llosis

West Coast Eagles
I have a half serious question for you docker supporters. I like many Eagles supporters can't work out why you would supporter the dockers. It just doesn't compute. Of course I am well aware you think exactly the same thing of me. And that's fine. But I have a question for you and chance for you to show some insightfulness and wit.

Without being childish and insulting* or relying on 8 year old cliches I want to know why someone should supporter the dockers (as opposed to the eagles or any other team for that matter)?

And no I am not considering changing sides. Or supporting the dockers for that matter.

*note I have resisted numerous opportunities to throw barbs in this post myself...

Originally posted by llosis
I have a half serious question for you docker supporters. I like many Eagles supporters can't work out why you would supporter the dockers. It just doesn't compute. Of course I am well aware you think exactly the same thing of me. And that's fine. But I have a question for you and chance for you to show some insightfulness and wit.

Without being childish and insulting* or relying on 8 year old cliches I want to know why someone should supporter the dockers (as opposed to the eagles or any other team for that matter)?

And no I am not considering changing sides. Or supporting the dockers for that matter.

*note I have resisted numerous opportunities to throw barbs in this post myself...

Maybe it's the attitude of Egirl supporters. I find that they dont give the Dockers any credit at all. OK we have had some crap years and our teams/coaches/board were crap , but we are starting to get things right. Our suppport base has been pretty good since our inception considering the lack of success.We all accuse Victoria and Victorian teams as treating the AFL like it is still the VFL and havent changed with the times. Well I find that Egirls treat the dockers in the same way (It really isnt a 1 team town anymore fellas). Also the players play with arrogance sometimes that irks the crap out of me. I think apart from 1 year , you havent had any real hard times and I think this sometimes shows in your players attitudes and SOME of your supporters attitudes (Too used to winning I suspect).

I use the Tuesday night training session as another example. You can watch the boys train , they ALL stay back and sign autographs and speak to the kids and they treat it like it is not a chore. My 7 year old nephew went to a similar thing for Egirls and he said they werent interested at all(happy to know now he has changed allegiances). What you problay find is that the tide is turning in regards to youth membership and when these young kids grow up , our supporter base will be way strong. I just think that Freo are a club that go out of their way to keep their supporters happy and are less corporatised.

Just an observation

To be perfectly honest, I find the Eagles boring to watch. I enjoy watching the Dockers play the flanks, and partake in a clean, smoothe running game. In my books, they are the most exiting team to watch in the AFL. They can make some stupid mistakes, which has nearly resulted in me throwing the TV out the window, and thay can do some awesome things. I'm looking forward to seeing this young side progress through the AFL as they find experience in every game they play.

DOCKERS ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!

Well it helps when you know the locality of the team you support.

Supported Subiaco and Fitzroy, all of a sudden in comes the eagles and I am expected to support this State side. No way, I hated them.
Decided that I was going to hate the Dockers like I hated the Eagles but half way through the first game realised I actually liked them. After the death of the Roys I liked Freo and Bris, after time It became apparent I liked Freo more than Bris.

Extremely well put, Nurries, my thoughts exactly.
I'd also like to add that my choice to support Freo is not influenced by what's popular, sexy, successful, easier. To me, Freo represents more than a footy team, it's also a culture/way of life.
Also, being a die hard Bulldogs fan, there wasn't a choice really when Freo entered the AFL.

Being abit older than most posters here I can still remember the halcyon days of the WAFL and being a one eyed East fremantle supporter (after taking an interest in a team of mainly Freo Players) it was a natural thing to embrace Freo's AFL team in 1995.

Originally posted by llosis

Why I support Freo
A- I was Born in Freo
B- I live in Freo
C- I watched The WCE destroy 1stly and 2ndly S & E Freo , then the WAFL
D- I hate the WCE
E- Never liked the WCE
F- Promised myself to wait for a Freo team

Unlike others I have never lived anywhere near
Freo and follow Swan Districts. We started following the eagles (we were never really dinkum supporters) but got cheesed off pretty early on. It wasnt possible to turn on the TV or the Radio wihout getting the eagles rammed down your throat. THe eagles werent (and probably still arent) a real club they were more of a marketing exercise.

When Freo came in we felt they were more of a genuine club with a bit of history behind them. Having a father who was a staunch Claremont supporter certainly helped initially. Once you start barracking for a team you just cant give them away because they arent travelling to well. As Pete said they're more than a footy team they're a culture/way of life.

Funny thing Ilosis, and this is not me being a smart arse, but I often wonder why on earth anyone would want to support the Eagles... what have they got going for them? (That's my thought, not something I want you to respond to - it's rhetorical so please don't think I'm trolling....).

Along the lines of Hitman:

1. Born in Freo
2. Went to Freo Oval each S.Freo home game as a kid to cheer on my red and white heroes
3. Live in Freo - wouldn't (couldn't) live anywhere else
4. Truly and wholly believe that Freo is the best part of Perth - it has atmosphere, culture, the beach, and great places to "hang out" (why else would it be full of visitors from every other part of Perth each and every weekend?? - and also why would it be the number 1 tourist destination from visitors outside of Perth/WA??)
5. It was not a choice thing - I "followed" the eagles until 1995, but it was never any question that when a Freo team came in that it would be my team. I didn't choose the "Dockers" - The team from Fremantle chose me. Like a calling.
6. It's a funny thing being a "Freo person" - it's an intangible part of the internal self. Fremantle (the place) has a spirit of its own - you just know when you belong somewhere, when it's a part of who you are. Freo born and bred. It's in the blood. How could you not support the Dockers when you're a Freo person, inside and out?

Now there'll no doubt be some who'll come and and bag me for this, but I've tried to give you an honest asnwer. So bag away - just shows that you can't / don't / will never understand the connection to this town, Fremantle. It will just wash off, and I'll be laughing.

This question is typical of what you come to expect from an Eagles supporter. The fact that he even has to ask the question tells me that you will never know what it takes or what it is like to be a real supporter.
In the days before the Fremantle Dockers I would occassionaly go to Eagles matches but being a true blue South Fremantle supporter I quickly came to realise that most of the Eagles supporters knew very little about the game of football at times even abusing and booing thier own players? The last straw was when the father of an Eagles player got into a fight with some Eagles supporters for booing and making unsavoury comments about his son.I helped break the fight up and gave him a lift home. Eagles supporters are always looking for someone or something to blame when they lose. There is more to being a supporter than turning up on the day & paying your $25 bucks at the gate. It's about loyalty in good and bad times and we have seen plenty of them.
And as far as your two Premierships go before the Dockers came along, you cannot keek living in the past you have won as much silver as Freo since 94 absolutely nothing.

Like a few of the other Dockers supporters here, I was born on Fremantle.

I think the real reason that all Dockers supporters follow the club is not through the wins we have, but the many losses. Though we have experienced failure in the past, it doesn't get any easier to cope with. I think any passionate football fan will be able to sympathise with the feeling you get after your team loses on the weekend. Id you really care about your team, you almost get a case of depression after every loss you have, where anything anyone says will not amend the fact that your team lost on the weekend.

However when your team wins, you simply can't wipe the smile off your face. This comes after coping with the constant ridicule, failure and incompetence that comes with supporting a football club. Though you may bag some of the players now and then and criticize the way the club is run, you will never say that you hate the club itself. For the club is the rich blood of history that you choose yourself to associate with, whether it be new (such as freo and port) or whether you choose to associate the club back to it's roots (The Fremantle football club, South Fremantle and East Fremantle.

Every Fremantle supporter knows the feeling that a game is never in the bag and we will have to work for every goal we get. This is what makes the Dockers so popular with our fans. We may not be the most direct and traditional players of the game, but our players know how to take a normal game and make you laugh, cry and cheer all in one great game of footy.

So in answering your question, I really couldn't say what really makes us freo fans. However when you watch a game involving freo, you will immediately know when you start to throw inanimate objects at the TV, before letting the whole neighbourhood know about it when they kick a goal in an away game. When they play at home you see the best and the worst of the Dockers within the space of 2 1/2 hours. But when you almost can't speak after a 1-point win, you know you've done well.

The bottom line is that you don't "think" you like a football club, you feel it.

Was never really interested in the AFL/VFL competition but did support eastfremantle. Then a new team came out and when i heard the song and saw the anchor ceremony on TV for the first time i knew this was my team and haven't and never will stop supporting them.

Very interesting reading.
I can't understand this "Fremantle" thing. When the club first started, they were a lot more "Claremont" than "Fremantle". Now they have more players on their list that have played with another AFL club than any other side. In tomorrows game, Fremantle have 9 players who have played for other teams.
In contrast, StKilda who, like Fremantle have been rewarded for many crap years, have chosen to build a team from scratch. It will be interesting to see which team has the more success.
I did not ever follow an AFL team until the Eagles and have been a member and supporter ever since. I would never dream of following a different side. It really irks me how many Fremantle supporters rave about passion for the team, when a lot of them are selfconfessed turncoats who once followed the Eagles. How does that make sense?
The Fremantle Dockers have absolutely no relation to either South or East Fremantle. They are teams which play in a completely seperate league.
Those of you who say the Eagles have ever had any tough years, have absolutely no idea about the early years. The Eagles had to train at suburban or school grounds, carry their gear in the boots of their cars, had a smaller list than the other clubs, had to pay their own travel expenses, had a limit on the number of players they could recruit from the WAFL clubs and other AFL clubs. Those who say the Eagles were a "state side" are completely wrong.
Personally, I have no feelings for Fremantle whatsoever - except as another AFL club which is there to be beaten. People who say they support both teams "because they are from WA" are beyond my comprehension.

Originally posted by vicki
Very interesting reading.
1. I can't understand this "Fremantle" thing.
2. It really irks me how many Fremantle supporters rave about passion for the team, when a lot of them are selfconfessed turncoats who once followed the Eagles. How does that make sense?
3. The Fremantle Dockers have absolutely no relation to either South or East Fremantle. They are teams which play in a completely seperate league.
4. Personally, I have no feelings for Fremantle whatsoever - except as another AFL club which is there to be beaten. People who say they support both teams "because they are from WA" are beyond my comprehension.

1. Wouldn't expect you to.

2. John Laws used to say, "When you're on a good thing, stick to it." If that works for you, fine.

He then "upgraded" and the saying became, "When you find a better thing, switch to it."

I prefer the upgraded version.

And that seems to be the reason most WCE supporters hate us with such vengeance and irrationality. How could we "desert" their club? The reason... We found something better.

3. It's not about E.Freo or S.Freo being in a different league, it's about loving and supporting Freo footy. And it'a bout identifying with Fremantle, the place, not WCE, the concept.

4. We agree on that point (except of course substitute "Fremantle" for "WCE":D ).

Fremantle have 9 players who have played for other teams.
In contrast, StKilda who, like Fremantle have been rewarded for many crap years, have chosen to build a team from scratch. It will be interesting to see which team has the more success.

The core of our team are really players we have developed.

Have a look at the St. Kilda list and look at how many are recruits?

Off the top of my head...

Gehrig
Hamill
Penny
Black
Callaghan
Voss
Powell
Brooks
Lawrence
Capuano

What's your point?

A question

Kenny - You say the core of your side are players you have developed. Your "imports" are Bell, Farmer,Simmonds, Headland,McPharlin,Longmuir,Croad,Cook and Carr. Which of those (apart from Croad of course) are not your "core" players? Of your non-imports, the only one in your top ten would be Haselby. No need to get all defensive :D
By the way, by my reckoning, the Saints side this weekend, has five imports.

Re: A question

Kenny - You say the core of your side are players you have developed. Your "imports" are Bell, Farmer,Simmonds, Headland,McPharlin,Longmuir,Croad,Cook and Carr. Which of those (apart from Croad of course) are not your "core" players? Of your non-imports, the only one in your top ten would be Haselby. No need to get all defensive :D

Vicki the vast majority of our "imports" are WA boys. It is no coincidence that since we have concentrated on locals we have improved. Unlike another side who is purporting to represent "somewhere" with Victorians. ;)

It's not our fault we have recruited better than the Saints. If their recruits aren't getting games, that means their recruiting hasn't been good.

Pavlich, Hasleby, Haddrill, J. Longmuir, Hayden, Woods, Medhurst, Sandilands, Polak, Schammer, Grover, etc. are the core of our side for the future, along with Headland, McPharlin and a couple of others from the other list.

We have a reasonably handy player called Pavlich who might just crack our top 10...:rolleyes:
Then there's a young lad called Polak, and probably the best back-pocket of 2003... name's Hayden (you know one of the no-namers)

Longmuir, T - an "import" from WA
Longmuir, J - a draftee
Farmer - wanted to come home, WCE would have taken him if they could have done the deal
Headland - ditto
McPharlin - E.Freo boy who wanted to come back to Fremantle - deal was done, spent most of his time at the Hawks injured. methinks WCE would have jumped at the chance to recruit a tall, athletic KPP, if they had the chance.
Bell - back to where he started (although it does bug me a bit when they talk of an "inaugural Docker hungry for finals success after years in the shadows", after he won 2 premierships at North Melb. )
Your argument almost hold up with some of the others.
I'd call it good recruiting (OK with the obvious exception of Croad...).
And again - it's about the club, the identity and the jumper.
If we suddenly traded our entire list for WCE's (god forbid), I'd still support Freo.

The Core

Ahh now Kenny - you originally did not specify the core of your team for the future!

Ripper - Whether those boys were born in WA or not does not change the fact that they have played for other teams. Whether our boys were born here or SA or Vic, we choose them as kids and nurture them ourselves.

Re: The Core

Ripper - Whether those boys were born in WA or not does not change the fact that they have played for other teams. Whether our boys were born here or SA or Vic, we choose them as kids and nurture them ourselves.

They do not have a "choice" where they go under the communist draft system. So if they want to come home (where they were "developed") they first HAVE to go somewhere else.

"Kids" is a bit strong as they have already learnt most of their footy long before you get a chance to "nurture" them. I have no doubt that the Selwood twins for example (if they had a choice)would rather not be "Nutured" at oposite ends of the country but rather be "Nurtured" at the same club.

Re: The Core

Ahh now Kenny - you originally did not specify the core of your team for the future!

Eh, we'll take the best players avaliable even if they have played for another club. I mean drafting local kids is great, but every now and then you get a Brandon Hill.

Read a thread titled "Why I stayed".
Most of the freo supporters posted why they support the dockers and why they have stayed around.

I think that did it for me, was always the promise of next year and the young exciting player we just got.
Eventually it rang true.