 'like' this if we were on Facebook.

Excited to see how we go a week after handing out a belting. Will be a real challenge. Going to need to try and find a way to watch it from this part of the world, as well.

We got ~40K Vs Freo.

Melbourne should have at least 10K* more supporters turn up than them (it is your away game), so I'd say 50K is a given.

Good weather (forecast looks good for now), and the importance of the match to two teams starved of success should push it to 60K.

* not having a go, but like all teams, I'm sure you get fewer turn up to away games than home games.

Saturday 25 June

Summary
partly-cloudy.png

Min 10
Max 16
Partly cloudy.

Above the G

Partly cloudy. Winds north to northwesterly averaging up to 25 km/h.

I would 'like' this if we were on Facebook.

Excited to see how we go a week after handing out a belting. Will be a real challenge. Going to need to try and find a way to watch it from this part of the world, as well.

Red card yourself Marns, youre clearly asking for an illegal link. ;):D