Toast A Swift Return

Was a solid contributor, but still contributed some silly turnovers.

Loved how posters on here reckon he's EXPLOSIVE.

He had a chance to run in at goal and got caught :o

But will be in the 22 next week. Just hope it doesn't cost us. ;)

Poor call, he was running at full tilt int he wet and the ball bounced shit for him when he tried a running bounce, cost him a crucial split second and did well to get the kick away, something he usually struggles to do.

Ok game. Some good disposal and 1-2 costly turnovers. In all better than Masten last week so he should get another game.

He plays a stationary game as a linking player and reasonably played within his limitations. A bit like the smart old bloke playing amos. He lacks run in big way at the moment and Gaff offers more as a starting mid.

Defining times for Swift and Masten over the next 12 months.

He may develop with confidence but absolute pace doesn't look to be his strength.

Looked motivated and focused at the start, ran to space well and showed great vision with the ball. The mistake he made in defence was one Scooter made earlier inthe game and I believe someone else made too... Almost like they were supposed to look for that spot. Anyway, very encouraged with the game and would love to see him played inside more at stoppages - he really does have the ability to hit the right target when under pressure.

Swift by name, but not by nature.
Needs to get the ball away quicker.
Always gets caught at least once a game.
Classic this week as he strolled towards goal and was run down, grubbering the kick.
In the WAFL he probably gets away with it. If he can fix this part of his game...bye bye Masten.

Classic this week as he strolled towards goal and was run down, grubbering the kick.
In the WAFL he probably gets away with it. If he can fix this part of his game...bye bye Masten.

Just because a player gets caught once or twice doesn't make him slow. The fastest players in the league get caught sometimes.

Also, I think there is a spot in the team for both Masten and Swift. Masten just needs to toughen up and stop being such a soft **** pretty boy.

He look nervous as you would expect adjusting the AFL speed as opposed to WAFL pace, and in the wet too.

I thought he did well considering the conditions and he's been in and out of the side. Certainly had a crack, put his body into the contest and won some hard contested ball without being a star.

Would hate to get dropped after that performance, should pay again this week.

Saw him do a few really slick handballs in congestion. Going off yesterday's game I think he'll be a certain starter next year.

He needs to get the ball away quicker that one time he was almost caught or every time he gets the ball? Because it seems to me the longer he takes the better a decision and the more classy he is. The reason his on an AFL list, getting an AFL game is his ability to make time seem irrelevant.

Swift is a Zippy midfielder his got plenty of pace but no break neck top speed, his pace of the mark makes him better around packs than in open play. Equally his pace falls away as the game went on as he was running hard all game. Nice of you to ignore obvious explanations that the ball didn't come back to him when he bounced it.

That poise in front of goal was pretty nice I thought - Didn't end in a positive string overall, but knew what pressure was in front of him and took his time. Onfortunately he didn't have any options.

I like Swift. He is one of our most creative midfielders. He's always, always looking to create space and forward movement with his disposals. This is very different to guys like Scooter and Masten who tend to treat the footy like a hot potato and hands off to the first human they see.

Swift frustrates because you can tell he doesn't want to revert to this hot potato style, just because it's AFL pace. He gets caught a lot because he's always looking for the best option and that means holding onto the ball that bit longer. He also does this with his kicking, where he tries to be a bit too cute with his left.

He's absolutely worth persisting with, because that creativity is already there, once his decision making speeds up, and it becomes a bit more natural at AFL tempo, he's going to make a sick inside mid. He really has loads of talent, it just needs to click.

I like Swift. He is one of our most creative midfielders. He's always, always looking to create space and forward movement with his disposals. This is very different to guys like Scooter and Masten who tend to treat the footy like a hot potato and hands off to the first human they see.

Swift frustrates because you can tell he doesn't want to revert to this hot potato style, just because it's AFL pace. He gets caught a lot because he's always looking for the best option and that means holding onto the ball that bit longer. He also does this with his kicking, where he tries to be a bit too cute with his left.

Sums up my thoughts pretty well.

Not sure about that one, his awareness is average at best...
I see his awareness as being very good in one sense but a bit lacking in another. He has great awareness of exactly where his teammates are around him and who he wants to get the ball to, but seems to be poor at picking up exactly how much pressure he is under from behind him.

Yeah i tend to agree a little but having the awareness to know your under pressure should come first.

He's absolutely worth persisting with, because that creativity is already there, once his decision making speeds up, and it becomes a bit more natural at AFL tempo, he's going to make a sick inside mid. He really has loads of talent, it just needs to click.
+1

Completely agree and that's why I believe he should be given every opportunity to adjust to the AFL game pace. Also seems to play better with better players around. He was much better with his focus and intensity that earlier this season, which is encouraging and a step in the right direction.

Goog game by Swift, best I can recall him playing at AFL level. He also looks like he has bulked up a bit which is gonna help his game style.
We have have pretty good talent scouts and they obviously saw something in him, maybe we got a glimpse of what that is on the weekend.:thumbsu:;)

He still looks like a twig f64.

I actually thought his legs looked a fair bit bigger. Loved his attack on the ball. Those that know me, know that's all that matters, the attack on the ball. :D

Fantastic effort from Tom!

Thought his second and third efforts were very good. Made multiple contests when we were struggling in the 3rd.

His work in close looks good and he is an inside mid who can link up in play. There is no point playing him off the HFF, imo.

---

GO EAGLES is right about one thing, if he cut his hair he would be more effective. My theory is that bald headed/short haired players makes it easier for umpires to adjudicate free kicks.

I swear, that ridiculous mane cost him a free kick.

Just watched the game again, I was very surprised to see just how often he was in and under winning hard balls, as well as laying heaps of sheppards, including one that gave Hurn his 3rd goal just after he almost had his face kicked off.

That poster that said he was only getting cheapies must have been at the races, seeing a horse be given congratulatory carrots.

having an awareness of what's behind you is your teammates job. If swifty gets run down from behind it's not because he has a lack of awareness it's because his teammates aren't communicating to him