Adelaide Oval Seating

Elite Crow

30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog
Has everybody received their information packs yet? For those that haven't here is a stadium map outling the proposed seating:

(If someone can upload the picture, that would be handy, I'm useless!)

Personally, Im not too pleased. We were told we would get comparable seating, bullshit. I'm standard concourse, bay 225, which puts me to the left of the 50 metre line towards the middle facing the members (North/East). As has been proposed, I will now be in the South Stand, to the left of the 50 metre arc closer to the goals than the middle.

Some other observations:

Those in the northern stand currently are big winners. They move from behind the goals to the middle, however they may be potentially higher.
Members who aren't there early will be sitting behind the goals for big games.
Daily ticket buyers will be receiving comparable seating to those members from the standard concourse. So much for loyalty for your membership.

I will give it a year, if my seats are shit I will pull the pin. I'm not paying for 3 tickets for average seats. I will buy daily tickets for the games I want to go to instead and there goes over 20 years of membership.

I see that the prime location in the Eastern Stand (ie the Mid Tier) has been completely taken by the "Stadium Club".

I presume that Stadium Club comprises those 1455 memberships @ approx $4,250 each ?
and of which the SMA was grabbing 1000 out of the 1455 memberships anyway.

Seems to me that the AFC (and PAFC) are being screwed as well as the real footy supporters (unless they can afford $4250 per seat)
The AFL is quickly becoming the game for the "wrong" people :D

Seems like Premium Terrace ticket holders, of which I am one, are the only ones trading like for like between the grounds.
Yep, but even then there will be some changes. For example, the northern edge of the seating would have been standard concourse in the past, now it's premium, so it looks like the seating won't be as deep but wider.

Overall they seem to be pretty loose with the terms "generally" and "comparable"

Yep, but even then there will be some changes. For example, the northern edge of the seating would have been standard concourse in the past, now it's premium, so it looks like the seating won't be as deep but wider.

Overall they seem to be pretty loose with the terms "generally" and "comparable"
i guess thats what happens when you try to fit 360degrees of seating into 270.

i have no idea why they didnt just cut the damn fig trees down and build a proper stadium. looking at some of the design photos etc it looks like a stadium with grandstands that have all been built individually. different roof designs, different heights, it really looks strange. i also dont understand why they have gaps in the corners instead filling those in with seats.

my tickets are Standard Terrace, so i'm weighing up whether or not to request a seat in the Northern or Southern area. i like the idea of the northern closer to the GA and the hill, but then i'm worried about the weather and wind blowing through without any cover. at least in the southern stand i think there'll be some protection.

having said all that, it'll still be much better than going to footy park.

No, it's not wider either. Quick glance of the overall dimensions suggests it's both shallower and narrower, Premium Terrace currently extends just inside the 50 arc, whereas on this map it stops well short. This means they have less seats, much denser seating (to the vast detriment of my already squashed at Football Park knees), or the rake is so steep that the overhead angle is deceptive when it comes to density.

No, it's not wider either. Quick glance of the overall dimensions suggests it's both shallower and narrower, Premium Terrace currently extends just inside the 50 arc, whereas on this map it stops well shit. This means they have less seats, much denser seating (to the vast detriment of my already squashed at Football Park knees), or the rake is so steep that the overhead angle is deceptive when it comes to density.
I'm standard concourse and I'm on the 50 arc, you can at least see the ball heading towards the goals. As per this map, I imagine I'm going to be in from the edge, basically looking down the ground. The only advantage I can see I have over daily ticket holders is the height.

http://www.adelaideoval.com.au/84/stadium-map.aspx

As I've said, I will give it a year, if it's ordinary I will save 3 memberships and go to the odd game.

No, it's not wider either. Quick glance of the overall dimensions suggests it's both shallower and narrower, Premium Terrace currently extends just inside the 50 arc, whereas on this map it stops well short. This means they have less seats, much denser seating (to the vast detriment of my already squashed at Football Park knees), or the rake is so steep that the overhead angle is deceptive when it comes to density.

More legroom at AO - in line with the MCG or better from memory. Must be the steeper grade that fits the seats in.

We're another group who will likely be completely screwed over by the AFC/SMA. We are a group of 6-10 team/player sponsors, which means we get reserved, undercover, out of sun and rain, seating in the members, in line with the centre circle. Very nice seats, which you would expect considering the money forked out to the AFC each year for them.

Our "comparable seating" is in the opposite side of the oval, out of the members area and into the sun. The AFC tried to sell it as "you won't be looking directly into the sun"(still be sitting in the sun for all arvo/evening games) and "that's the side of the oval your car park will be on"(our car park at footy park is on the other side of the oval and we couldn't give two hoots). This is after we'd discussed with the AFC which membership would be best to maintain similar seating at AO and we were told to stay as we were, when in fact we should have become Essential Members, which is a hell of a lot cheaper.

To this point we have been extremely disappointed with our treatment by the AFC in this regard and whilst we will probably give AO a shot for 1 year (assuming we get seats in the western stand), it's looking increasingly likely that we'll choose the cheaper option of a 65" plasma and Foxtel HD subscription instead and just have the group over each week to watch from the comfort of our home. Its sad, but unfortunately it doesn't look like the AFC can offer us value for our dollar. Having chatted to people in similar situations, it's clear that we're not alone.

It seems the AFC has a different interpretation for comparable seat allocation.

We are currently in the Northern Stand because we prefer to be seated in the pocket behind the goals - so we can watch the movement towards or away from us.
This was our choice over 10 years ago - we could have sat on the wing, but we do not like to watch football from the wings. (I know everyone is different!)

So the proposed seating on the Upper Tier of the East Stand is totally opposite to what we had assumed - ie we always assumed we would go from the Northern Stand to the South Stand.
I reckon many people in the Northern Stand would have the same opinion - achieves like position for like.
If that was the case, the way to achieve this would be to swap the "Daily Tickets in the South Stand" with the "Upper Tier in the East Stand" - but doubt if it would even be considered.

I guess it depends on the "second window of opportunity" in May/June.
If we are moved to the East Stand, we can then try to get into the South Stand and if this is unsuccessful we may have to unfortunately let go of our membership.

actually just looking at the seating map, wouldn't it have made more sense to have current northern grandstand people in the new south stand (yellow) and the current standard concourse in the upper tier east stand (purple)?

Yep, they should have given the standard concourse the first few rows in the upper tier of the east stand. Pretty straight forward really.

Relax. If you don't like your initial allocation, you can opt to go in the reshuffle. I am not stressing until I actually get my allocation, then I will worry about it. But realistically, it would be no easy feat to relocate seats in one stadium to those in a completely new design. Not everybody will be happy, but they can't please us all. We have premium terrace seats and I think it looks good for us.

Agreed so much complaining i think the worst seats at AO will still compare to the best at Footy Park. Give it a chance it was never going to be an exact swap of positions.

If your really unhappy with your allocation put in to become a crows premier member and sit in the best seats in the Western stand. Just got to rock up early save your seat then head to a nice bar for a few drinks.

Relax. If you don't like your initial allocation, you can opt to go in the reshuffle. I am not stressing until I actually get my allocation, then I will worry about it. But realistically, it would be no easy feat to relocate seats in one stadium to those in a completely new design. Not everybody will be happy, but they can't please us all. We have premium terrace seats and I think it looks good for us.

Don't like what you get, so go in the reshuffle? So you get to choose between seats that aren't equivalent, or going into a raffle for seats even less equivalent?

I think that last sentence explains why you are so relaxed.

And which shuffle do you think we can nominate to go into? Do you honestly think those with good seating are going to give them up?

As for not pleasing us all, I agree, but why bullshit and say they've given us comparable seating? As I said I'll give it a year and decide from there.

look, i don't know so i'm asking. For thoes people who currently sit in the Northern stand at AAMI, are you allowed to get a comparatable seat in the Southern Stand at the Adelaide Oval?

As far as I can see, we will have to move from the western side of AAMI and relocate to the Eastern side of Adelaide oval if they don't have any membership seats on the western side of the ground.

I am currently have a Premier Membership (was Ultimate before they changed the name) and I am confused.

edit: Oh wait LOL, this doesn't affect me at all.

look, i don't know so i'm asking. For thoes people who currently sit in the Northern stand at AAMI, are you allowed to get a comparatable seat in the Southern Stand at the Adelaide Oval?

As far as I can see, we will have to move from the western side of AAMI and relocate to the Eastern side of Adelaide oval if they don't have any membership seats on the western side of the ground.
The only hope you've got of getting a seat in the southern stand is getting a spot reserved for ex standard concourse. This is a pretty small group so you will be pushing it, but you can nominate on your form. The majority of the seating in the southern stand is for daily ticket holders. As it stands you will be allocated a seat on the top tier of the eastern stand.

Agreed so much complaining i think the worst seats at AO will still compare to the best at Footy Park. Give it a chance it was never going to be an exact swap of positions.

If your really unhappy with your allocation put in to become a crows premier member and sit in the best seats in the Western stand. Just got to rock up early save your seat then head to a nice bar for a few drinks.

This was exactly my thought as a member. If we get there early the facilities should be far better to spend some time in. I'm not sure how much of the western stand we have, but I suspect it will only be the big ticket games you need to be there early...much the same as it is now.

Except if you are bringing young kids you don't want get there any earlier than you have to

True. And I have 2. It will all be about the facilities. As it stands there is nowhere at aami to go and sit to eat/drink, your stuck in your seat. AO should offer better hopefully.

Yeah I've been in the new stand at Adelaide oval and at that time it took a large elephant size shit on Footy Park.