- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
"Goddess"

- Staff

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
"Goddess"

In that regard you might say they are fairly different players besides both being big powerful mids.
Imagine if you could have Cripps 2 Bont![]()
Had Judd passed to Cripps with his last act on a footy field I would have regarded it as ironic in the sense that it was an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often wryly amusing as a result. That is, Judd literally passing the ball to Cripps with his last action while metaphorically also passing on the mantle of "great Carlton hope" is contrary to what one expects (at a stretch) and amusing.
"Reverse" irony is the literal event being the wrong way round, Cripps passing to Judd.

Not a verb. But yeah.Ironic isn't the right term IMO, I think 'Iconic' is the more apt term in this instance, if you get my drift. I agree with your sentiment, bit I have always felt there is bit of an negative context when the verb Ironic is used.
Regardless, we all love Carlton and Cripps is a future champion, carry on![]()
I am one that had doubt on the Cripps recruit because he didnt feature highly on any of the phantoms, but honestly i dont think i would take anyone a head of Cripps. Cameron McCarthy, Boyd and Bont would be the next best but i reckon Paddy will end up the best of the lot.
Better than Bont?
I like Cripps but Bont looks the complete player.

Had Judd passed to Cripps with his last act on a footy field I would have regarded it as ironic in the sense that it was an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often wryly amusing as a result. That is, Judd literally passing the ball to Cripps with his last action while metaphorically also passing on the mantle of "great Carlton hope" is contrary to what one expects (at a stretch) and amusing.
"Reverse" irony is the literal event being the wrong way round, Cripps passing to Judd.
Love your effort over there mate but I reckon you're talking to brick walls.Here's a post with stats I posted on the main board in response to a poster banging on about us overrating Patty
No one is denying Hogan is playing great footy - he's a joint favourite with Cripps for a reason.
Like Hogan, Cripps is playing in a very difficult position for a 20yr old - inside mid, body on the line at every contest against the biggest, most physically developed mids in the game. Like Hogan, he is matching up against the opposition best inside mids - older, more physically developed opponents and excelling. If you want to look at comparisons:
Ollie Wines 1st season - 22 games, 18.8 disposals, 8.3 contested, 0.5 goals, 3.8 tackles, 2.9 clearances
Joel Selwood 1st season - 21 games, 19.2 disposals, 6.9 contested, 0.33 goals, 4.5 tackles, 3.43 clearances
Cripps 2015 season - 9 games, 22 disposals, 14 contested, 0.5 goals, 4.75 tackles, 5.88 clearances
Selwood and Wines are two of the best in the business and are recognised as having come straight into the game and dominated in the middle. I'm not suggesting he's going to reach those heights and become a star (we can dream) but the stats show very few mids come in at his age and dominate the way Cripps currently is.
Elite inside mids usually take years to get close to the sorts of numbers he is pulling out (think Kennedy, Watson, Dangerfield, Priddis) but Cripps has played 11 games and is sitting 8th in the league for contested possessions. Numbers aside, what is most exciting is his composure, vision and efficiency.
So are Carlton supporters excited by Cripps - hell yes but we certaintly aren't overrating him.
Will he win the Rising Star? It's neck and neck at the moment and injuries aside, I think it will come down to how his and Hogan's bodies hold up in the 2nd half of the year.
Stat's numbers against Selwood/Wines after their first full 2 seasons:
Selwood 2007/08 - 45 games, 22.43 disposals, 7.86 contested, 0.28 goals, 3.73 tackles, 3.45 clearances
Wines 2013/14 - 49 games, 21.6 disposals, 10 contested, 0.45 goals, 4.4 tackles, 3.9 clearances
Cripps 2015 season - 9 games, 22 disposals, 14 contested, 0.5 goals, 4.75 tackles, 5.88 clearances

This Carlton hate thing is a fallacy. The fact is that it's been few and far between us having good young players coming through. That's why we haven't been getting the recognition OR results.Love your effort over there mate but I reckon you're talking to brick walls.
Plus he's a young gun who plays for Carlton. This automatically means most oppositions fans either won't take any notice or assume all our kids are spuds![]()
I suppose Andrew Walker not winning the mark of the year was a fallacy too.This Carlton hate thing is a fallacy. The fact is that it's been few and far between us having good young players coming through. That's why we haven't been getting the recognition OR results.
If you want to believe the reason he didn't win was because he plays for Carlton is the reason he didn't win, then enjoy that. It's a subjective thing, and while i agree it was a better mark, he only lost by less than 1% of the voting or something tiny.I suppose Andrew Walker not winning the mark of the year was a fallacy too.
The All Australian Committee select the mark of the year mate, the public vote was meaningless.If you want to believe the reason he didn't win was because he plays for Carlton is the reason he didn't win, then enjoy that. It's a subjective thing, and while i agree it was a better mark, he only lost by less than 1% of the voting or something tiny.
Yarran won goal of the year the following year, i guess that must've slipped through the hate cracks?
Finally someone said it. This conspiracy crap really grinds my gears.If you want to believe the reason he didn't win was because he plays for Carlton is the reason he didn't win, then enjoy that. It's a subjective thing, and while i agree it was a better mark, he only lost by less than 1% of the voting or something tiny.
Yarran won goal of the year the following year, i guess that must've slipped through the hate cracks?
The MOTY choice that year was a blatant piece of tokenism. It is no surprise that Walker's mark is shown in lots of AFL PR material while Krakouer's mark is nowhere to be seen.The All Australian Committee select the mark of the year mate, the public vote was meaningless.
Walker was screwed because he played for the wrong team, KB saw to that.
Wow, terrible news for the cripps family. Thanks for mentioning that, I hadn't heard it elsewhere. I remember him playing for old xavs? After he left the saints. Was a very good player. Anyway, all the best to the cripps family atm.His cousins is Jason Cripps who collapsed with a heart attack today. Best of luck to him and Patrick who must be feeling it tonight.
Awesome research marley. I'll save that for future arguments with demons supporters! With ur permission of course.Here's a post with stats I posted on the main board in response to a poster banging on about us overrating Patty
No one is denying Hogan is playing great footy - he's a joint favourite with Cripps for a reason.
Like Hogan, Cripps is playing in a very difficult position for a 20yr old - inside mid, body on the line at every contest against the biggest, most physically developed mids in the game. Like Hogan, he is matching up against the opposition best inside mids - older, more physically developed opponents and excelling. If you want to look at comparisons:
Ollie Wines 1st season - 22 games, 18.8 disposals, 8.3 contested, 0.5 goals, 3.8 tackles, 2.9 clearances
Joel Selwood 1st season - 21 games, 19.2 disposals, 6.9 contested, 0.33 goals, 4.5 tackles, 3.43 clearances
Selwood and Wines are two of the best in the business and are recognised as having come straight into the game and dominated in the middle. I'm not suggesting he's going to reach those heights and become a star (we can dream) but the stats show very few mids come in at his age and dominate the way Cripps currently is.
Elite inside mids usually take years to get close to the sorts of numbers he is pulling out (think Kennedy, Watson, Dangerfield, Priddis) but Cripps has played 11 games and is sitting 8th in the league for contested possessions. Numbers aside, what is most exciting is his composure, vision and efficiency.
So are Carlton supporters excited by Cripps - hell yes but we certaintly aren't overrating him.
Will he win the Rising Star? It's neck and neck at the moment and injuries aside, I think it will come down to how his and Hogan's bodies hold up in the 2nd half of the year.
Stat's numbers against Selwood/Wines after their first full 2 seasons:
Selwood 2007/08 - 45 games, 22.43 disposals, 7.86 contested, 0.28 goals, 3.73 tackles, 3.45 clearances
Wines 2013/14 - 49 games, 21.6 disposals, 10 contested, 0.45 goals, 4.4 tackles, 3.9 clearances

My point was that the public vote agreed with the decision, rightly or wrongly. MS summed the decision up well i thought.The All Australian Committee select the mark of the year mate, the public vote was meaningless.
Walker was screwed because he played for the wrong team, KB saw to that.