Toast A view from M2

The Magnificent Seven

Bucks Lockdown Beard, The Sherriff, Rrrooocccaaa
A perspective on the match from our vantage point as supporters on Saturday night...

On a freezing Friday night in '08, the Magpie boys pulled out something pretty special to stop a Geelong outfit in its tracks. Saturday night was a cold, cold night but there was also a whiff of something else in the air... momentum.

I usually hate Cats vs Pies matches not so much for the football, but for the supremely arrogant supporters who - 3-4 years ago - were once humble Cats fans who I actually felt happy for. A workman-like team who had missed flags for so many years finally got their big break. But now - 2010 - strut around and sneer like the dream will never end. Saturday's crowd was no different, and actually worse as we had managed tickets just behind and to the right of the cheer squad. The big fat, squinty-eyed bomber-jacket fan with the knowing look every time Chapman got the ball. The bald, mouthy scarf guy who pumped his fist near my nose in the 2nd quarter. Mouthy, drunk, misinformed girlfriend who took to parroting my neighbor, a crusty old Pies faithful.

Right on half time the banter took a turn for the worse. "Prelim, Pies. Prelim." "Mate, now's when the afterburners kick in and we do them by 60 points". "Travis Cloke, what a joke", etc...

Can I just say how much satisfaction I took in two things. Number one was the slow realisation that all that was once taken for granted no longer remained - we slowly but surely dismantled Geelong until they could barely run or make decisions. Number two was the way the Magpie faitfhful kept the chants, the cheers, the claps and the banter up even when we were behind - we SUPPORTED our club, unlike the arrogant tossers around us who started leaving mid-way through the last.

Truly magnificent night on Saturday - the lovely lady and I shared a romantic moment belting out the theme song before retiring for a 'recovery session' at the local bar. And how good was it waking up Sunday morning to THAT sunshine and knowing we had a whole day of basking in it...

Go Pies.

Soak it up, it's times like these we have to enjoy because they come around all too rarely. :)

Same experience at the top of the Olympic for me

I made sure they heard about it when Cloke buried his set shot, then Mooney, and Hunt proceeded to kick rubbish

yeh i was sitting next to cocky Geelong suporters and late in the game when James Kelly got a rare possession, i screamed out Sleep on this kelly and got a few laughs from pies suporters and geelong fans got pissed off, then the siren went, WHAT A NIGHT:D
GO THE WOODS

Halfway through last quarter:-

Drunken Girlfriend (screeching): "Geez these Pies are shit - look how many points you've kicked compared to us"

Sherriff: "Yes, I can see: We're 100, you're 84"

DG: "...."

:D Haha.

I made sure they heard about it when Cloke buried his set shot, then Mooney, and Hunt proceeded to kick rubbish

Too right Opti - can anyone explain what - if any - difference our forward lines have? Mooney pretty much == Travis. Leroy > Hawkins. Beams >= Stokes. Etc...

Halfway through last quarter:-

Drunken Girlfriend (screeching): "Geez these Pies are shit - look how many points you've kicked compared to us"

Sherriff: "Yes, I can see: We're 100, you're 84"

DG: "...."

:D Haha.
Rather large geelong supporting woman: "Come on Mooney show Travis choke how its done"
<mooney proceeds to miss>
me "you know cloke has 2 tonight and mooney none?"
Large Geelong supporting woman "Yeah but how many premierships have you won?"
me "that would be 14 still more then what 8?"

large geelong supporter "yeah but go **** yourself and ill see you crying in september"
me "we won tonight and we will win in september, and oh don't worry no one would **** you anyway"

Cue major laughter from the collingwood supporters in the crowd

Too right Opti - can anyone explain what - if any - difference our forward lines have? Mooney pretty much == Travis. Leroy > Hawkins. Beams >= Stokes. Etc...
Both cloke and leroy are far superior players to Mooney and hawkins at everything

Rather large geelong supporting woman: "Come on Mooney show Travis choke how its done"

large geelong supporter "yeah but go **** yourself and ill see you crying in september"
me "we won tonight and we will win in september, and oh don't worry no one would **** you anyway"

I lolled.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

I had a bitch Geelong supporter behind me the other night tell me to sit down after I jumped up to celebrate Didak's goal.

I told her that I actually come to the footy to support my team, and that it isn't the ballet. She then told me she was going to report me to the AFL. I lol'd and told her to go ahead.

If the theme of this thread is perspective, then I'm sure you'll welcome a view from the other side.

I went to the game with my in-laws who are Collingwood members and enjoyed the game despite sitting alone among what felt like 10,000 Collingwood supporters.

I'm happy to report that 99% of the crowd was enjoying the game - but not surprisingly there was a handful of ferals nearby that completely matched the description of the horrible Geelong bogans you had the displeasure of being seated next to.

Imagine me sitting quietly trying to enjoy the match whilst hearing:

Steve Johnson - you bloody drunk!
Ablett - You're a useless, soft stats cheat! Stick your fingers up your nose and use your head a bowling ball!
Stokes - Bloody drug addict criminal! You should be in jail you dog!
Selwood - You're a gutless cheat Selwood! Gutless!
Hunt - Muscle bound f*ggot!

The worst call for the night though (from the "You're gutless Selwood!" guy) was, "You are a f***wit, Cloke! F*** off to f***ing Gold Coast!" His poor son sits quietly beside him every week apparently.

So it could go on forever. Every club has thousands of horrible supporters and Collingwood is no different to Geelong.

I must say though, I've been to Kardinia Park many times and I've never heard the entire crowd boo an opposition player just for being good. I just couldn't believe that Ablett was routinely booed by the 10,000 supporters sitting around me. That kind of behaviour can't be put down to just a few bad eggs. That's endemic.

Must've missed the last time we played there and the booing buckley got

A very stylish gloat, Sherriff.:thumbsu:

Same experience at the top of the Olympic for me

I can confirm this would have been loud.

Was that chivalrous, Opti? Poor oul Cat.

I had a bitch Geelong supporter behind me the other night tell me to sit down after I jumped up to celebrate Didak's goal.

I told her that I actually come to the footy to support my team, and that it isn't the ballet. She then told me she was going to report me to the AFL. I lol'd and told her to go ahead.

Bloody ferals - actually standing up at the footy.:D Post here if you're banned for life.

I can confirm this would have been loud.

Was that chivalrous, Opti? Poor oul Cat.
certainly was loud

and yeah at the time certainly seemed right

Had a fair few Cats supporters around me which sucked but boy was it good letting them know all about it once we had the game won.
One Cats supporter claimed the fat lady was about to sing when they went 2 goals up...let him know all about it once we got on top!

The guy behind me spilled some beer on my seat but was nice enough to use his Geelong scarf to clean it up after I gave him a little serve. At the other end of the spectrum though I had a cats bogan try and start trouble b4 the game even started as he felt it was his right to just walk over people in the aisles and not excuse himself. When I questioned him he slurred some obscenities at me but I just let it go & worried about the game.

If the theme of this thread is perspective, then I'm sure you'll welcome a view from the other side.

I went to the game with my in-laws who are Collingwood members and enjoyed the game despite sitting alone among what felt like 10,000 Collingwood supporters.

I'm happy to report that 99% of the crowd was enjoying the game - but not surprisingly there was a handful of ferals nearby that completely matched the description of the horrible Geelong bogans you had the displeasure of being seated next to.

Imagine me sitting quietly trying to enjoy the match whilst hearing:

Ablett - You're a useless, soft stats cheat! Stick your fingers up your nose and use your head a bowling ball!

The worst call for the night though (from the "You're gutless Selwood!" guy) was, "You are a f***wit, Cloke! F*** off to f***ing Gold Coast!" His poor son sits quietly beside him every week apparently.

So it could go on forever. Every club has thousands of horrible supporters and Collingwood is no different to Geelong.

Here's your problem and here'a your answer;

A marvellous new piece of technology for the socially affronted.

Family-watching-TV11.jpg

Had a friend of mine who follows Geelong proposition with a $100.00 bet that the cats would roll the pies on Friday. I was reluctant, but such was his arrogance he offered me 2-1 odds.

I accepted.

By the end of the game he declared he wasn't going to pay me because according to him "if the cats had of one you wouldn't have paid me either".

I guess it says more about him than Geelong, but they're a bunch of flogs none the less.

Actually no and no.

Imagine me sitting quietly trying to enjoy the match whilst hearing...
Why would you go to the 'G to quietly watch a game?!? :confused:

Just substitute Pies player names there and pretty much what I was hearing from the Pussy Cheer Squad.

I didn't boo Ablett once. I may have alluded to cheap touches once or twice I do admit ;)

But... Collingwood board, Collingwood perspective. Thanks for nuttin.

At the other end of the spectrum though I had a cats bogan try and start trouble b4 the game even started as he felt it was his right to just walk over people in the aisles and not excuse himself. When I questioned him he slurred some obscenities at me but I just let it go & worried about the game.

I hate when come to the Game already Pissed:mad:

From my perspective, I think that game bought out a whole range of emotions in the one night.

It started with nerves, as we hadn't beaten the Cats in a game since that great night in 08, and I was just nervous as to whether we could do it again.

Then the excitement hit, when the boys ran out, and the song was sung, you just knew this was going to be a special night, one way or the other.

At quarter time, hope began to grow, you could see we were controlling the match, and that the Cats were struggling to get it out of our forward 50.

Late in the second term, and at half time, worry started to settle in, yet after a few minutes of thought at half time, I went to the old phrase "Well you would have taken a 1 point deficit at half time coming here", so once again the optimist in me arose.

Early in the 3rd, panic sat it, I was worried the Cats were going to run away with the game and that we were "shooting ourselves in the foot" once again with our inaccurate (and unlucky) goalkicking.

When Swan forced a turnover and hit Cloke 30 metres out, trust in the great man kicked in, and I just knew he would kick that goal. We were right behind it in M18, and as it left the boot, going slightly right of the left hand goal post, we rose as one, knowing we were a chance of winning now.

Goals to Beams and Thomas then gave us a 2 goal lead, and utter joy started to spread throughout our section, and a standing ovation was held at 3/4 time, as we had just done to Geelong, what they had done to us so many times.

As the last quarter started, I wasn't even worried, I was so happy at every possession we had in the last quarter, it was like we were 8 goals up and the game was over, I was never really concerned.

Then Pendlebury broke out of the backline, with only minutes remaining, and a 16 point lead, you knew if we could get a goal, it was over. Pendles ran all of 80 metres, kicked to Dawes at CHF, who knocked the ball to Steele who ran towards goal, with only Beams and his opponent between him and the goal. Showing his poise in only his second year, Steele waited for the Geelong player to attack him, and gently handballed the ball over to Beams for a memorable goal, that sent the area around us, and all pies fans, into fits of joy and happiness. Hugs were handed out, high fives with strangers, it was the stuff that brings a tear to the eye.

Then with only seconds remaining, the Caff (our new champ) gives the ball over to Swanny in front of us, and we rose as one to salute the champion footballer for his performance against Ablett.

Moments later, the siren rang, and feelings of relief, joy, astoundment and pride filled my heart, it was one of the greatest home and away wins I have witnessed as a pies fan, and the song was sung loudly, TWICE.:D

P.S. I'm with Dave here too, why get pissed (drunk) at such a big game, when you can sit back with just a few drinks and enjoy the night for what it is. I've never been drunk at a pies game, and never will be, because to me, the game itself is enough to keep me entertained, I don't need assistance.

Was an amazing game to watch and we also had a whole row of Geelong supporters in front of us going off their nut directing BS comments to us about how we were going to choak, was great when my sister said 'yeah keep talking sh*t mate, it will make it even better when we win' and boy did we let him know about it!, i'm pretty sure his mate who was a maggies supporter filmed on his iphone us going nuts and singing the song over his mate who was head dropping in shame!