A Section DEC-FECTA

Port Adelaide
Notre Dame
For a bottle of malt whisky, nominate from 1-10 the finishing order of A Section teams after R18.
  • Closing date for entries midnight 21st April.
  • Points will be allotted as follows:
    Each player begins with 90 points;
    2 points awarded for each team in correct slot,
    1 point per slot per team for each incorrect placing (e.g., tip OMs to finish top and they finish 10th, you lose 9pts)
  • Tie-break is the earlier (or earliest) correct entry.
  • Multiple entries allowed but latter entry cancels out any prior.

After much consideration and total lack of knowlege on player gains and losses, I'm having first stab:

After R18

1. Uni Blues
2. Old Scotch
3. Old Xavs
4. Marcellin
5. St Bernards
6. Old Haileybury
7. Old Trinity
8. Old Ivanhoe
9. De La
10. Old Melburnians

1: UB
2: OX
3: OS
4: OT
5: M
6: OH
7: OI
8: De La
9: OM
10: St. B

All rumours will become fact as of 22nd April 2006

1. St Bernards
2. Old Xavs
3. Uni Blues
4. Old Hailebury
5. Old Scotch
6. Marcellin
7. Old Trinity
8. Old Ivanhoe
9. De La
10. Old Melburnians

***Watch out for the dogs...best young list and best coaches in A grade!

1. Uni Blues - best side in the competition the last 2 years
2. Old Hail - very good side last year enhanced by rumoured recruiting
3. Old Xavs - can never be underestimated
4. St Bernards - Strong, proud club with a lot of influence
5. Old Scotch - they'll fumble their way through another season
6. Marcellin - lack of depth is a concern
7. Old Trinity - Uninspiring but often dangerous
8. OM's - Great ground, great showers, great.....no that's it!
9. De La - The yo-yo continues
10. Old Ivan - ''

1. Blues
2. Xavs
3. Haileybury
4. Trinity
5. Bernards
6. Scotch
7. Marcellin
8. De La
9. OMs
10. Old Ivanhoe

1. Uni Blues – good coach good players, but position after round 18 no reflection on premiership chances!
2. Old Xavs – never underestimate, recruited well, always seem to have a “get of jail free” card come finals time, will race handy and time their run
3. Old Haileybury – good players, well led on the field but won’t improve if Nicholson stays coaching them, can’t even get a website together!
4. St Bernards – usual mid season dip when they all head off to some country ute muster or the B&S season, tough but gutted following “the Nicholson era”
5. Old Scotch –when the going gets tough, Scotch boys jump in the Rangie and go home, big on potential backed up by hearts the size of peas
6. Marcellin – who cares?
7. Old Trinity – will always be the little school on the top of the hill, rent a small block from Xavier, could be closed down any minutes, hence the big country block out in Bulleen
8. Old Ivanhoe – poo brown jumpers just shouldn’t be allowed in A grade
9. De La – lots of heart, just not quite up to it
10. Old Melburnians – will choke on the silver spoon and get a wooden one instead, football always spoils a good ski season, eh boys!

1. Uni Blues - Dangerous team, but may struggle to find the ball so wide of the packs on the last day of the year.
2. Scotch - Cornered the world market on gas masks.
3. St. Bernards - Can't step on the field at the pit without ********ty looking dyed blonde hair. They must recruit from a pet store...Rat bogans.
4. Xavs - Surely couldn't do it again from 4th, or could they?
5. Hailebury - Good blokes coached by a knobhead. He won't take them too far this year.
6. Hoers - Let's see if they can prove me wrong.
7. Trinity - With the departure of a key forward who refers to himself in the third person, I can't see them doing any better than here.
8. Marcellin - Too many pie nights at that club.
9. OM - Can't hang on again, enjoy the slopes boys.
10. De La - Going to Dairy Bell is more enticing than watching those battlers. Bye Bye, again.

froggie6 said:
1. St Bernards
2. Old Xavs
3. Uni Blues
4. Old Hailebury
5. Old Scotch
6. Marcellin
7. Old Trinity
8. Old Ivanhoe
9. De La
10. Old Melburnians

***Watch out for the dogs...best young list and best coaches in A grade!
How can anyone take you seriously? St bernards top? Yeah right. Why don't you put OM's 2nd and De La 3rd and then we can all have a good laugh.

Take St Bernards off the top, move everone up one and slot to pitters in 5th or 6th, then you will be taken a bit more seriously.

"Best young list in A grade?" - Didn't I say leave the jokes to me?

CrustyClown said:
How can anyone take you seriously? St bernards top? Yeah right. Why don't you put OM's 2nd and De La 3rd and then we can all have a good laugh.

Take St Bernards off the top, move everone up one and slot to pitters in 5th or 6th, then you will be taken a bit more seriously.

Opinions are like a***holes crusty, but i find it hard to believe your writing of a club that has played in 4 of the last 6 grand finals...all with different teams.

Give us your line up then son!

1 Uni Blues
2 Old Hailebury
3 Old Xavs
4 Old Scotch
5 Stbernards
6 Old Ivanhoe
7 Marcellin
8 Old Trinity
9 Old Melb
10 De La

CrustyClown said:

Thanks Crusty. Now how about putting in an entry yourself and leaving everyone else alone to do same.

1. Uni Blues - It has to be hurting!
2. St. Bernards - I have heard some large whispers down at the Pit. It is like the Enchanted Woods!
3. Old Xavs - No need to explain!
4. Old Hail - Nice list. Training well!
5. Old Scotch - I enjoy putting them in fifth!
6. Old Trinity - I have nothing to say about them. 6th sums them up perectly
7. Marcellin - Always have a few nice onballers to keep them from B-Grade
8. Old Melb - Only because the B-Graders of 05 will be very ordinary
9. De-La - Just not good enough to compete with stronger clubs
10. Old Ivanhoe - Bad Jumper, ordinary team!

Dear Eddie: Fantastic idea, however may i suggest an alternate system for judging the winner. You could lose 1 point for every position out of place your teams are at the end of the year.

For example going on my above ladder, it would be a great effort by me if the final 4 was St.B, Uni, OH, Xavs - however i would be rewarded with a big 0. If Jo Blow went for Dela, Trinity, OM's and Old Hail for the top 4, he would score 1. (for Old Hail position)

It would just lead to a more accurate ladder overall. You need to be punished more heavily for getting a team 7-8 spots out of position, than someone who gets them out of position by only 1 place.;)

Moss Rocket said:
Dear Eddie: Fantastic idea, however may i suggest an alternate system for judging the winner. You could lose 1 point for every position out of place your teams are at the end of the year.

Good thinking. Scoring refinement #1: (I'll edit my first post if I can, too)

Each player begins with 90 points and
1. gains 2 points for each team in position; but
2. loses one point per position for each team not in the right slot. (eg. tip OMs to finish top, you lose 9 points on them if they finish 10th.

OK chaps, happy to donate a bottle of Malt Whisky to make this more interesting. Anyone else can also add to the prizepool if they so desire. My revised finishing order is now this:

1. Blues
2. Haileybury
3. Xavs
4. St Bernards
5. Trinity
6. Marcellin
7. De La
8. Scotch
9. Old Ivanhoe
10. OMs

Eddie Woloschek said:
OK chaps, happy to donate a bottle of Malt Whisky to make this more interesting. Anyone else can also add to the prizepool if they so desire. My revised finishing order is now this:

1. Blues
2. Haileybury
3. Xavs
4. St Bernards
5. Trinity
6. Marcellin
7. De La
8. Scotch
9. Old Ivanhoe
10. OMs

Why did Aaron Lord choose red and black over poo brown? Surely must be the most ordinary bloke to shaft his school heritage since Mick Blood. Looking forward to the Browns wreaking havoc with him when they play each other.

Problem with your theory BS is that I could name a heap of Ivanhoe Grammarians (past 15 years) who have played serious ammo footy that never ventured into Pine lodge because of a long list of reasons. One particular fellow played AFL- was offered PLENTY to go back after being delisted...only to laugh at them because their political/ clicky/ handbag mentality!!

1. Old Xavs
2. Uni Blues
3. St Bernards
4. Haileybury
5. Old Ivanhoe
6. Trinity
7. DLS
8. Marcellin
9. Scotch
10. Old Melburnians

brian speaking said:
Why did Aaron Lord choose red and black over poo brown? Surely must be the most ordinary bloke to shaft his school heritage since Mick Blood. Looking forward to the Browns wreaking havoc with him when they play each other.

Brian, we thought we had him early in the preseason, but then he turned his back on us and decided to head for the OX's, only to talk to us again. Not sure where he is at at the moment, but one thing for sure is that anyone who plays at Old Ivanhoe wants to play for Old Ivanhoe.

That is the reason why i rate playing Amateur footy so highly. Our club (and i would suggest many VAFA clubs) is full of Ivanhoe Old Boys and blokes that love playing together and for each other.

uglydermie said:
Problem with your theory BS is that I could name a heap of Ivanhoe Grammarians (past 15 years) who have played serious ammo footy that never ventured into Pine lodge because of a long list of reasons. One particular fellow played AFL- was offered PLENTY to go back after being delisted...only to laugh at them because their political/ clicky/ handbag mentality!!.

Uglydermie got any names?? I've been there for 7 years and haven't heard anything like that.

Son of a Gun said:
1. Old Xavs
2. Uni Blues
3. St Bernards
4. Haileybury
5. Old Ivanhoe
6. Trinity
7. DLS
8. Marcellin
9. Scotch
10. Old Melburnians

HAHA classic, put Scotch in the top 4-5 and Ivanhoe on the bottom and you'll be pretty close i reckon

Destination A Grade said:
Brian, we thought we had him early in the preseason, but then he turned his back on us and decided to head for the OX's, only to talk to us again. Not sure where he is at at the moment, but one thing for sure is that anyone who plays at Old Ivanhoe wants to play for Old Ivanhoe.

That is the reason why i rate playing Amateur footy so highly. Our club (and i would suggest many VAFA clubs) is full of Ivanhoe Old Boys and blokes that love playing together and for each other.

DAG,
I agree absolutely, it seems to me like the OX's are forgetting that they are an Old Boys team. I would love to know how may old boys actually get to pull on the boots week in week out at Xavs. No-one doubts their amazing success but perhaps they would be better to ply their trade in the VFL!
I can also tell you, as you well know, it was very gratifying winning the B Section flag with 20 out of 22 being St Kevins Old Boys than what it was almost dominating A grade in our recent years in the top flight. No egos, no w a n k e r s no high mainatenance d i c k h e a d s from the backblocks who thought that they were bigger than the club.
We then made that mistake last year going after Mc Kee and co, and it cost us dearly. You can see that Mc Keew was a mistake as he now trains at, you guessed it, Old Xavs and palys bush footy.
SKOB mayl struggle this year, but at least most of the boys are born and bred and are in fact Old Boys of St Kevins College.
I hope the browns stick it to them in A grade in 06.

Destination A Grade said:

DAG,
I agree absolutely, it seems to me like the OX's are forgetting that they are an Old Boys team. I would love to know how may old boys actually get to pull on the boots week in week out at Xavs. No-one doubts their amazing success but perhaps they would be better to ply their trade in the VFL!
I can also tell you, as you well know, it was very gratifying winning the B Section flag with 20 out of 22 being St Kevins Old Boys than what it was almost dominating A grade in our recent years in the top flight. No egos, no w a n k e r s no high mainatenance d i c k h e a d s from the backblocks who thought that they were bigger than the club.
We then made that mistake last year going after Mc Kee and co, and it cost us dearly. You can see that Mc Kee was a mistake as he now trains at, you guessed it, Old Xavs and palys bush footy.
SKOB mayl struggle this year, but at least most of the boys are born and bred and are in fact Old Boys of St Kevins College.
I hope the browns stick it to them in A grade in 06.

brian speaking said:
DAG said:
Stay on topic. This should be on the Brian Whingeing (Again) Board.

But while I'm at it, a quick glance at the Xavs website and a little knowledge will reveal:
  • OX 2003 flag: 17 of 21 attended Xavier
  • OX 2005 flag: 13 of 22 went to Xavier
  • OX 9 A Section flags between 1981-2005: 128 of the 171 premiership medals won by Xavier old boys. (best guesstimate)
  • in the entire history of St Kevin's, not one non-Monga road alum has ever played in a St Kevin's A Section flag. Now that is a record that will stand for a lot of years yet.

Eddie Woloschek said:
brian speaking said:
Stay on topic. This should be on the Brian Whingeing (Again) Board.

But while I'm at it, a quick glance at the Xavs website and a little knowledge will reveal:
  • OX 2003 flag: 17 of 21 attended Xavier
  • OX 2005 flag: 13 of 22 went to Xavier
  • OX 9 A Section flags between 1981-2005: 128 of the 171 premiership medals won by Xavier old boys. (best guesstimate)
  • in the entire history of St Kevin's, not one non-Monga road alum has ever played in a St Kevin's A Section flag. Now that is a record that will stand for a lot of years yet.
Eddie, it's Moonga Rd you d i c k. Obviously an OX, good luck to you...2006, 3 of the 22 went to Xavier in the flag???